Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook

Multnomah Books The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook

Sometimes the most important truths are the easiest to forget. It's time to get back to the starting point of the Christian life - the cross of Christ. Jesus' work on your behalf must be the central motivation for your life and faith - the main thing.

"Never lay it aside. Never move on," says C.J. Mahaney, who shows you how to center every day around the cross of Calvary and how to escape the pitfalls of legalism, condemnation, and feelings-driven faith.

Average Customer Rating:
4.786 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
Review 1 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2014
Customer Avatar
klatchaw
Location:Bellevue, Ohio
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Cross Centered Life is part of a series of books called Life Change Book. The book is rather small in size and number of pages, but big in concept and impact on life. The book starts out with the reason why the cross needs to be the center of our life. He also shows that no matter how long a person has know the Lord Jesus Christ as their Savior they can not know so much that they do not revisit the actions on the cross daily. Christians face three common difficulties while trying to keep a cross centered life. Mahaney goes in to all three them in this book. The book has Scripture, understandable illustrations, and practical applications for every day life. I would caution readers to reread this book on a regular basis and not just put it away on a shelf. The cost of the book off the shelf is high, but I think ignoring a book like this could be higher. I would recommend this book for all believers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
living hope
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really quick read. Really gets down to the nitty gritty of your walk with God
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeannie
Location:Waynesboro, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very convicting along with being encouraging. Points the reader to the Cross, where our redemption was purchased.
A must read for every Christian!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cristina Maggion
Wonderful book and perfect reminder of what our faith and Christian walk need to be founded upon.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
Stephen Malsawm
I have read this book more than I can recognize. I praise the glory of the God, our Lord for a chance of having such a precious book for every christian in their very ways of living. Due to this book, I have known how much important to center our life on cross. I recommend to other, ''taste this book and you can feel you also need to recommend to others''.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
What makes this book so great is its simplicity that we tend to make more complicated or walk away from. I believe it is one of those few books every believer should read every yr. or 2, just to keep the main thing the main thing. Jesus' ministry and message was exceeding simple but extraordinarily sacrificial!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
The content of this book is good, but very basic. I was hoping for a deeper discussion of "the cross-centered life." This small book is part of the popular "Lifechange" series from Multnomah. As with most of the books in this series, it is a good beginning for the new believer or the one seeking to learn more about the Christian life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patrick Schwartz
I found this book to be not only True but overwhelmingly practical. CJ Mahaney truly captures, in very basic terms How to live a life emersed in the treasure of the cross.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Steve Graves, Sr
I began my third reading of this little book this morning. It has made a profound impact in my life. I rank it up there with My Utmost for His Highest. I'm here today to purchase additional copies to give to the guys in my Bible Study. Perhaps it will change your life as well. May God bless each of you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2005
Customer Avatar
David Herring
As one whose church is under the authority of C.J. it is pleasure to be continually inculcated with the gospel. He is as relentless in person as he is in this book of interogating the people of God with the gospel. This is a great gift book because of its readability and brevity. However, such a topic that C.J. is trying to address may beggar further extension. Sometimes we can inadvertently create buzz words that lack significance because of repetition with no variety. I fear that may result from the "cross-centered" model. People could confuse the idea of "cross-centeredness" with "cross-onlyness" assuming that if you have not mentioned the cross or some element of redemption, then it is inadequate. The danger with even the title is to accent the event rather than the person (Christ); the means rather than the end. Also, we are faced with the choice of being redemption-centered merely, rather than wholy God-centeredness; since God is doing other things apart from saving people (i.e. judging people). This book would be best supplemented with John Piper's "Pleasures of God".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2003
Customer Avatar
Dana Onifer
I have the profound blessing of serving in this pastor's church and have heard many of the things written in this book preached from the stage on a Sunday morning. What C.J. writes in this book is not bumper-sticker doctrine, it is not bland "warm-fuzzy" Christianity. It is the plain and simple truth of our existence: we are broken sinners saved by the soverign grace of God revealed in the amazing, obedient sacrifice of Jesus on the cross and for no other reason than God loves us. It is the core of every message that is preached at Covenant Life Church because the pastors and members always seek to set the cross firmly at the center of everything they do. It is a glorious and wondrous thing, the cross is, and this book will give anyone a vital passion for celebrating that crossIf you ever struggle with how to keep God in your daily life, how to overcome the desire to "work for your salvation" rather than "work out your salvation," this is the book for you. If you want to know how to describe the gospel in a way that you and your unbelieving friends and family can not just grasp but revel in, this is the book for you. If you are a new believer seeking to live a Christ-like life or a life-long believer who wants the amazing grace of God to be a fresh taste on your tongue, this is the book for you. I speak so strongly of this book because I get to see the evidence of it in the author and the of it in his church, which, for me, is the dearest place on earth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 25, 2002
Customer Avatar
Brian Smith
The message of this book was life-changing to me the first time I heard it preached nearly two years ago, and it is just as life changing now as I read this book. CJ focuses in on the very issues that need to remain central in our lives every single day with a passion that testifies how God will use such a single-minded purpose to transform our lives for Christ's glory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2002
Customer Avatar
Terri Kovlak
I just finished reading The Cross Centered Life. I couldn't put it down. What a reminder to whom we belong! How true it is to let the Cross slip away. This book will remind us that the Cross is our Salvation and only hope in a fallen world. Thanks Pastor CJ Mahaney for the most important reminder of what Christ has done for me! I am buying several copies to give away as gifts. What other gift could be more important than giving someone the cross!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing - eBook
This review is fromThe Cross-Centered Life.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 12, 2002
Customer Avatar
Joshua Harris
CJ Mahaney is my pastor and dear friend. Okay, I'm biased. But read this little book and tell me the truth it contains isn't life-changing. Please don't assume you already know about the cross. No, you and I need this. Every Christian needs to be reminded of the centrality of the cross and what it means to practically live a "cross-centered life."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.