Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books The Soul Hunter - eBook

Multnomah Books The Soul Hunter - eBook

A bloody axe at Dylan's front door signals Peter Terry is back. He's haunting minds, invading dreams, wrecking lives, and leaving her desperate for answers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Soul Hunter - eBook
Review 1 for The Soul Hunter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good follow-up to "When the day of evil comes"

Date:June 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
lynn d
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoy characters that go from novel to novel. You get to know them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Soul Hunter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

Date:May 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Kathryn Mcdougal
Location:Puryear, Tn
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely loved this series. This one I think was the best out of the three.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Soul Hunter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good secular mystery

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
LindaT
Location:CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Seems to be more secular fiction than christian based. The author did research the origin of fallen angels and referenced the right scriptures. I'm still reading the third book in the series and am hoping for a spiritual victory by the end. Only paid .99 cents and always enjoy a good mystery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Soul Hunter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan M
Location:Maine
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No doubt about it, Melanie Wells is one talented writer. Her plots are original and well-thought-out, her descriptions vivid and compelling. Character development, however is very much lacking, and the pace of the novel is rapid-fire banter between characters, with a pronounced lack of depth. Dylan Foster, the heroine, is sarcastic and self-absorbed. Written in the first person, almost every page contains musing on her free-spirited nature, and details on her faults, as if they make her unique and humorous. Every third page, it seems, details her obsessive-compulsive need to clean her house and alphabetize her pantry. I found it very hard to like Dylan Foster, and her flippant, irreverent references to God throughout the novel had me cringeing. She bemoans her lack of self-discipline in spiritual matters, explaining that she rarely prays, reads the Bible, or has quiet time, because she is not really a checklist kind of person. She doesn't know how to get rid of a demon who is plaguing her, and this turns into a strange, twisted humor throughout the novels.
I kept hoping this novel would get better, kept hoping each novel in the series would get better, and stuck with the novels because of that, despite putting each book down feeling slightly depressed and empty. Having finished the last one, tonight, I'm left with a bitter taste in my mouth, wondering, how exactly are these novels Christian? How exactly do these novels follow Christ? Multanomah Press, you failed to follow with these novels.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Soul Hunter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kari Bailey
great book...the author keeps you interested and engaged..I really enjoyed it. The book is set in Dallas, Tx, which is fun to read about, having lived there myself!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Soul Hunter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2006
Customer Avatar
Sabrina Taylor
I did not get to read the first part of the series. I bought this book and they were out of the first. I peeked at a couple of pages and couldn't stop reading. I have never read a novel like this. I really enjoyed the character Dylan. I would definitely recommend this book to others. The only thing I had a hard time with was that the killer was not really connected to anything until the end. I think a few hints earlier in the book would have made it a little better.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Soul Hunter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 20, 2006
Customer Avatar
Karri Compton
Creepy. Haunting. Realistic. Thought-provoking. Hilarious. Oh, and rats. If you cant handle rats, dont even pick up this book. Better yet, deal with your rat phobia and pick up the book anyway.The night before her 35th birthday, Dylan Foster and her boyfriend David are scheduled to go out for a nice dinner. While she is getting ready for her date, Dylan hears a thud at the front door. She runs to open it, hoping for a present from UPS. Instead, she finds a bloody axe on her porch. After reporting the incident, she finds out there has been a murder, and she has been thrown right in the middle of it.Happy birthday to Dylan.Youd think Dylan wouldve had enough trouble from demons and murderers. But the saga continues and even worsens for this Texas psychologist. In addition to the axe, terror strikes when Peter Terry shows up again. Can things possibly get worse?The story continues as the search for the murderer intensifies. But things are not as they seem. A deeper power is at work for those whose lives hang in the balance. Will Dylan lean on the One who can get her through this ordeal? Will more innocent people have to suffer, or will mercy reign?In the first book of this series, Dylan learned the inestimable value of prayer and the Word. With that knowledge under her belt, will she put on Gods full armor as the only way to combat the devils evil schemes?There is a battle raging for mens souls. Those who wish to harm mortal man play for keeps. Thankfully, there is Someone stronger than the forces of darkness, and He is available to those who call on Him. I admire the way Wells has us peer into the unseen (and sometimes seen) and think about spiritual happenings beyond our limited vision. If we have the spiritual eyes to see, we will find God is definitely at work.I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and highly recommend this up and coming author of supernatural suspense.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Soul Hunter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 28, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kathy
This book was great as was "When the Day of Evil Comes". Melanie Wells is my new favorite author. I can't wait till she writes the next one !
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Soul Hunter - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2006
Customer Avatar
Linda Mae
Even better than When the Day of Evil comes, this #2 in the day of evil is suspense filled spiritual warfare at it's best. This time Dylan is forced to battle unseen forces, but this time she's better prepared. When a bloody handled axe lands at her door step, the hunt is on to save her life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.