Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books The Night Watchman - eBook

Multnomah Books The Night Watchman - eBook

Eleven months ago, Ray Quinn was a tough, quick-witted Orlando homicide detective at the top of his game-until a barrage of bullets ended his career.and his partner's life. Now medically retired with a painful handicap, Ray battles the haunting guilt for his partner's death. Numbing the pain with alcohol and attitude, Ray takes a job as a night watchman at a swanky Orlando condo. But when a pastor and an exotic dancer are found dead in one of the condos in an apparent murder-suicide, Ray can no longer linger in the shadows.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Night Watchman - eBook
Review 1 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting story line

Date:August 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Over 60
Location:Hamilton, Ontario (Canada)
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good read...Crevis is a good, fun character blended into the "evil in the night" plot. Persevering Ashley confirmed that when you believe in someone, it is good to get all the facts to clear their name regardless of the threats imposed and delivered.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
True literary grit! Powerful, fast moving, and raw, with enough twists to leave your head delightfully spinning. It's the underbelly of law enforcement at its worst. Throw in a pinch of political corruption, a heart full of lust, some pornography, and desperate self-preservation, and we have a winner! My first Mark Mynheir novel, but definitely not my last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Mystery

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruby Armstrong
Location:Goodyear, AZ
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a great mystery. keeps you guessing until the end.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
A. Larsen
A riveting, suspense-filled murder mystery with all sorts of complex twists and turnsthat only made me want to read faster! Well-written and powerful, Mynheirs tale is brimming with believable dialogue and deep, genuine characters. Showing the ways in which evil doesnt always play fair, this novel offers Dekker-level suspense without all the blood and gore. I hope theres a sequel!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2009
One star short because of some language, but I enjoyed (is that the word?) reading this book.A previous reviewer said this is a new series. That does not seem so to me. is particular story has closure. Though the final scenes and promises to his sidekick might mean there is more to come. I would like that, I think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2009
Yes, yes, yes! Awesome! You can tell when an author really knows his subject matter and boy does Mark Mynheir know about detectives and police work. Of course it helps that he is actually a detective, but he can really bring a story to life. Mark introduces us to Ray Quinn, a medically retired detective that was shot 11 months ago when his partner was killed. He can hardly walk now but is thrown in the middle of a murder/suicide at the building where he is a nightwatchman. From there we meet an amazing and quirky supporting cast and get thrown in the middle of the private investigation Ray goes on. He is skeptical, sarcastic, cranky, rude and a loner. His best friend is Jim (Bean) and that is the way he likes it. He figures God ruined his life 11 months ago and that is that. Can he find purpose in his life and the killer at the same time? Things start to twist and turn back in on themselves and bodies start dropping. He's getting close, maybe too close. Can he get the right questions answered?I thought I had figured out the mysterious inside bad guy about halfway through, I'm happy to say I was wrong and Mark keeps things turning til the end - I loved this book and can't wait to go back and read his other books!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Written in a snappy first-person narrative, this novel presents a protagonist who grabbed my heart from the beginning. I love Ray Quinn! He's far from perfect; he's damaged--physically, psychologically, and spiritually--a retired cop who now earns his pay as a "rent-a-cop"--a night watchman. Perhaps he's so believable because the author is a police officer.The dialogue rings true, the action is lively, and the book is a must-read! Set in Orlando, Florida, this fast paced murder mystery is not at all typical. I found myself chuckling at some sections. Why, I even shed a tear! I guarantee, you won't feel as if you've read it before. The ending is far from predictable.I hope that I will have an opportunity to meet Ray Quinn in a sequel. Included is a reader's guide which makes the novel a good book club pick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Mcdaniel
I have read all of Mark Mynheir's books and I like this one the best. I identify with the crusty, irascible main character and his struggles with faith issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Melodie
I read the first two books in Mynheir's previous series and they were good, but this book is FANTASTIC!!! I loved the authenticity portrayed by Ray's character. I can't wait to see what comes next in this series. I hope we won't be kept waiting too long!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Detwiler
Myneir portrays Ray so realistically with his wounds that I would almost feel his pain as he would struggle to get up and walk. The description of the stagnant pool outside his apartment also affected the senses. The author has a distinct way of creating an authentic setting and characters to which one can relate. At first it took me a while to realize who Jim and at times I thought for a Christian Fiction book, this aspect was a little overplayed yet in the end it served its purpose. Ray's frustrations with his partner on the night watch seemed very realistic as well. I look forward to more of Ray's adventures as he starts his own private eye agency. And I wonder, will he develop a love interest in the teacher who wanted her brother's death investigated?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Betty Kelly
So far this is a very good read, this is my first book by this author but won't be my last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
M Tanavamel
Entertaining page turner with moving, real-life characters. God's placed conspicously in the middle, though almost overlooked by Detective Ray Quinn. Mynheir leaves his 'filter off' telling us what's inside his main characters' heads and hearts, while delivering a top notch mystery that won't disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
The Night Watchman by Mark Myrnheir is the first in the Ray Quinn series about a retired police officer who can't seem to get detective work out of his blood. Ray was crippled by an ambush that also murdered his partner/fiance eleven months ago. Now he's working as a night watchman at a condo that doesn't require any more of his skills than his ability to do countless Sudoku puzzles to while away the hours. When a pastor and a prostitute are found shot to death in one of the condos, Quinn starts poking into the murder/suicide verdict, but what he finds brings him full circle, back to the shooting that ended his career.Myrnheir has created a great cast of characters for a possibly long running series: curmudgeonly Ray, naive Crevis , and faithful Pam, and they each come with intriguing subplots. Ray is an easy character to like with his love of all things John Wayne and his refusal to let the bad guy get away. His injury creates vulnerability as well as making sure that he can't be a superman who can fight his way through every battle. Ray has to rely on his wits and allies far more than most private detectives, and that makes me want to come back to read more of his investigations soon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2009
Ray Quinn, a medically retired police detective, is barely living after a rain of bullets injured him and killed his partner. He drowns his sorrow with his best friend Jim Beam and mindlessly trudges to his job as a night watchman in a condo community. All that ends when a pastor and an exotic dancer are found dead in one of the condos. The police declare the killing a murder-suicide, but Pam Winters, the pastors sister, is certain her brother would not kill himself much less another person. Pam enlists the help of the reluctant Quinn to hunt down the killer and what the pair of them turn up is so big, it reaches into Rays former police department. And thats all Im saying as I dont want to give away any of the intriguing plot line. Every now and then you find a book starring a character that resonates with you so much that you cant put it down and hope that the author has planned sequels featuring that character. The Night Watch Man by Mark Mynheir is one of those books for me. Ray Quinn is sarcastic, witty and jaded. The man has a real attitude that leaps off the written page. Hes cynical about what life has handed him, yet under all of that bravado lurks a vulnerability that cant help but come out. And then theres supporting character, Crevis Creighton a young cop wannabe who works alongside Quinn. At first Quinn has no use for Crevis but as the story unfolds the two become friends and work together to locate the killer. This relationship is masterfully developed by Mynheir and brings the story to life. Mynheirs writing in The Night Watchman is fresh, creative, and captivating. His characters are real and full of flaws. His spiritual message is strong, and never preachy. The pacing is perfect, moving along at a fast pace but not too fast so the reader misses out on caring about the characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Night Watchman - eBook
This review is fromThe Night Watchman.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Adam Blumer
I was honored to receive an advance copy of "The Night Watchman" and delighted to dig deep into this enjoyable tale of medically retired and physically broken homicide detective Ray Quinn. Right from the start, I knew something bad had happened to Ray, a loner in Orlando who hangs out in his apartment with his apparently only friend "Jim" (Jim Beam whiskey) and a poster of John Wayne that embodies the qualities of the father Ray, a foster child, has never known. He's a tortured soul whose existence is made more difficult due to the physical injuries he still suffers and the guilt he experiences over his partner's demise.To make ends meet, Ray works as a night watchman and whiles away his early hours doing Sodoku puzzles and sending his quirky sidekick Crevis Creighton out chasing after shadows. But the tedium quickly ends when Ray discovers the lifeless bodies of an unlikely pair, the pastor of Outreach Orlando Ministries and an exotic dancer. The deaths are ruled a murder-suicide, but the pastor's sister, Pam Winters, believes her brother was framed and asks Ray, who's initially reluctant, to look into the case.What follows is an enjoyable, fast-paced ride dominated by masterful writing, strong characterizations, an insider's look into the cutting-edge tools of detective work, and an exciting plot. The writing is sometimes comical, other times poetic, but always gripping. Most refreshing to me was the clever way the author wove in the gospel message through the e-mails of Jamie, the murdered exotic dancer. The novel is meaningful without being heavy handed. I especially appreciated the discreet and tasteful way the author handled the exotic dancer angle. This stellar performance by a masterful author of crime fiction kept me reading late into the night. You won't want to miss this one. I look forward to future installments in this exciting new series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.