Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books The Grace and Truth Paradox: Responding with Christlike Balance - eBook

Multnomah Books The Grace and Truth Paradox: Responding with Christlike Balance - eBook

Imitating Jesus is never easy, but it doesn't have to be complicated if you use Randy Alcorn's "two-point checklist" derived from John 1:14. In The Grace and Truth Paradox he offers this simple checklist for Christlikeness. The test consists of balancing grace and truth, equally and unapologetically. Grace without truth deceives people, and ceases to be grace. Truth without grace crushes people, and ceases to be truth. Alcorn shows the reader how to show the world Jesus - offering grace instead of the world's apathy and tolerance, offering truth instead of the world's relativism and deception.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Grace and Truth Paradox: Responding with Christlike Balance - eBook
Review 1 for The Grace and Truth Paradox: Responding with Christlike Balance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
hbhm
Location:Alabama
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best explanations of how to be like Christ that I have read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Grace and Truth Paradox: Responding with Christlike Balance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful, short read...really meaningful.

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marty
Location:Southern California
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read this short book...then read it again, then read it again while underlining particularly meaningful parts, then summarized those parts and put them on my computer desktop so I could review while waiting at airports during my business travel. A really terrific explanation of God's TRUTH...AND GRACE.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Grace and Truth Paradox: Responding with Christlike Balance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent little grace-filled book

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bob Hayton
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Randy Alcorn's book, "The Grace and Truth Paradox" is an excellent book. It is based on John's statement in John 1:14 that Jesus was "full of grace and truth". Some churches (and Christians) today emphasize grace over truth while others do just the opposite. Christ did neither. He was full of grace and truth.
The book is small (92 pages). Yet it has a big message. Maybe that's why it's part of Multnomah's "Small Books, Big Change" series! While it is very easy to read, some of its principles are potentially life-changing, and merit thoughtful contemplation. To that end, I will finish out this review by providing some quotes from the book itself, and let Randy do the talking.
"A grace-starved, truth-starved world needs Jesus, full of grace and truth. (p. 14)"
"Some churches today embrace truth but need a heavy dose of grace. Other churches talk about grace but cry out for a heavy dose of truth. (p.15)"
"Truth-oriented Christians love studying Scripture and theology. But sometimes they're quick to judge and slow to forgive. They're strong on truth, weak on grace."
"Grace-oriented Christians love forgiveness and freedom. But sometimes they neglect Bible study and see moral standards as "legalism." They're strong on grace, weak on truth."
"Countless mistakes in marriage, parenting, ministry, and other relationships are failures to balance grace and truth. Sometimes we neglect both. Often we choose one over the other. (p. 17)"
"Why should we have to choose between conservatism's emphasis on truth and liberalism's emphasis on grace? Why can't we oppose injustice to minorities and to the unborn? Why can't we oppose greedy ruination of the environment and anti-industry New Age environmentalism? Why can't we affirm the biblical right to the ownership of property and emphasize God's call to voluntarily share wealth with the needy? Why can't we uphold God's condemnation of sexual immorality, including homosexual practices, and reach out in love and compassion to those trapped in destructive lifestyles and dying from AIDS?"
"We cannot do these things if we are first and foremost either liberals or conservatives. We can do these things only if we are first and foremost followers of Christ, who is full of grace and truth. (p. 80-81)"
"If we minimize grace, the world sees no hope for salvation. If we minimize truth, the world sees no need for salvation. To show the world Jesus, we must offer unabridged grace and truth, emphasizing both, apologizing for neither. The Colossian church "understood God's grace in all its truth" (Colossians 1:6)"
"Truth is quick to post warning signs and guardrails at the top of the cliff. Yet it fails to empower people to drive safely-and neglects to help them when they crash."
"Grace is quick to post ambulances and paramedics at the bottom of the cliff. But without truth, it fails to post warning signs and build guardrails. In so doing, it encourages the very self-destruction it attempts to heal. (p. 87-88)"
"Grace and truth are both necessary. Neither is sufficient....We who are truth-oriented need to go out of our way to affirm grace. We who are grace-oriented need to go out of our way to affirm truth. "Hate the sin, but love the sinner." No one did either like Jesus. Truth hates sin. Grace loves sinners. Those full of grace and truth do both. (p. 88)"
"In Jesus, "mercy and truth have met together" (Psalm 85:10, NKJV). Grace and truth met face to face on the Cross. (p. 92)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Grace and Truth Paradox: Responding with Christlike Balance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Auker
This is a wonderful book! Reading it for the second time thru and highlighting as I go. I would definitely recommend adding this book to your library!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Grace and Truth Paradox: Responding with Christlike Balance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2007
Customer Avatar
jaime
What an incredible book! It feels like a new concept, but really one that has been there all along. A quick read full of treasures that can really strengthen the Body of Christ! I read it every couple of years to remind myself of that balance that I can't accomplish on my own. This is a terrific gift book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Grace and Truth Paradox: Responding with Christlike Balance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 26, 2007
The message here in this little book has a powerful impact. Alcorn in a very concise way hits the nail on the head when describing the balance needed between grace and truth. This book would be a great gift for a new believer, or for a seasoned saint. It's definitely a keeper!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Grace and Truth Paradox: Responding with Christlike Balance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Kelly B.
This book is an amazing delight that brings together grace and truth in a way that makes it CRYSTAL CLEAR and puts it in a new perspective! Randy Alcorn has an incredible way of explaining these two crucial descriptions of Jesus, and how we should be showing Jesus! It will help you in reaching the unsaved, the make-believer, the legalistic, the "seeker sensitive", the confused and those who are burdened, or discouraged. I have never seen such clear truths in a book presented in such a fabulous way! There is a also not one shred of anything remotely unbiblical. Refreshing to read something so right on and helpful! I keep reading it over and over. A MUST READ!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Grace and Truth Paradox: Responding with Christlike Balance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 6, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kim
An absolute must read for all Christians! Truly an eye-opener to the way we treat others and how we see the church. Thank you, Randy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Grace and Truth Paradox: Responding with Christlike Balance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2003
Customer Avatar
Rod Kelly
Randy Alcorn really opened my eyes to the need for dispensing of Truth and Grace in this relativistic society that we live in.So often we "see" only one side of God such as Truth or Grace, but without the complete picture we are shortsighted, spiritually.Thanks Randy for taking a difficult subject and making it easily understood!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Grace and Truth Paradox: Responding with Christlike Balance - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2003
Customer Avatar
Daryl Henderson
The first chapter brings out the real need for the two essentials to be Christ-like in all our dealings with people we come in contact with in our daily lives. I like the parallel the author draws; how the early Christians would attract unbelievers when they would proclaim the truth. This was the food and the message they spoke; grace was the air they breathed and the life they lived. The two chapters on what is grace and what is truth should be read by every believer, maybe every week for a year. He follows these chapters with excellent chapters on a closer look at grace and a closer look at truth. These chapters have real examples of what grace and truth look like in the everyday world we live in. These are not "pie in the sky" examples but something all lay people can relate to everyday. The last two chapters are again written in excellent layman's terms. Truth without grace breeds self-righteous legalism. Truth is good advice. Grace is good news. Good advice isn't enough. Human hearts crave good news. I would say the book should be given the same exposure as the book Prayer of Jabez. Daryl Henderson Springfield, OH
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.