Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook

Multnomah Books Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.386 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
3
37 out of 4092%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Review 1 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sandy
Location:IL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The writer truly inspires his readers to reach out to God with audacious faith for even those things that appear impossible. A book to inspire faith.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awsome

Date:December 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Fran
Location:Arkansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ausome book! Looking into deeper and bolder praying that will change your prayer life
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A Bold prayer to Silence a False Prophet.

Date:July 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
sevenpillars
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Steven Furtick makes the bold claim that he has received a vision from God to "do church" for the "unchurched." His book "Sun Stand Still" is a complete mishmash of hogwash and out-of-context bible twisting gymnastics. The story from the book of Joshua is not a pattern for prayer. With such an interpretation one could write a book about "Iron Float" (2 Kings 6:6). When the disciples came to Jesus he taught them a simple prayer that acknowledges God as sovereign and petitions God for daily bread. Avoid the book like the plague. It will one day be thrown into the ash can of theological rubbish. It's just a repackaged, man-centered, "Prayer of Jabez" rehash.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AMAZING book!

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Franni
Location:Warsaw, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! If you're considering ordering this book...JUST DO IT! Get a highlighter, a pencil and get ready to have your world rocked! This is not a fluffy, feel-good book you can read with the TV on while you're making dinner. It's incredibly thought-provoking and challenges the reader to dare to ask the impossible of our God, who literally made the sun stand still in answer to a prayer.
God is just that big! If we aren't asking Him for the impossible, we are doing ourselves a great disservice. He is big enough for anything we ask and His word says that's it's His good pleasure to give us what we ask.
Stop living in a scarcity mentality and dare to dream big and imagine the possibilities of what God has for your life. "Sun Stand Still" is your springboard for the awesome journey ahead.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Eye opening

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Soo Wilson
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was not just a great read but a challenge for me. Not just for people that want to plant a church but start anything at all in the name of Jesus. It was very humbling and encouraging.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book to motivate a walk in faith!

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Barbara Ho
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good resource for a faith filled walk! His personal examples as well as the principles he lays out are very inspiring!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It Works, The Word Works, We must work The Word !

Date:January 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pert
Location:Calif.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was asked to read this from my Mary Kay Leader (my daughter) she knows I may start a book and may not finish it but this is one I can't put down. She got it from a friend in Mary Kay, so many of us are reading it now. I even gave one to my Bishop Ron and he is reading it. I hope everyone can read this book. May God continue to Bless Pastor Steve to keep putting out the Word.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Prayer

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Moviefan
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are looking for a book on learning how to trust God in all of life's situation this is the book for you.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome book!

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
haylie
Location:High Point, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pastor Furtick really inspired me to step out in faith and change my prayer life from the wimpy prayers I typically pray to REALLY praying specific and bold Holy Spirit-inspired prayers, fully expecting answers.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A reminder, God still works miracles.

Date:August 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
harry
Location:Bronxville,NY
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A reminder, God still works miracles the same way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book!!!

Date:May 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Swooshjock
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is very inspiring. I would recommend it to anyone looking to take their christian walk to the next level. An easy read but still a good book. It reminds us just how powerful and awesome our God is.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Solid book from impressive leader

Date:April 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
aaronallison
Location:Hendersonville, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Steven Furtick is a 31 year old pastor, who has had a lot of success in his short ministry, and should have a lot more in the future. The sense of optimism and confidence from this success exudes in his first book Sun Stand Still. This book is great for a young person with big dreams, and an older reader who need to be reminded again what it feels like to dream big. Furtick is a good writer, so it will be fun for those of us who follow his ministry to watch his writing develop as his life and ministry continue to expand.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very challenging

Date:April 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fillmore C. Sankey
Location:Edmonds, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An "easy read", but far from simplistic. Extremely challenging: the reader cannot complete the book and walk away yet undeterminded as to whether to pursue "audacious faith" and "Sun Stand Still" prayers. Scripturally well-balanced. Highly recommended for all ages and levels of Christian maturity.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sun Stand Still is a blast of enthusiastic energy!

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phone Tree Edifier
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
A Phone Tree Book Review
~
Sun Stand Still is a blast of enthusiastic energy directed toward anyone who is looking for a spiritual charge or recharge. From start to finish, Steven Furtick’s message exploded onto the pages of this book. His primary theme was summed up in two words – AUDACIOUS FAITH.
Steven’s real-life Page 23 examples of faith were inspiring. His challenge to seize, activate and move was a call to action that I dared to take and that I dare to keep taking. Finally, his guidelines for a Sun Stand Still Prayer were practical, relevant, and extremely helpful.
~
I thought this book was incredible. Once I started, I found myself gobbling it up. Page after page was filled with scrumptious morsels of motivation. Sun Stand Still was a four-course meal as far as I am concerned. Steven’s Page 23 message was YUMMY.
~
This book would be a sensational read for anyone. In fact, I would go so far as to say that everyone should read it. Whoever wants to be reinvigorated, revived, rejuvenated, or enlivened, this is the book to read…NOW!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I'm Encouraged to ask God for the Impossible!

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
BloggerBridget
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a revival in my soul. I wanted to renew my faith in God. I wanted to see God in a new light. This book helped me do that. I didn’t know how much I was missing out on seeing God work in my life. If we don’t ask God for bold and audacious results, we’ll never truly see how big He is. If we don’t pray our “sun stand still” prayers, our faith in God will not grow. Or, as Steven Furtick says in his book, “…if you’re not daring to believe God for the impossible, you’re sleeping through some of the best parts of your Christian life.” ( page 7)
You CAN see God work in miraculous ways. You CAN see God do amazing things. This book has many examples of just that. If you want a book to show you how you can trust God with the impossible things in your life, this is for you.
This is a fantastic book and I came away energized and excited about what God could do in my life. I now have my “impossible” list that I pray for every day and I can’t wait to see how God will answer!
FTC Disclaimer – In return for writing a review of this book (either positive or negative), I was given a free copy of the book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Furtick gives many examples of audacious faith.

Date:March 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
KSwart
Location:Buffalo, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Sun Stand Still, Steven Furtick challenges all of us to step out in obedience to God with audacious faith. His basis for his beliefs comes from Joshua 10. Joshua is in a great battle and winning and he knows if the sun goes down his enemies will most likely be able to escape. Joshua knows the Lord is with him because he has assured Joshua’s victory. So Joshua asks God for the impossible. In verse 12, he says, “O sun, stand still over Gibeon.” At face value, this seems life a last ditch effort to save the day, like many had prayed before or after in times of desperation. The difference is God not only heard Joshua’s prayer, He also responded. Joshua 10:13 says, “So the sun stood still, and the moon stopped, till the nation avenged itself on its enemies.” Furtick gives many examples of audacious faith throughout the book that all started just like Joshua with a cry out to the Lord in obedience to His will. He shares his own story and what he calls his “Page 23 Vision” in his teens. He tells of the audacious faith in the founding of Elevation Church and it’s growth in 5 years from the core-group into thousands of active members living out God’s plan in obedience with audacious faith. He gives the reader the key things to look for to help discern your own “Page 23 Vision” and God’s plan for your life. He also encourages us to dream the impossible and understand that God’s will does not fit inside of the box of human understanding. He clarifies the difference between faith and hope for us. Many of us hope for things, but far less actually have faith. He says, “Hope is a desire. Faith is a demonstration. Hope wants it to happen. Faith causes it to happen and acts as if it’s already done.” Don’t read this book if you are happy and content with everything in your life. But, if you want more, and feel that there is something really big you are meant to do, read it. Learn how to hear God’s call and respond in audacious faith.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not bad...

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Apryl
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The book is about Furtick's experiences in planting a church, and living a life that allows God to do great things in it. I liked the premise of the book, and the idea behind it (giving your life over completely to God).
It did, however, get a little to catch-phrasey for my liking. Things like "page 23 vision" and "Sun Stand Still Prayer" got a lot of page time, and turned into clichés in my mind before the end of the book.
Overall, I think the book is still worth the read, and does remind us that God can, and will, do great things in our lives if we let Him.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A challenge to activate your faith

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
JPGuerrero
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sun Stand Still is simply a book about faith. It is a book that challenges the Christian to activate the faith that God has placed within us and begin to trust Him for the seemingly impossible. For too long, Christians have been taught to pray for things like safety, and blessings, and protection. We pray for generic things like that because they are safe and if they aren't answered specifically, our trust in God won't be damaged. But Pastor Steven Furtick presents the challenge to pray for bigger things - for restored marriages and redeemed relationships and healed bodies. We can and should pray for things like that because we have a God who can and will make things like that happen. That's the premise of the book. That every Christian should pray Sun Stand Still prayers, asking God for the impossible and then engaging in the audacious faith to believe that He can make it happen.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A challenge to greater faith and powerful prayer

Date:March 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda Risner
Location:Ruckersville, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do you long for divine intervention? To move mountains? Or to see God work supernaturally in your life? In Sun Stand Still, Steven Furtick challenges you to “ask God for the impossible.” Using Joshua 10 as an example, Pastor Furtick demonstrates that “if you have the audacity to ask, God has the ability to perform.”
In Joshua 10, Joshua and his troops are in a battle and Joshua prays "'Sun, stand still at Gibeon, and moon, in the Valley of Aijalon.' And the sun stood still, and the moon stopped, until the nation took vengeance on their enemies.…The sun stopped in the midst of heaven and did not hurry to set for about a whole day." (verses 12-13)
Using Biblical references and real-life examples, Pastor Furtick walks you, the reader, through how to pray your own “Sun Stand Still Prayer.” By having audacious faith, praying specifically and according to His will and character, and approaching the throne of grace boldly, you can revolutionize your faith by believing God for the impossible. Then, you will see the mountains move.
Despite initial wariness that it might be a bit too “prosperity theology” for me, I loved this book! It in no way implied that God would give you a million dollars just because you asked. Rather, it talked of seeking God’s will for a vision for your life and then praying for the impossible in accordance with that vision. I found it to be Biblically sound, challenging, and encouraging. Let’s move beyond the ordinary, the easy faith of the American Christian, and dare to live the extraordinary, abundant life that God wants for us.
Great book! I highly recommend it for any believer who wants a more transformed prayer life!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sun Stand Still: What Happens When You Dare to Ask God for the Impossible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Practicing Sun Stand Still

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
jbetron
Location:Yale, SD
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I are currently on the journey of adoption. We have always wanted to adopt. I joked with her early in our relationship that I wanted to have a large family, like six kids, at least. After trying to start our family for a little over two years, we lost one pregnancy and haven't been able to have another. It finally dawned on us, maybe God wants us to start our family through adoption.
The journey of adoption is a long one. There's a ton of paperwork. The cost is astounding. The information required by the agency is overwhelming. We do understand that all of these things are necessary, but it has required of us what Steven Furtick writes about in his book "Sun Stand Still," that is, "audacious faith."
Furtick's plea for audacious faith finds its roots in the book of Joshua. After capturing Ai, Joshua took up camp at Gilgal, but the people of Gibeon needed him. They called on him and his army for help to defeat their enemies. Joshua depended on the Lord for help and prayed, "O sun, stand still at Gibeon, and O moon in the valley of Aijalon." The Lord heard his prayer and the sun did not set for the entire day. Furtick writes, "Joshua had the audacity to ask God to make the sun stop in the sky." Joshua had audacious faith.
The Christian life is to be characterized with audacious faith like Joshua's. The God who caused the sun to stand still for Joshua is the same God we worship today. He's the same God who caused the Son to rise from the dead. He's holy. He's powerful. He constantly demonstrates His loving-kindness toward us. Unfortunately, we get into the rut of asking God to provide for the small things (a good day, good health, and happiness), but we don't have the audacity to ask God to make the sun stand still. What would the world look like if Christians regularly practiced audacious faith? What would it take to make the sun stand still?
Furtick writes that audacious faith must be accompanied by a "Page 23 vision" and a "sun stand still prayer." A "Page 23 vision" is a creative way to say that you need to have a compelling vision for your life. He writes, "You've got to have one if you're going to accomplish the impossible." His personal examples help his readers see the importance of this vision, motivating them to find one of their own.
I appreciated most what Furtick had to say about the "sun stand still prayer." His point wasn't that believers just pray, but that they pray like Joshua did and they pray the Bible. I've heard many preachers say "pray the Scriptures," but have never had that explained as well as Furtick did. He motivated me to go deeper in prayer and to connect with God through His Word.
As I read this book, I found myself saying, "This would be great for college students. It's not for me, but it's for them." I felt that some of his illustrations were better suited for a younger audience. But, I'm realizing that his stories have stuck with me, which is a sign that they were suitable for me, too. And, as my wife and I think about adoption, the fact is that this book couldn't have come at a better time. With audacious faith and a page 23 vision, we are praying our sun stand still prayers, trusting God for big things.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.