Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Touched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga - eBook

Multnomah Books Touched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga - eBook

People around the world are enraptured by Edward and Bella's forbidden romance in the Twilight Series, and many Christians want to know if the themes represented in the series can be reconciled with Biblical principles. Can a bestselling story about vampires teach us about God's plan for love? Touched by a Vampire is the first book of it's kind to investigate these themes, taking an insighful look at the moral principles illustrated in the story such as sexual abstinence, gender roles, love and family. Beth Felker Jones examines whether the story's redemptive qualities ultimately outshine its darkness however. Using a cautionary yet thoughtful approach, Touched by a Vampire is the perfect book for fans of the series and for pop-culture enthusiasts alike. Includes an overview of the series and a discussion guide for small groups.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews for Touched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga - eBook
Review 1 for Touched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga - eBook
This review is fromTouched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
As half the world has read the Twilight Saga, including myself, I was very excited to find a book that talks about some of the stuff that makes Twilight so appealing and why. If you love God and the Twilight Saga, I encourage you to pick up this book. Read it yourself. Do a little book club with your friends. Ask your youth pastor to do a group at church. Or ask your mom to read it with you. When something becomes as popular as Twilight, its a good idea to step back and ask yourself why. You want to be able to think for yourself and know what you like or dislike about it and not just follow mob mentality on the issues.Beth Felker Jones explains in this book why Twilight hooks girls so desperately. She talks about love, sex, marriage, purpose, family, and desire in relationship to Twilight and the Bible in a way that gets you thinking about what God has to say on these subjects. Many Christians have applauded this series for the premarital abstinence between Bella and Edward. But does Twilights redemptive qualities outshine its darkness? This book is written for fans, parents, teachers, and youth workers. Take a closer look inside Twilight and see what you find.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Touched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga - eBook
This review is fromTouched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
If you are a Twilight fan or the parent of a teenager who is a fan, you will want to examine the Saga through a biblical lens. Touched by a Vampire offers great insights and great discussion questions to help guide us through the Twilight Saga and really see the under lying messages. The Twilight Saga is a well written story that is fantasy and only God can fill the longings of our heart.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Touched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga - eBook
This review is fromTouched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Frankly I hate it. I was looking forward to this book in finding both good and bad values from the opinions of a Biblical perspective of author Beth Felker Jones. Yet what I found was that with every opinion that she put out there I felt was twisted and incorrect. Her views of fate and true love, as well as jealousy were just the beginning of my irritation and extreme differences of opinion. Continuing on with taking things that are good in comparison to most fiction readily available to our teens today and making it appear to be masked evil is just annoying. I'm frustrated with this book because I was expecting something so much better. But then I'm just one opinion and look for the light within the darkness and not the darkness within the gray areas.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Touched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga - eBook
This review is fromTouched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
Touched by a Vampire is the first book to investigate the themes of Stephanie Meyers Twilight Saga from a Biblical perspective. Some Christian readers have praised moral principles illustrated in the series, such as premarital sexual abstinence, which align with Meyers Mormon beliefs. If you haven't read the Twilight series and plan to, read this book after you read the novels because it gives the plot details so the author can examine them.Touched by a Vampire is written for Twilight fans, parents, and teachers and includes an overview of the series for those unfamiliar with the storyline and a discussion guide for small groups. I think that "Touched by a Vampire" is a valuable resource for parents who want to guide their young readers, and find some meaning in the saga. The author, Beth Felker Jones is assistant professor of theology at Wheaton College.She offers many thought provoking questions related to the books in the series, including "Does your family try to put on a perfect face to the world?" and "How can ordinary, weak people reflect God's goodness to the world?"A chapter titled "The superhero and the girl next door" examines gender roles in Twilight. Jones notes that there are two sides to Bella, she is both strong and weak and Jones writes that readers identify with Bella because she is an everygirl.I haven't read the Twilight books, I admit it!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Touched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga - eBook
This review is fromTouched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Touched by a Vampire by Beth Felker Jones is an indepth look at the messages in the Twilight series by Stephenie Meyer. From marriage and children to self-worth and faith, there are plenty of messages to be found in the series of books, and Jones looks at them all through the light of Christianity. My daughter and I are both big fans of the Twilight series so I was intrigued by the idea of digging deeper into what Meyer has to say about the big issues of life, especially in view of her Mormon faith, and Jones covers every issue thoroughly. Looking at the Cullen family as a metaphor for the Mormon ideal was eye-opening. Some readers may be angered by Jones occasional criticism of the way Meyer portrays a loving relationship through Bella and Edward, but she makes some excellent points about how Bella's complete lack of self-worth and Edward's protectiveness make an romantic fairy tale, in real life they could lead to a destructive, abusive relationship. This book is definitely NOT for those who have not read the series. In deconstructing the books, Jones gives lots of spoilers that would ruin it for those who haven't read it yet. For those who have read them, it's important to keep an open mind and try not to get angry with Jones for exposing flaws within the psychology of the books. Her points are valid and thought-provoking and will give readers a completely different point of view regarding the series and may even inspire a re-read!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Touched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga - eBook
This review is fromTouched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Stories are powerful. Christians worried about the influence of Harry Potter. Now there is the Twilight Saga to worry us. Love, romance, marriage and the meaning of life are all seen from a girls perspective, through Bellas eyes.Some say the Twilight Saga should be embraced by Christians because there are good moral themes in the book. The universe is a moral one. The couple waits for marriage to have sex.Yet Jones has found disturbing messages in the Twilight books. Violence, for example, is seen as a natural response to any threat. On occasion, the Mormon religion of the author comes through. Jones compares these troubling themes of the book with Gods intention for life. Jones has included questions for reflection after every chapter. These are great for discussion as to what concepts can be taken from the Twilight Saga and which ones should be left there. She has also included a book-by-book discussion guide to address the themes and messages each book portrays.This would be a great book for parents and youth workers who want to discuss the Twilight Saga with readers of the series. With the synopses Jones provides, it is not necessary to have read the books to be able to use Touched by a Vampire in discussing and evaluating the Twilight Saga.This book was provided for review by the WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Touched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga - eBook
This review is fromTouched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brian
This book is more of a guide that leads the reader through the Twilight series. It uses the themes of the Twilight books such as romance, love, gender roles, good bad, choices, desires etc.as a springboard to look at what the Bible says on such subjects.This is one of the best books I have read that takes a look at a pop culture fad and opens the subject up for discussion without being totally negative or discouraging about reading the original series. This book, with questions at the end of each chapter, would be a great small group study for high school or college age adults.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Touched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga - eBook
This review is fromTouched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 17, 2009
I have only a passing acquaintance with the Twilight Saga, but I do know it is very popular with young people right now. I was very curious about reading Touched by a Vampire so I could find out what the Twilight Saga is about and what kind of message it is sending. I was pleasantly surprised by the authors non-confrontational tone throughout the book. She simply laid out the storyline and concept of the Twilight Saga and then pointed out where that philosophy comes up short. She then highlighted the biblical truth. I think many parents of teenagers will appreciate this book because it will allow them to make an informed opinion about the Twilight Saga and whether or not it is something they want their children reading.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Touched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga - eBook
This review is fromTouched by a Vampire: Discovering the Hidden Messages in the Twilight Saga.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 16, 2009
Through this book Beth answers many questions about the Twilight Saga. She brings a christian perspective using scripture to share about all four Twilight books. She takes each chapter and breaks them down first introducing the characters of Twilight and showing God's moral principles about love, sex, and our purpose in life. As these books thrill young readers, is it what we really want our young teens reading? Do these books shine a light for them to blossom or have a worldly view of what love really is? She is able to answer all of these questions and more. If your teen is asking to read this saga this book will give you knowledge about the truths of God's word and help you decide if this series will open our eyes to Christ or close them to what Christ has for us. This series gives a different view on what Christ teaches about love and romance, and shines a light on a very powerful worldly view of what love and romance is. This book would be wonderful for just you and your family or a small group study into this series and bring questions about what are children should be reading. This book was a gift from Multnoma WaterBrook Press for its review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.