Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook

WaterBrook Press Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook

In her bestselling Bad Girls of the Bible, Liz Curtis Higgs breathed new life into ancient stories depicting eight of the most infamous women in Scripture, from Jezebel to Delilah. Biblically sound and cutting-edge fresh, Bad Girls has helped thousands of women experience God's grace anew by learning more about their nefarious sisters.

There are more where they came from! In Really Bad Girls of the Bible, Higgs reveals the power of God's sovereignty in the lives of other shady ladies known by reputation but rarely studied in depth: Bathsheba, the bathing beauty; Jael, the tent-peg-toting warrior princess; Herodias, the horrible beheader; Tamar, the widow and not-so-timid temptress; Athaliah, the deadly daughter of Jezebel. Along with these are three ancient women whose names we don't know: the ashamed Adulteress, the bewitching Medium of En Dor, and the desperate Bleeding Woman. The eye-opening stories of these eight "Really Bad" women demonstrate one truly life-changing concept---the sovereign power of God to rule our hearts and lives with grace, compassion, and hope. Includes reflection questions at the end of each chapter.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
Review 1 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Never look at the Bible the same way again

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lees
Location:Las Vegas,NV
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Women are talking about life issues in an enlightened way because of the thoughtfulness of the illustrations , questions,and biblical references in this book. We see each other differently, our situations, and the changes that come with a renewed perception of what the Bible is really about. It's about us and our everyday lives and how God today is in the midst of lives, shaping us into what He wants us to be in Him. Forgiven,yes,redeemed,certainly,but real not always.Thanks to this book,we can be real and unashamed because we have a God who has taken away all the guilt and shame . We are free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good study

Date:November 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
CherylM
Location:Georgia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased these books for my small Bible study group for women at my church. We have done one of her studies before, and are enjoying this one just as much as the first.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book appeals to a wide variety of Christians.

Date:August 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peggy
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I facilitate a Christian Fellowship group and when we began using Bad Girls of The Bible as the basis for our discussion the group exploded both in quality and quantity. We included in our study both the modern girls and the scripture story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

gread read

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really Girls of the Bible by Liz Curtis Higgs is a deeper look at the bad girls of the Bible. Liz takes a close look at females in the present day who are living shady lifes now and looks at the why of their actions instead of just looking at what they are doing. She then pairs these modern stories with remarkably similar stories of the Bible of the sinful women of Biblical times. She shares some of the culture of the time and several possible reasons for their actions. Higgs by looking deeper into these women's lives makes them more human than the superficial treatment that the mostly male Biblical writers tell of them. She then encourages the reader further by including study questions so that study groups or book clubs can meet and further discuss these women.
I liked this book and would like to read other Bad Girl books written by her. Higgs is skilled at personalizing these women and helping the reader to put themself into their shoes. She encourages the reader to see life as a woman with the few meager choices that the Biblical women had and the resourcefulness that they had to employ in order to survive. She then encourages the reader to also look at the women around us that are frequently judged harshly and put ourself in their shoes to see what choices that the reader would then make if faced with the same often times few choices.
I was provided this book for this review by Waterbrook Press.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good book.

Date:June 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
cee1st
Location:Royersford, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good book. The fiction stories that opens each study makes the stories from the bible become more relate-able to situations in this day. She has such deep teachings that add a lot of spiritual understanding and knowledge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Unique Bible study

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Stephenie
Location:Green Bay, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this for women's Bible study several times. It always is well received. A unique writer, Liz Curtis Higgs knows how to make you laugh while digging deep into God's Word. It is a terrific way to introduce someone to Bible study who has never done it before. Very non-threatening, but also deep and meaningful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
princess caraboo
Location:West Lafayette, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a wonderful reminder of God's grace no matter what we've done
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Wilson
I thoroughly enjoy the writings of Liz Curtis Higgs. She opens the doors of her storytelling with reality. Then she sinks into stories that portray characters with situations similar to those in the Bible. This allows the reader to think in terms of biblical history and how it can effect women living today. Periodically, the subjects are tough but they present ways of dealing with tough situations. I am enjoying using this book as a basis for a Bible Study. Each chapter points to scripture to varify the importance of God's Words and of ways understand them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Phylis Crowder
I have read all three of Liz Curtis Higgs "Bad Girls of the Bible" books and would highly recommend them. They are presented in a really unique format. The chapter starts with as if today approach and then goes into the bibical aspect. Really good. I intend to read all of her books. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
James Dockery
A book that reveles God's purpose of redemption towards His people. A book that shows the love that God has for bad people and His purpose for redeeming them. --J.Dockery, Southern Pines, NC
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Pwoc
This is a quick read, even for slow readers, and a wonderful study filled with truth. Great bible study to do on your own or with a group. It made me laugh! What an imagination Liz Curtis Higgs has!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Janet Wiggins
Excellent book, very easy to read and understand. I love Liz and her humor. Her books are really worth reading more than once.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2007
Wow, what a study! Liz approaches the uglier parts of scripture and gives us something to strive against. Again, personal application in every lesson. I found this book especially useful for providing proof in scripture about how witchcraft and horoscopes are evil in God's eyes. Liz writes it, I read it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Really Bad Girls of the Bible: More Lessons from Less-Than-Perfect Women - eBook
This review is fromReally Bad Girls of the Bible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sandra Bellico
The author, Liz Curtis Higgs, brought life to these women of the bible in a modern way. The stories she created enabled us to understand how these women behaved and how God works in our lives. Each chapter challenged us. We are looking forward to studying Really Bad Girls of the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.