Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Big Idea Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD

Big Idea Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD

Junior Asparagus is anxious for the show to wrap up shortly after it begins. When Bob the Tomato decides to respond to a fan's letter about "waiting" by directing a Bible-times interview with Abraham, Sarah and their promised son, his--and Junior's--patience is tested by spitting camels, a confused nurse, an easily distracted film crew, and a host of other laughable filming disasters! Join the comical chaos and calamity in Abe and the Amazing Promise that reminds kids that God always keeps His promises, even if we have to wait a while!

You'll also get to see the musical adventure "Blunders in Boo-Boo-Ville." In this amusing tale of mystery and mayhem, Mayor LaBleu (Madame Blueberry) announces the cancellation of Boo-Boo-Ville's famous festival unless someone can invent a way to make the Boo-Boo birds return! Hoping to win the prize and save the day, haphazard inventor Jacques (Larry the Cucumber) hurriedly sets out to create the perfect Boo-Boo-attracting invention. Will this impatient inventor learn the value of doing things the right way in time to bring back the birds? Also includes the very Silly Song with Larry: "Sneeze if You Need to!"

Please note: Although this is a new product, the DVD case may have a small slice on the back or a small drill ed hole.

Average Customer Rating:
4.258 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Review 1 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Aloha Tita
Location:Honolulu, Hawaii
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great children's video with valuable life lessons!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good lesson for all

Date:January 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
EBowser
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This movie focuses on patience and waiting on God. It is a good lesson for children as well as adults.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

We love veggie tales!

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Claudia Salanta
I have 5 kids ranging from 6 years to 6 weeks old and VeggieTales have been a family favorite. Witty humor and they are always safe movies for your kids to watch. I would highly recommend this and other Veggie tales movies.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Lessons

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
AprilCK
Location:Surprise, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandsons love anything VeggieTales and we were not disappointed in this video. Although it did not keep the full attention of the 2 and 3 year old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good movie!

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vicky
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good VeggieTales movie. The Bible lessons are in a format that children can relate to and understand. My kids love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

VeggieT fails to convey biblical story & message.

Date:April 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nate
Location:Oakbrook, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm going against the grain here, but I watched this with my son. It's like the creators got a temporary case of ADHD and injected it into this film. The majority of Abraham's story was either left out, poorly conveyed, or enshrouded by the crazed antics of Bob and Larry's subplot of being film producers themselves, comparable to the noise of SpongeBob . The songs (even the silly ones) are not worth repeating. Don't get me wrong, there are great DVD's by Big Idea productions. Not this one. I learned it's lesson of "Patience" by enduring watching it, and seeing my son lose his attention.
My advice would be to instead either take your children for a walk or adventure in God's creation, or over time commit to reading them Abe's great stories of faith from Genesis. Now that will carry value MUCH greater than what you threw at this DVD. And you'll feel better for doing it.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sarah Davis
love it. as always veggie tales lives up to its reputation. my grandkids love these videos
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anchor Point Public Library
Patience is truly a virtue. This story brings it out very clearly. We always love the Veggie Tales characters and their wit. Thanks for each of the productions. Lora
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debra Dilollo
We love Veggie Tales but this one was on the boring side. Fine for the end of an exhausting day, but I don't think my 10 yr old son will reach for it again any time soon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alicia C. Laboy-o'falan
It's O.K. We love VeggieTales but this DVD was a little disappointing. There is much to this story and the movie kind of chopped it up.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tracy Woodman
Poor Junior, waiting is hard. Patience is a hard lesson to learn, especially because it's not a fast one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lisa
My kids always enjoy the stories and I appreciate them learning about patience. One note though on this Bible story. The part about Ishmael & Hagar were completely left out. I think it would have been good to keep in somehow because it shows that things don't go well when we try to solve our problems in our own time and way. God's way & timing is always best. Time constraints & entertainment come before Biblical accuracy with Veggie Tales. Not to say that this dvd isn't enjoyable as always.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Juanita Dominguez
I loved it! I love the lesson on patience. Boy did I need that lesson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Jones
The video was ok. Since my granddaughters did not enjoy it, I would say that it might have been too mature for them.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chris Gullion
There is no better writing for kids than what Phil and Mike do for Veggie Tales! We have them all and want more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Annette S.
My 12-year old son & 16-year old daughter were both favorably impressed with this movie. Personally, I don't really see the value in it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mary Mirandona
Just like all the veggie stories, it has to take time to grow on you. I'm a veggie-holic and have all of their DVD's. I started collecting them when my first grandson was about a year old. He'll be 12 in June. When the second grandson came along 4 years after his brother, we started watching them from the beginning again. I'll keep adding to the collection each time a new one comes out even after the kids have left them behind, because they'll come back to them some day to watch them with their own kids. Their message is timeless!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jenny Walker
We really like this movie. It holds true to veggietale style and my kids love it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
A M Lilly
I think it was great we all need to learn to have a little patience especially when we pray about it and is expecting God to do it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Abe and the Amazing Promise, VeggieTales DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ruth Steen
First of all Veggie Tales is one of my favorites for telling stories of the bible to my grandchildren and they just love the vegetables and know them by names. Would love to find the one about Queen Esther!(hint) But just excellent it made my trip even more the worthwhile. Just gratifing! I just love them veggie tales!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>