Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Leaf Press What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?

New Leaf Press What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?

What did really happen to the dinosaurs? Take a journey through time with Tracker John and his sidekick dinosaur DJ and find out! This illustrated, highly imaginative book gives young children a look at life before and after the flood and how we can tell what happened through science. It presents a biblical alternative to the secular theories on dinosaurs that fill most books for young children. For 4-9 year olds. 32 pages, hardcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Review 1 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2014
Customer Avatar
jose
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it was cute! i thought it was half an inch thick book but it was less!:) it was fine though and informative.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
kinderteacher
Location:Kyle, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think children and adults today need to get a Biblical perspective on questions like: What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs? This book with that very title helps explain a puzzling scientific question on a child's level. I hope to buy other Christian books in the future similar to this one to add to our children's collection at church, and to give to our grandchildren to help them better understand these issues.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well done.

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sheila Knox
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product was excellent in explaining the dinosaurs and how they fit regarding creation and the ark. My kids (7 & 4) enjoyed it. It does not go into detail about the different kinds of dinosaurs but did answer all the questions I had about how dinosaurs fit in Genesis.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful book

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Phoenix
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5 year old grandson loves dinosaurs and loved this book with great pictures. I loved the Biblical perspective and easy to understand language.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michael Hines
Bah... My mother got me this book as a child. What indoctrination. Forget science. Forget evidence.From the book:"...although there were many different dinosaur names, there may have been fewer than fifty kinds of dinosaurs."This book and the like set me on a path of stubborn unreason for years.
-14points
17of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ta-Dah
Reading this book to my 4 year old brought tears to my eyes! My son is soooo interested in Dinosaurs and EVERY book we find at the library (even some in the church library) are from a Darwinian point of view and very contrary to our Biblical beliefs. This book is interesting, colorful and even presents the complete plan of salvation on a child's level. I highly recommend this book!
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ayme Pankratz
This book is awesome! It presents dinosaurs in such a different way. I would try to read this book on dinosaurs first before they read any others. It talks about how dinosaurs were a part of God's first creation, in a sinless world. And it talks about their survival from the flood in the ark. And their inability to survive afterwards because of the conditions of the world. (ice age, etc) It is very factual, but based on biblical evidence. I really feel blessed to have found this book for my kids.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margie Rice
This book is wonderful. My three year old asks me to read it over and over. It's nice to find a dinosaur book written from a creationist's perspective.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Johnson
Great book if your kids are into dinosaurs and you want a biblical perspective. It mentions a few interesting facts that secular books would not cover. It may need updating at some point though.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2009
"What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?" is a book totally devoid of the theory of evolution.This book not only includes biblical ideas about dinosaurs (which are at least as believable as the ideas put forth by evolutionary scientists...and to those who believe in the unfailing word of the Bible, much more believable), but also includes some foundations of faith. The book is well written, kid-friendly, and never gets nasty about opposing views. The illustrations are professional and engaging.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Auburn Trommetter
This book is very interesting and is supported by biblical passages throughout the book. My 5 year old is fascinated with it. It is a good way to share the beginning of creation up through the flood with children.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Denly
I ordered this book for 3 reasons: 1) I respect the author 2) My 2 year old is obsessed with dinosaurs 3) Although many of the words and concepts may still be a bit above his understanding right now, it's worded in such a child friendly way and the illustrations are so wonderful that he can still enjoy it now while looking forward to an increased level of understanding as he grows older! We've already read through the book 2 times (reading 2-3 chapters in each sitting) and he is enthralled each time I open the book. I highly recommend this book to anyone- whether they are homeschooling or simply looking for a biblical way of explaining dinosaurs to their curious child.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Emily Archambault
Excellent book. My 5y.o. son loves it. He (like most other boys his age) is interested in dinosaurs. This book biblically answers a lot of his questions. My 3y.o. son also likes this book even though I thought he would lose interest due to the length. The illustrations and interactive text keeps them focused. I've even learned more and am able to back it up with God's Word thanks to this book. I would definitely recommend this book.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Angie Z.
I bought this book for my son who is 5. He stayed interested in the book, and I think he actually retained some important information. However, I think my husband and I enjoyed it even more. We learned things such as the "stegosaurus" has actually been changed to "apatosaurus" because scientists originally put the wrong head on the skeleton.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sara Plumley
We have really appreciated a Creation approach to dinosaurs and what could have happened to them. My son loves dinosaurs, but most books include a fair amount of evolution. This gives us Biblical reasoning to balance out the other dinosaur books. The only improvement to be made it in the quality of the illustrations. Overall-excellent!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Billy Joe
This book sure is great! It tells the biblical truth without any of that "science" nonsense based on "evidence" or "truth." I can't wait to give it to my yuggins!
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2006
Customer Avatar
J Anderson
Scientists would have children to believe that Dinosaurs roamed the Earth millions of years ago. They base this understanding on over 50 methods of carbon dating and iron-clad evidence gathered from thousands of sites around the globe. Fortunately, we Christians have this sticker book that once and for all puts this subject to rest. If you choose to raise your children as Christians I highly recommend this book!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for What Really Happened to the Dinosaurs?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2003
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Great book - highly recommended. I use this in our Christian school. Very kid friendly format, keeps their attention; and Biblically correct on all of a number of different fronts. Worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.