Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press I Do Again: How We Found a Second Chance at Our Marriage-and You Can Too - eBook

WaterBrook Press I Do Again: How We Found a Second Chance at Our Marriage-and You Can Too - eBook

Following the joy of rediscovering their original love over 7 years after divorce, Jeff and Cheryl take readers back through the devastation that began with dissatisfaction and led to an affair, estrangement, divorce, and shared custody of 2 young daughters. Over the intervening 7 years, Cheryl began the process of redemption, prayerfully seeking restoration and working through intense pain and confusion. In the end, Jeff and Cheryl came to find an even deeper love and spiritual bond. Their experience led them to form a counseling ministry to help couples hope again.
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for I Do Again: How We Found a Second Chance at Our Marriage-and You Can Too - eBook
Review 1 for I Do Again: How We Found a Second Chance at Our Marriage-and You Can Too - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Cheryl sought God's truth

Date:November 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Location:Flagstaff, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm grateful for the wisdom the Scruggs were willing to share through their story. God wants us to wait on Him as He works in our hearts...even when it seems impossible. Cheryl completely put her trust in God's leading, no matter what. As she said, "I truly, wholeheartedly desire God's will instead of my own ~ and I never, never, want to disappoint my God again." For me, it's been 15 years, but I still believe God has a plan. I follow the same God as Abraham, Moses, and Joseph...and they waited, trusting in the God of Redemption.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for I Do Again: How We Found a Second Chance at Our Marriage-and You Can Too - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a must read!!

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
doing again
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I divorced after a long marriage filled with frustration and unmet emotional needs. This book was like a mirror into my soul. I read it in one day, and gave it to my ex-husband and he read it in two days. We have been called to reconcile our relationship, but are taking it slow. We are in the infancy of this process, but without this book and their program on Bott radio, we would not be pursuing this new chapter of renewing our families. Thank you for such a great book!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for I Do Again: How We Found a Second Chance at Our Marriage-and You Can Too - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
SpciySideUp
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I wish I had read this book sooner! I'm not sure where my journey will take me but after reading this book, I'm willing to try again with my ex-husband.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for I Do Again: How We Found a Second Chance at Our Marriage-and You Can Too - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A wonderful story of hope and restoration!

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
A loving father
Location:Washington
Age:35-44
Gender:male
This couple and their story has been an inspiration. Faith, determination, commitment and direction all come from this book that might just be the "link" you're looking for during this time in your life. There is no substitute for knowledge and wisdom! This book ranks atop of those that provide hope from real life experience. Enjoy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for I Do Again: How We Found a Second Chance at Our Marriage-and You Can Too - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing

Date:August 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Do Again is a very unusual book. Not so much in that it is written by a husband and wife writing team (this is something that I see with increasing frequency) but in that it is written by a married couple that has married, divorced, and remarried. I strongly believe that the church is suffering from weak teaching on marriage and even worse church disciple and follow-through as couples professing Christ divorce as often as those who do not. That is why I Do Again is such a vitally important book. Whether you are single and planning to marry, are currently married, or are divorced, I highly recommend reading it.
The Scruggs married, pursued an active life as young professionals, and basically enjoyed themselves. When their daughters entered the picture however, things changed. The added stress of children on the marriage drove Cheryl into the arms of another man through her search to satisfy herself. After ten years of marriage, theirs ended in divorce. God however, had a plan to redeem their marriage, and after drawing both Cheryl and Jeff to Himself, he faithfully led them back towards each other over an extended period of time. Seven years later they remarried and dedicated their new union to the one who had saved not only them, but their marriage as well.
Written in alternating, chronological points of view, I Do Again is nothing if not raw. It is a very honest account of the emotional journey both Cheryl and Jeff took throughout their life together and apart from each other. If you are in a struggling marriage, reading through the pain of their divorce will definitely make you think twice before making the decision to split asunder what God has joined together. It is particularly valuable reading for women who tend to feel unhappy, emotionally unfulfilled, and discontent (don’t we all feel this way from time to time) and who struggle with the temptation the world offers to ‘just be happy’. Divorce is not a happy thing.
This is an amazing joint memoir; it will serve as a stark reminder for the rest of my life that divorce is not God’s will. I cried. Often. Don’t be surprised if you do too. For those who have divorced I Do Again offers the hope that what is broken can be restored, and that with God all things are possible, even what is entirely impossible for man.
I received a print copy of this book to review. All opinions are genuine and my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for I Do Again: How We Found a Second Chance at Our Marriage-and You Can Too - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Riveting

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda Rooks
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Words don’t do justice to the amazing vulnerability that comes through on every page of I Do Again.
Reading I Do Again is like reading a romance novel, but in this case the story is absolutely true, and it is riveting. I just could not put the book down. After I read it, I gave it to my husband, and even as a man he had the same response.
The book is beautifully and effectively written, interspersing the story of Cheryl and Jeff Scruggs with later counseling sessions and different time periods to gain maximum effect and keep the reader totally engaged. Since my husband and I have a ministry to those in troubled marriages, I frequently refer the book to those whose marriages are breaking down. They too are amazed at the honesty they find and are spellbound by the way the story is so intricately and superbly woven together.
In the telling of their story, the Scruggs allow the reader inside their hearts and minds while their marriage disintegrates. It is an incredibly accurate picture of the collapse of a marriage. By reading this book, people in marital crisis can get a clear picture of what may be happening in their own marriage, particularly as it pertains to one spouse’s declaration that, “I don’t love you anymore . . . in fact, I’m not sure I ever did.” By following the Scrugg’s story, one clearly sees the way a disenchanted spouse can drift into another relationship and then find themselves totally ensnared and completely blind to the pain they are causing their children and their abandoned spouse.
But, happily, the book doesn’t leave the reader in that dismal place. As we continue to read the story of Cheryl and Jeff, we live in Cheryl’s mind as she struggles to restore the marriage she herself ended by divorcing her husband. It is a clear picture of renewal, and as we travel with her on this journey we come to understand how positive transformation and spiritual renewal takes place in both an individual and a marriage.
I know God will use this book to open people’s eyes and heal many marriages. If your marriage is in trouble, read this book. If you have a friend whose marriage is spiraling out of control, refer I Do Again to them. The book is about the pain of a marriage that falls apart, but it ends with a marriage being restored. Hopefully, the honest sharing of the story of this marriage can help other marriages find healing as well. Linda Rooks, Author of Broken Heart on Hold, Surviving Separation
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for I Do Again: How We Found a Second Chance at Our Marriage-and You Can Too - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
JAMH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome book written by a wonderful couple. It is their story. Loved the book. Bought 5 copies to give out to friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for I Do Again: How We Found a Second Chance at Our Marriage-and You Can Too - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Peter Hahn
My wife and I read this book during a difficult time in our marriage. Reading "I do again" played a major role in helping us to understand what God's plan for marriage is and what our marriage could be. It is written with great honesty and courage. We've recommended it to several of our friends. We even sought out Jeff and Cheryl and met with them after being inspired by their book. They are truly wonderful and inspiring christians. They have helped us more than I can say.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for I Do Again: How We Found a Second Chance at Our Marriage-and You Can Too - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2009
I Do Again is a touching and gripping look at a marital relationship that was abandoned and how this real-life couple reignited the home fires and recommitted their lives to each other with Christ at the center where He belongs. What a wonderful testimony to struggling couples that may want to walk away from a marriage in this age in which we live that is dedicated to quick fixes and instant gratification. Cheryl and Jeff Scruggs offer a frank view of their own relationship to show others that marriage is work and the effort is worth it! They are also very careful to place Jesus Christ at the center of the marriage. This is of the utmost importance, and more couples should invite the Lord to be part of their marriage relationship.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for I Do Again: How We Found a Second Chance at Our Marriage-and You Can Too - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Hughes
My wife & I read the book in 3 days. It gives encouragement that marriages are able to be saved with God's help. Their openness helped my wife and I to have some deep discusions about our own marriage. We also would recommend reading "Unfaithful" which CBD also carries.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.