Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed

Zondervan NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed

Today's most literal Bible translation has been updated and combined with world-class study notes to become a premier study Bible. This edition is the most exhaustive, up to-date study Bible available in the NASB. It is a complete resource library at your fingertips.

The most comprehensive, up to date NASB study Bible available, combining the best in biblical scholarship with today's most literal English translation.

Features

  • Over 20,000 in text notes adapted from the best-selling NIV Study Bible
  • Book introductions and outlines
  • Author information, dates
  • Interpretation helps
  • Themes
  • Archaeological historical, and literary information
  • Center column cross reference system
  • 80 in text maps and charts
  • Concordance
  • Subject and study note indexes
  • 23 pages of full color maps and timelines
  • 7 page Timeline
  • Double column format
  • Words of Christ in red
  • 9 point type
  • 9.75" x 6.75" x 1.50"
  • Genuine Leather, Black, Indexed
Average Customer Rating:
4.505 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
12
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
2
40 out of 4785%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Review 1 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Print too small and light

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
CPASMITH
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this Bible for the study bible features and translation. Already had purchased a NIV Study Bible also by Zondervan Publishing. The NASB Study Bible font is smaller than the NIV Study Bible and the print is light making for an unreadable page for my eyes. I was very disappointed and wish Zondervan would come out with a larger font option.
I had to return it for a refund. CBD is a wonderful company!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Paper is Extraordinarily Thin Tiny Font

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Berean
Location:Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've always enjoyed Zondervan Bibles, but the pages on this Bible are thinner than any Bible I own. I'm a note taker and highlight a lot and you can see through the pages even using the plain pencil dry highlighters. You can't use a pen at all. It makes a terrible indention and then blurs the type of the backside of the page. It also indicated the font was an 8.9. Compared to my John MacArthur which is a 9.0 this seems to be a much, much smaller font. My guess is it is an 8.0 and not 8.9. I really looked forward to this Bible getting here and even paid for faster shipping. I'm very disappointed with it. I could never use this as a study Bible, the pages would be ruined in a week.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exellent

Date:June 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mass
Location:Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a theology student and this bible is a perfect study tool for such. I went with the Hard cover and a nice leather book cover on this one to promote longevity and durability as it will be seeing a LOT of use. I own many bibles and bible study's, The Zondervan NASB is ideal coupled with the Strong's NASB concordance for word study in Hebrew and Greek. Unlike other popular study bibles in NASB the zondervan hosts a wide aray of contributores in its Notes and Commentary's as apposed to the "One individual" opinion or comment on any given topic.
5 Stars!!!
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very Poor Construction

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
murphy
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First, I have bought several bibles here and it is no fault of theirs that Zondervan produced such a poor quality of workmanship. I bought the Genuine Leather and expected the workmanship to be at least average. However, I will very soon have to re-glue the corners as the leather is not flat against the inside of the cover. Very disappointed and would return it other than the fact I had my name put on it.
As for the contents it is a NASB and that's a plus. However, the print is very light in both the black and the red. It's also small but that is stated and to be expected. The notes are very generic, nothing out of the ordinary. I much prefer the NKJ and the ESV Study Bibles that hold a wealth of information. The ESV does tend to lean towards "replacement theology" which I disagree with but I still love most of the information and all of the charts, etc. The NKJ Study Bible is exceptional in the info obtained thru their notes and I highly recommend it. Please check those out before purchasing. I do prefer the NASB, however both the NKJ and the ESV are good translations. Again, it is not the fault of Christian book store. The price would be average if the workmanship was not so poor. I would not purchase this had I seen one prior to getting it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
Barbie
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like this book, but for one thing. The print is to small. It could be a little larger. When in church, I need to hold it up a lot higher than usual to see the words clearly. And yes, I can see very well.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sister - in - law wanted one like mine

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
kittymommy7
Location:Cave Junction, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sister - in - law saw mine and she wanted one like it. She has never expressed a desire to have a new Bible and we are thrilled.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful!

Date:September 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Arthur Stone
Location:Lancaster, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received my NASB and it is impressive. I was concerned about the reviews reporting small and light printing. I must say that my recently purchased Zondervan KJV Bible has much easier to read print and has a slightly larger print. However, If Zondervan would have used the larger darker print the NASB would be much larger and heavier and ghosting could have been an issue. The KJV also lacks the wealth of notations and information found in this NASB.
All of that being said, my 58 year old eyes reading through bifocals have no problem with the print at all. The red print is lighter than in the KJV Bible, but that Bible's maroon print is more difficult for me to distinguish. This one does fine for me.
As far as quality, the construction appears to be quite nicely done. The pages have a silky feel to them that I have never felt from a Bible before. I have found no flaws so far, but only time can tell if that will be the case 20 years from now.
The genuine leather is top notch and is definitely a step up from bonded. I also went for the thumb indexing. It is done well, too and is easy to use without getting in the way.
The amount of information provided is nearly overwhelming. It definitely slows my reading speed down. I don't want to miss a note. I own several Bibles, but I plan for my Zondervan KJV reference Bible and this NASB study Bible to last me for the duration.
Peace to all.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Value

Date:September 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Renee
Location:Fayetteville, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible is well made and an exceptional value. The same Bible is considerably more expensive if purchased elsewhere.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best literal translation on the market

Date:August 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Aloha
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the study notes, the maps and illustrations are awesome! I love this new Bible and will share my enthusiasm with all I meet. Thank you so much!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleased - accept for inscribing

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Frd889
Location:USA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave it a 5 star all the way around because it is very hard to find a genuine leather NASB, especially in this price range. Overall I think the quality is very nice. The notes are the same as the NIV Study Bible which I feel are pretty well done. I prefer the notes of the NKJV Nelson study Bible or ESV, but over all note wise they are satisfactory. The print is so-so in size. Im in my 40's so I will use reading glasses for comfort. I collect Bibles and have many & honestly can say this is very nice for the money.
This is the second time I have had a Bible inscribed here & they do a very sloppy job. The first time it was on an angle & this time it is almost 3 inches above the bottom of the Bible & looks awkward. The print is fine its just how carelessly that they place it on the Bible. I would suggest taking it to a Bible store to be inscribed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Care
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the look of this Bible and I was pleased the NASB came with the notes that I enjoyed in an a very used NIV I've had for 25 years.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good, and met most expectations

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bruce H
Location:Naples, Florida
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like everything about this Bible. The thumb index; Christ's words in red; a good concordance; good cross-references; very good maps; and very good commentary, are all excellent features. It has a good size, and the ink from my notes or hi-liter do not go through the paper very much. My only "minor" concern is the print is a bit smaller than I had hoped for. I knew that it was not a Large Print Bible, but the font is somewhat smaller than I had hoped for, but still tolerable. I would recommend it to others. I appreciate the NASB version the best; though raised on the King James Version and the Revised Standard Version.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just the right Bible for me.

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
enduringlion
Location:Madison, ME
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a bible that worked for me. I searched a number of sites to find that bible. I also wanted the most literally translated bible with study notes not commentary. This NAS Bible fits my needs perfectly.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very excellent quality

Date:April 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
kathy
Location:San Leandro, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this Bible to my brother as a gift; but the reason I first looked at this Study Bible was the price--great price for a quality Bible. Then when I looked at the actual Bible and all it contained, the maps, the language help, the study references, it is just a quality item for the price, most definitely but it is a beautiful Bible. My brother loves it and he always mentions it and says thanks.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thumbs Up!

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
B52Gunner
Location:Fernley, NV
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zondervan has done a great job in compiling the most literal translation into a most valuable study Bible. I have long been a believer that the NASB is the most literal translation of the Bible but until now, I have not found one in a good study Bible. Well, my search is over thanks to the folks at Zondervan! My only suggestions for Zondervan would be to increase the font size and color. The red font is more pinkish than red. I would like to see a 10 point font and increased color. The study notes, maps, and diagrams are excellent! I highly recommend the Bible!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an excellent study Bible!

Date:March 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Portland Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am weel pleased with this study Bible this translation is much closer to the meaning of the ofiginal text in meaning!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Great Study Bible

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
mjohn11
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A great study bible! I use the Holman NIV commentary set, crossway ESV study bible, and MacArthur commentary set, and several other study bibles as I study the word. These books are compelling me, for the first time in my life; with an enthusiasm for reading the word of God (this was hindered in the past due to my inability to interpret some scripture). I am EXTREMELY grateful for the blessings that that these texts provide, i.e., in-depth and understandable analysis, contemporary language (as opposed to Calvin, Poole, Henry, etc.), supporting scripture, etc.
How I would rank my study bibles (based solely on my opinion of the quality and depth exegesis/analysis):
1. Crossway ESV study bible
2. John Macarthur NASB study bible
3. Zondervan NASB study bible
4. Ligonier Ministries ESV Reform study bible
5. NAB Catholic study bible (sparse exegesis)
6. RSV Ignatius Catholic Study Bible New Testament (in my opinion, Hahn erroneously interprets the scripture).
Also, if you can afford the MacArthur New Testament commentary set and Holman NIV New Testament commentary set, then I would also highly recommend them for a more in-depth exegesis/analysis.
http://www.christianbook.com/the-macarthur-new-testament-commentary-vols/john-macarthur/pd/498729?item_code=WW&netp_id=851037&event=ESRCQ&view=details
http://www.christianbook.com/holman-new-testament-commentary-12-volumes/9780805428285/pd/45002
http://www.christianbook.com/esv-study-bible-genuine-leather-black/9781433502446/pd/502440
http://www.christianbook.com/nasb-macarthur-bible-black-genuine-leather/9780529122551/pd/122553
http://www.christianbook.com/nas-zondervan-bible-genuine-leather-black/9780310911463/pd/11462
http://www.christianbook.com/esv-reformation-bible-genuine-leather-black/9781596381377/pd/381377
http://www.christianbook.com/american-catholic-study-bible-second-edition/9780195297751/pd/297751
https://www.christianbook.com/Christian/Books/product?item_no=174842
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joya
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what my husband wanted. Everything was great except I noticed that all bibles are being made with very cheap leather covers even in the genuine leather grade.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Steve
Location:Cincinnati, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old NIV Bible was worn out with pages falling out. I decide to try the NASB Bible this time. So far i am very pleased with the quality and study notes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NAS Zondervan Study Bible, Genuine leather, Black, Thumb-Indexed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great translation, Poor Quality

Date:January 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
DonM
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The quality of the binding is poor for a study bible. I don't think I will ever buy another Zondervan bible. My old Nelson study bible is 15 years old and the quality is still better than this bible brand new.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.