Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press The Last Addiction: Own Your Desire, Live Beyond Recovery, Find Lasting Freedom - eBook

WaterBrook Press The Last Addiction: Own Your Desire, Live Beyond Recovery, Find Lasting Freedom - eBook

This is not a book of "self-help" answers or "how-to" steps. It is a book about falling down and getting up again, about realizing that we need more than ourselves to be saved. The truth is, we're not as bad as we think we are - and we are worse than we ever dreamed. When we live between those two realities, we are ready to let go of the last idol: the belief that we can save ourselves. A Focus on the Family Recommendation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Last Addiction: Own Your Desire, Live Beyond Recovery, Find Lasting Freedom - eBook
Review 1 for The Last Addiction: Own Your Desire, Live Beyond Recovery, Find Lasting Freedom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Like a great song with new lyrics

Date:September 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tex T
Location:Houston TX
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm always searching for new ways to tell people how to develop a personal relationship with Jesus. Sharon's emphasis on 1] reaching the bottom, the desperation point, and 2] finding God in the addiction, and 3] seeing the value of going through the addiction is the new twist that makes people understand why they need to surrender to God, which is the central fact of our relationship with Him. It's a 'new' way to tell the story that will reach a lot of people who wouldn't ever get it any other way. It's part of the reason the stories are so important to reaching and touching peoples' lives with the love and the life of Jesus. I'm not through yet, but I can already see that this book will be a great tool for discipleship; which is the focus of my ministry. She's right, "The last idol: [really is] the belief that we can save ourselves."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Last Addiction: Own Your Desire, Live Beyond Recovery, Find Lasting Freedom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It appears to be very comprehensive

Date:September 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Florence A. Macfall
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not completed the book at this writing, however, what I have read so far is easy to understand and I am pleased with what I have read so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Last Addiction: Own Your Desire, Live Beyond Recovery, Find Lasting Freedom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not for Me

Date:July 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bobb
Location:Indiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book is the personal account of a counselor who has struggled with an addiction and counseled those with addictions. I appreciated the candidness of this author very much and her openness to share the intimate details of her lifelong struggle. However, it did not meet my specific needs and I felt more discouraged after reading this book. While I totally agree that God is the only one who can truly satisfy our deepest needs, too much of this book left me feeling relatively hopeless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Last Addiction: Own Your Desire, Live Beyond Recovery, Find Lasting Freedom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Tim
Location:St. Paul, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very pleased with insights from the author who has a solid grasp of addictions from personal experience as well as her counseling practice. She integrates Christian values in an appropriate manner. I was concerned about her own experience with yoga and zen as I believe they are incompatible with Christianity, but these are mentioned only briefly in the text.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Last Addiction: Own Your Desire, Live Beyond Recovery, Find Lasting Freedom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
redspoint1
Location:Louisiana
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book, addiction is a heartbreaking experience for all involved, this gives examples for those in addiction and those who love addicts. Excellent, excellent information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Last Addiction: Own Your Desire, Live Beyond Recovery, Find Lasting Freedom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

helped to understand addiction

Date:November 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jose
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very helpful for understanding addicts. If you have a friend or family member who is an addict. Also, helpful for understanding your own addictions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Last Addiction: Own Your Desire, Live Beyond Recovery, Find Lasting Freedom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sharon Stallings
This book is excellent thus far. It can really aid in the source of healing and deliverance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Last Addiction: Own Your Desire, Live Beyond Recovery, Find Lasting Freedom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marie Williams
This is exactly the book I needed as a mother of an addict.It addresses all addictions and brings you to the realization that God is just as desperate as the addict and those that care about them, for all concerned, to reach out and grab hold of Christ to experience the most awesome Love ever given. There's bold Truth here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Last Addiction: Own Your Desire, Live Beyond Recovery, Find Lasting Freedom - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Reading Room Reviews
The Last Addiction is a book of hope. It will take you on a journey of self-discovery that there is no turning back from. Author Sharon Hesch helps you break the cycle of addiction for yourself or someone you love. This book changed my perspective and my life. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.