Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Randolf Productions Inc The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack

Randolf Productions Inc The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack

Prepare to be amazed by your Creator after viewing these compelling documentaries, featured on PBS. You'll journey from the interior of living cells to the edge of the universe through state-of-the-art computer animation and spectacular images of the cosmos. Leading scientists debate the origins of life, Earth's purpose, and the theory of intelligent design. Two DVDs, approx. 60 minutes each.
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Review 1 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Science catches up with scripture

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Iowa JBS
Location:Ames, Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The believer already knows that God created the Heavens and the Earth, these two videos are beautiful tools to help the non-believer see that.
The Privileged Planet deals with the heavens and the earth obviously. Unlocking the Mysteries of Life deals with how life started at the human and animal level, showing the impossibility of "chance", and shows what non-sense Darwinian theory is. It is made for the layman, don't fear the science.
As a believer, when you watch these 2 videos, things begin to click for you. But as I have said, their real use, is to reachout to non-believers. They're not "preachy". Just very convincing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gods handiwork revealed

Date:February 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
texas teacher
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must for any serious high school science class in our public schools.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gladwoman
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great movies. We especially loved the Privileged Planet. The science is explained in simple terms with wonderful visuals to help clarify the concepts. What makes this film outstanding is that the information is presented by both Chrisitian and non Christian scientists. I loved seeing both sides agree for a change.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well put together

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Everson, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Both of these videos ask the tough questions and provide the answers that life is not a chance event. There is a wonderful and extremely creative designer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Paul Hornbeck
Both videos were excellent! I have always loved science, but science with God is awesome! This kind of study of nature is long overdue. The only problem I have with them is they are too short, not enough meat. I will have to get the books in the bibliography and study more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jerome Cordeiro
Exellent!!! Plays well to the scientific minds and all curious people. In the end, no doubt about this world and all creation by an intellegent designer. Not a Christian treatise, but simply scientific facts which makes obvious the truth of creation. Must see for everyone!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Geri Peterson
It is the most two important DVD's anyone could watch. It lets people know that we were created by God and it wasn't by chance of the Big Bang Theory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Caig Mussulman
The Privileged Planet put me in awe the first time I saw it. This is a great video to show friends and family, use for family devotions, teach a science class, you name it. It would also make a great supplement to a bible study on creation. Because its looking at Creation from a scientific perspective, it's more geared for the adult mind than for children. However, I believe ages 10+ would profit from watching it. I only wish it made more of a clear reference to Jesus Christ. I also would like to see a children's version of this made that uses more simplistic terms (perhaps a little animation) to keep them attentive to what's being taught. All things considered, GREAT VIDEO! I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Ritner
There are lots of folks who still have not seen these wonderfully produced programs. Illustra Media's animation has captured these ideas so that they are easy to comprehend but still convey their awe inspiring complexity.They are worth every penny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynne Nielsen
These videos are a great resource if you want to get a more scientific perspective on our planet and our world, that is completely in line with Biblical World View. May be very helpful to those who are debating people from the "evolution" camp. They are very scientific, which may make it harder for younger kids to understand, but great for adults and teen-agers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Diann Perry
My sister recommended this set to me, and it exceeded any expectation that I had. The description is accurate. The presentation is scientific and professional. I ordered three sets and feel the value is exceptional.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Matthew Stoltzfus
Educational! Great discussion material for a small group! Could be shown to unbelievers as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pat Mcgee
Very impressed with the presentation in both documentaries confirming the Biblical creation by GOD. Great resource for small groups, schools and church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
Erin Bohn
This is a great set of DVDs. I would recommend it to EVERYONE! The Privileged Planet was taken by my neighbor to show to her public school class and they LOVED it. It is great to have scientists back up what we already believe. This is a keeper to show to our kids and family. We are planning to watch them again and again to make sure our responses are educated when people ask the "tough" questions about creation and evolution. You won't regret this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Privileged Planet & Unlocking the Mystery of Life, DVD Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Randell Bracey
The Privileged Planet is very entertaining and informative. It's a first class production and is so convincing for the argument of intelligent design that at one point during the viewing I had to say right out loud, "Checkmate!" Evolution is a dying theory. We just need to let grassroots educators know. And TV viewers also need to know producers of shows like Nova have a strong bias for evolution and against any alternative explanation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.