Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1

Multnomah Books Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1

Piper Wick left her hometown of Pickwick, North Carolina, twelve years ago, shook the dust off her feet, ditched her drawl and her family name, and made a new life for herself as a high-powered public relations consultant in LA. She's even "engaged to be engaged" to the picture-perfect U.S. Congressman Grant Spangler.

Now all of Piper's hard-won happiness is threatened by a reclusive uncle's bout of conscience. In the wake of a health scare, Uncle Obadiah Pickwick has decided to change his will, leaving money to make amends for four generations' worth of family misdeeds. But that will reveal all the Pickwicks' secrets, including Piper's.

Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Review 1 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I have found a new favorite author!

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was my first book by Tamara Leigh, and I have to say, she has quickly moved up my list of favorite authors. I love the way she keeps the story going, but, at the same time, lets you linger over a tender moment. Plus, there are just enough twist and turns in this book to keep you wondering till the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patty LeBlanc
I thoroughly enjoy reading Tamara Leighs books. Her characters crack me up all the time. I love a good laugh, and this author definitely provides a full share of those. She tends to give you a view of the thoughts of her characters, and thats the part in her books that I really like. It makes me feel like I know them personally when I am able to get inside their heads. This is another book of hers that I would pass along to my friends because it was a nice easy read that was fun and enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mike
This is a story about a girl named Piper Wick who left her hometown of Pickwick , North Carolina twelve years ago. She proverbially shook the dust off her feet, ditched her drawl and her family name, and made a new life for herself as a high-powered public relations consultant in LA. Now she's even engaged to be engaged to the picture-perfect U.S. Congressman Grant Spangler.Now all of Pipers hard-won happiness is threatened by a reclusive uncles bout of conscience. In the wake of a health scare, Uncle Obadiah Pickwick has decided to change his will, leaving money to make amends for four generations worth of family misdeeds. But that will reveal all the Pickwicks secrets, including Pipers.Though Piper arrives in Pickwick primed for battle, she is unprepared for Uncle Obes rugged, blue-eyed gardener. So just who is Axel Smith? Why does he think making amends is more than just making restitution? And why, oh why, cant she stay on task? With the Lords help, Piper is about to discover that although good PR might smooth things over, only the truth will set her free.It's a fun fast moving book, which features quirky characters, some comedy and a little romance. It seems a little similar to the movie Sweet Home Alabama. If you like the movie, you should like the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
MJ @ Creative Madness
*sigh of contentment* I do enjoy a good book by Tamara Leigh, she's quite the down to earth entertainer. Now after reading this story of Piper Pickwick in "Leaving Carolina", I really want to go back to my TBR shelf and find "Faking Grace", because I'm pretty sure I have a copy out there. Hmm... This book is full of family secrets, but so much more than that, it is a story of acknowledging and owning up to mistakes and sins and moving appropriately beyond them with forgiveness and admittance. Each page is filled with a pull to turn to the next page and finish the next chapter to read the continuing whit. The personality of our main character Piper is priceless and sets one to giggling and grinning as well as a bit of snickering here and there. The romance is blush-worthy and brings forth a sly grin to any reader. This is a fun loving book of entertainment, but also so much more as real lessons are brought forth in the twist of tales. I highly recommend this read, and personally cannot wait for more from Tamara. As this is my first of her novels that I have read cover to cover I need more. With that said, I'm exceptionally looking forward to the summer of 2010 to find more in The Next Adventure of Maggie and Devyn!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angela
Who wants to admit coming from a town called Pickwick, or admitting your last name is Pickwick? Not Piper Pickwick that's for sure. She dropped the Pick off her name, and left that small town in North Carolina fast and far behind her. At least that's what she though she was doing. Life, and Uncle Obadiah had different plans for Piper bringing her back to Pickwick after 12 years away and losing her southern accent. Coming home to fried foods, sweet tea, eccentric relatives, and long lost memories is not on Piper's to do list. In her trademark light hearted way, Tamera Leigh has done it again giving us lovable characters, hysterical laugh out loud moments, and poignant God moments all wrapped up in one delightful package!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sonia
This was a great book. I was able to follow the plot, and feel as tho I was there with Piper. I would def recomend this book. I felt swept away with the story following Piper as she made the hard choices she was faced with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bern
In this book, Piper Wick, is introduced to us as Los Angeles Public Relations guru who has escaped her Southern roots and even gone as far as lost her southern accent. A benevolent uncle's decision to change his will to right the many wrongs of his family causes Piper to return to the town she thought she'd never return to.Thanks to Tamara Leigh's great storytelling, I was hooked from the start. Throughout the book, I was often laughing as Piper reacted to her quirky family and all the silly characteristics that each one held. Along with all the laughs, we are also witness to how the work that God is doing in Piper as she deals with the relatives that treated her and her mother so harshly as a child. This was definitely a fun read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Tamara Leigh's books are always fun, refreshing reads that I look forward to, and this one was no different. Piper is a strong, engaging character, as is Axel, and their relationship drives the entire novel. The lessons Piper has to learn about Pickwick, both spiritual and otherwise, are poignant and real without being heavy-handed, and her relationships with the people of Pickwick are well-drawn. I particularly enjoyed meeting Maggie and Devyn and can't wait for their story. Most of all, though, Tamara did a good job of explaining why Piper's attitude toward Pickwick is what it is, without giving too much information. Piper's immaturity and anger grated on me at times, and the buildup of the love story seemed slow. However, this was a basically great book that was well worth the read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
I really enjoyed Leaving Carolina! Its a quirky southern-fiction book with unique characters. I believe every family contains some people just like those in Tamara Leighs story. The book was funny, heart-warming, and dramatic. I thought it was just the right mix of all the elements of a good story.Piper Wick is a woman with a past full of people who did her wrong and now the family misdeeds are about to hit the fan. Being someone who wants to keep the past under cover, Piper decides action most be taken and so she heads home to Pickwick. What ensues is an experience of family and redemption and renewal that Piper never new she needed or wanted.Axel the gardener is more than he first appears to be. Uncle Obadiah is a man with his past and a heart for doing what God would have him do. Plus, youll meet Maggie, Bart, Bridget, Devyn, Aunt Adele, Aunt Belinda, and Trinity Templeton. Fun, interesting, and quirky characters you will enjoy uncovering one tale at a time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
AndiinNampa
Tamara Leigh is one of my all time faves! She writes real people, living real lives, and once again she did not disappoint! I can see myself in her characters, as they struggle with faith, and learn to be more like God. What is really fun about Tamara is that she has just enough fun, and romance to keep the book balanced. There is never too much of one or the other. This is a great book that I highly recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
This was a GREAT book. Things aren't always as they seem in this book, and surprises keep on coming! I loved getting involved in the lives of the Pickwick family and seeing Piper change and learn from her family. I consider Tamera Leigh one of my favorite fiction authors, and this book certainly has kept her there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Leaving Carolina by Tamara Leigh is funny novel about returning to your roots and paying the piper. Piper Wick abandoned her hometown of Pickwick, North Carolina and the first syllable of her last name at the same time twelve years ago, shaking the dust of the town from her feet. Working as an image consultant with the rich and famous of Hollywood, she's almost engaged to a conservative politician when she receives a phone call from home about her Uncle Obadiah's will. Uncle Obe wants to make restitution for the many wrongs the Pickwick family has done to the residents of their namesake town, but if he does, the many sins of their past will be exposed, including one of Piper's own that could jeopardize her job and her almost-engagement. I didn't feel as though this romance was as strong as Leigh's others books, of which I am a huge fan, but that still makes this a thoroughly enjoyable read. As Piper struggles to make things right with her family, she also tries to make peace with her own past and ignore her growing feelings for Uncle Obe's gardener/godson, Axel. There's an important message about not hiding your sins as well as offering forgiveness. Leigh is one of those authors who I look forward to every new release.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
If you're from the South, you'll know what I'm talking about. Being related to every other person in town. Everyone thinking they know everything about you. Skeletons in the closet. And, of course, sweet tea, pickled vegetables of every type, and fried food. Sounds like my family...It also sounds like the family of Piper Pickwick. And after skeletons threatened to come out her closet, its little wonder she left the sunny South. A family crisis, however, brings her back to her roots - in more ways than one.Written with wit, laughter and fun - Leaving Carolina by Tamara Leigh is a delightful light-read full of fun characters and thought-provoking questions on well-kept secrets, forgiveness and restitution. Check it out and enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kelly Blackwell
Wow! If there is a writer who truly grasps a character and brings that character to life, it is Tamara Leigh. Each page brought me closer and closer to Piper Wick (formerly Pickwick). I was transfixed by the story unfolding when Piper would relive moments in her past. Each memory was achingly realistic and clearly represented with Leigh's writing. Reading Leaving Carolina was close to watching a film in my mind.Piper has worked long and hard to get past her roots in the Southern town of Pickwick, and now she has to go back to problem solve. One problem after another seems to land right on Piper's plate from the moment she heads out. Piper works hard to remain in control, but that defense mechanism is not going to work in this town.Leaving Carolina is told with humor, insight and just the blush of romance (exactly what I like). There is a lot to be gleaned from this book as you are being entertained by the lively characters and the slowly revealed answers to questions the reader just has to ask. It is with intense joy that I discovered that this was just the first in a series! I was thrilled because Tamara Leigh introduces so many colorful characters in this novel. It was a delight to settle in the quirky town of Pickwick, and I was in no hurry to leave. I look forward to the next books in the series. I hope it comes out soon!Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for sending me a copy of Tamara Leigh's "Leaving Carolina" to review. My review is from reading this book and is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2009
Tamara Leigh is just simply one of my favorite authors. One of a few select authors where if they write a book I want to read it - period. The only issue is that I loved her last book, "Faking Grace" SO much that it is going to take a lot to improve on that book in my opinion.Enter "Leaving Carolina" and its heroine Piper Pickwick, oops, I mean Piper Wick. When she left home she left behind as much as she possibly could including her full last name. Home was a place that carried some awful, horrible memories and she just wanted a fresh start. Now her recluse of an Uncle (and about the only family member that was every good to her and her mother) wants to change his will to make restitution for all the wrongs that her has done to others over the years, but in the process those secrets will all get spilled in the wide open... including one of Piper's very own secrets. She must go home and try to persuade him otherwise. Let the fun begin...The big question here is "Can people really change?" Tamara does a great job of searching out that question and all the possible answers and I enjoyed taking the trip to truth with Piper. The characters around her are great and the premise really is wonderful. I really liked this book and am looking forward to the fact that this is just book #1 in this series and more will follow with these great characters... but for me personally, Faking Grace still stands at the top of the list!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robin
Have you ever wished you were somebody else? I mean have you ever maybe wished your family tree had more exotic foliage on it and not just have the ordinary green leaves? Have you ever wanted to leave your hometown and move somewhere exciting where things are "happening"? Do you have a secret from your past that you wished never had happened, but you have never dealt with it, preferring to move far, far away and just ignore it?Well, these are all issues that Piper Wick, aka Piper Pickwick is dealing with. And she is learning the hard way that even though you might be able to escape reality for a season, the truth will ALWAYS find you out. But even better, the truth will ALWAYS set you free.Leaving Carolina is Tamara Leigh's latest novel but the first one I have ever read. Written in first person, it is the type of novel that draws you in immediately by teasing you with just enough storyline to make you want to read further and just enough back story to keep you piecing it all together. I truly enjoyed Tamara's writing style of incorporating humor, mystery and romance into one delightful, easy-to-read package. Personally, I enjoy Christian contemporary novels but I do find a lot of them to be unrealistic and a little too sugary-sweet. Leaving Carolina does not fall into that category and I look forward to reading more of Tamara Leigh's novels. I think this would be a great read for a book club as well, because it would propagate lots of discussion questions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joan Nienhuis
What a fun book. I smiled. I laughed. I liked this book. Ive read two others by Leigh and I think this is her best.Piper Pickwick left her home town of Pickwick twelve years ago amidst questionable circumstances. Shed like to leave her hometown in the past having even changed her name to Piper Wick. But she must go back to keep her elderly uncle from revealing all the skeletons in the family closet.From the moment of her arrival, things go wrong. A handsome man, crazy relatives, and an obstinate uncle make her life a comedy of errors. As Piper faces her past she must decide whether she will come clean in the present. Shes a high power PR person back in L.A. Certainly she can control this situation...or can she?Theres great humor and just enough romance to make this book fun. A readers guide at the end of the book makes this a good choice for reading groups. I look forward to the next one in the series.This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
The reasons why people leave home vary and are numerous but many times it's to escape the past that hurt us. That's the reason why Piper Wick has left her hometown and shed her true name. Her past has been painful and she wants to do anything to remove herself from that environment. Unfortunately for her, she gets sucker punched into returning and finds herself having to confront with the very things she's tried to run away from. If you like sweet tea, watching Paula Deen, and find yourself say y'all in your conversation, this book is for you. It's very southern and brings alive the flavor of the culture. The main focus of the story is on forgiveness and it does this without being overly preachy. Also learned are lessons on judging and trust as well. The whole entire Pickwick game could stand to learn from these lessons as they are one big dysfunctional family.Piper's character allows you to hurt with her and understand why she's become who she is today. I must say after reading what her aunts and cousins did and said in the past, I would have shaken the dust off my heels and left as well! Thank goodness the book insists on reading the rest of the verse in order for the lesson to truly come across the way it was originally intended.While I enjoyed this book, I didn't gel with it as well as I have with Leigh's other books. I just felt like I couldn't relate nor get as close to Piper as I have with Leigh's other heroines. Also this book gives off a less chick lit feel that the others. The character is the same age but acts older and more mature. There is less humor in this book and the tone is more serious. I also didn't find the romance to be as fun or engaging as past stories. Still though, I did enjoy the book and I'll be looking forward to reading the sequel and finding more about the inhabitants of Pickwick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 3, 2009
I really enjoyed this book. It's the first I've read by Tamara Leigh, but I was happy to see the next book is slated to come out next year. Yeah!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Leaving Carolina: A Novel - eBook Southern Discomfort Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie from Genre Reviews
"Leaving Carolina" is a humorous (almost "chick-lit") Christian romance novel. The pacing was excellent, and I enjoyed the story so much that I didn't want to put the book down. The world-building was also excellent with details about the place and people's jobs bringing the world alive in my imagination.The characters' relationships with each other were realistic and something I think many readers could relate to as was the core situation/problems of the book (is looking good to others worth living with secret guilt? is making peace with those that hurt you worth the potential pain?).I enjoyed that the romance went a bit more like they do in real life with several reasonable misunderstandings followed by straightening things out as the two got to know each other. I also liked that they didn't kiss at their first impulse but that tensions were left to simmer for a bit.The novel was written in first person present tense ("I run" versus "I ran"), but I didn't even realize this until the last few pages of the novel.The characters weren't super-spiritual or morally squeaky-clean, but God does have an impact on their lives. The novel wasn't preachy. Overall, I'd highly recommend this novel as well-written, clean fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>