Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2

Multnomah Books Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2

Why did Karen Webb abandon her husband and newborn baby?Is it coincidence that she disappeared just one dayafter irreplaceable Anasazi Indian artifacts were stolenfrom the University of New Mexico Museum of Art andAnthropology? When Boston-based security consultantDesiree Jacobs is called to the scene, her FBI agentboyfriend, Tony Lucano, warns her not to play amateursleuth. When he joins her in Albuquerque on thecopyrighted property pirating case that he s assigned to,it becomes obvious that their cases are connected.And the popular media ministry, The Inner Witness, hasmore than a little something to do with them. Desi andTony are scrambling to connect the dots and figure outhow Karen fits into the picture if its not too late tosave her. When the horrifying truth comes to light,can they even save themselves?
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
0 out of 10%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Review 1 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cody
Location:New Jersey
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was interesting until the very end - when it went over-the-top with the cult/cannibilism ending.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Fern Moore
I was glad to find the rest of the books all at one time. I found the first one on the bargain table at Northwestern Book in Burnsville. I really like the story in line that included Christian thoughts along with the story. So, I looked up her web-site and found your web-site and ordered. I have finished reading all 3 books and enjoyed them. Also to note, that the author is a Mn. resident made it more fun to be a part of. Thanks for being there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Book two in Jill Elizabeth Nelsons To Catch a Thief series is just as gripping as book one. Nelson packs murder, stolen artifacts, a missing woman, and an endangered baby in the cant-put-it-down novel. Desiree Jacobs is always there for a friend in need, especially when her close friend, Maxine Webb, interrupts a presidential ball with news of her nieces disappearance. Despite her FBI boyfriends objections, Desi gets involved in discovering why Maxines niece would run off. Desi soon finds herself in a mess of villains, eerie rituals, and something sinister. Then, when Tonys case collides with Desis investigation, it is up to them to discover just what bloodthirsty entity is out there. They must rely on God to keep them safe and put all the pieces together before its too late.If youve read book one, this is a must read! The characters are just as interactive as in book one; and I for one, cant wait to get my hands on book three.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2007
Customer Avatar
Trish Perry
In her novels Jill Nelson has a way of simplifying some of the most prickly issues Christians face today. One of my favorite scenes in her latest novel, The Reluctant Runaway, involves the heroine, Desiree Jacobs and her Native American kidnapper, Pete Cheama, a member of the Zuni tribe. Pete has made plenty of bad choices in his life, and he ultimately blames his mistakes on Christians, whose system was forced upon [his] people centuries ago and has made [their] spirits weak and [their] minds confused. No Christian wants to feel her faith has weakened or confused anyone, so sometimes we refrain from even discussing Christianity. But Desiree merely responds, Jesus is not an oppressor. Right there, conciselythe difference between true Christianity and any faith that demands, rather than invites. Nelsons novel is a fun read, with plenty of suspense and action (and some clever romance, to boot). You could enjoy the entire reading experience without stopping to focus on the choice tidbits about faith with which she occasionally peppers the story. But those tidbits deepen the novel and make it stay with you well after you finish the last page. Id recommend Reluctant Runaway for teen-through-adult readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2007
I've read both books in this series and you can see that the author is "maturing". I most of this book. There was only one area where it was too slow for me. I read literally over a hundred books of christian fiction each year, so I know what I like. I have added Jill Nelson on my "definitely like" list. She is doing a nice job developing the characters as their relationship progresses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Linda Rondeau
In this engaging sequel to <I>Reluctant Burglar</I>, museum security expert Desiree Jacobs, once again becomes drawn into a mystery when Maxs niece goes missing. Could her disappearance have anything to do with Tonys organized crime case? As their romance heats up, so does the trail that leads to stolen artifacts, leading them both to the New Mexico desert. They must learn to trust God, not only with their surmounting dangers, but with their romance. Is it possible that this new religious cult, is at the center of these mysteries? <br /><br />As in <I>Reluctant Burglar</I>, Jill Nelson has once again masterfully weaved a tale of suspense and drama while demonstrating the power of faith to overcome the worst of our fears and obstacles. As the romance develops between Desiree and Tony, an FBI agent, the reader is shown the hand of God in even this, our most intimate of human relationships. Is it possible for these two, an over-protective cop and an independent, sometimes risk-taker security expert, to find a peaceful coexistence in which their love can blossom?<br /><br />Although the plot can be read independently from the books forerunner, <I>Reluctant Runaway</I>, has achieved the best of sequel writing. Not only has the author improved on her story telling techniques, but has added depth and challenge to an all-ready intriguing story. Very enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Betsy St. Amant
Whatever you do, don't "runaway" from this story!!! Okay, cheesy, I know, but guys, seriously, this was a super fun read! I actually liked it even better than the first in this series, and I didn't think that could happen! Jill has somehow managed to create a book/series that is at the same time fun and serious, intense and light, funny and shocking...what a combo! My favorite part of Jill's books are by far her characters - so realistic. They crack me up, yet two pages later, they have me tearing up. Job well done, Jill!!As for the rest of you - check out this series ASAP! You won't regret it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Todd Michael Greene
Security expert Desiree Jacobs' friend/business associate Maxine has a problem. Max's niece is missing. Kidnapping victim? Runaway? No one knows, but it seems everyone has an opinion. The niece also works for a museum recently robbed of priceless items. Right before the niece's disappearance. Now things are getting worse. Desi has to step in and help. But wait! She's promised her FBI boyfriend Tony she won't get involved in such things anymore. But she has to, right? This is her friend we're talking about. When Desi and Tony's individual cases collide sparks aplenty fly.If you'll pardon the obvious pun, I was reluctant to read this novel, which is book 2 in the series. See, I'm ashamed to say I hadn't read book 1. And Jill Nelson is my pal. Oh I'd read a chapter of book one that was posted to her website once. That was enough to convince me she was a good writer. I've been swamped with books that I had to read. It seems there's never an end sometimes. Oh the horrors! :-)The opportunity came for me to read book 2, Reluctant Runaway. As a member of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance we're plugging this novel this week. I received a copy of it to write a review. So glad I did. And the fact that it was the second in a series never tripped me up. Jill's sprinkles enough backstory to set you at ease with the characters, all the while taking you on a thrill ride like no theme park you've ever been to.It was a pleasure to read this novel. Jill's writing is tight and easy to read. Her characters are engaging and endearing. And the cliff hangers at some of the chapters! Shesh! I was already to put the book down for a while at one point to do some other things and then a gun went off at the end of the chapter. Ack! Who's dead? I couldn't stop reading there. Nuh uh. :-)Now I'm looking forward to going back in time and reading book one in the To Catch A Thief series, Reluctant Burglar. And then there's the upcoming book 3, Reluctant Smuggler.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chandra Smith
In Book two of the To Catch A Thief series, Jill Nelson has definitely done it again. Her edge of the seat mysteries will keep you reading and not much else!Museum security expert Desiree Jacobs always manages to find danger. Not by intent. Hoping life would settle down to a normal pace for her is futile. Maybe normal pace for her is insane. But when her best friends niece disappears, Desi must take action. Even if her FBI agent boyfriend, Tony Lucano wants her to play it safe, Desi must go.The mystery takes her from the streets of Boston to the mountain desert of New Mexico. In New Mexico, she must face doubting family members, uninterested police force, a rough motorcycle dude, a strange religious sect and a man who claims to be her long lost relative. Who can she trust? And, when Tonys long time organized crime case actually intersects with Desis missing niece case, the two of them must face the reality of unseen evils worse than they ever imagined.Will they solve the case before the sacrifices continue? Will their faith carry them through the dark spiritual realm they are trapped in? Is love really the strongest force on earth? When you open this book be sure your calendar is clear, work is done and no one needs you. For you will be whisked away into the mystery and putting the book down will not find a place in your vocabulary. Jill Elizabeth Nelson has truly done it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
Susan Sleeman
Desiree Jacobs, the owner of HJ Securities is back and up to her old tricks in Reluctant Runaway, the second book of the traditional romantic suspense series by Jill Elizabeth Nelson. Continuing in the unique job where she masquerades as a cat burglar to test the effectiveness of her clients security systems, Desi grabs the readers attention as she opens the book in criminal mode. She demonstrates her prowess as a thief and gives the reader a few uncomfortable moments worrying about her safety during this escapade. This time around, we follow Desi on the hunt for missing Anasazi Indian artifacts. This case comes to Desis attention when her best friends niece, Karen Webb, disappears and is accused of the theft. Desi commits to give her all to find Karen, no matter the risk. Her search is peppered with danger and exciting scenes, and ends with a thrilling closing. FBI agent Tony Lucano, Desis love interest, cautions Desi to let the authorities investigate this crime, but Desi being the spunky character she is, ignores Tonys warning and throws herself into the investigation. Along the way she discovers Karens involvement in a strange religious group. Desi believes the group to be a cult that will ultimately lead to solving Karens disappearance. Tony and Desis already rocky relationship is filled with turmoil when they are thrown together in Albuquerque. The danger of Desis profession strains the relationship as does Tonys inability to open up to Desi. Desi rushes full steam ahead to solve the case and Tony follows hoping to keep her safe. All along the way their faith is equally tested. The story is filled with exciting plot turns and the romance builds as you read. Desi is a strong character that captures readers adventurous side. Nelson provides a complex and interesting plot filled with lots of tension. Be sure to pick up Reluctant Burglar and read that one first, so you can thoroughly enjoy each book in release order.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jan G. Madden
Reluctant Runaway is full of action that keeps you turning the page! Museum security expert, Desiree Jacobs, continuously stumbles into danger, and her FBI agent boyfriend, Tony Lucano, continuously struggles to keep her safe. However, Desi's dedication and willingness to lay down her life for her friends is one of the things that attracts him to her the most.Jill Elizabeth Nelson has done an excellent job, as well, at showing the love and forgiveness of God throughout.Can't wait for Reluctant Smuggler!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
Security expert Desi Jacobs is back with the roar of a Harley and the cry of a baby, ringing in her ears!Priceless Indian artifacts have been stolen from a museum protected by Desi's security company which has Desi travelling to New Mexico with her faithful assistant, Maxine Webb, whose niece has mysteriously disappeared leaving a distraught husband and beloved baby boy.With the determination and curiosity that terrifies her FBI boyfriend, Tony Lucano, Desi soon finds herself embroiled with unsavory bikers, a heretical religion and a stand-off with Tony which has her doubting their relationship can ever survive.Jill Elizabeth Nelson has outdone her first book in the To Catch A Thief series, intensifying the intrigue, action and attraction in a terrific sequel that will leave you exhausted and invigorated simultaneously!The suspense is tight and entertaining keeping the reader constantly guessing as to many a characters' motive and loyalty. The developing relationship between Tony and Desi is fraught with tension due to issues of trust and dependency and enables the reader to understand the characters more fully ~ I was never sure whose side I was on in the game of romantic cat and mouse! Despite the significant entertainment value of this book, Jill blends deep spiritual truths that are both pertinent and challenging.Reluctant Runaway is a wonderful read and I can't wait to see where Jill takes her characters, physically and spiritually in Reluctant Smuggler, releasing in October, 2007 by Multnomah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2007
The book opens with Desiree in a Catwoman situationshes testing a security system before she dashes to a party with Tony. When Desis best friend Max crashes the party with the news that her niece is missing, the two women head for New Mexico. Once theyre there, they learn that a museum Desis security company is working for has had artifacts stolen, a woman is missing, and it all seems to tie in with a mysterious ministry.Then Tonys organized crime investigation begins to overlap with the trouble Desi cant avoid.The conflict between Tony and Desi is real and one I could relate to. Each has to learn to trust God and the other as life throws them into circumstances that are desperate and outside their control. Tony is desperate to protect Desi, but cant because of the risks she takes with her job. Desi is determined that Tony must open up and be vulnerable with her or there can be no relationship. I could relate all too well to both struggles.I loved this book and think you will, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Donn Taylor
In this romantic suspense thriller, separate narrative streams flow together like tributaries into a giant river. HJ Securities owner Desiree (Desi) Jacobs flies from her Boston base to Albuquerque to look into two apparently unrelated problems: the theft of Indian artifacts from a client museum and the disappearance of her best friend's niece. Her love interest, FBI agent Tony Lucano, doesn't want her to go, but he has to stay behind on his own high-priority case: multi-million dollar traffic in pirated CDs.In Albuquerque, Desi finds she must add a third problem to her concerns: the runaway niece was influenced by a cult called The Inner Witness, whose chief financial supporter happens to own the corporation Tony is investigating. Meanwhile, one of Tony's squad is killed during an operation and Tony is placed on administrative duty--but allowed to travel to Albuquerque to assist that office's end of the same investigation.From that point, incident follows perilous incident until, ultimately, all narrative streams flow together in an exciting denouement.Jill Elizabeth Nelson skillfully manages those various narratives, plus the romantic fortunes and misfortunes of hero and heroine, in a way that keeps the reader turning pages. This is a choice book for readers who like their writing on the edge.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
A.K. Arenz, Case of the Bouncing Grandma
This fast-paced, action-filled novel has it all suspense, romance, humor, and strong, likeable characters. I cant wait for Jill Elizabeth Nelsons next book!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Reluctant Runaway - eBook To Catch a Thief Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
HJ Security co-owner Maxine Webb is upset to learn her niece Karen has vanished leaving behind her daughter and spouse Brent. With her partner Desiree Jacobs they fly out to Albuquerque to also look into the theft of Indian artifacts from the New Mexico Museum of Art and Anthology. Desirees FBI boyfriend Tony Lucano pleads with her to stay out of trouble.In New Mexico, Desiree begins to obtain information on the Inner Witness Ministries that she believes is tied to the theft and the disappearance. Back in Boston, Tonys loses one of his men during a shootout. He is placed on administrative leave, but is allowed to travel to New Mexico to be with Desiree and assist local agents as their case ties to one of his. Though she makes a concerted effort to stay out of trouble, Desiree seems to be in the middle even as Tony tries to keep her safe as all heck breaks lose in a desert sanctuary.The second reluctant Jacobs thriller (see THE RELUCTANT THIEF) is an entertaining tale that focuses on law enforcement and Desiree looking into a potential cult that may or may not have abducted the niece of the heroines partner. The story line is fast-paced as Desiree tries to avoid trouble, but troubles tries to find Desiree. Though the look at regional art is almost empty as opposed to the first tale and in spite of the stolen artifacts being a key element, fans will appreciate this romantic suspense with the emphasis on the action.Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.