Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2

Multnomah Books Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2

When FBI Agent Clint Rollins takes a bullet during a standoff, it might just save his life. But not even the ugly things he's seen during his years working in the Crimes Against Children Unit could prepare him for the overwhelming powerlessness of hospital tests revealing an unexpected diagnosis. If only Sara weren't retreating into doctor mode.he needs his wife now more than ever.
Sara Rollins is an oncologist with a mission-beating cancer when she can, easing her patients' suffering at the very least. Now the life of her husband is at stake. She never let the odds steal her hope before, but in this case, the question of God's healing promises is personal. Can she hold on to the truth she claimed to believe?
As Clint continues to track down a serial murderer despite his illness, a past military incident haunts his nightmares, pushing him beyond solving the case into risking his life and career. Clint struggles to believe God is still the God of miracles. Especially when he needs not one, but two. Everything in his life is reduced to one all-important question: Can God be trusted?
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2
Review 1 for Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More general fiction than FBI suspense, but good

Date:November 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Healing Promises" is a Christian general fiction book. Much of the story was about the stress that Clint's cancer put on Sarah and Clint's relationship to each other and with God. Near the end, though, the FBI case came to the forefront and resolved with a suspenseful standoff with the bad guy. The story's suspense came from wondering if Clint would survive the cancer and, if he did, if his marriage would survive. It also came from the danger that the missing children were in.
The characters were realistic and complex, and they dealt with realistic struggles. The details about the cancer treatment and FBI unit were good but didn't have a lot of depth to them. The story felt slower-paced because there were really four overlapping stories going on: Clint and Sarah, Steven and Grace, Hannah and Michael, and the FBI case.
A major element woven into the story was the characters' struggle to understand and trust God when everything seemed to be going wrong. I thought it was handled well and liked what was said, but those who prefer minimal Christian content probably won't like it.
This book is the second in the series. I felt like the author assumed I knew the characters and relationships from the previous novel (which I haven't read), but if you remember what everyone's first and last name is, you can follow this story well enough without having read the first. However, there were vague references to "whodunit" in the first story, so read "Ransomed Dreams" first if you want to be completely surprised.
There was no bad language or explicit sex. Overall, I'd recommend this well-written book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephanie Kingdon
Healing Promises is by far may favorite book by Amy Wallace. I just love how Clint and Sara have this special connection that they just know what the other is thinking. These two are my favortie couple. The author just pulls you in and you can't put the book down. You get pulled in my there circumstances and see how they pull through it together and with God's help because with God all things are possible. I also loved how they worked in a surprise pregnancy and I loved the ending too. I'm glad that she chose to let him be cured and not kill him off. Again by far this is my favorite book. Job Well done and I can't wait for her next series. I would definately buy it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 9, 2009
A book about multifaceted relationships as real as life itself. Love of parents, love of a spouse. A doctor's love for her patients. A brother's love for his sister. Parents love for their children. If you've ever been in that hard place, where you wonder why God has allowed something unbearable to happen in your life, you will relate to the characters in Amy Wallace's book. And you will stay on the roller coaster ride with them to the end.A book with take-home value. This is the first book of Amy Wallace's I have read but it won't be my last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dorothy Walker
I enjoyed the book very much and also the next in the series. Look forward for others that hopefully will follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Amy Wallace can write a gripping tale of romantic suspense like none other. And Healing Promises was so riveting I finished it quickly despite my busy schedule. The characters were all very well developed and felt so real. I loved how romantic many of the scenes were, especially with Clint and Sara. Yet, they had their marital challenges, too. There were never pat answers to the trials they went through but true emotion and spiritual struggles abounded. I loved the honesty and the detail regarding Clint's struggle with his health. The research was very well done. I also loved how the author got me hooked in advance on the characters of Michael and Hanna. It's a no brainer that I am going to want to read the next installment in this series. I loved these secondary characters and the issues they struggled with. Very well done. This story had so many touching scenes and emotionally gripping conflicts that I can't pick one to discuss without spoiling the story. So I'll refrain. I have to say, however, that the POV of the killer was pretty creepy but very realistic. The psychology of the man was right on target and the hunt for the man who killed children was well paced enough to keep you on your seat and holding your breath. Sometimes when I read a book I find myself wanting to skip over some points of view to get to others but this story was well balanced in that respect. I'm just so impressed with this story. I loved it even more than the first book. It can only keep getting better. Highly recommended. This book is a winner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2008
FBI Agent Clint Rollins knows he is a blessed man! He has a beautiful and intelligent wife, two mischievous but lovable children, a rewarding career pursuing justice for the innocent, good looks, peak fitness and Texan charm in abundance! God is good.Taking a bullet rescuing a young boy seems a small price to pay to return him to his grateful family, until routine testing in the hospital leads to a diagnosis that is incomprehensible to Clint and paralysing to his oncologist wife, Sara.As treatment saps his strength, weakens his mind and threatens his career, Clint lets pride and fear take hold driving a wedge between him and those he loves. Now, where is God's goodness?Healing Promises, the sequel to Ransomed Dreams, chronicles the painful journey of a family confronted by an unseen and formidable enemy, tossing them into a tailspin of despair and paralysed by the fear that God may say no to the cries of their hearts. Clint and Sara's heartache became agonisingly real to me due to Amy Wallace's ability to write with unparalleled poignancy and authenticity. No pat answers or watered down emotions to be found as Clint rages against his diagnosis and Sara's faith stumbles. I shared their desperate pleas for healing, empathised with Sara's feelings of inadequacy and failure and held my breath with every prognosis. Within this maelstrom of emotion, Amy writes a taut subplot of the Crimes Against Children Unit's search for a serial killer, introduces an intriguing and electrifying attraction between Agent Michael Parker and Hanna Kessler and underpins each page with hope and the faithfulness of God. The progression of CACU Chief Steven Kessler and Gracie Lang's relationship is also not to be missed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2008
Clint Rollins gets hit with a bullet while rescuing a child from an abducter. He is not prepared for the verdict of cancer he receives while being checked out in hospital. To make it worse his wife is an Oncologist and treats cancer patients. All the things she told her patients in the past begin to make her question her efforts as a doctor. You deal with how cancer affects not only the patient but their family, friends and co-workers even. Steven Kessler and Gracie's relationship is continued from "Ransomed Dreams" and leads up to their marriage. Then enters Michael and we learn of Steven's sister, Hanna, and her problems and the relationship that develops there. Be sure you have a box of kleenexs handy from the first sentence. I read the first half the book in one night. You won't get much sleep if you try to read this book at night.But I was dealing with a lot of the same problems and questions since having a knee replacement a year ago and an ankle fusion this year. It made me feel like I wasn't alone in this struggle in life to hold onto one's faith. God is big enough to handle the questions we ask too. This book will lead you through questions, heartache, and bring you through back to hope again. I speak from experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2008
Clint is tested in every aspect of his existence while he fights for his life. Clint is also on a mission to save childrens lives and catch the serial killer its becoming so confusing for Clint. But he is determined to be an overcomer.Clint is not going to let this disease get him down and stop him from getting this bad guy. Clint and his wife struggle with the reality that In our weakness God is Strong. Both Clint and Sara are used to being at the top of their game, in control. They both struggled with letting go of control and letting God work in every fiber of their being. They wonder can it be done? Both Clint and Sara didnt even want to entertain this thought In Our weakness. That was a very uncomfortable place for them both to be, yet it was the very place God was taking them. This is a fast paced story with a great sense of family unity. Amy introduces a new character Hanna Kessler, Stevens sister. We will learn more about Hanna in the third and final book of this series. Parts of this book made me feel uncomfortable. If you have a family member or friend dealing with a serious illness this will grip you. Amy has a way of getting to the heart of the matter. Treatments can be brutal on the patient and the family members as well. I have known some people very close to me deal with this disease. I had a new appreciation for what that family has gone through. This will definitely open your eyes to many things medically which I felt were necessary to the story.Clint came to the conclusion He was weak, but God was strong. God was God. God was in control. Control that is what Clint wanted; Sara wanted; we all want. Read how Amys story gives a clear message of this very passage. This book will leave you with the message of hope and what Gods love looks like. This book will take you deeper if you let the message of Gods Love grip your heart.Nora St.Laurentwww.psalm516.blogspot.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Judy Grivas
In Healing Promises Amy Wallace has delivered another heart-tugging story. In this, Book Two in the Defenders of Hope series, the lives of FBI Agent Clint Rollins and his wife, Sara, a doctor, are turned upside down when they learn of his life threatening illness. Fighting the physical and mental weakness he hates, Clint still tries to help his partner track down a serial killer of young boys. The twists and turns of this story will have you turning the pages long after you should be getting on to other things Amy Wallace has crafted yet another terrific tale!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jennifer AlLee
This is one of those books that I couldnt put down. From the first page, "Healing Promises" takes off running. Wallace has populated her book with an intriguing cast of characters. There are no cookie-cutter, two dimensional people here. Wallace dares to look at the reality of each situation with honesty and hope. Shes not afraid to say it like it is, even when getting into the head of the bad guy. But this isnt just a crime novel. While the agents of the Crimes Against Children Unit continue their desperate search for a serial kidnapper, Agent Clint Rollins and his wife, Sara, are facing the biggest trial of their lives; Clints battle with cancer. The juxtaposition of these two plotlines provides a wonderful combination of heart-stopping action and heart-rending emotion. I highly recommend this novel, and look forward to more great reads from this talented author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Healing Promises - eBook Defenders of Hope Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2008
HEALING PROMISES...DELIVERS BIG TIME!Book 2 in the Defenders of Hope Series centers around Clint and Sara Rollins. Clint takes a bullet while trying to rescue a child and as a result comes face to face with something unexpected that changes the lives of everyone one around them. Cancer is something Sara Rollins is very familiar with. As an oncologist she always encourages her patients not to lose hope. But now the ugly monster has landed on her doorstep. Will she be able to follow her own advice?Clint has always been a strong leader, both physically and spiritually. How will he handle what God has set before him?Is his faith really strong enough to carry them through this difficult trial?This is an emotionally charged story yet filled with hope and encouragement. The suspense of tracking down a seriel killer kept me on the edge of my seat. I COULD NOT put it down!One thing I REALLY enjoyed about the book is that it picked up where RANDSOMED DREAMS left off. Though Clint and Sara are the main focus, there is a lot of interaction with the other characters that you've gotten to know. You can read Healing Promises as a stand alone and not feel left out, but I think reading Randsomed Dreams first will really enrich the story.I highly recommend this book. You can feel that Amy puts her heart and soul into her writing. It comes through on every page. I am anxiously awaiting the third installment due out April of 2009! Great work Amy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.