Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Beacon Hill Press Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse

Beacon Hill Press Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse

Through a fascinating, yet thorough examination of the psychological components of various types of abuse, along with true examples from his own life and others, Hegstrom points the way back to wholeness and freedom. An invaluable aid for the man who batters, the woman who feels trapped, and the pastor, counselor, or friend who desperately wants to help them both, Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them offers straight answers for those willing to overcome the cycle of violence. The revised and updated edition includes a new chapter that discusses the physiological and psychological changes in the brain when abuse occurs.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse
Review 1 for Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jerra Dooley
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So many women live with men who are filled with anger that comes out of them in explosive waves of cruel words and physical loss of control. The woman they live with walks around on egg shells hoping not to trigger the switch that turns him into a raging loonatic! This book identifies a wide range of domestic violence and how much of it stems from shame, guilt and anger. It is a short book (140 pages) that is an easy read. Very helpful for women who need to know how to build healthy relationships.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Destiny usa
I have read this extraordinary, and powerful book. It has given me hope, and greater insight about verbal abuse. I have never read anything before about rewiring of the brain. I know without a doubt that God has poured revelation and knowledge inside of the author of this book. Any woman who is going through domestic abuse should read this. Any man that needs to break the cycle abuse needs to purchase this book to be set free.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
E.L. Cousins
This book gives realistic & practical help for spouses of angry men (or women) and for the person with the anger problem. It is written in a empathetic manner while still making the individual accountable for his actions. The author's willingness to share his own story tells me how sincere he is in wanting to help others. I highly recommend this book.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
E.L. Cousins
I read this book cover to cover in one afternoon. I know my marriage is troubled & I want help so much. This book is both spiritually led & Practical. I understand much better now what I can & cannot accomplish, especially what my husband will have to do for himself. Please read this book even if you are not being abused, because every believer needs to be ready to help someone who has or is suffering abuse. and Pray for Me . . .
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Misty
My husband and I read this book together. It was extremely informative and insightful. We found this book to be unlike others we have read, in that it really deals with the roots of anger. We recommend this for every couple (whether already married or considering marriage), as there are also amazing examples of what a healthy, Godly relationship should be like. I also think any Pastor, counselor or therapist should invest in this book; it seems like it would be an invaluable companion to helping couples!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
June Dyer
This book is very good. It deals with the core issues/foundations of Angry Men. A lot of time we try to deal with surface issues when really there are wounds/hurts that have never been worked through. It deals with the problems and the lies we tend to believe because of past abuse. This could be emotional, physical or spiritual. I would highly recommend this book and the other one he wrote "Broken Children, Grown up Pain" to anyone who is struggling or has a loved one that is. I bought these as a gift as I already own a copy of both.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Tammy
The information in this book has changed many live including my own. This should be a mandatory book in every high school.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jeanette
I have to say this is one of the most helpful and informative books that I've ready lately---(and I read A LOT)--- It really helped me to better understand the effects that anger and unresolved issues can have on a marriage. I would encourage everyone that is married or considering marriage to read this book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2007
Customer Avatar
Chris Smith Sr
I have struggled with relationship issues since I was 9 years old. The love of my life, my wife and I were about over, even after many attempts with marriage counselors. This book opened my heart and eyes, it was very painful at first, now it has opened doors with the Lord to be healed. I do not hide and hold in my past. My wife has read this book with me, to be a support, and she too now understands why I have been the way I have been. We are reading it again, to know it and share it! Thank you Jesus!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Louise Cox
Fantastic find!! Easy reading for those who don't want to get into the thick of it as in his other book on the subject. Has good instruction how to move on in lifewith God's help and be healed of all the emotional baggage!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2007
Customer Avatar
Debora
My husband & I both read this book. I had a hard time putting it down. It answered SO many questions I had. And it opened not only my eyes, but the eyes of my husband. It gives the perspective of a man & a woman. And allowed us to have a starting point, with the direction we need to heal our lives, & our family with GOD's help. Direction that we didn't get, even after being counseled by over 3 professionals. If you are a woman OR man dealing with ANY type of abuse, this is a must read.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Angry Men and the Women Who Love Them Breaking the Cycle of Physical and Emotional Abuse
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2005
Customer Avatar
Roz Moore
This book was truly a God send to me. What I was dealing with in my marriage, pastors seemed to desert both my husband and me. Doctors told me to "just leave", but that didn't address my heart or beliefs. Secular books will tell you to just abandon the relationship, but our faith tells us to remain devoted. This book has been a tremendous guide to help discern the issues in my marriage. It suggests the best methods of structured counseling, and how to identify when a wife needs to let go and let God take control. The author helped me to see the progress my husband was really making, or if he was just trying to manipulate me again. I would encourage any woman of faith who is struggling in an abusive relationship to read this book. Male abusers need to read this also, there are more forms of abuse than just physical. Pastors really need to read this book also if they are counseling couples at all.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.