Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Vivendi Entertainment Soldier Love Story, DVD

Vivendi Entertainment Soldier Love Story, DVD

The pen-pal friendship between young Jared Marshall and Sgt. Vince Carerra blossoms into something much more meaningful when the Bosnia-based soldier returns home and meets Jared's recently divorced mother, Dana. But will this newly formed "family" be strong enough to withstand separation---and discover a love that can overcome obstacles---when Vince is redeployed? Dove approved. Approx. 88 minutes.

Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Soldier Love Story, DVD
Review 1 for Soldier Love Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
trixiekitty
Location:Yucca Valley, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being a woman I have liked a man in uniform. I love romance stories because I have been there and done that. Not with a man in uniform but I have been in love and been married. He is now with the Lord and I look forward to being there with him one day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Soldier Love Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome

Date:March 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andy
Location:Rio Hondo, Texas
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This movie is super good-I really enjoy it I recomend it to any one that really likes movies like this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Soldier Love Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet story

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Luv2read
Location:KY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While maybe not a "Christian" movie, it still was quite enjoyable. I love to watch movies, but it's so hard to find any that are enjoyable to watch that are also clean and appropriate for a family to watch. This one is suitable for the whole family.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Soldier Love Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
MICHELE GALLOWAY
I really enjoyed this movie from both a Christian and non-Christian perspective. Why? The honesty of life in Christ is not rose-colored and without drama and sometimes tragedy. For me the Christian movie Solomom was riskey because it dealt with issues we all face and yet the Lord called Solomon His son. In this movie the Lord meets us where we are and helps move forward and beyond. I will soon purchase this movie for my library as I first saw it on the Hallmark Channel. Its a great movie and the Lord is involved in every aspect of our lives not just sin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Soldier Love Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael Greyson
It is good to see a film that depicts the fact that life can move forward when relationships fail and that new relationships can develop out of patience and hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Soldier Love Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Grace Britsch
Very good movie, good for the whole family especially young children. Nice story line and the fact that it is a clean, wholesome movie makes it worthwhile to watch. It was so refreshing and uplifting it put a smile on my face.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Soldier Love Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Shirley Cruze
This movie was so moving about friendship and love and the strong bond they had when he was redeployed.Great movie for everyone.I love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Soldier Love Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joei O'Neal
As to this movie? You're right! It can no way satisfy the viewing leisure of true believers, but don't "trash" it. I give it five stars because I could watch it without shielding my eyes or having my trigger finger on the black button on my remote to channel away. I cannot condone divorce and it is not Biblical meat --(no dessert for that matter), I simply enjoyed it for its sudsy, clean, sentimentality.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Soldier Love Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Robbye Walker
this showed how our military have suffered sometimes because of being separated from their loved ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Soldier Love Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lydia
I'm sitting here wondering what is wrong with "Christian" movie producers these days.This movie has next to nothing to do with Christianity.The "hot mom" and little boy pray before they go to sleep.I'm impressed.My family & I are missionaries and my father ordered this because he thought it would be a nice video.My mother & I watched it last night. It was a complete waste of God's money & my time.Who cares about "the acting". This movie was about one thing--a dating "career." No wonder both main characters had been through a divorce already.Dating is a total lack of commitment from the very start. After their first "date" he asks if they can do it again.She later tells her mom that he is going to deploy soon anyway & then it'll be all over--so she agrees to go out again. I threw my DVD in the trash this morning--where it belongs. Don't get me wrong. I'm not boring nor am I an "old maid" with no feeling. I enjoy a good love story. But not this kind. I thought it was important enough to write a review about.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Soldier Love Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stacey Lopez
I also saw this movie (under a different title) on t.v. and am looking forward to purchasing it. A very clean love story that also addresses broken families and reminds us of our military in peace keeping missons which seem to be forgotten in this time of war.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Soldier Love Story, DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel
I saw this movie on Hallmark recently. The acting is not well done. The idea of the story is great. The writer's just didn't pull it off very well. About the only thing good about it is that it is a clean movie. Not a family movie for those kids who have never been through divorce, unless they have close friends dealing with it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.