Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1

WaterBrook Press The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1

Raised in foster care and now the widowed mother of a little girl, Cara Moore struggles against poverty, fear, and a relentless stalker. When a trail of memories leads Cara and Lori out of New York City toward an Amish community, she follows every lead, eager for answers and a fresh start. She discovers that long-held secrets about her family history ripple beneath the surface of Dry Lake, Pennsylvania, and it's no place for an outsider. But one Amish man, Ephraim Mast, dares to fulfill the command he believes that he received from God-"Be me to her"- despite how it threatens his way of life.

Completely opposite of the hard, untrusting Cara, Ephraim's sister Deborah also finds her dreams crumbling when the man she has pledged to build a life with begins withdrawing from Deborah and his community, including his mother, Ada Stolzfus. Can the run-down house that Ada envisions transforming unite them toward a common purpose-or push Mahlon away forever? While Ephraim is trying to do what he believes is right, will he be shunned and lose everything-including the guarded single mother who simply longs for a better life?

Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Review 1 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Abandonment and the Lack of Trust

Date:October 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Houston, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is one of three from the Ada's House Series about an Amish community.
Cara was abandoned as a child after the death of her mother and ended up in foster care. She never stopped searching for answers to her past. She blamed God as so many people do when her prayers are not answered according to her wishes. God has a plan and it is sometimes hard to reason with the path He chooses for us. When Cara was a little girl she decided there must not be a God because He didn't seem to here her prayers.
Cara is a young widow with a little girl named Lori. Cara has had to jumped from one place to another to get away from a stalker from her youth. She is forced by fear to find a safe place for her child and takes off, with nothing but the clothes on their backs and a backpack, to search for her a place she only remembers bits and pieces of. It is a happy safe place from her early childhood memories and of playing with a sweet young boy. She tends to wonder if it isn't just a figment of her imagination. She finds this place which is an Amish community in Pennsylvania and she is not welcome there. One person, Ephraim, stands up for her and helps her to find her answers only to jeopardize his standing in the Amish community.
This touched my heart reading about this pour young woman trying to find a safe place for her and her child. If you believe in God's will for your life and following the path He sets before us you will enjoy this book.
I give this book a 5 out of 5. I would recommend this book to my closest family and friends.
I purchased this book for my personal reading pleasure and this review is my own honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda A
Location:Guntersville, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the beginning I felt I knew this young lady. This book was written in such a manner that I didn't want to put it down until it was finished. I knew something good was going to happen very soon. I read the series and now I look forward to reading more by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just started reading.

Date:August 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Honey Brook, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just started reading the book but so far it has been great. I'm not a big reader so when a book draws me in I stay interested.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
jean
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cindy Woodsmall goes into depth the way I like and gets you involved in the activity. I enjoyed this book so much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christy Janes
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Cindy Woodsmall has done it again! She's got a knack for writing a good Amish story that is different from anything else available on Christian bookstore shelves. Just like all of her other books, she has written a great story in The Hope of Refuge that will stay with me for days.
This book has probably one of the most believable storylines for Amish fiction that I've read in a long time. Cindy has created convincing characters with real flaws and real reactions to the circumstances that surround them. She also has great skill in being able to draw you into the lives of these characters, and it's like you are right there with them through the good and the bad.
What Ephraim did for Cara by taking her into his home took a lot of guts considering his commitment to the Amish lifestyle. He had to face some harsh treatment from his family and friends for obeying God's command for him to "be Me to her." I felt that the author hit the nail on the head by adding that small statement to this book, and it made me wonder how much we apply that to our daily lives.
Trust me, you will not be sorry if you get the opportunity to read this great book. As I said before, it's a book that will stay with you and have you thinking for days. I am already looking forward to the next one that Cindy has coming out!
5 Stars
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An easy read, but with some depth.

Date:January 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Paula Castagna
Location:Madera, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the characters, and appreciate the depth they exhibit, though there is a measure of predictability here. It is clear that this book is written by someone who knows God. Thanks for letting us see Him at work in the Amish community.
I will definitely pass this series on to my adult daughters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One of the best stories ever written!

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
luv2read
Location:Philadelphia, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved the book as well as the cover design. A great value for anyone who loves a good book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finding Hope

Date:October 12, 2010
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was surprisingly great. I could not put it down. Cara goes through more than one person might thank they can dare, but with the help of one man she finds hope, grace, mercy and love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Location:Glen Ridge, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love it....can't put it down! Very well written and captivating. I'll definitely pass it along to my friends.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Katie
i really liked this book except for a few things.1. Cara throughout the book is opposed to the Amish way of life.but suddenly in the last 3 chapters, decides to go Amish. personally i think it was more for Ephraim than a desire to be Amish herself.2. what happend to Cara's stalker??? that was an scary plot point and suddenly he's gone?my last complaint was after i read this one, i couldn't wait for # 2 to see what happens next. i really expected it to be about Deborah. it's not. Cindy might be saving her story for book 3 which in that case i can't wait!!! a good read but there are definitely some things to consider. i would rent it from the library first. that's what i did. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bosun
A most captivating book full of Love, Faith and Hope combined with excellent Amish love and forgiving characterization, beautifully welded into a cliff hanging time lapse. Delightfully written; cannot wait for the publisher to release the next Ada's House book in August.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2010
The Hope of Refuge is a book that celebrates life, love and especially hope. Cara and Ephraims story is a beautiful example of not being afraid to take a stand for what is right. Cara is gritty, gutsy and filled with raw motion. Shes seen too muchand survived itto be anything but bitter and sardonic. At least, thats what Woodsmall wants us to believe at the beginning of the book. Ephraim is steady, deliberating, compassionate and in tune with the whisperings of the Spirit. His family situation is complicated and, while he has done his duty by them, it hasnt been without personal cost. The time was ripe for them to meet to create an oasis beyond the harsher realities invading their lives. Be me to her. It means nothing if you havent read the book and everything once you have. Woodsmall has touched on important truths no matter your faith. This is a book about the strength of community and also its frailties. More than an exceptional read, The Hope of Refuge is a must read. A profound read one that will reaffirm your faith and refresh your outlook if you let it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jenn
Beautifully written and intricately woven story with very realistic characters. Cindy really has another winner novel and this series is well worth reading. Cara Moore has to flee New York to escape the clutches of a mad man who was determined to make her life a living misery. With her daughter, Lori, in tow, Cara makes her way to an Amish community she remembers dimly from her childhood. Ephraim Mast receives a sign from God to "be me to her" and that included threatening his way of life. He offers them shelter much to the displeasure of his oommunity and dares to fulfill God's command. His sister, Deborah, is finding her dreams of settling down with her intended tarnished. Mahlon is not certain of his place within the community and his mother, Ada is afraid that her son will drift away forever from his family. This story was certainly well worth reading more than once. I am looking forward to the next book in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Patricia Ostrom
The book was hard to get into at first. Butafter you got pass the part of her runningaway and the reasons behind it, I couldn't putit down. Good read! The first few pages wereslow. I loved it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Fantastically done! The characters were so real. You cheered for Cara from the get go and you hope and pray your own daughter finds her Ephraim some day. I really loved the story line. It was quite original and the setting, characters and plot were developed well. Great read. I can't wait to hear about book two and get a release date.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul And Jean Tye
Cindy Woodsmall is an excellent author. This book was so interesting and I loved it. I liked how Cara escaped to the Amish, and even tho she faced much adversity, she came to know the Lord, learned to love the Amish way and found peace in serving the Lord and brought her daughter to that same knowledge. This book was very well written.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine Conant
Man I really liked this book-Love all of Cindy Woodsmalls books she holds u to the story that u dont want to put it down-great messages to
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Faye Lemons
Very inspiring. It tells us that anyone can change once they see they need the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty
I found myself drawn in completely in the first pages of this new series. Cindy Woodsmall's writing speaks to my spirit and is more than a "good read". When Ephraim says "Be me to her" that is what I want to remember as I walk with the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Hope of Refuge: A Novel - eBook An Ada's House Series #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Portia Butler
I just finished reading " The Hope of Refuge", and loved it! The author kept me spellbound to the end. Not a book you can determine the ending right from the start. I like that. Cindy Woodsmall is an excellent writer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.