Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Leaf Press Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series

New Leaf Press Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series

Traveling is even better when you discover the evidence of biblical history and truth along the way! Hosted by 14-year-old, homeschooled, Noah Justice, his fresh approach to science and the Bible will get you more excited about the truth with each episode of Awesome Science. 30 minutes on DVD. Kids & Teens.

Explore the Grand Canyon (Awesome Science Episode 1) will discuss:

  • How the Grand Canyon was cut in just days, not millions of years
  • How its massive layers show evidence of being laid down in less than a year
  • The Biblical record can be trusted as Earth's history book.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Review 1 for Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
csam
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We were planning a trip to the Grand Canyon so I ordered this (because it had good reviews) and a book (by Tom Vail-loved!). I was disappointed. He talks so fast. He has good energy but my kids lost interest within 5 minutes, and I couldn't keep up. There wasn't anything that 'awed' us or made us want to watch it again. For the price of the DVD, I wish it was interesting enough to watch twice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A blessed resource!

Date:April 29, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy B
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
(click to see the video)
Positive Elements:
The film was extremely informative, thorough, and concise. I enjoyed the simplistic and clear way in which the facts were displayed. It made one wonder how anyone could argue with such logical data pointing towards the evidence of Creationism.
The upbeat and exciting narration as well as beautiful landscape film shots, made this film engaging and easy to follow. The cinematography and special effects were excellent.
I loved how the Bible is portrayed as foundational; the Word of God, infallible and fully trustworthy in all things-- including science. It was truly encouraging and refreshing to hear such solid Christianity coupled with and complimenting science, as it should be!
Negative Elements:
A few of the film shots and audio clips lacked some quality. At times the film was so fast paced it took me a moment to figure out what was going on.
Offensive Content:
None.
Comments:
What a blessing it is to have such resources as this DVD, revealing the truth of Creation- the evidence of a Grand Designer. I enjoyed having this to show my younger siblings, to strengthen our faith together as we dig deeper into the knowledge of our Father's World, and learn more of the grand design which He has laid out!
I received this DVD free of charge in exchange for my honest review from New Leaf Publishing Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Held my 9yr old son's interest the whole time

Date:July 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Homeschoolin Mama
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Science Explore the Grand Canyon (episode 1) with Noah Justice review for New Leaf Publishing Group (I received this DVD to watch and give a written review of, in exchange I get to keep the DVD and Study Guide that I received). I sat down with my 9 yr old son and watched this video. He loved it, love it so much that we watched the 2nd DVD in the series (review for 2nd DVD also in this entry). The young man who hosts the DVD is very knowledgeable about Creation Science and the location that he is exploring. He gives information from a Creation point of view while helping children to understand the evolutionist point of view and then debunking it by Biblically backing up the Creation point of view. There are lots of wonderful scenic views of the area, maps, facts, and a combination of History and Science provided. I have noticed that not all sites provide the Study Guide we received with these DVDs and those that do require that you order them separately for an additional cost. In my opinion this it's well worth it to by the Study Guide to accompany the DVD. The Study Guides are put out by Master Books. The Study Guide breaks down to the various points of interest of the location and scientific, including vocabulary, discussion questions and bonus activities to do. We will be purchasing the rest of the series and will be looking forward to more being added in the future. It'll well be worth the investment to add them to our homeschool library. Note: you don't have to be a homeschooler to enjoy these videos, all can benefit greatly from them. The DVD's are also put out by Master Books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Empirical science supports a worldwide flood.

Date:June 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lisa K
Location:Ctrl, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Many people automatically disregard the Grand Canyon's formation as a result of a catastrophic worldwide flood in favor of the slow process of river erosion over millions of years. This is because they prescribe to the philosophy of "the present holding the key to the past."
But, using examples of Empirical Science seen at Mt. St. Helens and Glen Canyon Dam in recent years, even non-believers can see the evidence supporting a worldwide flood.
Join 14 year old, homeschooled, Noah Justice in Explore the Grand Canyon which takes you through the evidence supporting and defending a Biblical worldview of a worldwide, catastrophic flood. Some of these evidences include: Angle (slope) of sand dunes, bent rock layers without fractures, absence of burrowing animals between rock layers and the irony of a large flood carving the canyons on Mars.
Back when I studied the Grand Canyon in college, I didn't get the whole idea of an ocean flooding this area and then receding multiple times over millions of years in order to leave behind the fossil layering we presently see. However, a catastrophic flood clearly explains this. This very well done, illustrated 30 minute video does a great job explaining this concept and others including the presence of the SAME rock layers in North America, Europe and Asia!
I recommend the study guide that is also available. It's a great tool that has general knowledge about the Grand Canyon, bonus activities, sections specifically on the Colorado River, Canyon Walls, Dunes, The Great Flood and the receding waters plus much more.
I really like the discussion questions throughout the guide. For example, "Why do secular scientists choose to believe so quickly that the canyons on Mars were possibly formed by mega-floods without the huge amount of water to be found, yet they don't think the same sort of event caused the formation of the Grand Canyon?"
The Awesome Science Series is one that should be in every home library. All ages will benefit from the explanations, illustrations and spectacular scenery within.
I received a DVD of Explore the Grand Canyon free of charge in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Okay Biblically Based Science DVD

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Leah Courtney
Location:Rock Hill, SC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When Jason and I attended the homeschool convention in March, we saw these Awesome Science DVDs for sale. I thought that they looked interesting, but we were purposefully trying not to spend much unplanned money, so we passed them up. I was excited to later have the opportunity to review this episode of Awesome Science with the kids.
The Facts:
Awesome Science is a Biblical creation based series of science DVDs that use real, on location footage, along with pictures to bring science concepts to life. The spokesperson is Noah Justice (and occasionally his younger brother). This installment is Explore the Grand Canyon. In this installment, Noah uses the earth science from the Grand Canyon and the historical account of the flood from the Bible to show how the canyon's features formed during the world wide flood. Kids are introduced to various aspects of earth science and are reminded again and again that science and the Bible are truly compatible.
The Good:
* We liked that the movie was narrated by a kid. I think that made it appealing even to my younger set.
* Everything here is very Biblically based. True science is compatible with the Bible- even though many secular scientists (and unfortunately some Christians) would argue. These videos constantly look to interpret scientific findings in light of a Biblical worldview.
* We use Apologia science, and the information in the video fit perfectly with some things we've studied in General Science this year. I imagine that this would be the case with any Creation-based science curriculum you might choose.
* The movie was complex enough to offer information to my middle schoolers but appealing to younger kids because of a kid narrator. It made for a nice multi-aged choice.
The Bad:
* After the first few minutes that were somewhat exciting, my kids lost interest. This may have had to do with the fact that they were just ready to be done for the day and not inclined to be very interested in much. But, the entire movie was just Noah talking- with various photos or video showing in the background. It was hard to hold their interest.
* Because of all the talking, I felt that there was a lot of information just thrown at the kids with no chance of processing in between.
The Conclusion:
Even though my crew was less than excited about this DVD, I could see these being a useful resource along with a Creation-based science curriculum. I think it would be better to use the video to present new information and then study the information in more detail through your curriculum. We were doing the opposite, looking at the earth science of the Grand Canyon. That was a topic we had studied in detail this past school year. I would still like to see the other videos in the series. I love that this is a family project created by other homeschoolers, and I would love to support that!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent information that's easy to follow

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Randy A Brown
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Science is a video series from Master Books that give lots of good information in an easy to understand manner in just 30 minutes per episode. The science is easy to follow, but not shallow. Even though the host is a young boy, the information will appeal to children and adults alike. The first video in the series covers The Grand Canyon.
I was wondering how another video on the Grand Canyon could provide any more information than what has already been done- especially in just 30 minutes. This video on the Grand Canyon is by far the best I’ve seen. There is more information in this 30-minute video than in other videos that top an hour or more. Also, I’ve seen many videos on the Grand Canyon and there was information in this one that I have never heard before.
There is also a 34 page study guide available with lots of study activities including fill-in-the-blanks (from a list of choices), discussion questions, true/false, scientific summaries and examples, bonus activities, and a conclusion.
I highly recommend Awesome Science The Grand Canyon DVD with Study Guide for both children and adults. The Awesome Science DVD series is one of my favorite resources for Creation and science information.
I received this DVD free for review from New Leaf Publishing. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review. My opinion is my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Grand Canyon from a Biblical Perspective

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
LivingAndLearningAtHome
Location:Michigan
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was recently given the chance to watch and review Awesome Science: Explore Yellowstone and Awesome Science: Explore the Grand Canyon. These DVDs approach science from a Biblical worldview and share how these natural wonders align with an accurate reading of the Bible.
Modern science would have you to believe that natural wonders like the Grand Canyon and Yellowstone needed millions to form, but the Bible tells a different story. Noah Justice, the narrator of these DVDs explains how an event like the great flood of Genesis 7 would be able to cause such disturbance as to form these amazing sights.
I love how the DVDs are completely set on the accuracy of Scripture. They state that they use the Bible as their history guideline, which is rare to find and perfect for teaching your children science from a Creationist viewpoint. I also appreciate the amount of information contained in these DVDs. I can honestly (and somewhat shamefully) say that I knew very little about the Grand Canyon, and absolutely nothing about Yellowstone before watching these DVDs and now I know much more =) There is so much information that I think anyone would have to watch them more than once to digest all of it.
The only thing I do not like about these DVDs is that they sound pretty much like a textbook (but with decent narration) put to pictures. It is info and data galore, jam packed into 30 minutes. I appreciate that it is short and to the point, but it would be nice to be able to sit an absorb the info before moving onto the next point.
I definitely would recommend these resources to any family wanting to learn more about the Grand Canyon or Yellowstone, I just probably would want to also use a medium other than DVD as well, so that your child would be able to slow down and absorb the great info that is presented here! If you plan on studying these subjects with your children this coming year, definitely check the Awesome Science series out as an addition to your curriculum!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Well Made

Date:May 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Homeschooling6
Location:TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm always on the hunt for good, educational DVDs that aren't too lengthy. As a reviewer for New Leaf Publishing Group, I was happy to receive two DVDs and the accompanying Study Guides from the Awesome Science Series: Explore the Grand Canyon and Explore Yellowstone.
This science series is produced by a homeschooling family. 14 year old Noah Justice is your field guide as he takes you on a tour of the Grand Canyon and Yellowstone Park.
I was really interested in this series because these are two places that our family has visited. Two years ago we had the opportunity to visit Yellowstone Park. It made it all the more interesting to watch because we had been there.
Not all my children have visited the Grand Canyon (hopefully some day we can take a family vacation there) but it was still very interested learning about the canyons and how the Genesis flood had an impact with creating such a beautiful and an amazing place.
The children were not only fascinated to learn more about Yellowstone and the Grand Canyon, but also liked the fact that Awesome Science gave all the glory of these awe-inspiring places to our creator. Noah Justice explains how the Grand Canyon was cut within days, during the Genesis flood. Not millions of years. And how the trees in Yellowstone couldn't have taken millions of years to become petrified.
The Dvd is very professionally done. My husband was impressed with both episodes. Not surprising considering Kyle Justice (Noah's father) has produced films that have appeared on National Geographic, ESPN, and Outdoor Channel. Noah does a great job of explaining what happened and his excitement doesn't come across as fake or phony.
What did I think of Awesome Science? Both episodes gave a lot of information, so we will be watching them again and I hope to purchase a few more as they become available.
What did the children think? Well, my youngest son Lance, he's 7, was not interested in watching Noah, take us on a tour for very long. I think because of all the scientific talk, but the older children enjoyed them and have watched the DVDs twice.
Disclaimer: New Leaf publishing group provided me with a copy of this DVD and study guide for the purpose of this review. No other compensation was provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great DVD

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
The Happy Homeschool Mom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I watched this DVD with my 15,10,8, and 6 year olds. I think the DVD does a wonderful job in explaining the evidence that shows proof of the biblical account of creation. Our children need to have an understanding and be able to give an answer for why they believe what they believe and educational material such as this DVD will help them be able to do that. My three oldest found it very interesting and were able to discuss with me what they learned. My 6 year old sat and watched the whole episode, but he started to loose interest towards the end. But, I have no doubt that when we make it to the Grand Canyon, my children will be able to ignore all of the "million of years" signs and will be able to discuss how and when the Grand Canyon was really formed.
I received a complimentary Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice DVD and study guide for the purpose of writing a fair and honest review. I received no other compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We received both Explore the Grand Canyon and Explore Yellowstone on DVD this week.
I loved that they refuted the evolutionary lies that are in almost every nature documentary, and even at most national and state parks with both Biblical and scientific facts. I loved how it showed that even children can stand up for what the Bible teaches to be true. The video work was beautiful and well done, and the movie is just packed with information.
We did not find the study guides as helpful as I had hoped. They just restate what was said in the video with words missing for you to fill in the blanks.
Disclaimer: New Leaf publishing group provided me with a copy of this DVD and study guide for the purpose of this review. No other compensation was provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice: Episode 1 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great way to learn about science

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
brigonia
Location:albuquerque, NM
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Explore the Grand Canyon with Noah Justice is a DVD by Awesome Science for children and teens. In the DVD Noah Justice will take you on a tour of what caused the formation of the Grand Canyon from the Creationist's viewpoint. He also talks about what Evolutionists believe was the cause of the Grand Canyon. We also received a 34 page study guide which helps to reinforce what children learn in the DVD.
My children ages 12, 10, 8 and 6 enjoyed watching this DVD. When I discussed it with them afterward they understood how the flood could have formed the Grand Canyon and what cavitation is. I felt this video was a great way to spark interest in the science involved in the flood and the formation of the Grand Canyon by a global flood. The discussion questions and bonus activities will give us more ideas to pursue.
I received a free copy of this DVD and Study Guide from New Leaf Publishing Group in order to write this review and have shared my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.