Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook

WaterBrook Press Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook

John and Stasi's new book, Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of does for couples what Captivating did for women and Wild at Heart did for men. In it couples are encouraged to fight for one another and not with each other. The Eldredge's liken marriage to a love story occurring within the context of a war. As couples fight the forces at work against their marriage, they need to remember that they are in this together. Alternating chapters show the male and female perspectives and as they share their personal experiences, they let you know that it is in the context of marriage that God chooses to heal and transform you into His image. Hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.531 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 1580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
Review 1 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Season Bos
Location:North Shore, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to wonder if long-winded gentleman from ChristianBookPreviews.com even read the book. Friend, the introduction states that fairy tales are based on the Gospel; nowhere does Eldredge claim them to be interchangeable, and he certainly does not say that that Gospel is at the same level as fairy tales. Good grief. As far as looking to the heart goes, Eldredge's point is that we were entirely created by the Lord, who IS love, to reflect Him. He certainly doesn't call the Lord unholy, and the Gospel is clearly detailed as early as page 17, not as late as page 69. If you prefer to simply skim the book and twist the author's words, then the review from ChristianBookPreviews.com is what you'll come up with. If you actually read the book, you'll find it to be a useful tool when it comes to keeping your marriage on the right path.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible insight

Date:May 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Drew P
Location:Temple, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a year into a divorce filed by my wife, and I have been doing a lot of soul-searching as God reveals my flaws. It is amazing how different I look through His eyes instead of my prideful lenses.
This book is incredible in that, rather than being written from either a male or female perspective, it is co-authored by a fluent husband and wife who share their perspectives on some of the issues in their weather-worn marriage. By their mutual devotion to God and each other, it is evident that God can and will bring a husband and wife into closer harmony when both spouses are willing to allow Him to operate and refine each other's shortcomings and acknowledge the effect of wounds each spouse brings into the marriage.
I would highly recommend Love and War and have already shared it with friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Wonderful book on marriage!

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
LisaH
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Love & War” by John & Stasi Eldredge is a refreshingly open, insightful, and well-written book on marriage and the common struggles that plague us within this primary relationship. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is married or about to be.
The Eldredges have tackled the topic of marriage in a fresh way. They continually refer to marriage as the microcosm of the bigger story of our relationship with God. They are quick to point out that marriage is the means in which we learn to love, and also one of the biggest recipients of Satan’s attacks. After all, marriage is about “love and war.”
This book is beautifully written. John is an amazing story teller, and both he and his wife are often painfully honest in their own struggles. This allows the reader to connect with them throughout the book, almost as if conversing with them at the kitchen table. They often show both perspectives (husband and wife) of the same situation, giving the reader the opportunity to understand marriage struggles in a deeper way.
This book is refreshing and full of wisdom, backed up by real life experiences.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Good Read

Date:December 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Amanda
Location:Michigan
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Love And War by John and Stasi Eldredge is a good read for any engaged or married couple. John and Stasi’s vulnerability in sharing their ups and downs in their journey together in marriage brings a real aspect to the book’s message. It encourages the readers that there is hope and that a God honoring marriage is worth the fight.
The message of Love and War is that marriage is hard and is a war, but that our spouse is not the enemy. The real enemy is Satan who plots and schemes to destroy love. John and Stasi Eldredge show how the war can be won by fighting for each other instead of against each other.
I enjoyed getting the male and female perspective together in the book, it helps to give the reader a balanced perspective that most marriage books don’t give. There is alot of good truths and tools to be used to enrich your marriage, though I did find it a little shallow. I think it is a exceptionally good tool for those couples who are new to the christian faith, but if you are looking for something that goes deeper and really challanges you, this is not the book for you. I found it to be lacking real depth.
All in all it was a good read.
~I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly a blessing to marriage...

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
thesachsgirl
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Marriage is fabulously hard.” That’s one of the first statements that John & Stasi Eldredge make about marriage, and they just get more real from there. They don’t sugarcoat things in Love & War, they tell it like it is, and it’s not easy.
Throughout the book they discuss their own marriage, with honesty and openness that is both refreshing and endearing. You see their own brokenness and heartache, and read how they have worked to keep it together. They talk about how they each contributed to that, how their own individual issues, if you will, contributed to the issues in their marriage, and how they both worked to save what is so dear to them.
I have to admit that I had a hard time getting into this book, but once I did it really registered. Whether you are having problems in your marriage or if you are newlyweds who think you never will, this book is for you. If you are engaged and preparing for marriage, this book is for you. Love & War is a true, open, honest look at what marriage is and how it really works. It’s not sugarcoated and full of platitudes about how much we have to work but if we do it will be smooth sailing. They are honest that it takes work, and work, and even then work some more. But something beautiful is there, and you can find it, with work.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group through the Blogging for Books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Love & War Review

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Danielle Decker
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried really hard to like this book. I just couldn't. It was just way to slow or something for me.
I did find some interesting points in the book. One was that children of divorced families don't fare in life as well as children who grew up with a family intact. But that was a statistic that most people are already aware of I think.
Another interesting point that I liked was this quote:
"We want to be able to offer something to our spouses out of a full heart, and not merely bring them our need."
That is always a good reminder to me. I tend to just want want want out of my marriage. I have to remind myself that I have to do some things for him too.
"It's not all about me!"
That's what I always tell the kids. "It's not all about you!"
I'm sure there are many readers out there that will enjoy this book and use it to help their marriage grow in Christ.
Disclaimer: I received this book free from Waterbrook Press books to read and write my own review. The opinions are all my own and were in no way swayed by anyone or anything but my honest feelings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A+ for the Eldredge's!

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kayla
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is excellent for men and women in any type of relationship. When I ordered this book I was familiar with the Eldredge's book, and this one did not disappoint. John and Stasi are very real in their story telling and true to the difficult issues in marriage. Reading this book feels like you are sitting around the dining room table chatting with good friends. Any easy read, and very beneficial at that!
*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review, these opinions are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
This review is fromLove & War: Finding The Marriage You've Dreamed Of.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must-read

Date:June 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
JanM
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having read and loved Captivating by Stasi Eldredge last year, I had high expectations for Love and War, and it did not disappoint.
The Eldredges start by acknowledging that marriage is fabulously hard, and yet we often treat it as we do our health… doing the bare minimum to get by and hoping for the best.
They explain that marriage is a love story set within a war. This war, with the devil, the world and our flesh, is worth fighting. It’s a fight for each other, not against, as we often let it become.
Sadly, I’ve known several couples who have divorced because ‘they just don’t make each other happy anymore.’ It’s hard work to keep your spouse happy, right? Well, guess what? It can’t be done. The Eldredges use scripture to show how the unending love of Christ is what we long for. Once we remove the expectation that our spouse is the source of our happiness, the marriage can be filled with joy.
John and Stasi openly share their relationship, the ups and downs, modeling how to deal with brokenness and spiritual attacks. Their short personal stories are refreshingly honest. I appreciate how John and Stasi shared their individual perspectives on various experiences.
For me, there were many ‘ah-hah’ moments throughout the book. In fact, my copy is covered in sticky notes marking points I want to reread again soon. I highly recommend this book to every married couple.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Waterbrook Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Remarkably different! Worth your time!

Date:June 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
T L Goad
Location:Champaign, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Through the years, I've read 100s of books on marriage. Though many have been beneficial, they've all pretty much sounded the same. This book by John & Stasi Eldredge is remarkably different. It is fantastic! Very candidly and very personally, they take you on a journey to show you just how "workable" marriage is. It's basically about LOVE---being that God placed in us a desire to love and be loved because it draws us to Him. It's also about WAR---there is an active battle you must fight daily. Your spouse is not your enemy.
This book is worth your time and money.
*Disclaimer: I received this book free from Waterbrook-Multnomah Publishers in exchange for an honest review.*
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
This review is fromLove & War: Finding The Marriage You've Dreamed Of.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read for All Couples

Date:May 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Proverbs 31 Wannabe
Location:Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved John Eldredge's "Wild at Heart," and then "Captivating," which he and Stasi wrote together. Now they have put the two parts together in "Love and War...Find Your Way to Something Beautiful in Your Marriage." It was a fantastic read, and I now want to re-read this book with Hubby, discussing each chapter as we go. Marriage is hard. People don't tell you that before you get married, or if they do, your head is too far in the clouds to listen. In this book, the Eldredges discuss marriage relationships and God's divine design for His people. Here are a few of the high points of the book, as listed in the beginning of chapter 8:
* You and your spouse live in a love story that is set in the midst of a very real war.
* God gave us marriage, both as a picture of his love to the world, and because we are going to need each other. We are not playing house - we are living in an epic love story.
*Your marriage is a perfect storm because your borkenness and sin collide in devastating precision with your spouse's. Yet God is in that, because he is using your marriage to transform you.
*When it comes to love and happiness, we are broken cups. We will put untold amounts of pressure on our marriage until we realize that God is teh waterfall; he is the love we are looking for. The greatest gift you can give your spouse (and everyone else in your life) is to have a real relationship with God.
The more of this book I read, the more I wanted to read. I love the way the Eldredges use examples from their own marriage and are completely honest about the struggles they have faced and issues that still arise. They use scripture to explain how our relationships were made to work. I would highly recommend this book to any married couple, no matter how long they have been married or what kind of shape they believe their marriage is in and to couples thinking about getting married. It was a great read, and I enjoyed thinking about my own marriage and God's wonderful desires and plans for our lives.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Marriage Book

Date:May 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stephenandlinds
Location:Daleville, Al
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John & Stasi Eldredge come together to write Love & War, a biblical, honest book on marriage. This book is full of great, biblical, easy-to-read advice to any married couple who follow Christ. If you have read and enjoyed either of their best-selling book, Wild at Heart or Captivating, then you will enjoy this book too! They show couples how they can fight FOR each other rather than fight AGAINST each other...very insightful! As a couple, this is one of our favorite marriage books!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phronsie Howell
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
John and Stasi write so openly it's like sitting in their living-room talking with them. They start out "Love & War" by assuring us that marriage can be done. They use the rest of the book to tell us how, often telling pieces of their own story.
It's refreshing to read a book on how we can make marriage work. Especially since the authors admit their own shortcomings. I agree with them whole-heartedly that this would be a great book to go through in a small group, or even a married couples Sunday School class. I love how open and honest John and Stasi are, and how real they seem. They're not just counselors, they're people who've experienced everything they write about. "Love & War" gets a 5-star rating from me, not only because it is well-written and easy to read (for me), but because it's relevant. If you or anyone you know want to go deeper in their marriage, get to the root of their marriage problems, or just needs a good book to read, give "Love & War: Find Your Way To Something Beautiful in Your Marriage" by married couple John and Stasi Eldredge a read!
Disclaimer: I received this book free from Waterbrook-Multnomah Publishers in exchange for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Marriage is difficult, but possible

Date:May 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
wheelsms
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Book Review: Love & War: Find your way to something beautiful in your marriage, by John & Stasi Eldredge
Marriage is fabulously hard and requires difficult work. But it is possible. And it is worth every effort. Those three sentences summarize the message of Love & War.
The Eldredge’s communicate the fact that marriage is an epic love story that is set in the midst of a very real war. It is not merely a love story, but rather an epic love story, because God designed marriage both to illustrate his love for the world, and because we need one another. The love story takes place in a very real war against the enemy of our souls. We need to strive together and depend on God’s strength if we want to win the battle. Marriage is difficult because we are broken people, and our brokenness and sin collide head-on with our spouse’s brokenness and sin. And yet, marriage is possible because God is in the process of transforming us into his image.
The book is unique in that John & Stasi are open and honest about their own marriage, including their struggles and victories. They demonstrate vulnerability as they share what they have learned and discovered about their own challenges, failures, and breakthroughs. They alternate back and forth in telling their story which provides both male and female perspectives on the issues they discuss.
Love & War is a very practical, helpful, and encouraging volume. One of the better books I have read on marriage.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

didn't live up to Love &War Devotional for Couples

Date:May 7, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I absolutely loved "Love and War Devotional for Couples." So I was thrilled to have the opportunity to read the book that was the basis for the devotional: "Love and War," by John and Stasi Eldredge.
In "Love and War" (the book, not the devotional), the Eldredges impart the Christian wisdom they have learned through their own 25+ years of marriage ups and downs. They have a fun style of telling their story by alternating speakers, and their marriage is very relatable at every turn of the page. Stylistically, I enjoyed this book.
Content-wise? Well, as I first began reading "Love and War" (the book), I felt as if it were an expanded discussion of the themes of "Devotional," and as such, it held great promise for further growth in my own marriage. However, as the book wore on, it began to loose the punch of "Devotional. " The concepts which seemed revolutionary and life-changing in the devotional format seemed to get lost in the weight of the full-length book. I spent more time figuring out the Eldredges' marriage and its lessons than I did being inspired to grow in my own. By the time I had finished "Love and War" (the book), it felt like any other Christian marriage enrichment book. Not bad, just not the life-altering book I had expected based on "Devotional."
I received this book free from WaterBrook Multonomah for the purpose of providing my honest review. I am not required to write a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
This review is fromLove & War: Finding The Marriage You've Dreamed Of.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Worth Fighting For

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The theme of this book is "We live in a love story, set in the midst of war." Your spouse is not your enemy. Satan is; he wants to destroy this beautiful union between husband and wife because he knows that together they are powerful warriors making an impact for God’s kingdom. The authors invite us to fight for a marriage that not only lasts a lifetime through storms and all but also is love-driven. Love like God does…like God is. The authors share with transparency about their own struggles in their marriage and lessons they have learned. I enjoyed getting insights from both a male perspective and a female perspective. This book will help you remember that you and your spouse are in this together for a mission and adventure that God has planned for both of you. Whatever the cost is, it is definitely worth fighting for! What I don’t like in this book includes some crude humor, God’s name being used in vain (p. 93), and a book recommendation (that I wouldn’t recommend…p.106). Nevertheless, this book can be a useful tool for enriching your marriage and deepening your intimacy. Christ-centered marriages are the best marriages!
~This book was provided for review by WaterBrook Multnomah.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
This review is fromLove & War: Finding The Marriage You've Dreamed Of.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Danny
I have read many marriage books, yet I am still learning how to be a better husband. Most books tell you what you should and shouldnt do. Books that try to fix marriages, more like a self-help course. Love and War is a different type of marriage book. John and Stasi Eldredge share from their personal journey to stay married. The book begins by relating with most married couples of how we have so many expectations only to find ourselves disappointed because it was more difficult than we thought. The authors talk extensively about how we need to count the cost of marriage before we say I do and to consider the baggage that we carry into the marriage. They deal with the issues of self-esteem, past hurts, misdirected goals and much more.They talk about the couple that seems happy in public but are falling apart inside. The Eldredges give hope to every couple with their honest insight and by sharing from their own failures. I have decided that Love and War will be required reading for every couple I counsel before and after marriage. If you are struggling through marriage, Love and War is for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
This review is fromLove & War: Finding The Marriage You've Dreamed Of.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Angie Knight
While there were some things that I have a different opinion of, for the most part while reading this book--I said WOW. I have one question. WHERE was this book 28 years ago? John and Stasi have gone beyond skimming the surface of the sometimes rough waters of marriage and dove straight down to the heart of so many problems we have as couples. While some writers may hint at some issues they've endured as a married couple, John and Stasi get real. The honesty shared in this book will absolutely shine a light in the dark places of your life where you thought up to now were hopeless. From the nit-picky--to the really difficult relational issues. They cover them all with a rare honesty that will have you recalling many of your own problems--even those you simply brushed aside thinking there was no help for them. If you read and enjoyed Wild at Heart (written by John) or Captivating (John and Stasi), LOVE & WAR is the book you should read as a married couple! I would even recommend it to be read before you tie the marital knot bow. It is the vitamin tonic that will help stave off many marital diseases before you are maritally destroyed. You will even find yourself chuckling at the ridiculousness of some things they share, that is until you remember some of your own laughable times of marital bliss. Not only will this book help the individual, but it will be a great tool for young married Sunday School classes. Read it as a couple, but my advice, get two copies--I have a tendency to highlight and write my own notes by the author's words! My husband would rather read a book before I get my hands on it! This will make a great Valentines gift for any couple!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
This review is fromLove & War: Finding The Marriage You've Dreamed Of.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Together, John and Stasi Elridge wrote an honest and brave depiction of Marriage. Love and War is a unique look at marriage from the perspectives of the husband and the wife. The authors share with the reader the challenges of marriage that they faced and they cleverly use their experiences to tie in biblical truths.John and Stasi teach readers how to discern that there is an enemy that strives to stop love in all its forms. They explain how to handle differences and accept our styles of relating. They encourage readers to know their spouses life story with the goal of better understanding their spouses personality and to help explain their spouses reactions. They explain their path to healing hurts of the past and becoming vulnerable and open. This healing task allows for a deeper relationship and makes room for our genuine honesty, where we are how God designed us and not the people we hoped to reshape. Love and War tackles issues like expectations and the pressures that we place on our marriage. Readers learn to fight for their marriage. Yes its hard, but its worth it.Love and War is a book youll want to read, think about, and discuss as a couple. The transparency in Love and War is refreshing and insightful.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
This review is fromLove & War: Finding The Marriage You've Dreamed Of.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jamie
Who likes being married? Ooo, pick me, pick me! Who understands this great mystery we call marriage 100% of the time? {crickets chirping} Well, my friends, you are in luck!I've been reading the most amazing book (yes, another book) called In Love and War, by John and Stasi Eldredge. Have you read any of their books? They've written Wild At Heart (for men) and Captivating (for women), amongst others. They really have a passion for marriages, starting with their own. They share their personal story of how they were on the brink of divorce and God restored their marriage and gave them a passion for helping others with theirs. Now honestly, I've always felt that Paco and I are so compatible that even if marriage books are good, how can we make our marriage even better? Boy, was I wrong!! (not about being compatible. Just wanted to clear that up. Whew!) It talks about how we're living in a Love Story unlike anything we as humans could ever come up with (or even make a movie about). We are like the boy and girl in a fairy tale, off to slay the dragon and experience high adventure and just enjoying being together. It also talks about how our first priority HAS to be our relationship with God, because without it, marriage WON'T work. At least it, the way it's supposed to.It's written with humor and candor and more of those personal stories that I love so much. It's written with love for each other and for the readers, as well as passion for marriages. I highly recommend this book for ANY married couple, good marriage or not-so-good. I am so thankful that John and Stasi were obedient to the leading of the Holy Spirit and wrote this book. My marriage has already benefited from it! It will be well worth your time and energy.This was book was provided for review by WaterBrook Multnomah.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Love and War: Finding the Marriage You've Dreamed Of - eBook
This review is fromLove & War: Finding The Marriage You've Dreamed Of.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erika Chapman
John & Stasi Eldredge are very transparent about their struggles both in the past and recent issues that they are still dealing with as a couple. This isn't a pretty little Christian book on marriage. They deal with making daily choices to love, the side of marriage that is hard and tiring, the internal battle that goes on during conflict, the spiritual attack that marriages are under and the internal work we need to do as individuals to have a healthy marriage. My husband and I have been married 10 years and actively work at keeping our marriage healthy and growing toward each other. I learned a ton from his book. For my Valentine's Day gift this year I asked my husband to read this book so we can discuss some of the things they address. One of my favorite parts that I am currently chewing on is the emphasis they place on prayer in marriage. They discuss in detail the power of prayer individually and as a couple in combating the plans that the enemy has to destroy our marriages. They challenge couples to pray and do spiritual warfare for their marriage and the issues they face. They include specific prayers and all the excuses we use to avoid praying together. Good stuff. They don't sugar coat things and I love that.I think an engaged couple or newly married couple could benefit from this, but I believe couples that have been married a couple of years and realize just how hard it is to stay "happily" married can truly reap the greatest benefit from Love & War. It is definitely one that I will reread. I am SO, SO thankful for the opportunity to read this. I highly, highly recommend it. I think if you read it you will want to pass it on to other couples that could use it. They also offer a dvd/group study that I think would be an awesome experience. So check it out!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>