Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook

WaterBrook Press Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook

The life of a woman today isn't really all that different from that of Mary and Martha in the New Testament. Like Mary, you long to sit at the Lord's feet...but the daily demands of a busy world just won't leave you alone. Like Martha, you love Jesus and really want to serve him...yet you struggle with weariness, resentment, and feelings of inadequacy.

Then comes Jesus, right into the midst of your busy Mary/Martha life---and he extends the same invitation he issued long ago to the two sisters of Bethany. Tenderly he invites you to choose "the better part"---a joyful life of "living-room" intimacy with him that flows naturally into "kitchen service" for him.

How can you make that choice? Now updated with a new 12 week companion Bible study, Weaver shows how all of us---Marys and Marthas alike---can draw closer to our Lord, deepening our devotion, strengthening our service, and doing both with less stress and greater joy.

Average Customer Rating:
4.781 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
39 out of 39100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Review 1 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good read that hits nail on the head

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
susieQ
Location:Dubuque Iowa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really am enjoying the book. Author speaks to every woman with understanding of reality in each of our lives. She gives good practical advice on how to go to Jesus from our "busyness" to sit at His feet. Am very glad that someone suggested this to me
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great study!

Date:January 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Georgia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read the book "Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World" several years ago. I currently lead a Women's Bible Study and was thrilled when I learned that there was a study guide and DVD to go with the book. We are currently on Chapter 3 and the study has been great thus far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read

Date:August 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Robyn
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for myself as a personal bible study and really, really enjoyed it. No matter whether you are a "Mary" or a "Martha", I think you will learn how to find balance. The book is very easy to read. The author brings personal experience and humor to this study, as well as thoughtful commentary. I highly recommend this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

practical

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lynnette
Location:Fort Wayne, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The author's writing style is engaging and funny, yet the content is hard hitting with practical applications.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
This review is fromHaving a Mary Heart in a Martha World, Large Print Softcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
mrkbrny
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good book to read no matter who you are or what age!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

being used in a bible study group

Date:November 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
anderfam5
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are enjoying the relevence of this book to our daily lives. This study is just right for our group at this time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gramma
Location:Washington State
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book does give great guidelines on how to maintain a more intimate relationship with Christ. It also warns us of the pitfalls we may encounter on the way and how to avoid them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book.

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobbie Mccalister
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book as a present because I received such insight into Martha & Mary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Becky
Location:Lena, Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are doing this as a Bible study and started with a group of 12 ladies. Because of this book, and the ladies sharing with others...our group has grown to 17! The gals absolutely love this book and they are only on chapter 2! Wow! What will they think when they get to the end?
So many women want to just sit at Jesus' feet and not feel the guilts of "doing other things" while they are sitting there. This book has hit the heart of women and many will be transformed.
Wonderful book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An uplifting study for women

Date:July 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
artsmith
Location:Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The contents of this book really leads us into a study of a personal relationship with God. It helps us reflect on our own lives and how we can make improvements in staying close to Jesus.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worked well as a women's Bible Study group text.

Date:May 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
DonnaJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading this book, I decided to use it as a "starter" for a neighborhood women's Bible Study. So far it has been very well received and works across many different denominations. Plenty of food for thought and much to relate to no matter what age group is involved.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent ladies study

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dianne
Location:Spring Hill, Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this book twice for a ladies study, and each time it speaks differently to me. Each of us need to be reminded to slow down and 'sit at the feet' of Jesus, and Joanna Weaver has a way of opening up new thoughts and she makes you want to have a closer relationship with Christ. The book is a great and easy read, and very thought provoking. It's a great study.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exceeded expectations!

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dawnetta
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Someone in my RCIA (Catholic Initiation) program recommended this book because I had chosen Martha as my Saint. With 2 children under 3 at home I was already finding it difficult to make time for my faith and I was hoping to find some inspiration in her. I put off buying the book for a year because the title did not sound like the message i was looking for. Last month, I was looking for a way to get more out of my first Catholic Lent, and decided I should make myself get around to the book. It has been wonderful!! I started the bible study portion about 1/2 way through & started recommending it to all the moms I knew!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
David Robertson
Location:Modesto, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fabulous book to be studied in a group! The author is wonderfully able to lead you into an intimate look at a very familiar story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book for Bible Study

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
DesertSE
Location:AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 28 year old daughter and I are reading this book and doing the Bible Study together. It has been very good for both of us. Excellent book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
This review is fromHaving a Mary Heart in a Martha World, Large Print Softcover.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the book.

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sylvia
Location:Shreveport, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the books. Love being able to get more of the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
grammyklr
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent all around I was very please with my purchases
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a perfect book.

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
SFBran
Location:Fargo, ND
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is an ordained ELCA pastor currently serving a multidenominational congregation choosing to live a 12 Step program to maintain a life in recovery. Having been involved with recovery folks for 4.5 years, I hear the message that co-dependency dates back to Martha's time. With the questions in the back, we are able to evaluate our own lives and see hope for how we can make changes in our own life and put priorities in a better order . The book describes imperfections that Martha dealt with in a way that we can see ourselves and see the path that leads to a healthier lifestyle. Read and pass it on to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
dtdewitt
Location:Belle Plaine, IA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this to every woman. The author breaks things down easily. She makes it understandable for this day and age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy with God in the Busyness of Life - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book for our busy times

Date:October 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
jplum
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our SS class is doing this book. We have found it applies to women in all stages of life. It has helped gain a new viewpoint on these two women and helped us see the Martha in all of us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.