Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Snitch - eBook Occupational Hazards Series #2

WaterBrook Press Snitch - eBook Occupational Hazards Series #2

Convinced that he's going to die of boredom, Las Vegas police sergeant Ron Yeager comes out of retirement to head an auto theft undercover team filled with inexperienced egos and eccentrics who couldn't sneak up on a statue! Will Yeager's force be transformed in time to stop a bigger crime than any of them expected?
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Snitch - eBook Occupational Hazards Series #2
Review 1 for Snitch - eBook Occupational Hazards Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Becky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered Snitch and Snoop (first in the series) for the church library. I read them before I placed them in the library. They were a slower read than I anticipated, yet attention getting to want to keep reading , but in a quiet not overly stimulating way. I was curious as to how Christian aspects and values would be portrayed with the subject matter of each book. I was done in a realistic manner and one people could tie into their own life. I know there will be a number of people reading them at church and talking about them to to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Snitch - eBook Occupational Hazards Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2007
Customer Avatar
Sherri
I have enjoyed reading many of Rene Gutteridge's books. Snitch was filled with interesting characters. I like this series because it is mostly about the people involved in the story rather than the story itself. The characters do not all fall into categories of good guys and bad guys there are some with a little of both. It is an enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Snitch - eBook Occupational Hazards Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lee Harris
Gutteridge stories mix mystery, humor and Christian values into an enjoyable package. Snitch follows on the heels of Scoop -- keeping your guessing with a smile on your face and joy in your heart as your turn page after page. Characters are ... well ... they are CHARACTERS. Enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Snitch - eBook Occupational Hazards Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kassy Paris
I confessI confess. I snatched Snitch from the arms of a stocking clerk in LifeWay Bookstore a few weeks ago. Thats right, straight from the young mans arms. Shock, surprise, and awe flittered across his face. I must have this copy, I said as I made my way to the check-out counter to pay for my copy.I didnt need another book to read. I had just had a copy of another authors newest book autographed to add to my ever towering stack of books to read. But I had to have Snitch. Rene Gutteridges Occupational Hazards series is just too enticing to put off purchasing. In fact, I read it immediately. I couldnt resist temptation got the better of me.Snitch didnt disappoint me. The characters are engaging, likable and real. They have flaws; theyre not perfect, but they try. And the humor remains. For me, I think, the humor that Rene uses in her novels is one of the biggest draws of her writing style. Her style absorbs her readers. Youre in the midst of the book without trying.Oh, yes, what is the plot of Snitch? Well, Mackenzie Mack Hazard, a member of the Hazard family (all former clowns), takes on a new job in undercover work for the Las Vegas Police Department. The task force she has been assigned to has a tough job uncover the culprits in an auto theft ring operating in Las Vegas. The task force is headed by Sergeant Ron Yeager, a man a couple of years away from retirement. Yeagers task force is comprised of rookies, experienced undercover officers and a minister a minister? Yes, an undercover minister on sabbatical from his pulpit.How can such a misfit group of people work together to achieve their purpose without getting them all killed? Read Snitch to find out if and how the task force solves their problem. Snitch is a book laugh-packed with thrills.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Snitch - eBook Occupational Hazards Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 18, 2007
Customer Avatar
Narelle Mollet
Mackenzie "Mack" Hazard has yearned to do undercover work and when the opportunity arises to work with Sergeant Ron Yeager on an auto theft task force, she jumps at the chance. Ideologies, faith and personalities collide as the task force find themselves in an operation where the stakes are higher than this rookie cop and her eclectic colleagues can fathom.Rene Gutteridge is well know for her witty dialog, strange yet lovable characters and Snitch fulfills those trademarks with ease. The storyline moves along at a fast clip and the characters foibles are quickly exposed giving the reader a fun and entertaining read. Mack's interactions with the tough yet superstitious cop, Jesse Lunden and the naive and dedicated Pastor Kyle provide most of the hilarity. Rene continues to smoothly weave spiritual truths into her tale and I look forward to the ongoing sagas of the unique Hazard family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Snitch - eBook Occupational Hazards Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
Todd Michael Greene
When Sgt. Ron Yeager--a couple of years from retired and bored to tears--is asked to head up an undercover operation to stop car thieves, he jumps at the chance to shake things up. Little did he know what he was getting in return. An undercover cop who falls asleep at the most inopportune times--aptly nicknamed Dozer. Dozer's friend and fellow cop Jesse, who having a couple of years in undercover behind him things he's seen it all, done it all. An outspoken Christian named Mack Hazard, who wants to be an undercover cop when she grows up, but really doesn't have the heart for it it seems. Another who's always having to go the restroom. And . . . Ron's pastor? You'll have to read the book to learn about this last one and more.And when the operation goes beyond what anyone thought it ever would things really start cooking with this tale.Once again, Rene has written a heartwarming story of sincere faith woven into the fabric of a entertaining story. The one thing that really surprised me was Ron Yeager. Though the story is part of the Occupational Hazards series and one of the characters is a Hazard sibling, the main character always seemed to be Ron. I didn't mind though. He was engaging, entertaining, interesting and a character to care for. You really want this guy to rise above when he's become and see him shine. And he does.Like one other reviewer said, this is book two in a series and yet it stands on it's own. I never found myself wondering about what had gone before. Rene does a great job of helping you understand what came before and how it relates to now with feeling like you have to go back and read book one. Though I hope you will.If kooky characters in outrageously funny situations that stretch them is your thing, Rene Gutteridge is the writer to read. She always manages to be funny and serious in the right places. Her writing is tight and easy to read.Congrats on another great story Rene!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Snitch - eBook Occupational Hazards Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2007
When asked to head up a task force to bust an auto theft ring in Las Vegas, Sergeant Ron Yeager isnt sure he wants to leave his desk job. Oh, he knows he still has what it takes. Hes just not sure he has the nerve to face his wife if he takes an undercover assignment this close to retirement! And when his overeager pastor inserts himself onto Rons mismatched team of officers, he begins to suspect they dont have a prayer of a chance. The resulting madcap adventure is full of unexpected twists, comical developments, and a wonderful example of living your faith at work. Gutteridges witty writing kept me chuckling all the way to the end. I loved this book, and I think you will, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Snitch - eBook Occupational Hazards Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Harriet Klausner
Although retirement looms on the near horizon and he earned the desk job, Las Vegas police sergeant Ron Yeager is bored. Thus when the brass asks him if he would agree to train an undercover task force of rookies to infiltrate an auto theft gang, Ron euphorically says yes. He may have reconsidered his agreeing if he met his inexperienced team before his acceptance.Ron meets his squad and instantly knows some idiot must be punishing him as they make the worst choices he could imagine going undercover inside the underbelly of Sin City. The squad includes an open Christian Mackenzie Mack Hazard trying to get converts, super-egotistical Jesse know it all Lunden trying to get Rons job, and Dozer trying to stay awake more minutes than Disneys Sleepy. Ron thinks this trio will send him into disability retirement due to high blood pressure.The second Occupational Hazards tale (see SNOOP) is a delightful police procedural due to a strong prime cast. Ron is fabulous as he wonders what insanity led him to say yes. His tyros are eccentrically different as Mack makes her religious beliefs known to her teammates, Jesse makes it clear he knows more than anyone else including Ron, and Dozer cannot stay awake. Humor and police on the job training and investigation fit nicely together in Rene Gutteridges fun inspirational tale.Harriet Klausner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.