Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook

Multnomah Books Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.294 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 1788%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Adventure. Loved Every Minute!

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Faye
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A delightful novel with well-written, whimsical characters.
Lilly is a flapper, who is not above using her charms to get what she wants. One night she falls into the backyard of Cullen Burnside, and his aging mother, a wealthy family still suffering the aftermath of the WWI. Lilly worms her way into the Burnsides' hearts, bringing hope and livlihood back into their home.
I love this book! The characters are so well-developed, and even though I didn't think that Lilly was the nicest person at first, she was a great character the whole way through. Mrs. Burnside was a lovely woman, so sweet and just an all-around wonderful person. And Cullen was a man who had endured so many things, yet he had inner strength and began to hope again.
This book was thoroughly enjoyable, yet it had a depth to it that took it to the level of fantastic! This one is a fast read, and the pages turned steadily. I loved the Roaring 20's setting, and the way that the characters interacted with each other. And yes, by the end I had fallen under Lilly's enchanting spell :)
Overall, a completely charming book that is one of my personal favorites. Allison Pittman has done it again; written a book that I love. I would highly recommend this book!
I recieved this book from the publisher in return for an honest review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

wonderful book

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
apple blossom
Location:Grand Forks, ND
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was quite the page turner. You never knew which direction it was going to take. I can't say that I recall reading any of Allison's books so was very pleasantly pleased. I will be looking for more of her books in the future. The theme of this book is letting go of the past and forgiveness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Roaring '20s FUN!

Date:September 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Location:Okmulgee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fun, fun, fun!
Lilly Margolis and Cullen Burnside are about as opposite as two people could possibly be. He's the tortured, scarred, reclusive hero. She's the carefree, beautiful, unfettered flapper who drops into his world and turns it upside down.
While Lilly upends Cullen's life, he and his sweet, gracious, ever-more-senile mother set hers to rights. Cozily ensconced in their palatial home, she finds much more than a world of more wealth than she's ever dreamed of. Lilly learns about family and faith…and what love really means.
When push comes to shove, it's a road trip across the country with a car full of varied personalities that brings some answers and clears the way for love to work its magic…if the war hero is brave enough, and the girl forgiving enough.
I loved this storyline. Fun, entertaining, touching, and absolutely believable. Add well-written to the mix, and Allison Pittman definitely hit one out of the ballpark with Lilies in Moonlight. Very highly recommended!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good book...middle is a little slow

Date:September 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
So Mommy
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have decided that I'm not really a romantic novel type person. The book was very well-written and enjoyable, but it just isn't my kind of book. The plot was a nice change from boy-meets-girl-gets-married. It definitely had a unique twist on the normal love story novels, which I liked. The first few chapters kept me reading, but the middle got a little slow for me. If you like romantic novels, you would probably enjoy this book...I'm just more of a mystery girl!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Sweet and Easy Read

Date:July 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Location:San Antonio, Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have just finished reading "Lillies in Moonlight" by Allison Pittman. This book was set in the 1920's. The main characther, Lilly Margolis, is a young adult searching for the love that was never given to her by her mother. Through a series of events, she finds herself in the home of wealthy and sweet Betty Ruth, who suffers with dementia and her son, Cullen, who suffers from both physical and emotional scars from his past. The three form a bond and healing is just around the corner! "Lilies in Moonlight" is the 2nd Allison Pittman book I've read. I really enjoy the way Allison writes. Her books are easy to read, I enjoy her characters, and I really love how she brings in the gospel! A sweet read I would recommend to anyone!
Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for sending this book to me, free of charge, for this review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A new favorite for me. Want to read more.

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
welovetohomeschool
Location:New York
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This novel is a Christian historical romance novel. It is set during the time of flappers and prohibition, such an interesting time period. Things were changing so rapidly; people were too. Sometimes good changes; sometimes bad ones.
Lilly is the main female character. She carries many emotional scars and a lot of extra "baggage" from her past. By outward appearances, she is modern and hip and "one of those kind of girls". But in her heart, she longs to be forgiven and loved.
Cullen is the main male character. His scars are emotional and physical. Physical, due to mustard gas from the war. Emotional, due to past mistakes and tragedies and now the mental state of his mother, which has everyone near her walking on eggshells.
Lilly doesn't know where the next rent check will come from. Cullen can hand out dollar bills, like it was penny candy. When their worlds collide, no one involved will ever be the same.
This story was wonderful. It held me captive from beginning to end. I wanted to read more and more. I haven't read too much fiction lately that has had that effect on me. So this was like a breath of fresh air.
One of my favorite quotes from the book:
"The point is, what matters is the moment. How precious, precious time is. The past had to happen, and we cannot stop the future. Why, then, should we live with a spirit of fear and regret?"
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Five Plus Stars!

Date:July 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I have a book by one of my favorite authors, I tend to put off reading it and just let it sit on my bookshelf for a time, while I anticipate the great story that lies within. Allison Pittman is one of my favorite authors; and with the release of Lilies in Moonlight, she has hit another home run! Once again she has crafted a well-written novel that drew me into a whimsical, yet meaningful story that I did not want to end. As much as I wanted to proceed slowly, it's one of those books that kept me turning the pages for more until there were no more pages remaining! Not only does Pittman have a way of bringing her characters to life, but she also has very original story-lines that are refreshing to read. Set during the Roaring Twenties, Lilies in Moonlight focuses on two individuals that seem to have very little in common. Though living a life of wealth and privilege, Cullen Burnside is only a shadow of the young man that he left behind before the war, and seemingly irrepressible Lily is really just searching for a place to belong. I fell in love with each of the characters in this novel and experienced their emotions throughout the journey. Betty Ruth, Cullen's mother, is such an endearing character that added dimension to the story. While Lilies in Moonlight has its light and humorous moments, there is such depth and insight just beneath the surface.
I know that I will continue to revisit Lilies in Moonlight in the future, and I eagerly anticipate Allison Pittman's next release, Forsaking All Others in October 2011.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fun book

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sandra Dean
Location:ct
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Surprising story and ending, was light a good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Light but fun reading

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eezbookreview
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I started this book I thought it would be a rather overdone "christian lit done light" novel. Instead, I found myself enjoying the characters, the setting, and the mood the author was trying to convey. While t was fairly light literature, I think at times the author was trying to add in a bit too much with the overtones of Lillies judgmental mother, a wounded war hero, a flapper girl turned righteous, and a mother suffering from dementia. However, I think overall the book works because parts of it were poignant (especially the mother suffering dementia and the girl simply seeking a place to call home). I enjoyed the time period especially since I've read few christian novels set around the roaring twenties. I thought the characters of Cullen and his mother were the best parts of the book and the mother especially with her dementia was drawn in with a light yet knowing hand. I started out not finding Lilly especially appealing but by the end of the book I found that her character had evolved and she had drawn me in. I enjoyed the story and while not my favorite type of genre or writing, would probably read another book by the same author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Flappers, Baseball and Moonsie!!

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stella Mize
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lilies in Moonlight by Allison Pittman
“I’ve never felt like anybody loved me. I never knew my father, and I think mama always blamed me for running him off. He didn’t want no baby.” She said the last two words in her mother’s thin, clipped tone. “And when she talked about God, well, it’s nothing like what you have to say. She just said that God wants me to have long hair and long skirts and to be good. But I…I don’t know how to be good. Not good enough. Never good enough.” ~Lilly Margolis
Lilly is our beautiful heroine, a flapper girl trying to find her place in a changing world. After leaving the clutches of her emotionally unavailable mother in Pennsylvania, she finds herself at the home of Betty Ruth Cullen, the sweet-loving matriarch of our story. Even though Betty Ruth suffers from dementia, she embraces Lilly completely and the two develop a close friendship.
Cullen Burnside is the only child and heir of the Burnside fortune. His passion is baseball, earning him the nickname “Moon” during his high school years. “It’s a baseball term,” Cullen said, almost in rescue. “When you hit a ball high and long, it hangs in the air. Seems like forever. Looks just like that.” He pointed the remains of his cone to the sky. “Guys call it a moon shot.” But when his baseball career doesn’t work out, he enlists in the army. The harrowing effects of the war leave him emotionally and physically scarred.
Lilly and Cullen are at a crossroads in their lives. Both bearing the scars of a past they wish they could change. When their paths intercept, something miraculous happens….healing. Both learn to accept their mistakes and embrace forgiveness fully and completely.
I enjoyed this story from beginning to end. I have always loved the early 1900s, especially the Roaring 20s. There was so much change going on in the world and such an exciting time for women. I guess that is why this book grabbed my attention from the first page and wouldn’t let go long after turning the last page. Ms. Pittman definitely captured the essence of the roaring 20s and brought it to life on the page. I loved each character and the relationships they developed with each other. I have to say, though, that Moonsie was my very favorite. I loved him instantly. Lilly will definitely make her way into your heart just as she did the Burnsides and remain there long after closing the book. She’s feisty, flirty and forward but downright lovable. I also loved that we got see her vulnerable side. All of these elements were so visual in the writing and at times moved me to tears. Such wonderful writing and beautiful characters make this book one of my all time favorites.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Flappers are fun

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Abbie
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Out on her own, Lilly Margolis, finds herself selling makeup to the affluent of the town in order to scrape by. Even in these dire circumstances the contageousily energetic Lilly fills the nights on the town fully enjoying the 20's flapper life style. However, after just such a night out Lilly falls and twists her ankles, hurt and disoriented Lilly finds herself in the backyard of the Burnside family. Never did she imagine that one night out would change her entire life.
Nor did the Burnside family count on one quirky, life-filled energetic young lady to change their world. Betty Ruth and her disfigured veteran son Cullen are merely passing their days. Cullen, battling the fatique of war and disfigurement daily cares for his widowed mother who suffers from increasing dementia. In this house grey hopelessness has settled and Lilly is just the one to bring life into a stifling situation.
Fearing that Lilly will dupe his mother out of money Cullen is on gaurd. But even so, he finds himself drawn to this unquenchable breath of life, the indistiguishable flame of enthusiam. Thus begins a journey of two people gaurding against love and fighting their own demons.
Will they find the courage to face their individual secrets and come to term with the things that most haunt them in order to find true love and healing.
An excellent read.
Thank you Multnomah for this review copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Predictable, but fun!

Date:May 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
lorrie
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lilies in Moonlight by Allison Pittman
Fairly predictable, but still enjoyable. Pittman is writing a series of "baseball" books and this is the third. However, it's not a chronological series, from what I gather, so the characters are independent in each book (although some overlap.)
I enjoyed the 1920's setting--flappers, prohibition, baseball. The heroine is an emotionally damaged young lady who meets an exceptional, yet mentally failing, older woman. That relationship transforms her inside. The son of the older woman becomes a key character, as well.
I appreciated the themes of forgiveness, redemption, and grace throughout the book. These are clearly spelled out and the salvation plan is given, as well. Encouraging for a Christian and perhaps an invitation for a non-Christian.
I didn't like that the author uses quite a bit of sensual imagery in the story. While it certainly fit the characters and sometimes was recognized by the characters as sinful, it is not always treated so...sometimes the character's indiscretions are left open to be judged by the reader as appropriate or not--or the author may present the actions as cute or fun, while in reality, they are flirting with sexual immorality and lust. I'd love to see the author develop her characters without leading the reader to this point.
Overall, it was a fun book. Not greatly moving, but a fun and relaxing read! Thanks for providing it for me for free, Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Read

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Proverbs 31 Wannabe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although it had a slow start, Lilies in Moonlight by Allison Pittman, was a great read. Once I got past the first few chapters, I had difficulty putting the book down.
Lily Margolis, a flapper in the roaring 20's, has a delightful personality and I fell in love with the character. She is running from her past, an overly critical mother, and lacks focus and vision for what she should do with her life. Cullen Burnside, wounded by the war as well as failure to please his now deceased father, has much to overcome as well. The two are brought together by Cullen's mother, Betty Ruth, who has dementia. Betty Ruth shows Lily what a mother ought to be and teaches her of the unconditional love and forgiveness of God. These characters take a journey that brings healing and forgiveness.
This is the first book I've read by Pittman, and now I want to read the other two books in this series, although each book stands on its own. On a scale of 1 (poor) to 5 (fantastic), I would give this book a 4, as I thoroughly enjoyed the story. I was given this book for free by WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group in exchange for a fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
KavR
Location:Canada
This book surprised me in a lot of ways. From the very beginning, I wasn't sure I liked Lilly. In fact, I was pretty certain I didn't. She was too...brassy...sassy...devil-may-care. A fly-by-night without substance or so I thought. But Pittman penned her well -- a very lost soul living a life I couldn't relate to. I felt a wall going up between Lilly and me, though I adored Cullen the first time I laid eyes on him. I kept reading for Cullen's sake but Pittman very cleverly shows her readers Lilly's heart early on in the book. Those two small instances kept me reading. Lily might be lost but I now had assurance that she could be found.
Exquisite descriptive writing created images that transported me out of my world and into the roaring twenties. I could see everything -- everyone -- so vividly that every page was a delight to read.
Pittman brought the flavor of that era to life and created memorable characters that are far from perfect. Then she threw God into the mix and turned their story into a spiritual journey culminating in a powerful climax. Sheer brilliance. I'm glad I stuck around to get to know Lilly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Amazingly Magnificent Read!

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
plasticmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's been a long time since I read a 300 page book in one day, but I couldn't put this one down! Lilly, the flapper who is looking for a life of adventure, sin included. Betty Ruth, the demented doweress mother who becomes amazingly insightful during her lucid periods. Cullen, the rich recluse, hiding his disfigured body behind the walls of his home. The characters in this book come alive, and are a fun bunch of people to get to know. You get to meet many more along the way as Cullen attempts to return Lilly to her mother to save her from her wild ways. A fantastic read! Six out of five stars! Highly recommended!
This book was provided to me free of charge by Waterbrook Multnomah for review purposes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay, but not amazing

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
StoryGirl
Location:South Carolina
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Roaring Twenties: flappers and fringe - the Charleston and champagne - isn't that what we all think of? And yet, surprisingly, I really haven't had very much exposure to that time period, unless you want to count The Princess and the Frog. And I don't.
Well, this book certainly has all that we think of when the Jazz Age is mentioned. Lily is a wild, unpredictable flapper who, after an accident, finds herself under the care of kindly but forgetful Betty Ruth, and her son Cullen, who was terribly disfigured during the Great War. When Betty Ruth declares that the Lord told her Cullen would be healed if he returned to playing baseball, the group heads out on a surprising journey.
Some parts of this book I liked, other parts I didn't, and still other scenes had me scratching my head a little bit.
The best part of this book was probably the way Lily changed from the beginning. At the start of the book she wasn't what I would usually think of as a heroine. She's more like that character who we want the main character to stay away from - you know, the "bad news" type. Yet, after Lily becomes a Christian, she goes through a believable transformation and turns into someone that we actually start to like.
I read another book by the same author, The Bridegrooms, and though I liked Lilies in Moonlight much better, I have the same problem with both books: they weren't satisfying. Both of them left me with the odd feeling that the book wasn't quite finished.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group
for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lilies in Moonlight: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromLilies in Moonlight.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rich historical setting!

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lilly Margolis escaped from her domineering mother's household to exert her independence and find the acceptance she lacked at home. A beautiful flapper, she finds her security in all the wrong places until stumbling upon the forgetful society matron Betty Ruth Burnside. A twist of fate convinces Betty Ruth's son Cullen to take Lilly in temporarily, but this wounded war vet is locked in his own world of past regrets and doesn't want to risk damaging his mother's fragile memory further. In the end, will Betty Ruth's proposed cross-country journey grant them all the forgiveness and acceptance they've desired?
Set in the 1920s, Lillies in Moonlight is rich with historical detail. Pittman creates lifelike characters in such a realistic world that you can't help but cheer them along. The story's twists and turns add to the suspense of the ending. The messages of forgiveness, love, and acceptance come through loud and clear through the story of Lilly and Cullen in a natural, non-preachy way.
I enjoyed reading this book. I'm definitely going to seek out Pittman's other books!
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Multnomah's Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.