Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Beacon Hill Press Broken Children, Grown-up Pain: Understanding the Effects of Your Wounded Past

Beacon Hill Press Broken Children, Grown-up Pain: Understanding the Effects of Your Wounded Past

uthor Paul Hegstrom explains how the deep hurts of his childhood affected his entire life and eventually caused him to face severe consequences. Paul became a Christian and used his painful past to establish the Life Skills International program. He examines the topics of why people react in a certain way and offers steps to wholeness and healing
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broken Children, Grown-up Pain: Understanding the Effects of Your Wounded Past
Review 1 for Broken Children, Grown-up Pain: Understanding the Effects of Your Wounded Past
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Transforming

Date:December 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
StarJen
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is incredibly instrumental in identifying crippling events buried in childhood that forever alter our path into adulthood. This book allowed me to finally make sense of my present day circumstances, life, marriage issues etc. My husband read the book after me & it has radically transformed his life /our lives. This book is like a set of "keys" to unlock the information that every wounded adult needs to begin the healing process. This book is a MUST read for EVERY Pastor, Counselor & any person that experienced family dysfunction at any point as a child, in adult life or married life!!!!!!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Broken Children, Grown-up Pain: Understanding the Effects of Your Wounded Past
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Murray Greenwood
Thankyou For this great book.Very informative and setting me on a new path to overcome my verbal anger and to become the man God is calling me to be.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Broken Children, Grown-up Pain: Understanding the Effects of Your Wounded Past
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Pastor John Puleo
A must read for people who want freedom from the effects of past wounds that drive many kinds of present behaviors. Dr. Hegstrom goes right to the heart of the issue in an easy to read style. I constantly recommend it to church attendees and counseling clients.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Broken Children, Grown-up Pain: Understanding the Effects of Your Wounded Past
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Sunderland
This is an excellent read. Extremely therapeutic. When reading it the Lord brings to mind instances in your life that have wounded you and thus affected your development. You can see why you think the way that you do and what behaviours have occurred as a result. A must for anyone who is looking to put the broken pieces of their life back together.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Broken Children, Grown-up Pain: Understanding the Effects of Your Wounded Past
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2008
Customer Avatar
June Dyer
I highly recommend this book and the other one he wrote "Angry Men and Women who love them". They deal with the foundation and not surface issues that cause the anger. If you or a loved one is struggling with relationships and can't seem to find the answers this book gives Godly wisdom that can help understand and gain victory over past abuse; this could be either physical, emotional or sexual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Broken Children, Grown-up Pain: Understanding the Effects of Your Wounded Past
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Janice Hennekes
A wonderful book, insight on how your life is at a stand still, if trauma happens to you as a child.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Broken Children, Grown-up Pain: Understanding the Effects of Your Wounded Past
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Beverly De La Bruere
As a counselor, I found this book very helpful. It explains the underlying reasons why we do the unreasonable things we do. It was easy reading and I have ordered several copies and started giving them out to hurting people and their families.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Broken Children, Grown-up Pain: Understanding the Effects of Your Wounded Past
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Louise Cox
Wonderful book -- so glad to have found it. Really gives insight tohow people can be healed from all the trauma life has beaten them up with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Broken Children, Grown-up Pain: Understanding the Effects of Your Wounded Past
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 1, 2007
Customer Avatar
Amy
After reading through half of the book, everything that has happened in my life, my response to others who have wounded me deeply, and understood why others treated me the way they did is because they too were wounded. Reading this book is an eye-opener. I'm on my way to total deliverance by renewing my mind in the word, and deleting the negative info. that had been downloaded into my mind through the traumas from my childhood. It has changed my perception of others, instead of judging them, I see them as hurting children who reacts out of pain, and I now pray for them with compassion. Thank you Paul for your ministry because through traumas that you and your family went through people like me, others are being set free. I highly recommend this book to 100% of the body of Christ because a lot of the Christians do not know how to have an intimate relationship with our "Heavenly Father" because of our past. I give this book the highest rating it can get.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Broken Children, Grown-up Pain: Understanding the Effects of Your Wounded Past
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Cynthia McConathy
EXCELLENT BOOK! A must read for those who want to better understand their own behaviors, as well as others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.