Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HarperOne NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover

HarperOne NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover

The HarperCollins Study Bible has become the standard general reference for understanding the full meaning of this sacred book. This classic study Bible has now been completely revised and updated under the aegis of the Society of Biblical Literature-the preeminent academic association of the world's best biblical scholars.
  • 9 point text
  • 8 point text notes
  • Double-column format
  • Book Introductions
  • Illustrations
  • Charts
  • Timelines
  • 16 Full-color maps
  • Concordance
  • Softcover
  • 6 1/4" x 9 1/4" x 1 1/2"
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover
Review 1 for NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

very narrow margins

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Q
Location:Iowa
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I viewed this version of the Harper Collins Study Bible online I didn't notice that the margins are very, very narrow. If you like to make your own notes in the margins (like I do), this version may not be for you. I believe there are other versions of the Harper Collins that have wider margins (the Student Edition may fit the bill). This one is heading back to CBD.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful notes

Date:May 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Neil
Location:Safford, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The study notes in this Bible are quite helpful and honest. The collection of scholars probably cannot be beat. This resource is a great compliment to the HarperCollins one-volume Bible Commentary. Some of the scholars appear in both resources but the approach is completely different for each. Many of the scholars are different and it's interesting to compare viewpoints. I'm using both right now to study the book of Kings (1&2 Kings). I think the helpfulness of the notes in the Study Bible (by Robert Wilson) are stronger than those in the Commentary (by Richard Nelson). They are definitely different. Of course, whenever there are two different commentators (frequent in these resources) one will be more helpful than the other.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Premier Study Bible for NRSV

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hanleyes
Location:South Milwaukee, WI
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible is a great resource for information. The layout is basic with notes at the bottom, text on top. The notes themselves are short but to the point and include some good information. This is a balanced Bible that it presents most of the interpretations. This is because it's done by the Society of Biblical Literature. (That's also the reason I call it the Premier NRSV Study Bible.) HarperOne is the publishing arm of the NRSV and if you go to the official NRSV website (www.nrsv.net) it is the only direct study Bible listed. Quality is good as well -- while it is a hardcover, it seems to have a leather lining on the inside of the covers which is a nice touch. It is fairly noticeable that the binding is glued however and that could prove to be an issue over the years, but the glue looks very thick. If you love the NRSV because of its style and ecumenical nature as I do, then this is a must have study edition!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good study bible for serious students

Date:April 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
MWPeak
Location:Hamptonville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First and foremost, this study bible comes from a liberal theological background. While the scholarship is good, evangelical Christians might find the book very difficult to handle. It's intended audience is upper level students and professionals. However, it is a good study bible for what it offers.
Second, Christianbook is top notch for customer service. The first copy of the HCSB I received was defective and they not only refunded the return shipping but quickly sent the new copy.
If you're looking for the liberal side of Christianity to round out a seminary education, this bible is manditory.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

More than I expected

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
jackson
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have several different study Bibles this one has more for a good price. I bouhgt it for a class and I am glad that this was required.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
WC
This version of the Bible is a wonderful resource for a wide range of potential readers - both to people from a traditional Protestant (66 canonical book) backgrounds and other Christian students who are interested in having a Bible that also the Deuterocanonical / Apocryphal books.The introduction section to each Book provides additional information that is helpful to readers to understand the likely time period and gives background information. I recommend this Study Bible to interested readers of all Christian backgrounds and spiritually receptive people in general to deepen their knowledge of the Word of God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Gallant
This is a remarkable Bible! It adheres completely to the old manuscripts, with nothing lost in the translation. The study notes are very informative, adding a deeper dimension to the written word, by describing places, customs, and terminology that were in use at the time of the writing. An excellent volume.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
K H Acton
Despite the critical stance of this study Bible it is surprisingly helpful in many places. Of course, its great value is the fact that it is sponsored by the Society of Biblical Literature and, as such, it gives a good overview of the state of academic biblical studies. As a conservative many of the view points expressed will be exasperating, however, there are other places where the notes are brilliant. Also, the essays are informative and the maps, while not beautiful, are VERY thorough. I also liked the format and binding, much better than the trend to glossy hardbacks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chris Branscomb
I bought these two Bibles as presents for my church's graduating seniors. I wanted an NRSV study version and really wanted a Bible without the Apocrypha (because we are not Catholic). Unfortunately, nowhere on the page listing this Bible does it say "with Apocrypha." Unless you enlarge the graphic and read the small print or read and grasp the Publishers Description which says, "those books between the Old and New Testament that Catholics include in their Bible", you don't see that it does contain the Apocrypa. I would have purchased another type of Bible had I known.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Terry Dranitsaris
This translation of the NRSV is one of the best I have come across. It is the preferred translation in our church because of the latest updates as described by the publisher.It is an amazing revision and additional information with respects to the OT and NT and the newer essays on archeology. The only disadvantage is that it is not available in leather. When I use my Bible a lot I prefer the easy holding of the Bible with soft genuine leather. Aside from that it is an excellent Study Bible for all students and scholars.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NRSV HarperCollins Study Bible with Apocrypha, Revised, softcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Johnson
This is the NRSV translation, which I like but is sometimes too liberal and has the gender neutral problem. This study bible has very liberal notes in it that question the literalness of the bible etc. There are some good historical notes, but beware of the doctrinal ones. The Bible is physically well constructed and has easy to read print.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.