Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for New Leaf Press Explore the John Day Fossil Beds with Noah Justice: Episode 6 DVD, Awesome Science Series

New Leaf Press Explore the John Day Fossil Beds with Noah Justice: Episode 6 DVD, Awesome Science Series

Explore John Day Fossil Beds (Awesome Science Episode 6) will take children and teens on a God-glorifying trip out west. Exploring how extensive erosion revealed layers of ash, sediment, and fossils at Oregon's John Day Fossil Beds, children will discover why no dinosaurs are found there, the history of the geological formations, and an explanation of why a catastrophic event explains the landscape.

Traveling is even better when you discover the evidence of biblical history and truth along the way. Hosted by 14-year-old homeschooler Noah Justice, his fresh approach to science and the Bible will get children more excited about the truth with each episode of Awesome Science. 30 minutes on DVD. Kids & Teens.

Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Explore the John Day Fossil Beds with Noah Justice: Episode 6 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Review 1 for Explore the John Day Fossil Beds with Noah Justice: Episode 6 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Informative, Interesting, Creation Science DVD

Date:February 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
April E
Location:KS
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Filmed on location, the John Day Fossil Beds DVD is interesting and engaging. It is very informative, and well-explained. The DVD is presented in a lecture style, with lots of visuals and illustrations to explain the science. Although it is very interesting, it isn't the most entertaining of DVDs. Younger children will likely lose interest in the presentation, unless it is a topic that fascinates them. This series would most interest children ages 10 - 14. The study guide is basically a script of the DVD, with blanks for children to fill in. There were some sentences that the study guide skipped, but 90% of the information was included word-for-word.
My 12 year old son watched the DVD for his science lesson one day. He enjoyed the presentation, though he didn't use the study guide. I asked him if he'd enjoy watching it again, and he said yes. Next time, I'll try to get his 9 year old brother and 13 year old sister to watch it as well.
The video is very interesting and well-produced, but it will have limited usefulness and appeal. After a few viewings, most families will be done with it. In our case, it could be saved to use with our younger children once they reach the appropriate age. It is reusable and non-consumable; however, it costs more than we would likely spend for a supplemental science video. I realize that other families may have extra money in the budget for supplemental materials, and would likely enjoy this DVD series.
This DVD was provided to our family at no cost, in exchange for an honest review. The thoughts in this review are completely my own. I received no other compensation for reviewing this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Explore the John Day Fossil Beds with Noah Justice: Episode 6 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fossils!

Date:February 4, 2013
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Apple loves fossils and rocks. She collects them and has them displayed all over her room. Hubby and Apple go on hikes and come home with a bag of treasures and artifacts. Because she is already familiar with fossils and rocks, I knew she would LOVE Awesome Science Episode 6 Explore John Day Fossil Beds. I'm pretty sure this was her favorite episode so far.
I wasn't very familiar with the John Day Fossil Beds until watching this episode with the kids. Noah Justice did a great job (as usual) explaining the fossil beds and how they relate to the Great Flood from Genesis. I love all the Bible references that pop up in the center of the screen as the video plays. As with all of the Awesome Science episodes, this one related back several times to topics covered in previous lessons. I love this as it helps my kids review and retain the information. The other great review tool is the study guide for the episode. With a variety of questions and activities to use it is easy to make sure that the kids understood all the information.
We didn't leave Speedy out! He loved this episode too and was especially interested in the leaves that became part of fossils. Thank you again to Kyle and Noah Justice for another fantastic lesson in Awesome Science!
I received this product for free from New Leaf Publishing for the purpose of review. All opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Explore the John Day Fossil Beds with Noah Justice: Episode 6 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Favorite Noah Justice Video! Simply Awesome!

Date:February 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa K
Location:Ctrl, FL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My norm for reviewing DVD's is to watch with pencil and paper in hand jotting notes as it plays. However, due to the spectacular and breath taking views in Explore John Day Fossil Beds I had to put down everything and just watch. My attention was totally absorbed AND I was amazed at the amount and depth of information it contained. I do confess that I had to watch this video more than once before writing a review. I'm also sure I will glean more information upon watching it again!
Located in eastern Oregon, the John Day Fossil Beds contain the largest collection of mammal fossils found in the world!
Author Kyle Justice has done an excellent job laying out the geology of the area. Thorough explanations are given about the beds themselves, the basalt and conglomerate layers, tectonic action, erosional features, the Palisades, Painted Hills, Gable Creek, Picture George and much more!
From this video, you will learn the significance of tree leaf fossils with straight edges, the absence of pillow basalt, the presence of diatoms and pediments.
"The John Day Fossil Beds are a testament to the rapid deposition, volcanic activity, and erosion of the earth during the year-long Flood described in the Book of Genesis.
Researchers can recognize that the evidence is a good confirmation of the catastrophic processes that formed these layers. The lack of erosion between layers, the high-energy deposits, the massive erosion, and no evolutionary links in the fossils....all are evidence for the biblical record being true."
Explore John Day Fossil Beds is by far my favorite video from Noah Justice. I whole heartedly recommend it and the accompanying study guide which is packed with information!
Disclaimer: I received a copy of this DVD and study guide from Master Books, a division of New Leaf Publishing Group free of charge in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Explore the John Day Fossil Beds with Noah Justice: Episode 6 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Informative!

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Alicia H
Location:Oklahoma City, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD series is for teens by teens and shows how science and the Bible agree. It’s hosted by Noah Justice, a very engaging 14 year old who wears some awesome hats. They go on location to the national parks and film there showing evidence of biblical history and truth. Study guides are also available for purchase or as a free download, creating educational opportunities for home study. Each DVD is 30 minutes long.
My children aren’t close to teen years yet, but they both enjoyed watching the DVD’s. The way it was presented prompted my son to ask a lot of questions. The study guide was helpful for me to answer them. If you have children who are in the early teen to teen years, I would recommend these DVD’s for your curriculum!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Explore the John Day Fossil Beds with Noah Justice: Episode 6 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Homeschool Mom
Age:25-34
Gender:female
The Awesome Science Dvd's take adults and teens around the world to historical and geographic locations to bring science to life with a Biblical worldview. The series is produced by Kyle Justice and hosted by teenager Noah Justice. Noah serves as a travel guide on amazing adventures to show the astounding evidence that supports a creationist view point. Previous episodes include : Explore the Grand Canyon, Explore Yellowstone, Explore Meteor Crater and Petrified Forest, Explore Yosemite and Zion National Parks, and Explore Mount St. Helens. Each DVD in the series runs about 30 minutes long.
In Episode 6 Explore the John Day Fossil beds, Noah Justice visits the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument in northeastern Oregon. In the episode we learn: the range of plant and animal fossils and why no dinosaurs are found, the history of the spectacular geological formations and the impact of erosion, which explanation is correct millions of years or a catastrophic event.
I viewed this DVD with my 11,9, and 7 year old boys. It can be such a challenge to find creation based science resources. The "theory" of evolution is promoted and widely accepted as fact and rarely do you ever hear that there is quite a lot of evidence to support the Biblical view of creation. But, the evidence does exist, and Awesome Science is bringing that evidence to adults, teens, and children through it's series of DVD's. Through these DVD's we have the opportunity to see beautiful, high quality footage of landmarks we may never get to visit in person. I do not remember ever hearing about the John Day Fossil Beds before and found it fascinating.
Noah Justice spends a lot of time explaining this monument and the science behind how it is formed. He discusses what both secular and creation scientists believe and the supporting evidence that proves the existence of a world wide flood. This 30 minute video is jam packed full of interesting information. What a great way to learn Science!
Disclaimer: I received a complimentary DVD from Masterbooks for the purpose of writing a fair and honest review. I received no other compensation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Explore the John Day Fossil Beds with Noah Justice: Episode 6 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly Awesome Science - for all ages!

Date:January 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Janes
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family recently watched Awesome Science DVD: Explore John Day Fossil Beds with Noah Justice. We were shocked when we realized the vast amount of information that is covered in the 30-minute program. I don't know why I was surprised. I should have realized how much was packed into that half-hour when I received the 30+ page study guide to go with the DVD!
It wasn't planned, but we watched the DVD the same night we read the account of the Flood in Genesis (as part of reading through the One Year Bible as a family this year). In John Day Fossil Beds, Noah Justice spends a lot of time explaining the science of this national monument, and that includes a lot of references to the Flood because the explanations that make the most sense involve the colossal Flood event described in Genesis and the resulting runoff and erosion as all that water moved back out to sea.
In this DVD, extraordinary teen Noah analyzes what secular scientists have to say about the amazing formations in eastern Oregon and going into great detail about why their theories don't hold water. (Pardon the pun. I couldn't resist!) We were able to easily follow the reasoning, and I appreciated the Scripture references that appeared periodically to help me follow Noah's train of thought.
It took us much longer than a half-hour to watch this Awesome Science DVD because we stopped it repeatedly to discuss and process what we were learning. We will have to watch it many more times to fully absorb all the information presented. My 9-year-old said, "You can watch four or five minutes of this and have enough science to study for a week or more!" She's right. We will be using this DVD in our science curriculum for a long time to come, and we can't wait to add more Awesome Science DVDs to our media library!
If you're looking for solid science with a biblical worldview, and you look forward to learning together with your children, Awesome Science is for you! This is definitely science for all ages.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this Awesome Science DVD from Master Books in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own. I received no other compensation for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Explore the John Day Fossil Beds with Noah Justice: Episode 6 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:January 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third DVD that I have reviewed from the newest season of Awesome Science. This is episode 6 in which Noah Justice explores John Day Fossil Beds. I have learned so much from these DVDs and I think they will really help equip my kids in apologetics as they study science in school. One of the other things I really loved was getting to see some amazing places in the United States that I might not ordinarily get to see. The John Day Fossil Beds are so fascinating and beautiful. All the amazing colors in the different levels or rocks are a sight to see.
My kids have been learning about the global flood in Sunday school so this was a terrific tie in. This video shows how the flood caused the different rock layers and also explains the many tree fossils you find there. I am thrilled to have found a video series that can help show the biblical scientific explanation since we are so bombarded with the secular scientific views. This is a tool to help our children learn that just because a scientist says so doesn't make it true. A lot of views are just opinions and we need to remember that.
I would highly recommend this series. It would be great for Sunday school, bible studies and even for home use. We enjoyed watching them as a family and learning some biblical truths!
I received this free in exchange for sharing my opinion!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Explore the John Day Fossil Beds with Noah Justice: Episode 6 DVD, Awesome Science Series
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome series on science

Date:January 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Randy A Brown
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Science is a DVD series, each consisting of a 30 minute episode that covers a specific location and analyzes the science at that location from a Creationist point of view. This episode, episode 6, covers the John Day fossil beds in northeastern Oregon.
The John Day fossil beds have a lot of geological features that includes lava flows that deposited basalt, ash layers, sediment, erosion, the painted hills, and fossils of both plants and animals. This DVD covers each of those features in detail.
There is a lot of geology in this episode. It covers a lot of information on how fossils form and geological erosion, and shows why they point to a catastrophic event. I’ve studied Creation for several years and I stilled learned a lot about geology. I learned more about geology from this DVD than from any other video I’ve seen.
This episode is also available with a study guide. The study guide is a 30+ page booklet with activities that go along with the DVD. The activities include fill-in-the-blank, discussion questions, true/false, and more. The study guide is also filled with facts from the DVD.
I like the Awesome Science series. The DVD’s are only 30 minutes, but there seems to be more information that’s easy to follow and understand in this 30 minutes than what is found in many DVD’s on Creation that are much longer. Noah Justice talks almost non-stop, delivering the information in an easy to follow manner. The information just keeps coming.
I highly recommend Awesome Science Explore John Gay Fossil Beds for both children and adults.
Master Books provided this DVD free for review. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.