Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook

Multnomah Books In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook

Ever been in the wrong place at the wrong time...several times? These memories leave you with an ill taste in your mouth, and nothing good seems to come from them. But what if the seemingly messy pieces of your life were actually strategically positioned by God? What if you've actually been in the right place at the right time every time? In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day will help you make sense of your past. You'll begin to connect the dots to see clearly how God has been preparing you for future opportunities. With a God's-eye perspective, you'll soon be thanking Him - even for lions, pits, and snowy days.
Average Customer Rating:
4.657 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 out of 1889%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Review 1 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

life changing

Date:August 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gzusreins
Location:Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book has been an eye opener for me like few books have ever been. Christians come upon difficulties and trials and are either frozen in fear, despondent or panic stricken. This book shows that our perspective is soooooo very wrong. It teaches about God's perspective as we deal with hardships.
I also LOVED that Mark Batterson was so very down to earth in his communication style.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED AND WAY EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:August 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
adianewh
Location:Greenville,NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great book, accurately reflects our christian experience!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonserful read.

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
dtp7550
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Mark Batterson's books. It is a wonderful read. Thought provoking and spiritually fullfilling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Life Changer

Date:August 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dalyn
Location:Yakima, Wa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the stories in the Old Testament of the Bible. They are exciting and outrageous and thrilling. Did you ever ready the story of one of King David's mighty men, Benaiah? His exploits are truly daring- he wasn't called mighty for nothin'! That dude chased a lion. Read the publisher's description below for references, and then go read about it for yourself, because it's not one to miss.
Mark Batterson, in this book, encourages and coaches us to become spiritual lion chasers; to consider viewing our problems and weaknesses as opportunities- for growth, ministry, training, etc.
This book is one of those books- life changers. I came away from reading it (and it's really a good read) with a few treasures, things I'll carry with me always. Here's one example: " Here's a thought: The circumstances you complain about become chains that imprison you. And worship is the way out. Worship reframes our problems and refocuses our lives...."
Mark suggests we stop asking God to get us out of difficult circumstances and start asking Him what He wants us to get out of those difficult circumstances.
In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day is an outstanding book. I have already shared some of my highlights with a friend and she ordered it immediately for her husband. My copy of this book is highlighted almost on every page. Good stuff!
You can order a copy here.
This book came at a great time in my life- God's perfect timing, of course. I'm changing some things, looking at the way I do some things and why, and praying for the courage to chase a few lions of my own. I have known for a long time that suffering doesn't kill us, and that the poeple who have suffered with dignity are far more interesting and have more to offer their fellow man, but now I'm taking things more seriously and this book has given me insight as well as some practical advice.
Five stars!
I recieved a copy of this book free in exchange for an unbiased review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Book Review for In a Pit w/ a Lion on a Snowy Day

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Andrew
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day by Mark Batterson is a inspiring read for any Christian that is not looking for the easy, typical "Christian" answers. Batterson does an excellent job of inspiring the reader through superb writing and inspirational techniques. It is easy to see why the church he pastors is around 70% single, twenty-somethings. If you fall in that category, then this book especially has your name on it.
Batterson does a great job of sharing the core values/life skills of his church through this book and how they can be applied to the individual's life. The seven skills that he shares are: overcoming adversity, unlearning fears, embracing uncertainty, calculating risks, seizing opportunities, defying odds, and looking foolish. Batterson makes a strong case for each of these life skills. He challenges the status quo in most of these areas by focusing more on Biblical Christianity than just Traditional American Christianity.
The one negative of the book was the questionable use of Scripture. There are several short exerts of Scripture that are used, but little context is given. While expository explanation is not a requirement for all writings, it would have been nice to have a little more throughout the book. Also, understanding that the intended audience was probably not those who are not Christians, it still would have been nice to seen a simple explanation of the Gospel and what being a Christian is really about. Theoretically, a Muslim/Jew/Etc. could read this book and apply the principles stated and have a better life. Of course, they would still have missed the real point of the book, and more importantly, what is means to follow Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Centurion
Location:Forest Lake, Mn
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed Mark Batterson. Teaching Christians to be bold. Christians should be the most passionate people on earth.
I bought books for my friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Book

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
rainking23
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark Batterson's In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day owes its title and central argument to Benaiah, an often overlooked person, mentioned in 2 Samuel. Benaiah, eschewing the normal response when coming face-to-face with a predator in the wild, chases a lion into a snowy pit and kills it. Eventually Benaiah would rise from lion chaser to David's bodyguard all the way to commander-in-chief of the armies of Israel. All because he was the kind of person who looked on adversities as opportunities Batterson postulates that God is calling us all to be lion chasers as well.
For us to embrace our lion chasing skills, Batterson explores seven required skills:
Overcoming adversity
Unlearning fears
Embracing uncertainty
Calculating risks
Seizing opportunities
Defying Odds
Looking foolish
He mentions, several times, the importance of stepping out in faith. “Most of us want absolute certainty before we step out in faith. We love 100-percent money-back guarantees. But the problem with that is this: It takes faith out of the equation. There is no such thing as risk-free faith. And you can't experience success without risking failure.”
I know I am guilty of second guessing myself and wanting to be 100% sure when I make a decision. It almost never comes to 100% certainty and I know I have missed out on a number of opportunities because I was unwilling to make the final leap of faith. This book challenges you to do just that, and does so in a very accessible and enthusiastic way. Lion chasers “recognize that the best you can do if you run away from a lion is break even. You might save your skin, but you won't have a lion skin hanging on your wall either.”
What an outstanding read!
FTC disclaimer: I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Refreshing and Challenging

Date:December 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daraymi
Location:Fredonia, KS
Age:55-65
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mark Batterson challenges people to confront their fears in his book In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day by showing them seven skills that will give them success. Mark finds the seeds for those skills in a brief Bible story about one of David's soldiers, Benaiah, who killed a lion in a pit on a snowy day. Those skills are 1) defying the odds, 2) facing your fears, 3) reframing problems, 4) embracing uncertainty, 5) taking risks, 6) seizing opportunities, and 7) looking foolish. Although some of these skills overlap, embracing uncertainty and taking risks for example, each chapter does provide new material presented in an imaginative way.
One of the strengths of Mark's book is that he tells a number of stories about modern day Benaiahs who confronted their fears and seized opportunities despite the risks involved. He tells of a Georgetown lawyer who left his practice to shoot a documentary film about human trafficking, a tenured professor who walked away from his position to start a dot-com business, a college graduate who went to teach English in a remote part of the world, and a Microsoft executive who gave up his position and stock options to start a church. However, he forgets to tell us about Greg, who ran for a congressional seat, as he promises in chapter one. Instead, Mark tells a lot about how he built National Community Church into a large, multi-campus ministry. Mark's own experiences are important and can certainly be mentioned, but I have personally gotten a little tired of books in which ministers celebrate their own success in terms of numbers and campuses. Such numbers are not always the measure of a minister's success. I would have preferred to hear more about how faithful proclamation of God's word reformed and restored the lives of ordinary Christians.
Besides being a skilled story-teller, Mark is also adept at using modern ideas to communicate old truths. One of my favorite is his use of economic terminology to explain righteousness. In the chapter "Grab Opportunity by the Mane," he writes, "Far too many people think of righteousness in terms of actual costs instead of opportunity costs. We mistakenly think of righteousness as doing nothing wrong when, in fact, righteousness is doing something right. Righteousness isn't just running away from sin. Righteousness is chasing lions." I give a hearty "amen" to this idea. He rightfully makes it a central theme of his book.
Mark builds his book on a very brief story in the Bible which gives him a great deal of freedom in developing his message. Mark does not abuse that freedom, but you cannot expect that everything he says is found in the story about Benaiah. On the other hand, when Mark refers to other Bible stories, he occasionally makes statements which should be checked before repeating them. In the chapter "Playing It Safe Is Risky," he says that Nehemiah "risked his position in the Babylonian administration to rebuild the wall of Jerusalem." Actually, Nehemiah was serving the Persian king Artaxerxes (Nehemiah 2:1) in the city of Susa (Nehemiah 1:1) when he went to Jerusalem. Then in the chapter on "The Importance of Looking Foolish," he says that one Hebrew word for worship, hallal, means "clamorously foolish." Although David looked foolish in the eyes of Michal when he was bringing the ark to Jerusalem, you will want to check Hebrew lexicons, which usually suggest "praise" as a translation, before repeating Mark's definition.
Despite its limitations, I found Mark Batterson's book refreshing and challenging. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Somehow I never realized Israel had snow..

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blue Raindrop
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In A Pit With A Lion On A Snowy Day by Mark Batterson is the latest book I’ve received from Waterbrook Multnoma for reviewing it, and really ought to get some sort of prize for most interesting title.
The title and basis for the book’s analogy comes from 2 Samuel 23:20 -23…
“20 There was also Benaiah son of Jehoiada, a valiant warriortfrom Kabzeel. He did many heroic deeds, which included killing two championst of Moab. Another time, on a snowy day, he chased a lion down into a pit and killed it.21 Once, armed only with a club, he killed a great Egyptian warrior who was armed with a spear. Benaiah wrenched the spear from the Egyptian’s hand and killed him with it.22 Deeds like these made Benaiah as famous as the Three mightiest warriors. 23 He was more honored than the other members of the Thirty, though he was not one of the Three. And David made him captain of his bodyguard.”
The book does sort of assume more into this passage at times… but makes some good points that sometimes things that are opportunities to build us for the future seem like scary lions at the time, but that often the life of truly following God is going to involve some things that seem scary and crazy if you were to look at them purely from a logical perspective.
It’s a good reminder that things aren’t always supposed to be safe and comfortable, and that sometimes the reason for dealing with a lion now is to prepare us for being the king’s bodyguard a bit down the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Product is a waste of time

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Curtis Browning
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all the author says little that isn't common knowledge to reasonably mature Christians. He also seems to overlook the fact that we are not all called to be lion-chasers, some people are called to support the ones who are. I feel that this is another one of those single-focus self help books written mostly to make money. Better to read the letters of Paul.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Batterson's book gushes pop psychology

Date:June 2, 2011
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mark Batterson's book, "In A Pit With A Lion On A Snowy Day" (published by Multnomah) is a well-written, mediocre book with some good content.
That sounds contradictory, and to some degree it is.
I think it's important to give Batterson credit for some of the good qualities of his book. It's well-written, although the chapters are quite long for a paperback. There are numerous good, even insightful, points he makes throughout the book.
BUT, there's a huge negative to the book: the content of the book is the result of a preacher taking a single verse from the Bible and stretching it so widely and broadly that he makes a book from it.
The book highlights what we know of Benaiah from three verses found in 2 Samuel 23. The title of the book, and the author's primary point, come from the second half of a single verse (v. 20). And that's what's wrong with preaching today: preachers who find a simple verse to use as substantiation for many more thoughts and ideas they have than are found in the Bible passage itself.
Batterson stretches, widens, and broadens his scripture text far beyond its actual content. The points he makes are usually quite good, but it is going beyond what the scripture passage is teaching. Batterson's guesses about Benaiah's thoughts, character, actions, and source of bravery are just that: guesses. He's probably right about most of them. But when preachers try to make a book out of a single verse (in this case, half of a verse), you'll find a lot of extra-biblical information.
The author fills a lot of his space with pop psychology. Again, even much of that is fairly good stuff, but there may be as much pop psychology in this book than there is theology.
Finally, even most of the really good points Batterson makes are unoriginal. Many can be found in several other books, and are even common thoughts in blogs, Twitter tweets and Facebook posts. It's more a conglomeration of current "how to succeed when times are tough, overcoming adversity, do something great" platitudes. In this case, it's about chasing your lion.
I can appreciate the very real insight Batterson brings to a remarkable event in the life of Benaiah that's barely mentioned in scripture. But he stretches a little too far, a little too much, and a little too long.
That's bad preaching. And it's mediocre book writing, even if some of the content is good.
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

In a pit with a lion

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ina Givens
Location:winder, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark Batteron, "In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day" was a very inspiring and enpowering book. This was one of the best books I have read thus far. I especially enjoyed the stated that how we feel is a result of what we focus on. I never relized how true this was until I read this book. In addition, Batterson stated the the most important choice you make every day is your attitude. This was on point as we often forget to check our attitudes on a day to day basis. I would recommend this book to everyone. It was awesome. It taught how to make every situation an opportunity to soar. Thanks Mark for such inspiring word.
“I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review”.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
danielcooley
Location:Rio Rancho, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, this book is just too much fun. It’s easy to read, encouraging, challenging, and did I say fun?
Here are a few quotes to give you the flavor.
1. The more we grow, the bigger God should get. And the bigger God gets, the smaller our lions will become.
2. God planned for every contingency you might ever encounter, before the beginning of time.
3. First John 4:18 describes the end goal of our relationship with God: “There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear.” The goal of love is fearlessness! . . . That is the essence of faith.
4. Here is one of the biggest mistakes many of us make in our relationship with God: We focus our energies on telling God exactly what to do, how to do it, and when to do it. In fact, we repeat ourselves over and over again just to make sure God didn’t miss any of the important details. But what if, instead of spending all of our energy making plans for God, we spent that energy seeking God?
5. The issue is this: How big is your God?
Wow, I loved this book!
Danielcooley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:January 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
martre7
Location:MD
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great teaching material. It will challenge you to view things in a new light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Motivating and inspiring

Date:December 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
TAMW
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Impossible odds make for amazing miracles! This is one of the key themes in this book and think about it -- just opening your eyes every day is an 'ordinary' miracle. But if your circumstances seem impossible, as mine have at times, the good news is --- you are in for an AMAZING miracle!
This book is an easy read you will not want to put down! Author Mark Batterson writes in a very conversational, observational style. This book does not feel like one of those self analytical books that leave you feeling drained.
This book just soaks in -- you just absorb every word! Without tearing you down, this book will lift you up, build your enthusiasm, motivate and inspire you -- to want more and do more - to dream, and reach and see a bigger God! Great for teens, adults, men and women.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book.

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Etna United Methodist Church
Location:Etna, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book refreshing and challenging in that it caused me to look deeply into God's vision for my life personally and the life of the church as well. The primary question that I felt that the book raised is, "Am I a scaredy cat or a lion chaser" when it comes to pursuing God's vision and call. I would highly recommend this book to read personally and for its use with the leadership team of a local church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great message of courage for trying times.

Date:October 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dianne
Location:Valencia, California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding message of strength and courage for trying times and troubles. Presents a entertaining and clear "can do" approach with examples from the Bible and current times. Interesting reading too! I presented ideas from this as a message for our Women's "Soup for the Soul" and dozens of positive comments followed. It is a powerful reading for the season we are in. It blessed many of us.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will inspire!

Date:October 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Powered By Love
Location:New Stanton, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book, moving and inspiring. It might make you quit your job and chase those lions!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kim Mathews
I loved this book.. I will keep it and read it several times. I have bought several copies and given them to my friends... I highly recommend..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Deming
I was introduced to this book as a training tool for business. Loved the book so much that when I meet friends that have not read it and are stepping out as leaders or want to have a positive impact I give them this book. The author is dynamic and really makes you think of bible verses in a new way for me. If you struggle with understanding the word "Faith" this is a must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>