Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook

Multnomah Books Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook

Lust has become pervasive in our culture to the point that sexuality has become a negative - contaminating what God intended as a gift. Learn how to reclaim sexuality and sex as God originally planned as you cut through the deceptive lies of lust. See through new eyes enjoy a life of purity as you follow the steps in this countercultural guide.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Review 1 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Renee
Location:North Dakota
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A wonderful much needed tool. Was intended for family members. Knowledge is a necessity in this world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Read

Date:May 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heidi
Location:Columbia Cross Roads, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have enjoyed reading the other books by Joshua Harris and this book was no different. With examples from his own life, stories of other people and great truths from the Bible, Joshua makes it clear about what is lust, who struggles with it (everyone), the ways people are tempted by it, and how to identify your weak points. There is no 'secret' to ridding your life of lust, but he offers very practical points on how 'starve' lust and to turn your focus back to God. It definitely opened my eyes and helped me confess my struggle to God and find freedom. I recommend to anyone who is struggling with pornography, sexual addiction, a bad thought life, obsession with fantasy, and so much more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is excellent for young men.

Date:April 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wiley Coyote
Location:Bel Air, MD
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product answers many questions regarding sexuality and all of the issues a young man faces in this realm as he is developing. It has truly opened my eyes to see that sexuality is not a sin, but rather the improper practice of sexuality, i.e. pornography, lust, and any other behavior that the Bible would term fornication. I would recommend this to personal friends who I know are struggling in this area, and I would even recommend it for proactive measures - teaching young men about these issues BEFORE they begin to occur.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing book on Sexual purity

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Luke Mason
Age:Under 18
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredible! Finally a book that takes an honest look at virtually every aspect of lust with a Biblical worldview. Josh tackles the issues of pornography, immodesty, masturbation, and others with clear Biblical answers to how we should deal with them. VERY helpful practical advice and strategies on how to fight lust and WIN. Highly recommended to guys AND girls. I was recently facing this issue of lust in my life, and this book helped my walk immensely.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book on a tough subject.

Date:April 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Eph320
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lust is something so many people struggle with. This book is a very honest and biblical approach to dealing with lust. I recommend it for anyone searching for good Christian insight to dealing with this sin that leaves so many in defeat. It should also be noted that this book is not just written for men. It is written by a man, but the truths contained in the scripture and guidance given can be applied to either male or female who are struggling. This book will get you on the right track to freedom through God's grace and seeking help through Christ.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent book. Timely.

Date:January 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
hetti
Location:Toomsboro, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a must read. Joshua Harris has once again hit the nail on the head. Who will we allow to control us: our flesh or the Spirit of God? Excellent!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shari
Location:Copeland, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered these books for our youth group Bible Study. The youth are very excited about it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
mmaltbie
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great book. A need to read to help battle lust among other problem areas in your Christian walk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Solid Book

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonnymouse
Location:Idaho
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book really hit home for me, and it seemed as though Mr. Harris was talking directly to me. I thought he approached the issue of lust tactfully and in a Biblically solid way. He brought out the heart of the issue- which is an issue of the heart. The points he made and the strategies to help battle lust were helpful, and stating that the only way to conquer lust is by God's strength is so true! Satan drags our shame out whenever possible, but Jesus has already paid for that very sin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2010
I am 22 male and this book really sheds the light and sex vs. lust. This world throws out so many lies through the media and its our job to defend the truth. This book brings that truth full surface and gives incredible advice on how to deal with some of the sexual struggles that may come our way.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rich Rainey
A open honest look about a subject that is shaking the foundations of our faith. Our value system is looked at & hope given on our need to have a proper perspective of love and what it takes to be people of integrity.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Teen Mom
Great book. This books has very practical information. It is a must read for all teens even those not dating. Deals straight forward with issues for girls as well as guys. The content is dealt with with honor. Would recommend teens as well as their parents to read. Will open your eyes to todays struggles and how to deal with in a Godly way.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Ruiz
Honestly, this book was a great book, and it helped answer a lot of questions that I had about lust and sex. I was also amazed at how much I was able to relate to what the book said. Joshua Harris definitely knows what he's talking about.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristofer Craft
Very good book. Hit home. Will buy any book by this author, in fact ordered about six or seven of them today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2008
While there are many books available on sexual sin and purity, I haven't read a book specifically on lust until now. In this easy-to-read title, Josh Harris offers Biblically-based, culturally-relevant advice for this sin of the heart and mind. Rather than seeming holier-than-thou or clinical, the author makes himself very vulnerable, accepting and encouraging readers who may be struggling. I recommend this book highly without reservation -- its the only one of its kind of which I am aware.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ivy-maria Tompkins
WOW! This book is powerful and hard-hitting, and slices through lies and myths with the sword of Gods word head on. Liberating, captivating, and riveting! This message is a treasure trove of wisdom and godly counsel desperately needed in todays sex-saturated world devoid of virtue and honor. It is godly counsel for every young person and adult lacking, yet desiring, it in their own lives. The anointing on this book is evident from start to finish as it deals openly and convincingly with the real issues of sexuality and lust balanced wonderfully with Gods grace and truth. This book is divinely orchestrated right down to its small, hardcover package! Just like God to conceal a powerhouse in a small vessel! (I teach a college/career class on Sundays and am using it as a companion piece with our new lesson Sexual Purity In An Impure World, complemented perfectly by the books subtitle and named prior to getting the book.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dwight T Ivy
This book was a real joy to read. I initially thought it was more tailored towards teens, but I found relevant reading for mature adults also.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Heidi Greene
I found this book to be as well written as his book "I Kissed Dating Goodbye". It had a lot of insightful help with this area of struggle for so many people. I am now having each of my children read it. I feel it is a book that everyone would benefit from reading. Even if you are not struggling with sexual lust, there is a lot to learn from this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2008
Wow...I'd give it 10 stars if I could. I grew up in a very sexually oriented atmosphere and have battled lust for as long as I can remember. I have tried the whole willpower thing, and have failed every time. I have read a few Christian books on the subject, and they all seem to either gloss over the subject (as though the author really hasn't personally dealt with the issue) or they get to psychological...wanting to help me get to the root of my issue with lust and figure out how it possibly came about. I'm not interested in that. This book is exactly what I have been looking for, and exactly what I have needed. The author has obviously dealt with this issue deeply and his advice is totally biblical (not psychological). This is a book I will definitely not be getting rid of (not that I could, I have highlighted too much of it!).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sex Is Not the Problem (Lust Is): Sexual Purity in a Lust-Saturated World - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jay Underwood
Joshua Harris directs the reader with both Biblical and practical truth that will benefit any Christian battling lust or any other sin for that matter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>