Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books The Corruptible - eBook

Multnomah Books The Corruptible - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
1
40 out of 4491%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Corruptible - eBook
Review 1 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Corruptible is second in the Night Watchman series, but it doesn't really do the series justice. While the story line is complicated, it also drags a bit and leaves some loose ends that had me wondering if the story line would be picked up later. There is also the white collar scam thrown in there that has no connection to the plot at all, at least none that I could detect. Disappointed after such an amazing start with the first in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved it!

Date:July 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Such a great read. This is the kind of book that I enjoy. It kept my interest and made me chuckle often. The next line/page isn't boring and predictable. My new favorite author and hope he has more coming!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One badge or the other.

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lawrence Lewis
Location:Flowery Branch, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the Ray/Quinn books. They are well written and hold your interest. They are hard to put down once you get started. One thing I like is that the story line is never the same. A good read for the summer or anyother time. If you like humor mixed in you will really like this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Corruptible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast-paced great crime novel

Date:June 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
LaTawnia Kintz
Location:Forest Grove, Oregon
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MY REVIEW
Ever watch the Mike Hammer t.v. shows? Read any of Mickey Spillane's crime novels? Well, Corruptible has a lot of that style. A tough ex-cop with danger on all sides, Ray Quinn is a character you can't help but love. He's a tough (teddy-bear) ex-cop turned private investigator with an assistant who is ready to back him in a heart-beat. Ray's new client and new case has more twists and turns than a switch-back trail.
Mark does an incredible job in keeping the suspense high, the humor great and the pace fast, fast, fast. Through-out the story, he also weaves in Pam, the sister of Quinn's last case, who is a Christian. She helps Crevis (Ray's sidekick) prepare for the police exam, encourages Ray to let Jim (Jim Beam) go, and is there for him when he needs someone in a time of need.
Crevis is a wonderful sidekick for Ray. Impetuous, yet faithful, young and strong, Crevis acts as Ray's bodyguard, room-mate, and desires to become a cop.
The rest of the cast in this great novel are all well-rounded, full-bodied and complete the adventurous tale of Corruptible.
Fast-paced, an adrenalin rush from the first page to the end. This is one incredible novel. I enjoyed reading this book and look forward to reading more by Mark Mynheir.
I received this free Kindle copy from Blogging For Books for the purpose of writing a review. I am under no obligation to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoy mysteries? You'll enjoy The Corruptible!

Date:June 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Audra
Location:Corsicana, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've made the decision to just read books written by men for a while. No ooey-gooey romance. I want my conflict to be more than just "should I go out with this guy or not?" or "should I tell him that I love him?" As horrid as this sounds, I want murder. I want lying. I want mystery. I want crime solving or legal dilemmas. I want the male leads to not be the kind of guys you melt over.
Ray Quinn is far from dreamy. He drinks too much. He only watches movies starring John Wayne. He's extremely sarcastic. He pushes the lines and bends the rules. He's an ex-cop turned private detective due to injury from being shot on the job. Think of Dr. House as a cop instead of a doctor. That's Ray Quinn. But, I like him!
The book summary is easily accessible, so I won't spend a lot of time going over the details of the story itself. Instead I'll focus on all the things I liked.
There are the moments of humor included along the way. Ray's sidekick is almost always a source of comic relief as he's learning the ropes. The man who hires Ray to find his missing client information is a germ-a-phobe, so to get the upper hand in the mind game the boss seems to be playing, Ray does a few things to kick the fear of germs into high gear.
There's just enough of a tease at possible romance that evidently every book has to have. But it's just enough to give hope that even the most unlovable people can find someone to love them.
I was honestly kept guessing the whole time about who the murderer was even though I figured out one part early on. Actually, I think that might have been set up that way to keep readers on their toes, now that I think about it.
My only problem is that there were a few references to the first book that I couldn't remember much about since it has been three years since I read the first book, The Night Watchman. When I requested the book for review, I didn't realize that this book had already been out for a year or I probably would have gotten it sooner.
Even with the references to his last case, I think you could read The Corruptible without having read the first book. If you enjoy mysteries, you'll enjoy *The Corruptible*.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good detective story with many twists

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Vera
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not typically the genre book I normally seek out - it is more of a "man's book." I do enjoy a good mystery, though, so that aspect grabbed me at the start. And yet, from the get-go, the author, Mark Mynheir, cloaks the Protagonist, Private Investigator Ray Quinn, with crisp dialogue that marks him as a former policeman, narcotics and homicide cop, and member of the elite group of defenders of society. They live in a world vastly different from law abiding citizens. They rub shoulders with baser elements of society and speak a lingo that is man-ish, cop-ish, and definitely geared for this type of story line. I loved the colorful phrases. And could Ray Quinn turn a phrase with play on words and events! His wit just keeps coming out.
PI Ray Quinn owns The Night Watchman Detective Service. He is now a PI because in the previous book he was badly wounded and now has a permanent limp necessitating the use of a cane and his "friend" Jim Beam (whiskey).
Ray Quinn is not a Christian. But his very good friend Pam is and she is praying. Ray struggles with God and faith and alcoholism.
The story line takes Ray Quinn to the world of big finance to track down some stolen client data. Leads to murder. Does some bashing drug dealing motorcycle gang thugs.
An enjoyable read that even "Southern ladies" can get into. I would recommend it for a good, clean read for anyone 16 and older who enjoys a good detective story. It is an intense story and the plot twists and turns and will keep the reader on his/her toes. Ray Quinn struggles with his alcoholism and with what awaits him after death. His secretary, Pam, witnesses to him of God and Christianity in a believable manner. The Corruptible is well written and the characters are very well developed and likeable or deserving of hate.
Ray Quinn is a tough, quick-witted former-detective-turned-PI hired to find a corporate security officer who’s made off with confidential client information. Or so he’s told. When Ray finds the officer dead in a motel he begins to wonder who the good guys really are—and at what price his soul can be bought.(from publisher's website)
About the Author: Mark Mynheir is the author of the Christy Award nominated The Night Watchman, the first Ray Quinn mystery. He has worked undercover as a narcotics agent, as a SWAT team member, and now investigates violent crimes as a detective with the Criminal Investigations Unit in central Florida, where he lives with his wife and three children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Corruptible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Book

Date:March 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
SVBugman
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just completed reading “The Corruptible” by Mark Mynheir on my new Color Nook. This was the first novel that I have ever read by this author. (Although I expect to be reading more of his books since I found this one to be so enjoyable!) I enjoy reading crime and mystery novels and yet I dislike the profanity and explicit sexual descriptions found in so many of the books of this genre. There were absolutely none of these kinds of offensive material in this book. It only goes to prove that authors do not need to resort to such ploys to make a story both interesting and believeable.
The main character in this novel is a former police deterctive by the name of Ray Quinn who has become a private investigator due to injuries he received while on active duty. The novel is apparently a continuation of a previous book about this character. Mark Mynheir uses humor and his extensive knowledge about police investigational procedures to weave an interesting yarn. Having now read this second book in the series makes me want to read the first book also and I look forward to doing just that. The book kept me guessing about the outcome of the book right up until the final pages.
I won't go into a great deal of description regarding the plot because some other reviewers have already done so. You can get a synopsis of the plot by reading some of these reviews online. But suffice it to say that I became totally absorbed in the novel and I look forward to reading more of what this author has written. I would definitely give the book a four star rating out of a possible five points! I need to mention that I received this book free without cost to me from Waterbrook /Multnomah Publishers as part of an agreement to write an unbiased review of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Corruptible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book!

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Borger, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I have read The Corruptible by Mark Mynheir. In fact, this was my first eBook to review on my new Kindle Fire. So I'd like to address that aspect of this book first. I was disappointed in the layout of this eBook. There were words which were run together or big spaces in the words. There were gaps with symbols which were foreign to me. It wasn't impossible to read...it was just annoying. I expected the same layout as a printed book.
The story is very believable. I loved the character of Ray Quinn. He was what you'd expect out of a former policeman who has become a private investigator. Ray was injured as a police officer and deals with his intense pain through a bottle of Jim Beam. (He preferred drinking over prescription medicines which left him unable to function.) Ray is training a younger version of himself named Crevis. Ray left the police department in good standing and with the authority to make use of some of their information and to participate in their investigations--which helps him as he tries to find the murderer of an undercover policeman who they believe became corrupt. The investigation takes you into offices of a germaphobic CEO, drug addicts and biker gangs--all of which are very believeable.
This was the second book in this series. You finally come to realize that Pam is the sister of the pastor who was killed in the first book--and also where Ray was injured and put out of commission. Pam is the Christian who gently tries to persuade Ray to come to Christ. She's so grateful that Ray found her brother's murderer that she helps whenever and however she can. She's teaching Crevis so he can pass his exam and become a police officer.
I enjoyed reading this book. And I won't even hint at the ending because you're kept guessing!
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Thank you to WaterBrook Multnomah Publishers for providing this book for review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Lawson
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say? It's a good story with some great characters. Thoroughly enjoyed the good handling of such a story with grisly crime, redemption, and a not-so-standard "hero". The first book of the series, The NightWatchmen, is only necessary for the characters, not the mystery, but it, too, is well worth your time. This book does contain an offensive word, twice. Crime scenes are not graphic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Reviewing The Corruptible by Mark Mynheir

Date:October 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
BevK
Location:WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reviewing THE CORRUPTIBLE by Mark Mynheir
If you love 'mysteries' this would be a good one to add to your list of favorites, and if you have never read one, this would be a great start... the characters are 'real' and well portrayed. You won't know the 'answer' until the arrest, so it WILL keep you guessing. Hard to put down, and relative. When good and evil are only a foot apart... how much would it take for YOU to betray the truth? You might be surprised!
I received this as an eBook from Edelweiss Multnomah Books for review without any restrictions as to my comments.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Like a TV Crime Drama

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steph Blogging for Books
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed a number of things about The Corruptible. First, I loved the short chapters. It was easier to justify "just one more chapter."
I also liked the fact that it was written in the first person. I found it drew me into the story. It was more like having the protagonist sit across from me and tell me the story rather than being a distant observer. (Occasionally, the character referred to things he wouldn't likely notice - even though he is a PI. I found it a little distracting. That's one of the challenges of writing in first person: staying in the protagonist's head yet giving readers enough information.)
The characters were distinct and easy to remember. There were enough of them to make the story interesting, but not so many that I got lost. (Although the only Christian character in book played an important role, for some reason - maybe because she was the only believer - she seemed more like an extra rather than a regular cast member.)
I appreciated the fact that Mynheir didn't sanitize the story. It was, after all, about a murder investigation and undercover police work. (I didn't feel he pushed the bounds into the "unacceptable," but some Christians might view The Corruptible as too edgy.)
All in all, if you enjoy police dramas such as Law and Order, Criminal Minds, and CSI, you will almost assuredly, enjoy reading The Corruptible.
Although I haven't figured out how to give half a star, I would rate this more as a 3.5 rather than a 3.
I received a free electronic version of the book from Blogging for Books in exchange for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A dud

Date:September 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
andrewg79
Location:Howard City, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Corruptible by Mark Mynheir
I am always up for a great mystery. I also specifically appreciate books of this genre that are free of objectionable content. Because of this, I was somewhat intrigued by The Corruptible. I was mainly disappointed.
Ray Quinn is a retired police officer who became a private detective. He has a severe injury which he tries to ignore by drowning the pain in the bottle. The main characters are rounded out by an office assistant named Pam and a brash young sidekick named Crevis.
This story gets an A+ for being a clean read, but that’s about it. Ray is a bitter man and though the reasons are hinted at, the details of why are not laid out. Pam loves God, and Jesus is mentioned, but God’s wonderful plan of Redemption is never laid out. Crevis is supposedly trying to get into the police academy. He is presented however almost as a dimwitted high school dropout!
The case begins with a stolen satchel and hard drive. The clues seemed to come together way too easily. The author gave the impression the Crevis (and the reader) were incapable of figuring anything out themselves. There were way too many clichés and it went too many directions.
1/5 stars
I got this book from Waterbrook Press for my honest review!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

a decently enjoyable crime novel.

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
sarelhau
Location:Hugo, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ex-cop-turned-PI Ray Quinn finds himself in need of money.
Former colleague and dirty ex-cop Logan Ramsey is missing, along with confidential client information.
Ray is hired by a rich Orlando businessman to track Ramsey down, and most importantly, get the information back. When Ramsey is found dead in a sleazy hotel, Ray has another problem to deal with. A House-like character, Ray Quinn suffers from a disabling wound from his homicide days and a penchant for Jim Beam and sarcasm. He is aided by his sidekick, Crevis, who is an all brawn, no brain type. His former client, Pam, helps out with record-keeping and provides a Christian influence.
The second book in the Ray Quinn series, The Corruptible is written by an author with extensive experience in law enforcement. This is evident throughout the book, making it much more believable in a technical aspect, which was a nice change from most crime and/or mystery novels I read that involve the protagonist finding herself trapped in a burning building/buried alive/about to be murdered until her love interest miraculously saves her moments from death.
I have not read the first book in this series, The Night Watchman, which may have made it a little easier to get started with the book; however, enough allusions were made to it that I was able to pick up on whatever I may have missed.
As the series goes on, we may see more of the fruits of Pam’s witnessing. Ray is not too interested in Christianity, and thankfully, Mynheir has chosen to build up the relationships rather than go the traditional (not-so-believable) route of most Christian novels where the main character is saved in 300 pages or less.
Overall, The Corruptible is not the kind of book I usually find myself reading and enjoying, but I may have to track down the first one and keep my eye out for the next!
Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group. The review and opinions expressed are my own. FTC 16 CFR, Pt. 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Corruptible - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Great Crime Novel

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Corruptible by Mark Mynheir
This is the first of the Ray Quinn novels that i have read. Actually, it is also the first one of Mark Mynheirs that i have read. Although this is not the first book in the series, i had no trouble following through. Enough is said about Ray Quinn’s history to bring the reader up to the present time.
The pace was a little slower than i usually expect from a suspense novel, but since i have never read any of Mark’s novels before, i can’t say whether this is typical for a Ray Quinn novel or not. Also, i was reading it on my kindle for pc, which might have made a difference.
It is a well written crime novel with enough twists in the plot to keep me reading it and enough clues are given to make you think you know what is coming. Some of the things took me by complete surprise, which a good suspense novel should. The characters are well rounded, and believable and the story flows smoothly from one scene to the next. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys police crime fiction, and personally, i will be looking for more of Mark’s novels!
I received this book as an ebook free from Blogging For Books a division of WaterbrookMultnomah Publishers in exchange for an honest review. I was not required to make a positive review. The opinions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book Review: The Corruptible by Mark Mynheir

Date:August 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
frugal4utx
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Corruptible by Mark Mynheir is an fun read. This mystery stars Ray Quinn, a retired police officer turned private investigator. He is hired to discover where Logan Ramsey (another ex-cop) has hidden stolen information. When Logan's body turns up, more questions are asked than can be answered. Why was Logan killed? Who is the killer? And where did the stolen information disappear? When he and his assistant, Crevis are attacked by an unknown assailant the mystery takes a dangerous turn. Will Ray solve the case? Will he give into his problem with alcohol? I found this story to be a page turner and I highly recommend it.
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

"The Corruptible" by Mark Mynheir

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lehrerin
Location:Roxboro, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ray Quinn, PI, wants a client different from the usual enraged, cheating husband type - until he gets one. After being hired to find Logan Ramsey, former cop and current alcoholic and thief, complications arise from a sudden murder, a dishonest employer and his romance-minded secretary. Staying on top of the twists and turns in the case challenges Quinn's physical strength as he recovers from a serious shooting and self-medicates with a bit too much Jim Beam. What is Quinn's employer hiding, and what did Ramsey have up his sleeve? Of the many people who wanted Ramsey dead, can Quinn find the real murderer - before they find him?
Mynheir has written a classic detective novel. His experience in police and undercover work shines through, making the inner workings of the story realistic and believable. Ray Quinn sounds like a PI from an old black-and-white movie with modern technological trappings, and despite his flaws, one can't help but cheer him on. The second book in the series, Mynheir weaves the relevant information from the first book into the story seamlessly; however, this one was so good that I'm definitely going to find a copy of the first to read - and I'll be on the lookout for the next one.
I received a free copy of this book from the Blogging for Books program in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A satisfying summer read

Date:July 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Jeff
Location:Dunellen, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love a hard-boiled detective story, and while "The Corruptible" by Mark Mynheir doesn’t rise to the top of the genre, it still provided a satisfying summer read.
Ray Quinn, private eye, used to be an Orlando homicide detective, but was forced to retire when he was shot, permanently damaging one of his legs. But he’s still got lots of friends on the force, and unlike most fictional private eyes, he prefers to work with the police instead of against them. When he is hired to find a computer hard drive that contains valuable information belonging to a rich client, it seems like he’s hit the jackpot. That is, until the guy who apparently stole the goods, an ex-cop and former friend of Ray’s, ends up murdered.
Ray, his apprentice Crevis (like a split in a rock), and former client and friend Pam, rapidly find their own lives in danger as they try to unravel a complicated plot of revenge, greed, and murder. In the first half of the book, tends to overdo the descriptive language typical of this genre: “He had a brown flattop haircut as tight as a boot brush and a chin cleft deep enough to hide a TV remote.”
And, although this is marketed as Christian fiction, the religious elements were integrated into the story fairly smoothly. I say “fairly” because there were a few times when the realities of writing about hardened underworld characters clashed with the author’s choice of language. For instance, at one point the head of a criminal motorcycle gang says, “That snitch put me in federal custody and stole twelve years of my life. He got almost everyone in this room some time in prison. I don’t think ‘miffed’ quite covers what I feel for that traitorous, no-good, filthy, lowlife narc cop piece of sewage.” Now, I applaud Mynheir’s decision not to use profanity in this book. But it would have been better to skip it than substitute this silly and unbelievable tirade.
Like all good detective stories, you probably won’t figure out “who done it” until moments before (or after) Ray Quinn solves the case. Then you’ll slap your forehead, because all the clues were there – you just missed them. The story was just good enough to keep me reading, but not so engaging that couldn’t put it down. And it did leave me wanting to find out happens next. All in all, a good read.
The publisher, Thomas Nelson, provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Corruptible - like house paint on a Ferrari

Date:July 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
danielcooley
Location:Rio Rancho, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
What do you get when you combine a Christian Marine with a SWAT Cop with a Dyslexic Detective?
Answer: One multifaceted author.
A story more engaging than The Corruptible is that of the life of its author. If you plan on reading anything by Mark Mynheir, it’s worth taking a trip to his website at http://www.copwriter.com.
That being said, lets take a look at The Corruptible – The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly.
The Good
I read this book without having read the first in the Ray Quinn Series, The Night Watchman. The back story was woven in well so it wasn’t a problem. I may pick it up now, as this was a good read and the reviews say the first book was even better.
I started reading The Corruptible one night, and quit after the second chapter. On July 4 I picked it up again and read the rest of the book through in one setting.
The author’s background makes the book informative as well as believable and interesting. The ending made sense and wasn’t the let-down I’ve felt when finishing other mysteries. As a Christian Published book, it’s more of a clean mystery (no sex or foul language) than a mystery with a Christian message.
The Bad
Nothing is more fun than getting wrapped up in a good book and forgetting what day, time and decade it is. Few things are more frustrating than coming back down to earth before you are ready. There were three things in this book that consistently reminded me I was reading, and brought me back to earth.
1 – The Editing: I’d get into the story and then a series of poorly written paragraphs – sentences that should be split, unnecessary words, etc. would remind me it was only a story. Like restoring a Ferrari and finishing with a coat of brushed-on house paint this book deserves better. It wouldn’t bug me so much if the rest of the book wasn’t so good. This was especially noticeable in the first few chapters. Either it got better or I was so wrapped up in the story I didn’t notice anymore.
2 – The Dart Gun. You will know it if you read it. Like Jar-Jar Binks in Star Wars you want to hit fast-forward whenever it shows up. But, what mostly reminded me I was reading was…
3 – The Ugly
The Ugly
This book needed some ugly.
In the story the protagonist Ray a non-Christian ex-cop struggling with the death of his police partner. He’s been injured by the same creeps who killed his partner and can’t walk without excruciating pain. He’s a bitter man using alcohol to dull his demons.
But then, the bad guys come calling. Ray has his chance. He takes off after them. But, due to his earlier injury, Ray falls down some steps and belly-flops on the concrete below. In a fit of anger and frustration he screams…
Nothing bad.
I’m no expert but I’ve ridden with cops on duty. If I’m supposed to believe in a bitter, addicted ex-cop he needs to have a dark side. Shoot, even a normal side.
It was hard to hate the bad guys as well. They too needed more ugly.
Yes, I know it was written by a Christian and is published by a Christian Publisher. But surely it can still be emotionally accurate. Shoot, I’m a pastor and I wanted more reality. This squeaked so clean I sometimes found it fake.
Recommendation
If you like a good detective mystery you will enjoy this book. The author knows his stuff. If I read chapters three to the end in one setting, it must have been good. With a fresh coat of good paint and some ugly added it could have been great. I’m sticking by Mark. Someday soon he will finish his Ferrari with style, and I don’t want to miss it.
WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group sent me this book free for this review. You have to pay $10 for yours. That means I made, like, $3 an hour for this review. Use your time more wisely and order yours here.
DanielCooley.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tough stuff - not for the romance-fluff-reader.

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Upstate SC
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By the time the book hit the bookstore, some reviews were already done. Mark wrote on 3/29 that he hoped the language concern would be erased in the final. Didn't happen. I wish there was a way to convince authors and editors alike, that nasty language has no place in books written for the 'Christian' market. Both "ticked off" wordings are in the published books.
Who, whom, and whose (who's) and awhile vs. a while were not caught. My 'funny' is the good old Southern 'piddled', pg. 318. The UK and Oz readers won't like that very much. After all that is what puppies do - not people. (: )
I am hoping MM will write more about Ray Quinn, mainly to get him weaned off the bottle for good and genuinely converted. (Paving the way for Pam becoming a love interest?) The constant alcohol abuse was a bit much for me. But I loved to loathe the couple of slick crooks.
A super read.
If you are looking for a romance in this line of books - not happening. Ray still isn't over his murdered partner whom he apparently loved dearly.
His sidekick Crevis is fun to hang out with and I hope he, too, is going to continue in the cast.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Corruptible - eBook
This review is fromThe Corruptible.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Victim Found with Skull Knife Protruding From Ches

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
readgreatfiction
Location:Lancaster, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ray Quinn isn't doing much better these days. The ex-homicide detective turned private investigator never envisioned himself chasing cheating spouses and getting beat up by enraged husbands. When a new client emerges offering him a check for his services that has more zeros than he's ever seen Ray knows he should be suspicious. But, wow, if he takes the case he won't have to worry about taking cheating spouse cases for a very long time.
On the surface the case seems simple: find Logan Ramsey. Logan is an ex-undercover cop who Ray worked with briefly back when he first came on the force. After an incident where Logan let classified information slip and almost caused the death of multiple officers, he was let go from the force. Now working for Ray's client, Logan has supposedly taken off with extremely valuable and secret client information. Of course rarely do cases ever turns out to be simple, and this one's no exception.
When Logan turns up dead in a seedy hotel, there are suspects everywhere. Could it be the biker gang he infiltrated years ago? A woman he wronged? His estranged daughter? His employer? This was not a well liked guy.
Ray is accompanied by his ever faithful sidekick Crevis, his constant companions Jim (Beam) and Joe (coffee), and Pam who's sincere worry for his soul keeps her nearby. Together they beat the trail trying to find the elusive answers, but when bullets start flying into Ray's office window, he knows he's getting close. The only question is weather he will live long enough to find what he's looking for.
A impeccably well written detective story, The Corruptible is sure to please. The characters are honest and true to life. Ray's slow journey from agnostic to considering God is well written, but not preachy. The pace is quick and contains just the right amount of twists and turns. This is the second Ray Quinn mystery Mark Mynheir has written (the first being The Night Watchman), and hopefully he will continue the series in the future.
5 Star Worthy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.