Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook

Multnomah Books Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
27 out of 2896%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Review 1 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW!

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Wichita Ks
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not put this book down. What a powerful message.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2013
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A few days before I started the book, Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice, I watched a cheesy low budget movie in which a character is hit by a train, amputating both of his legs, and survives. I remember rolling my eyes at my husband, and saying something to the effect of, "Oh that's realistic. Like you could live through getting run over by a train."
And then I picked up Life, In Spite of Me: the raw, unflinching, and painfully honest story of hope and recovery lived by Kristen Jane Anderson after she chose to lay down on a railroad track, ready to end it all.
The book was incredibly difficult to read, especially as someone who has dealt with depression myself, but that relatability was also what made it so great. Ms Anderson takes the reader fully inside her journey, and doesn't gloss over the agonizing, heart-wrenching moments of despair. We feel it with her as we read, which makes the ultimate story of survival and renewed faith all the more inspiring. What could have easily been a depressing and dreary book is instead one that's incredibly uplifting and joy-filled. She skillfully weaves her back story with her physical recovery and her path to finding strength, encouragement and new hope through Jesus. I could not put the book down, and even after I finished it I wanted more, more, more.
This book is a must-read for anyone wanting to understand what it means to have true faith in God and a desire to share it with others, and especially for those who know what it's like to be in the grips of anxiety and depression. A truly beautiful and hopeful story.
On a personal note, I tweeted the author when I was finished, to let her know how much I liked it. She responded to me personally within the hour. Simply a lovely soul, inside and out.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Inspiring Read

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Reagan
Location:West Union, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you need encouraged? Inspired? This book delivers. Kristen Jane Anderson gives us her tragic story that becomes transformed by the Lord into triumph. A suicide attempt on a train track left her a double amputee. She should never have lived (that’s no exaggeration as the book proves), but she did. Listen to her story and finally see the hand of God become clear.
I had never heard her story until my wife, a paraplegic herself, had been reading about Ms. Anderson and was fascinated by it. That intrigued me, but I began reading thinking I would decide for myself. I did and it was a page turner!
When you read the advertisements that this book is a tool for suicide prevention, don’t assume that is all the book is about. Yes, every person contemplating suicide needs this book. Beyond that, though, every person fighting depression, or even a round of discouragement, will find this volume a rallying cry to not give up. Actually, if all you are looking for is a story of the mighty power of God on a life, grab this book. It reads easy and holds your attention throughout.
What makes this book work? Ms. Anderson doesn’t hold back. No matter how unpleasant the detail, if it is needed to tell her story, she tells it. Depression, partying, all the things that added to the darkness she went through are given in all the gory details. At the same time, dark things are never glamorized. She tells us what she thought and felt each step of the way.
Adjusting to her new found disability was shown in a clear way that as one who watched his wife adjust, I could relate. I thought that part was especially well done. Then, there was guilt. It haunted her through everything and we find where she found victory. Even with counseling and dealing with prescription drug issues we are let into her life. Failures, setbacks, and finally success are laid bare.
The point where she found Christ was an emotional high in the book where you felt like cheering. Later, when her loving mother did the same, you find yourself excited again. Finally, there’s the lesson she learned–a loving God saved her on a train track so He could save her soul later. A lady with so much sadness became a lady filled with love and gratitude. Ms. Anderson, thank you for sharing your story that clearly can help so many.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Touching Story for Everyone

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steph Blogging for Books
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a powerful book!
Like any good story, Life, In Spite of Me draws you in from the first paragraph. The reader's heart and mind are engaged immediately. The difference between this book and any novel...this is not a work of fiction.
I value openness and honesty above many other traits. I want to be genuine and real, and I appreciate these characteristics in others. The author, Kristen Jane Anderson and her co-author, Tricia Goyer, reveal the thoughts and feelings of a young woman so distraught over the hurts and unanswered questions of life that she sought to take her own life.
It's true that the word "miracle" is tossed around a lot. However, when we become aware of a genuine miracle, it has the power to stop us in our tracks. We are challenged to consider life's big questions. What is the purpose of life? Why am I here? Do I really matter?
According to the experts, Kristen should not have survived. God, however, had other plans and performed a miracle - not just for this young woman and those who love her, but for the thousands, if not millions, her story will impact.
Who should read Life, In Spite of Me? Those who are depressed or suicidal. Those searching for hope in the face of life's challenges. Those who love someone going through a difficult time. Men and women. The young and not so young. All those who enjoy a good book.
Life, In Spite of Me does not take long to read, but the impact could very well last a lifetime.
I received a free copy of the ebook from Blogging for Books in exchange for this review. Check out their site for more info.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational Story

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reason I chose this book was for its title. Life in Spite of Me I thought what an interesting statement. I thought it was clever how the author used this statement for a title of a book. All I can say is what an inspirational story. Thank you Kristen Jane Anderson for sharing your story I was truly moved, and inspired.
Normally I read through books rather quickly, but for some reason it took me a week to read this book. I took in all of it and was moved by every chapter. As I read the book I did find myself getting frustrated with Kristen, but then I also could relate to her feelings. Kristen suffered from depression, and when she started to make not so wise decisions she only sunk into a deeper pit called her life. There was one statement that leaped from the page and touched my heart. It was that she knew about God, but did not know God. My heart went out to her and to many others because this statement is true of many people out there. They heard about God but do not know Him. In Kristen’s story it did not end. Her story just began once she accepted Christ as her personal Savior. God was able to use her in tremendous ways. The scripture that came to mind as I read her story was Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.” God did this in Kristen’s life and He can do it in all our lives.
I would recommend that you read this book, and you can know that there is hope and forgiveness with God. "I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lindsey
Location:TX
Age:25-34
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At seventeen, Kristen Anderson tried to end her life. She’d gone to a park to think about the (extremely) difficult circumstances of her recent days, and then sat in a nearby, unused train car to avoid getting caught in the park after curfew. After that, she got down on the train tracks and was run over by 33 freight train cars at 50 miles per hour. She survived.
Anderson lost both legs, and spent a lot of time in the hospital. It is not enough to say that it was a miracle that she lived. And then she had to find a way to keep going, which is important: what happens next, when you have tried to end your life? That night is not really the focus of the book; it is, really, about survival. And her survival involved her growing faith and developing relationship with God.
What I appreciated most about Anderson’s book was the moments she stepped away from her own story to “talk to” the reader–about suicide, about rape; I know that there will be readers struggling through those circumstances who really need to hear what she has to say.
FTC disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher. I was not compensated for my review, nor required to write any particular thing about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Extraordinary story, extraordinary young woman

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Disbelief filled me. I was looking at my legs...lying about ten feet away."
Kristen Jane Anderson, the co-author of Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice, is also the main character in the non-fiction work. As a 17-year-old girl struggling with depression and feelings of worthlessness, with nobody telling her differently, she attempts to commit suicide, by laying down on a train track in front of an oncoming train. She survives, even when by all medical and engineering accounts she should have died. However, the train takes both of her legs, leading to a long recovery, and the repetitious refrain of "God must have kept you alive for a reason, Kristen."
The book begins with the night in question, and works both backwards to define how she came to the point of wanting to end it all, and forwards to where she works through both the physical recovery and the spiritual struggle of why she is still alive. She questions whether she would have gone to Heaven or Hell had she been successful, and she begins to work forward in her relationship with God. Her recovery isn't easy, and she relapses several times into depression, before she begins to realize "focusing on myself was the wrong thing to do. God should have been my main focus...and he wasn't." Once she turns her eyes and focus to God, she finds that she has "a beautiful story to share." From there, she feels the call to minister to others who may find themselves hopeless, and lost in darkness with nobody else to show them the Light.
The story of Kristen is an amazing one. Although it speaks directly to readers who may have considered suicide, or know someone who might, it also speaks of God's amazing grace and goodness, his faithfulness to get us through even the toughest, unimaginable situations. Kristen is honest in speaking of her weaknesses, and the story is a compelling transition from a lost soul to one found in Christ. I was amazed that Kristen even came to the point where she was "grateful" for having lost her legs, and could say that it was "worth it," because it brought her to to Christ, and it gave her the opportunity to speak to countless people who were struggling through Reaching You Ministries.
I give this book 4 stars out of 5.
I received this book for free to review as a part of the Blogging for Books program through Waterbrook Multnomah publishing group. I was not required to provide a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What an Inspiration!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Robin Porter
Location:Clayton, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read Life, In Spite of Me, in 2 days! Kristen's story was very inspiring, but unfortunately, I could relate to how she felt as a 17 year old when I was that age. I know there are many teenagers that feel this same way. I would highly recommend this book to any teenager that you know. The way the story was written made it a quick read. I loved hearing the miracles God performed in Kristen's life, even as she was trying to commit suicide! Hearing of Kristen's thoughts during this time and throughout the book was great and I really enjoyed this inspiring story! To get to see how broken she was to where she is now is a wonderful testimony of Christ's love! Even if you are not a christian, this book brings hope to those that are in the darkness of depression.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Dependence on Christ Brings Unexpected Blessings

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
MelissasCornerBookNook
Location:Coatesville, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Life, In Spite Of Me by Kristen Jane Anderson is the testimony of a young woman who overcame pain and depression through her growing dependence on Christ. We meet her at her lowest point. She is ready to end her life because she cannot take it anymore. Her way of ending her life seemed liked it should work. There is no way anyone could survive her method of suicide, but God had other plans. She survives, but she cannot see yet how God will work in her life. After her suicide attempt, she is not sure how she got to the train tracks that were supposed to take her life. In the beginning, she could not believe that others thought she tried to commit suicide. It seemed liked Kristen was blocking the idea subconsciously that she made the choice to kill herself so she would not confront the reasons behind her decision. She had some terrible things happen to her that could shake even the strongest person. Her thoughts as she considered suicide were insightful. Her friend committed suicide and she thought she would never do something like that. As time passes she thinks "Life is so hard. This world is so painful and messed up". Her thoughts begin to change from "I could never to do that" to "I'd have to think of some way I wouldn't survive". Her world was messed up and she did not share it with anyone so suicide became a real solution before.
Kristen's shares with us the trauma after her suicide attempt and her struggle to get better. Her primary goal during the beginning part of her recovery was to walk again. She was trying to make things work, but kept ending up depressed. The best part of her story is realizing that a dependence on God will heal her. When she was in the psych ward, she told a man "It helps me so much to know that even when I don't have plans for myself. I can trust that God has plans for me. Even when I don't have hope, he has hope for me. And even when I don't see a future for myself, he does. I just have to have faith". As she was being healed through Christ, she was able to help others with their struggles. There were things she wanted to do, but she left those things to God to work out. And He did!
Throughout the book, you will see letters from Kristen to her readers to offer hope. Her letter to those considering suicide was uplifting. She wants us to know we have so much to live for and that God loves you and has a plan for your life. The writing style was like a personal conversation between her and us. Kristen would tell us the story and then give us some pearls of wisdom to help anyone struggling to move forward. As she keeps talking we get a glimpse of God working on her behalf even when she did not realize it.
If you are considering suicide, I believe you will be stopped in your tracks and reconsider your decision after reading this book. For all of us, we are educated on the signs of someone who might be thinking about suicide. Although I have a different view about baptism being optional as presented in this story, I can recommend this book because it is a testimony that brings glory to God. You will be moved and inspired.
I received a free copy of this eBook from WaterBrook Multnomah through their Blogging for Books program. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Encouraging and inspiring!

Date:November 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
JessicaTurner
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristen was seventeen years old when she decided she had had enough of this world. She had had enough pain, disappointment and sadness in her life and decided she was done. She laid down in front of a train coming, trying to end her life. On that horrible night, she thought she was done with this life and knew what was best for her, but God had bigger plans. She was held down by God and only lost her legs and a lot of blood that night. She had a long, painful journey ahead of her, but God was with her every step of the way.
The story is told very straightforward with a lot of encouragement for anyone that has battled depression and discouragement. I read this book cover to cover in 5 hours. I had no desire to put it down until I read the last word. It was a beautiful story. I give it 5 stars and would definitely recommend this book to anyone that has felt discouraged and/or hopeless.
I was given this book for free by Waterbrook Multnomah to read and give an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good stuff.

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
DasSantos
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From my Review on http://www.davidasantos.com/2011/10/review-life-in-spite-of-me.html
"I'm in the hospital, can you come do my hair and makeup?"
That part cracks me up. Here you have a girl with two missing legs, laying practically on her death bed and all she cares about is her makeup and hair? No matter where a girl is at, she has to look pretty. Just like a girl. When us guys get ugly, we stay ugly! Seriously, this book is great. At first, when I started reading, our stories sounded very similar, but realized they weren't. However, the advice she gave through her struggles can and should be applied to our lives regardless of what we've been through. I've only read two bios. Micheal Jordan's and this one. I don't like Bios, but I made it a mission to finish this book in one day. I was up at 7am reading it. I did nothing else. To save time I am writing this review as I shower!
Anyways I had to Facebook stalk her to find out if this was a true story. Half way through the book I stopped, I couldn't read more unless I knew if she really was in a wheel chair. I found out she was and that helped me read the rest of the book. An amazing story and only a story God can create. She did not shut God out. You shouldn't either, don't wait til God cuts a limb off for you to start dedicating your life to him. I've been saved from death 4 times, but if I don't step up my religious game I'll be giving my life away. I thank Kristen for writing this and giving me a wake up call. Just unfortunate that she has the same name as a character in my book (The Hopeless Christiantic) That Kristen is nothing like this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Story of Finding Hope

Date:September 24, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristen Jane Anderson's teen years were filled with one painful experience after another. Seeing no hope, she laid down on a set of railroad tracks and waited for the train to kill her. Unbelievably, after thirty-three freight cars ran over her, she was still alive – but missing her legs. Thus began a completely new part of her life. It was hailed as a miracle that she survived and Kristen's recovery was slow and painful. Only after her suicide attempt did Kristen come to know Jesus on a personal level. In Him, she found a reason to hope, to live, and to walk.
Life, In Spite of Me by Kristen Jane Anderson with Tricia Goyer is not a book I would want to read every year, but it is well worth reading at least once every few years. Despite the heavy topics it deals with, the book was a quick read. Kristen's experiences are related gently and authentically to the reader. However, I think the book and its readers could have benefited from having more information about Kristen's healing from the sexual assualt in addition to the details she gives of her physical healing and struggles with depression. I felt like most of her issues prior to the suicide attempt were consolidated under the blanket of depression and only mentioned occasionnally after the suicide attempt.
I found this book to be very encouraging as I personnally struggle with depression. I appreciated that the author boldly, but kindly declares the need to know Jesus as a personal Savior. Truly, her relationship with Jesus not only saved her soul and brought healing, but also enabled her to reach out to others struggling with the same issues. I think this book could help anyone who is dealing with depression or who knows someone dealing with depression. The encouragement notes directly from Kristen were especially kind. I recommend this to anyone who is looking for an inspirational read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Blogging for Books as part of their blogger review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring and Uplifting

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lizzie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristen Anderson looked like any other ordinary seventeen-year-old girl. Who would know that she'd been raped and wanted to kill herself? One night, Kristen decides to kill herself on some train tracks near her home. After thirty-three freight cars pass over her at fifty-five miles per hour, Kristen looks around and discovers not only is she alive-but her legs are laying ten feet away.
The rest of the book speaks about how she combats life without legs, her continuing depression, and finding purpose for living after starting a personal relationship with Jesus Christ.
While the book was incredibly sad and tough to read at some parts, I finished it within two days. Following Kristin's story from wanting to die to wanting to live gave me a new zest for life, and her journey out of depression and physical pain is one of the most inspiring I've ever seen. Reading her story helped me re-discover my own purpose in life, and convicted me to be on the lookout for those around me who may think there isn't any hope.
Scattered throughout the book were several short notes from Kristen to those who are hurting, and at the end there is a list of suicidal warning signs which helped make it applicable for the reader.
Though it is graphic and difficult to read in places, it ends positively and brimming with hope. For anyone who needs encouragement or are wondering why they're here, Life, In Spite of Me might be just the thing to get you back up and living again. I know it did me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Touching story of God's faithfulness and love

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Smoothie71
Location:Alabama
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was so excited to get this book. I love hearing stories of how God has worked in someone's life despite trials and difficulties. This book was way better than I thought it would be. I thought it would be a good book, but once I started reading it I could not put it down! Hearing of all the things that Kristen went through broke my heart for her, but seeing God's love and grace restore her made me so happy and joyful. If you are struggleing with depression or are needing a reminder of God's faithfulness and love I encourage you to pick up this book. It will touch your life if you let it. God bless!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life, In Spite of Me

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
jnjdet
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I sat down to read this and 2 hours later had it finished. This is such a wonderful story of God's miraculous power and how much He loves us and can use us in spite of ourselves. I appreciate Kristen's story and her willingness to share it. I think there are so many more people suffering under depression than we will ever know and its stories like hers that show God can get you through it. I am amazed at the different people who explained all the reasons how it's impossible she is still alive and yet she is here testifying to God's awesome power. What a great story and a great ministry she has started as a result of her life story.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book, Quick Read

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christen E Krumm
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At the age of seventeen, Kristen Jane Anderson attempted to commit suicide. Dealing with the loss of three friends and her grandmother and a rape all in the course of two years, Kristen felt like she could go on no longer. On a cold January night in icy Illinois, Kristen laid down on the train tracks and waited for the train to barrel over her to end her life. Miraculously, Kristen didn't die that night. She did, however, lose both of her legs.
Life, In Spite of Me is Kristen's amazing story of survival and recovery. I love reading stories about people who are completely broken and think they are useless and God surprises everyone and does a huge work in their life. Kristen went from a depressed teen ready to end it all to a joyful young woman who is now encouraging other broken teens (and adults) around the globe with her story and ministry (www.reachingyou.org). I would have to say that my two favorite parts in Kristen’s story were where two different rescue workers randomly met her years later and told her that there is no way, no way she should have survived. As one of the paramedics that had been on scene later informed Kristen, “... You know, we didn't think you were going to make it. You lost about eight pints of blood. People are supposed to die after they lose five. When I first saw you, I was shocked you were still alive. I’ve seem people die from far less serious injuries. There’s no doubt that God saved you life that night, because medically... well, medically your survival was impossible... You don’t know how big a miracle... They tried to bring in a Flight for Life helicopter for you, but it was too foggy. Instead they did something I hadn’t seen before and I haven’t seen happen since. They radioed in and had all the intersections between where you were and the hospital blocked. A drive that normally would have taken forty-five minutes took only eight minutes.” I read this and literally had goose bumps. God truly had a bigger plan for Kristen. This is a wonderful book for encouragement whether or not you are struggling with suicidal thoughts. It's a quick read (I finished it in two days... with a toddler running around and two massive deadlines looming I was surprised I was able to pick it up at all). I would recommend this read to everyone.
Note: I received this book free for review from Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group. A positive review was not required
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Amazing Grace

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
cowgirlsmom
Location:Nebraska
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My Review:
Kristen's story starts off telling us that she had a fairly normal childhood up until her father experienced depression and she suffered loses and had been date rape as a teenager.As she struggles through these time which are difficult for many, especially teenagers, she sees no other way out an attempts suicide.
She should not of survived but by the grace of God, His Amazing Grace, she does survive.Kristen continues to struggle as she does come to the Lord.God works both in her and her family lives as time goes by and this is the story told by Kristen with the help of Tricia Goyer.
I believe this is an amazing story but not sure I would recommend this book to just anyone. I am concern that someone struggling in their life might take some wrong steps like not taking their medicine or stopping counseling before they are ready just because the author did so. I would not recommend this book to just anyone due to these concerns.This is a tough topic but a real problem we see in teens and others.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life, In Spite of Me

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
frugal4utx
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing story of a girl who had given up on life. At 17 Kristen Anderson felt that life was never going to get any better. One night, she sat in a park and argued with herself about the future. Kristen decided to lay down on the railroad tracks behind the park. When the train had passed, she had lost both legs. For 2 years after her injuries, she couldn't remember how she had gotten onto the tracks. When she finally was able to recall that night she was overwhelmed by shame. Through her experiences, Kristen tells how God had hope for her even when she had none for herself. God used the events of that night and the struggles to recover to let her know that He was there, loved her and had a purpose for her life. She accepted Christ as her Savior and slowly brought hope and healing into her life. This book is a great reminder of the love and hope that Christ offers. If you or someone you know needs to be reminded of their value, then this is the book!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful Testimony

Date:March 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jess
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cover of the book, Life, In Spite of Me, is beautiful. A lovely young girl in the grass – the photographer must have caught her in the middle of carefree laughter. Her smile is gorgeous and radiant and hopeful. Look a little more carefully and you notice the wheelchair in the background and the smaller print underneath the title – “Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice.”
Life, In Spite of Me , co-written by Tricia Goyer, is Kristen Jane Anderson’s story of surviving a suicide attempt – an attempt that by all accounts should have been fatal. She survived, barely, but lost her legs after being run over by a train. The story of how God penetrated the sense of hopelessness she felt is powerful. In the years following, she has become a Christian and has started a fruitful ministry reaching out to young people struggling with depression, suicidal thoughts, and other struggles. I have no doubt God will draw many to Himself through her testimony.
That being said, I’m conflicted about recommending the book. Kristen has experienced some fairly miraculous deliverance and healing. Despite a family history of depression and her own suicide attempt, she made the decision to take herself off both antidepressants and pain medication and credits her ability to remain medication free, to God. Again, I am thrilled for her and I do not doubt God had a role in those miracles. However, I think someone experiencing depression or suicidal thoughts could read this book and see God as the ticket to freedom from suffering, which is not the message of the gospel and isn’t something God promises us. I could easily see someone in pain turning to Christ for relief, finding they are still in pain, and rejecting Him.
Although Kristen makes it clear she became a Christian because she understood she needed Jesus because she was separated from God by sin, that message gets a bit lost. Because I think people who are really in need of Christ will turn to her story and to this book, I wish that had come out more clearly.
That being said, I love how God used the body of Christ in her story. The people who came around her after her suicide attempt are shining examples of God using His body to bring comfort, direction, truth, and support to the world. I hope people who read the book will find the same love and support.
To sum up, I’m thankful Kristen is alive. I praise God with her for the glory she is giving Him in this chapter of her life. I do believe He miraculously saved her physically and spiritually. My concerns over the content stem really from a more general concern that we are flooding our Christian community with these kinds of stories to the extent that it may seem as if the gospel is only for the broken or for people who are seeking relief. The gospel is for the sinner – which is every single one of us – weak, strong, broken, confident, slave, or free.
The cover of the book, Life, In Spite of Me, is beautiful. A lovely young girl in the grass – the photographer must have caught her in the middle of carefree laughter. Her smile is gorgeous and radiant and hopeful. Look a little more carefully and you notice the wheelchair in the background and the smaller print underneath the title – “Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice.”
Life, In Spite of Me , co-written by Tricia Goyer, is Kristen Jane Anderson’s story of surviving a suicide attempt – an attempt that by all accounts should have been fatal. She survived, barely, but lost her legs after being run over by a train. The story of how God penetrated the sense of hopelessness she felt is powerful. In the years following, she has become a Christian and has started a fruitful ministry reaching out to young people struggling with depression, suicidal thoughts, and other struggles. I have no doubt God will draw many to Himself through her testimony.
That being said, I’m conflicted about recommending the book. Kristen has experienced some fairly miraculous deliverance and healing. Despite a family history of depression and her own suicide attempt, she made the decision to take herself off both antidepressants and pain medication and credits her ability to remain medication free, to God. Again, I am thrilled for her and I do not doubt God had a role in those miracles. However, I think someone experiencing depression or suicidal thoughts could read this book and see God as the ticket to freedom from suffering, which is not the message of the gospel and isn’t something God promises us. I could easily see someone in pain turning to Christ for relief, finding they are still in pain, and rejecting Him.
Although Kristen makes it clear she became a Christian because she understood she needed Jesus because she was separated from God by sin, that message gets a bit lost. Because I think people who are really in need of Christ will turn to her story and to this book, I wish that had come out more clearly.
That being said, I love how God used the body of Christ in her story. The people who came around her after her suicide attempt are shining examples of God using His body to bring comfort, direction, truth, and support to the world. I hope people who read the book will find the same love and support.
To sum up, I’m thankful Kristen is alive. I praise God with her for the glory she is giving Him in this chapter of her life. I do believe He miraculously saved her physically and spiritually. My concerns over the content stem really from a more general concern that we are flooding our Christian community with these kinds of stories to the extent that it may seem as if the gospel is only for the broken or for people who are seeking relief. The gospel is for the sinner – which is every single one of us – weak, strong, broken, confident, slave, or free.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review as part of a “Blogging for Books” program.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Life, In Spite of Me: Extraordinary Hope After a Fatal Choice - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lindsay
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me. I once was lost but now I'm found, was blind, but now I see. These are the words that came to a seventeen-year-old girl after she had attempted suicide. She didn't really understand where these words came from until years later. I love this book because it serves more purpose than being just a good read. This book really can help anyone who struggles with depression or suicidal thoughts that there is a reason for living. As Kristen deals with losing her legs and the pain that is physical and emotional she meets people who help her strengthen her relationship with God. I loved reading about all the things God did for her when Kristen actually put her faith in Him and trusted Him to take care of her.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone but especially to those who think life really isn't worth living anymore. Her story is such an inspiration that God really does have plans for us. It is just like Jeremiah 29:11 says, "For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future." All we have to do is let God guide us through the plans He has for us instead of making our own plans.
This is honestly one of the best books I have read in a while. I hope you will enjoy it just as much.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.