Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Ten Dumb Things Smart Christians Believe - eBook

Multnomah Books Ten Dumb Things Smart Christians Believe - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ten Dumb Things Smart Christians Believe - eBook
Review 1 for Ten Dumb Things Smart Christians Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Helpful, easy read

Date:December 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Alan Strickland
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is easily read and reminds the reader to be aware of 10 ideas they really know are not in the Bible but which they hear so often they partially accept. A good course corrector.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ten Dumb Things Smart Christians Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doug
Location:Port Cartier QC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A book that will make you think about God. Why it is important to read the bible with total understanding. Prayer is always the answer to full understanding of anything.
WB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ten Dumb Things Smart Christians Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent debunking of popular misconceptions

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leganssor
Location:Parsippany, NJ
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked the book enough that I'm going to order six more copies for friends and my church library...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ten Dumb Things Smart Christians Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Martha
Deeply thought-provoking, examining whether how we live and talk day to day really lines up with what the Bible tells us about the Lord. Ch. 8 and 9 especially, on the belief that "God brings good luck," really challenged some of my habits in how I pray, how I teach children to pray, and how I counsel with other believers. God really never did promise to fix all our problems, but we in the church keep talking as if He did. Ch. 10, on funeral platitudes, started out looking like a side issue but quickly turned to examine some central issues about evangelism. Yet his tone is always pleasant and friendly, occasionally humorous, and he's got Scripture to back up his points. And this is not just talk - Osbourne points out that these unthinking habits of mind can do real damage to one's relationship with God. My pastor borrowed this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ten Dumb Things Smart Christians Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Linda Goshorn
Good myth buster; love his communication style - direct, clear, humorous. Emphasizes need to know the Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ten Dumb Things Smart Christians Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2010
Customer Avatar
Connie Vanstraten
This book was very helpful. Practical teaching and advice backed up with Biblical truth. Both my husband & I read it within a week and are passing it on for possible adult Sunday School teaching in our church.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ten Dumb Things Smart Christians Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gerald Hill
Very interesting book, making one think abouot certain beliefs. It also led me to check Scriptures to confirm (or not) the author's conclusions. Overall, it is worth reading ane eye opening.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ten Dumb Things Smart Christians Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gail Hitchcock
Outstanding book, it is easy to read and understand. It is mind opening and thought provoking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ten Dumb Things Smart Christians Believe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
10 Dumb Things Smart Christians Believe by Larry Osborne is going to shake up more than a few readers faith! There are many beliefs that are consistent across denominations, but as Osborne points out, not all of these are Scriptural, and some are actually likely to damage believers' faith. He calls them spiritual urban legends like: God brings good luck, all things happen for a reason, and my personal favorite being raised in a godly home guarantees good children. Despite what other writers will have you believe, it's not necessarily so. Osborne uses short anecdotes and lots of Scripture to point out how these beliefs arose and why they continue in popularity. The book is like a cold splash of water: it's at first a bit shocking and maybe even unpleasant but cleansing. For example, believing that raising your children in a godly home guarantees that they will be good people will cause one of two reactions if your children are struggling and not walking with the Lord. First, parents may blame themselves and feel unnecessary guilt and causing stress on their relationship as well as deep grief at having failed their child. Or parents could be unrealistically optimistic, believing that while the child may be conflicted now eventually he/she will come to faith because of the false promise in that belief. Either of these can devastate a relationship with the Lord. Osborne wants readers to have a solid faith in God based on the rock of Scripture instead of the unsteady sand of spiritual urban legends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.