Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook

Multnomah Books Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook

Blasting past mediocrity, the Harris brothers challenged teens to move beyond their comfort zones in Do Hard Things. What's next? In this follow-up to their bestseller, they help kids overcome common hurdles as they seek to change the world. Learn how to inspire others, stay motivated, discover what your hard thing is, and more, with stories from real-life rebelutionaries like you! 162 pages, softcover.
Average Customer Rating:
4.656 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Review 1 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Start Here...Start Now!

Date:January 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Urailak
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you believe that teenagers are simply irresponsible and just do whatever they want? That's what this culture in general embraces. However, God does not want His children to be like that. "Don't let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity." (1 Timothy 4:12) That's what Alex and Brett Harris have tried to do, starting with the Rebelution blog. They have been encouraging young people to do hard things for the glory of God. Their first book, Do Hard Things: A Teenage Rebellion Against Low Expectations, made a great impact on my teenaged daughter. She and I attended one of their conferences. I am not biased (even though they are fellow Oregonians :)) to say that they are excellent examples/role models for teenagers. In this book, Start Here, they offer practical guidelines to begin doing hard things right where you are. It includes answers to frequently asked questions such as How do I get started?, How do I ask people to support my cause?, How do I keep my motivation for doing hard things pure?, What if I try to do something hard and it doesn't work out? Does that mean I didn't hear God right?, Am I missing out on anything because I'm not doing the "normal" things teens do?, and much more. The authors share from their own experiences and use the stories of other real life rebelutionaries as examples/lessons to learn. The book also includes 100 Hard Things (ideas to get you moving, not just thinking/wishing) and discussion questions (great for small group discussion). I highly recommend this book (and Do Hard Things) to anyone, especially teens. Don't waste your life (at any age); be intentional about how you live...how you use your time, talents, and treasures.
~This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EVERY TEENAGER SHOULD READ THIS!

Date:December 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Laura
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Every teenager and young adult should read this book! It's a bold call to start living BIG for God, and it shows that living BIG isn't always being famous or BIG in the eyes of the world, but BIG in the eyes of God.
HIGHLY recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Start Here

Date:December 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Pam M
Location:NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the sequel to Do Hard Things at my teenage son's request. I read the entire book in a day! What an encouragement to young people these two brothers are!
Within a day of completing this book, my son had formulated a plan of how to raise money to help a child in Ethiopia that he and his youth group are sponsoring. He had talked it out, worked it out, prayed about it and taken action. He stepped out in faith. He got up in front of a large group of people and spoke about it (this was a major step for him because he really does not like public speaking at all!). These two young men have started a movement among teens that I hope does not ever stop...one that shows them that you are not too young for the Lord to use you for His glory!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heaven
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend to any teenager or youth minister.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lakeshia Hymes
Not what I expected or waslooking for. Will read anyway so see what information I may obtain to help the youth in my church.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sharon Turney
This book has my 16-year-old daughter all fired up to do a charity event at her high school! Teen agers need to read this and the former book, "Do Hard Things" by the same authors. The new generation really can change the world for the glory of God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Colston
Everything you read from these brothers is worth the read and a great choice for any parent and teen.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Erika Chapman
In this book Alex and Brett Harris help their readers tackle HOW to do the hard things and also to look for ways to be used by the Lord right where they are. They give practical tips and very hands on ways to get started, stay focused on God and handle the consequences of doing hard things. The book is short, easy to read and full of real life stories.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are by Alex and Brett Harris reads like a manual for their previous book, Do Hard Things. Where the first book inspires teens to be more than society expects, Start Here continues the talk by examining ways to start doing hard things. The book discusses some of the hurdles that one may face to get an idea going.I was astounded and blessed by the wisdom that these young men share.Im no teenager, (Im 30 in fact!), yet this book has inspired and convicted me. Their cautions on pride really stepped on my toes. I think fear of being wrongly proud has actually held me back in some of the hard things Ive tried to do. Now they have equipped me with a safeguard for my heart by examining and explaining how to handle pride when it rises up in you.I was also very impressed with their views on the difference between business and fruitfulness. Wow was I ever convicted!What makes this book especially cool is that Alex and Brett share real life stories of teens that have taken the concept to Do Hard Things and applied it in their lives. From these stories Alex and Brett build their foundation for Start Here. Readers will find practical advice, timely wisdom, a list of 100 suggestions of hard things to try, discussions for deeper study of each chapter, and a greater motivation to stay faithful to their God-given callings.Start Here is an excellent book for teens, or anyone taking the mission to go deeper with God and do the things he calls them to with excellence.Awesome book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Sikora
At first glance of picking this book up, I did not think it was going to pertain to me since I am an adult. However, from the first page of this book I was captivated and blown away at the thoughts that were shared here.I never really got to read the first book, but now that I have this one, I am getting the other one and giving both of them to my teenager so that he to can learn to rise above and be the teen that God wants him to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Charlene
As a youth leader, this book excited my heart. Positive teen role models are hard to find in the media. Positive teen role models who help teens build their own self-esteem are in seriously short supply. In, Start Here, Alex & Brett Harris offer constructive ideas for doable "Hard Things"; provide practical guidance for planning and starting a "Hard Things" project; offer suggestions for enlisting aid from friends, family and church members; and, include testimonies from other kids doing "Hard Things".Adults, don't think this book is just for kids. We are called to do "Hard Things", too. If you don't know what they might look like or where you should start, this book might just be for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Start Here is a book written by Alex and Brett Harris. They are twin teenagers that want to inspire your teen to become a Rebelutionary (a combination of rebellion and revolution).As an adult reading the book I thought that much of what was stated was the obvious, the problem is that I am not their intended audience. My son is, however and I am very anxious to pass this book along when I am finished.There were several instances in the book when I stopped reading and had to find CAL to share with him the point the Harris brothers had just made, because we all know that our teenagers will listen to others before they will listen to you!Start Here encourages kids to exceed the expectations that adults have set for them. Which is their minds is not difficult. Teens can do more than play sports and get good grades. This book will help them realize their potential and how to take the next step in doing hard things for the glory of God. This book is not about building up your teen as much as it is about building up God.If you have a teen that is lukewarm and living for the world this would be a great book to get them on the right track with God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Molly
Start Here by Alex and Brett Harris picks up where there first book, Do Hard Things left off, by challenging teens to rise above the low standards set by their generation and become a rebelutionary; someone who is willing to do hard things.Start Here offers practical advice to these teens who are ready to take the challenge, but need some advice and encouragement. Alex and Brett answer questions such as how do I get started, how do I know this is what God is calling me to do, what if my parents dont agree with me and how do I handle pride?I was most impressed by the humility the Harris twins show in their book. Over and over they remind the reader that the motivation for doing hard things is to give glory to God, not to exalt ourselves. And as a parent reading this book, I was especially grateful they pointed out several times to their young and impressionable audience that their first responsibility in glorifying God is to obey and honor their parents.Start Here is a wonderfully, well-written book by two young men who are shining lights in their dark generation. It is filled with practical advice and wise counsel. For any teens, parents or youth workers wanting to encourage their young people to step out in faith, Start Here is a fantastic resource.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tina Bennett
Start Here was inspired by a blog that two sixteen year old brothers came up with. They named it The Rebelution in the sense that taking the words rebellion and revolution to mean something new for the teenager. Start Here is basically a challenge to any teenager out there struggling with identity in Christ or trying to find their voice in this big world. Its also a call for change. The main focus in the book is telling teenagers that they have do indeed have a voice and that their actions can change the world. I loved reading through some of these kids ideas and the amazing things they did to step up. I also liked it because it was written by teenagers encouraging other teenagers. Sometimes a parent or adult can give advice to a teen and they roll their eyes, but have that same advice come from another teen or friend and sometimes they will listen..even change..The book entails inspirational stories about different teens from all over, who decided to help someone, stand up for someone or just be brave and do the right thing. My favorite story was Charitys- a teenager who through hard work crocheted and had people around the world donate handmade hats to send to orphans overseas during Christmas time. Well written and broken into sections so its easy to read through and understand. Its practical outlook and hard but simple things to do make it easy for any young person or adult to apply this to their lives. Recommended for all ages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Start Here is the newest book written by the Harris brothers. When they were 18 they wrote a book called Do Hard Things that challenges teenagers to not act like typical teenagers. They encouraged teenagers to "do hard things" for the glory of God and rebel against the low expectations that society has placed on them. Start Here continues and helps teenagers figure out what hard things they should take on.This was a quick and easy read and one I will definitely be holding on to for my teenager to read. I'll be picking up a copy of Do Hard Things as well. The authors do a great job helping teenagers figure out what hard things they can do simply by using their hobbies, skills, and likes. Overall an excellent book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea Schultz
Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are is the follow-up to Do Hard Things. It is a practical guide to doing the hard things. It answers the questions How do I get started? What do I do when I get discouraged? & Whats the best way to inspire others?, among many others. The book is filled with stories & insights from Alex and Brett, & other real-life rebelutionaries.The twins explain what has happened since the movement began:Since Do Hard Things came out, the Rebelution movement has exploded. In the past year, rebelutionary teens have raised tens of thousands of dollars to bring the gospel to and dig wells in Africa, won prestigious film festivals, fought human trafficking in the United States and around the world, young people are moving out of their comfort zones whether that means standing for Christ in a hostile classroom, raising money to build a dormitory for orphans in China, or mending relationships with parents or younger siblings. (p. 2)I found this passage to be the culmination of their message:In every moment of victory, God calls us to remember that we can do good things only when He world through us. Our response to accomplishing a hard thing will never be perfectly pure, but as we grow closer to God, our desire to see Him glorified, not us, will grow. Our excitement over what He has done will practically burst from us! We will take more and more joy in being part of what God is doing. (p. 106)It is heartening to see young people whose hearts are so geared to the heart of God. I highly recommend this book for all young people; in fact, I learned a few things myself! As a matter of fact, I think it is also a valuable resource for churches and for youth ministries.This book was provided to me by Waterbrook Multnomah Publishing Group for review purposes. Ponderings by Andrea
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2010
First of all, if you have not read Do Hard Things, read it and read the companion book Start Here along with it.In both books, the message of the Rebelution is that all young people have the ability to accomplish far greater things than our culture would have them think. Young or old, we are called by God to be examples, not exceptions. So, young or old, a very important small hard thing I learned from this book is, What kind of busy am I? Intentionally busy with purposeful, fruitful work or am I busy in the sense that I am always doing something? Hmmm. . . .How we use our time is one of those important small hard things that allows us to do some of the bigger hard things God's given us to do.Start Here, is a great resource that will direct you on how to get started doing hard things, answer questions that you may have, and help you connect with a network of others who are doing hard things or want to get started with their own ideas of hard things. Also included in the appendix is a list of "100 hard things" that will get you started on your own journey of doing hard things.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Emily
Start Here is a practical guide for teens who desire to step out of the comfort and complacency of culture's low expectations for their lives. Written by teen brothers Alex and Brett Harris, it is a companion to their first book Do Hard Things. While Do Hard Things encourages teens that they can make a huge difference in their schools, in their communities and in the world; Start Here shows them how.Filled with advice, stories, and perspective from teens all over the world who are reaching outside of their comfort zones to go against normal expectations and show God's love through their faith and their actions in huge ways.Start Here is a practical approach to the seemingly impossible ideas and visions that come out of Do Hard Things. The book doesn't answer all the tough questions for you, but instead guides you through how to figure out which questions to ask yourself and how to come to the best right answer for your specific circumstance. Start Here provides tools for managing big projects and ideas in a day to day manner, how to stay motivated and how to embrace even the small "hard things" in life.Start Here holds an entirely different message for teens than the culture that surrounds them. What I appreciated about this book was that there is recognition of that. This book is full of encouragement and support for the tough times that teens will face in going against what is normal and expected. Teens and adults alike will be inspired by all the examples in this book of great things that teens are doing all over the world.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2010
Start Here is the sequel or companion book to the Harris brothers' original book, Do Hard Things. In Start Here, Alex and Brett share stories of how real teens are applying their message and are doing hard things, both big and small, right where they live. It is full of ideas for teens of ways that they can make a difference in the world around them, right now.My fourteen-year old ran off with this book as soon as it arrived. As she read it, and since she completed it, she has initiated many conversations with me about knowing what God wants you to do, about the hard things in daily life, and how to have the strength to do them. It has really impacted her, and has been beneficial to our own relationship as we've been able to discuss the book.I highly recommend both Do Hard Things and Start Here for Christian teens and young adults.(reviewed as part of the Waterbrook Multnomah bloggers for books program)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Start Here: Doing Hard Things Right Where You Are - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
A Cluttered Mind
When The Rebelution Tour came through Minneapolis in the summer of '08, I took several of the teens from our church to the one-day conference. After we returned from that fantastic time, I bought copies of Do Hard Things for every teen in our group and we walked through it together. It provided some good challenges for our teens.It's been nearly two years since that experience. In a timely fashion, the Harris boys release Start Here, filled with all kinds of practical helps, instruction, examples and experiences to continue on doing hard things. With the same God-honoring desire to see teens rise up and "rebel" in a godly manner, against the cultural expectations of teenagers, Start Here helps put lots of hands and feet to Do Hard Things. The first book was the motivational aspect; Start Here is the practical.Each chapter is loaded with solid ideas, letters and emails from young people who have been trying hard things (both big and small) for the Lord, and exhortations from Alex & Brett to keep at the rebelution (their term for the combination of rebelling against cultural norms & expectations, as well as the revolution they hope to see God bring about through teenagers doing hard things for God's sake).The book is a quick and an easy read. A youth group could use it as a quick refresher study in doing hard things. A family could use it to see where God might lead them - or a teen from their family - in order to make a difference right where they're at. The final chapter lists 100 "hard things" which teens from around the country did, and from which you can choose from or just to brainstorm with.You don't have to have read Do Hard Things to receive much inspiration from this book, but if you haven't, I'd recommend it to you as well. It will root your desire to do something God-glorifying in Him. Then, buy this book for yourself, your teenage son or daughter, or your youth pastor and let them know you want them to start doing hard things for God's glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>