Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook

Multnomah Books The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook

Bruce Wilkinson, the author of the Prayer of Jabez, believes that each of us has a deep desire to know and fulfill our life dream. However, we usually fail to live out this dream because we are either afraid of failure or simply do not believe that God can bring our dream to life. In The Dream Giver Wilkinson explains that our truest and deepest dream is not merely a personal flight of fancy but is the dream that God has given us in order that we might both fulfill our destiny and bring Him the greatest glory. Therefore, as you search for that perfect gift remember that one of the greatest gifts you can give to your loved ones is an opportunity to understand and live out their life dream. 160 pages, hardcover from Multnomah.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Review 1 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

ebook was great and accessible

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
christianbook reader
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love allegories. This book will challenge you to remember that has God placed a dream in each of you and to remind you to allow God to guide you to its completion. It's better than you thought.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mizz Dee
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is just awesome! I love how Bruce Wilkinson takes you through a parable and then brings you to reality. Truly a must read book. We all have dreams and it's time we pursue our dreams and begin to live our God Given Destiny!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Holly
Location:Winchester, va
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book changed my life. If you have dreams for your life and you are in a rut and don't know if those dreams will ever happen, then this book is for you. It is a real encouragement and will get you back on the road to making your dreams become a reality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
alee
Location:benninton vt
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this book is the kind of book that everyone should read. I opens your eyes and lets you see Gods plans for your life and encourages you to do them:)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
D. F. Houck
An appropriate item to pack in your Ordinary knapsack while on your quest. Has served me well; now dog eared and wind blown from the Wasteland; but wow what a place to discover His abiding presence. After all "Food enough for the day, Water, when he needed to drink, A path to follow that led to Faith.", B. Wilkinson, Dream Giver, copyright 2003, pg. 39
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Elaine Black
This is a great book. I would encourage all to read it. I would also encourage youths from grade 8th and up to read it. It will encourage them as they begin thinking of life careers. It will also provide direction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Porter
Excellent! Written in story form in the style of Pilgrim's Progress and then adds a follow up to take you step by step towards the realization of God's dream for you. And then, dream fans, gives you a website for further assistance. It is changing my life for the better by overcoming some fears and the resulting frustrations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 26, 2009
This book is strong on motivation to follow one's dreams, but weak on Scripture. In a fashion roughly similar to Pilgrim's Progress, Wilkinson devotes part 1 of his work to weaving an allegory of the character "Ordinary." Ordinary breaks from the dull routine and daringly follows a big dream. Along the way Ordinary leaves his comfort zone, meets bullies, travels through the wasteland, finds refreshment in sanctuary, survives a valley of giants, then thrives in the promised land of embracing the big dream. In the second half of his work Wilkinson explains the allegory, applying each experience described by Ordinary to the lives of believers in Christ.I do believe God can use this book to inspire many people who are following a Biblical vision. It will not help however, in determining whether or not the big dream originates with God or with someone else.This title isn't bad, it could just be much, much better with the additional of some clear Biblical teaching and principles.For someone who has already established that his dream has been given by God and knows what that dream is, by all means read this book. If anyone is still trying to determine his dream, I'd encourage him to look elsewhere.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sylvie Grenier
This is a wonderful book that captures the growth of a Christian. It kept my attention all the way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tony Shoemaker
an absolutely wonderful book, well written to make you reflect on your own spiritual journey and the goals & dreams placed within each of us by our Creator.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tricia
I could not put this book down, I read it in one day (actually less). I would recommend this book to anyone who has a lost dream or has a dream they are working on. Very encouraging..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Loreda Wheeler
Mr. Wilkinson has a way of making things so simple to understand, I would highly recommend this book to anyone. It is a way of understanding that we ALL were meant to do great things, in God's eyes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Vincent Corley
This book is so awesome in so many ways, I have referred this book to so many people. It has truly changed my life for the better, thanks!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Karen Isaacson
I have been going through some challenges in my life and this book was such an inspiration realizing that I do have Dreams that I can achieve through Him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2006
Customer Avatar
Dumebi Jeffreys
I must commend Bruce Wilkinson for a well written book. This can only be by the inspiration of the Holy Ghost. I have read the book over and over again, have recommnded it and have given quite a few out as presents. It really encouraged and restored my hope back to Christian writers. thanks a lot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
christa
It's a great book! Life changing. By the way: my English is very bad... so....I send all my friends and family an email: "you have to read this book!!" Amazing. It's all so logical, it's an "aha" moment when you read it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2004
Customer Avatar
Mary Lou Duguid
This is a short allegory and an enhancement that leads you on to your own journey from the ordinary to your God-given dreams. It opened this mother's eyes to realistically reach for my dreams as well as to stop being a border bully in my children's lives as the Lord directs them toward His calling for their lives. Here I had thought I was protecting them! I had to place them into God's hand and become their cheerleader. Thank you Bruce Wilkerson for putting your vision into print so it could be shared.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 3, 2004
Customer Avatar
Sabrina O'Malone
A radio DJ mailed this book to me on the day I resigned from a six figure income to launch (a ministry to introduce Working Moms to The Lord)...Bruce Wilkinson has been an incredible 'champion'. This is his best book so far, and the others where phenomenal. God has used this book to provide encouragement...when encouragement is sparse. I learned two invaluable things from this book...the first was I learned to expect 'Border bullies' (and he was right, they came out in full force) Second, that present difficulties (or wilderness experiences) are temporary, ultimately useful and above all, God is in control. Here's the bottom line: GET THIS BOOK for yourself or someone you love. You and those whose lives you touch will be blessed by it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2004
Customer Avatar
Mark
Some positives, a great number of positives. But the fatal flaw of the book is not recognizing that Spiritual Warfare is real, and will stiffly oppose you. John Eldredge's work, such as "Journey of Desire" and "Waking the Dead: the Glory of a Heart Come FUlly Alive", are much more realistic and will get you further in your journey.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Dream Giver: Following Your God-Given Destiny - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2003
Customer Avatar
Tim Templeton
This short read held a mirror of truth to my face and revealed, affirmed and confirmed who I am in Christ. It will for you as well. I have bought copies for my friends, family and management team!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.