Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook

Multnomah Books Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook

Why did Mike Yankoski choose to go from upper-middle class to repulsive overnight? Needing to know if his faith in God was genuinely apart from a comfortable existence, Mike and his traveling companion, Sam, became citizens of a foreign land: homeless America. Learn how it became a passport to the unknown and a supreme test of their faith.
Average Customer Rating:
4.93 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 out of 22100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Review 1 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes you think

Date:November 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We all get busy in our day to day lives and we rarely give much thought to those that live out in the street. This book gives you a eye opening, in your face account about what it means to be homeless, to go without eating for days, to have to sleep with one eye open, not to be safe behind four walls and a security system.
This is a book that every christian should read, whether you are called to work with or pray for those that have so little.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book everyone should read!

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tuckersdad
Location:Western North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I currently volunteer at a rescue mission one night a week and serve at a soup kitchen every Thursday. This book has really helped me understand the challenges the homeless face, challenges we have never experienced. I truly believe God motivated Mike to take this journey and write this book so we the much more fortunate can get some insight into the lives of those semi invisible people we tend not to see by choice. I commend Mike for his courage. Everyone should read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought provoking book.

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
Fullquiver231
Location:White Cloud, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A book that challenges your comfort zone and your idea of faith in America today. I would highly recommend all who proclaim Christ to read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

graphic understanding of the homeless

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
a fellow traveler
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is required reading for anyone who cares for or ministers to the homeless. Although the author is a young man, he gathers great wisdom and understanding during his journey through one of the the less fortunate parts of our society.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent book! everyone should read this!!

Date:January 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Milly
Location:Rapid City SD
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this book. I mean that these boys would do this. I don't know how the homeless do it day after day. This just re-affirms my dream to build a soup kitchen/shelter in my area. Thank you Mike & Sam for opening my eyes even more. GOD bless & keep witness-ing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Evryone that is not homeless should read this

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ccdr ca
Location:Regina, SK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellant eye opener to those that are not homeless. If you ever wanted to reach out or understand the homeless than this is the book for you! Be warned this book will create changes in you that are good but overwhelming.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent and challenging read

Date:January 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tony Brackemyre
Location:Wilmington OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last week, close to the anniversary of the earthquake in Haiti, I re-posted a video from a ministry on the island. It tells the powerful story of Baby Mackenson. After watching the video, my Dad made this comment: "Not sure exactly what to say; one thought keeps going through my mind – someday it would be a privilege to abandon our stuff and live in a t-shirt and jeans, serving the needs like this; don’t know how those folks do it, but would like to learn."
That thought - to abandon our stuff and live in a t-shirt and jeans - is much like the catalyst for the book "Under the Overpass." Mike Yankoski and his traveling partner, Sam Purvis, make the commitment to abandon the safety and security of the life they knew to live homeless in six different American cities. To immerse themselves into that world, they took no credit cards or cell phones and only a backpack with the bare necessities, a sleeping bag and a guitar to make money so they could travel and survive.
The goals they had for this experience were to understand homelessness, to see how the church responds to this need and to learn to live in dependence on God.
The book brings to life the reality of living day-to-day on the streets. Things that I don't think about on a regular basis - where to get a drink if I'm thirsty, how I'm going to eat for the next day, where can I go to the bathroom - are daily challenges when a person is homeless. Mike shares how he and Sam tackled those issues and shared powerful stories of people they met and how the church did and did not offer assistance in their plight.
As I read through the stories from the different cities, I continually wondered what I would do in each situation. When someone approached me who was strung out on drugs, would I engage them in conversation? When Sunday morning came around and I wasn't dressed the right way for worship, would I still go in? Under the Overpass puts names and even faces to those who live on the street and brings the reality of those people's needs into our comfortable existence.
At the end of the book, the author shares how his experience has changed his perspective on so many things that before he took for granted. After reading this book, it will change the way the reader looks at those on the street. Recently I had to make a brief stop in downtown Cincinnati and I found myself looking at the scenes around me in a different light. Where would someone go to get food who had none? How would a person on the streets find warmth if he had no place to go? Would I be willing to help someone or would my reaction be similar to what Mike and Sam saw many times on the street - turning my gaze and pretending the need wasn't there?
I think the biggest question the reader has to wrestle with is this: what does God want to say to me after reading this book? Under the Overpass brings the reader face to face with the reality of those who have no place to go and what it is like to live that kind of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Joshbaker51
Location:Hendersonville, NC
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book about 4 months ago and had been wanting to read it but never found the time. Well the other day i finally decided to start reading it, and the moment I started reading i never wanted to put the book down. It's just that good.
Basically this book is a bout A man who gets tired of living the "normal" christian life of a college student. After much thinking He decided to go homeless for 5 months and live on the streets of 5 major cities. The book is basically his memoirs of the journey he and a friend took out of "normal" life into the streets.
I would really encourage you to go buy this book! If you want to learn humbleness, buy this book. If you are looking to start a homeless ministry, GET THIS BOOK! I don't know what else to say. This book was just amazing. Its a real eye opener and It has parts that are very saddening. It made me ask myself if i am really living as a Christ follower should live? Anyways please go get this book! your eyes WILL be opened!
This book was given to me by WaterBrook Multnomah as a part of their Blogging for Books program.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

be ready to be convicted

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastor2519
Location:West Point, UT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rated this book a five, because that’s the highest rating allowed by the system.
I first read Mike Yankowski’s Under the Overpass several years ago. I lent it to a friend who passed it on to a friend who lent it to someone else, and finally I got the book back six months later. Since then I’ve bought several copies to lend or give.
Two very brave, very foolish or very committed and convicted, (take your pick) young men spend a year living Under the Overpass. They choose to live as homeless people for a year, to experience what an unfortunately large percentage of our society lives on a regular basis. Their experiences living on the street brought me to tears. It wasn’t only the conditions in which they lived, but the reactions of people who should have known better.
This book forced me to look at myself and how I perceive others, and the reflection in the mirror wasn’t as pretty as I would have liked.
If you’re ready to be challenged and convicted, this is the book to read. And don’t be surprised if this “journey of faith on the streets of America” causes you to re-evaluate your own faith walk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very information and enlightening for all

Date:February 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
bigred
Location:Portland, Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read the book and thought I had lost it. When this one came in I gave it to a co-worker who read it and loved it. Very informative and shows where we talk but do not walk the walk like we should.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenging, life transforming book

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
JJbooks
Location:California
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I debated reading this book because I knew it would be challenging to read...not challenging in an educational way, but spiritually challenging. I knew going in that I wouldn't be able to just read this book and quickly move on. I was right, but I am so glad that I made the choice to be challenged.
The book is about two college students who decided to challenge themselves to live out their faith by becoming homeless for 5 months in 6 different cities. The author, Mike, realized it was easy to claim Christ as his everything, but he had never had to put that claim to the test while living his middle class life and attending a Christian college. He decided to really live out his faith and step out in a radical way. Mike shares his experiences, thoughts, and emotions of those 5 months Sam and he lived on the streets. I love the deepness and honesty of this book through the laughter and tears, the good and downright awful, the beautiful,ugly and sometimes very stinky.
Don't read this book unless you are willing to be changed, willing to DO something whether what you do to live out your faith has to do with homelessness or not. If you are willing to do that, then this is a must read. :)
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. The review is my honest opinion of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A HEART CHANGING BOOK & A MUST READ!

Date:December 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Moonpie
Location:PRYOR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very excited to read this book and definitely was not disappointed. Two young men after hearing a convicting sermon decide to test their Christianity and see if they could be true Christians without all their physical blessings.
They choose to live homeless on the streets with no help and no contact with their families for 5 months. I have always had compassion toward the homeless but this book was a real eye opener. Even with Mr. Yankoski’s detailed account I still cannot imagine the horrors and suffering these people face in their daily existence, many for decades. I was shocked and irritated at the heartlessness and lack of love shown by professing Christians and worse yet churches!
Some have put themselves in this position by their choices as drug addicts and alcoholics, but they still deserve to see the love of Christ and the milk of human kindness. Some are their because of hardship, bad health and mental illness. No matter what their condition, they are still people and souls that hurt and have needs. They are somebody’s child, sibling or parent.
This book also brought to light how these people are hurting so badly and “fixing” them with hard preaching about "Fire & Brimstone" when they are “already suffering:” is not what they need. Yes they need to hear the gospel but they need to see His love in action and find hope.
This book has given me a great desire to reach out to the homeless and never forget they are someone Christ died for. It may not be pleasant or comfortable but it needs to be done. I appreciate the author’s cautions of not going alone and not giving them money. He suggests many ways to help. An excellent book!
I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Must Read for All Ages!

Date:December 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
plasticmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Under The Overpass by Mike Yankoski
"What's worse? To do dope or to not love your brother? Why do we kick drug users out of the church while quietly overlooking those who are ignoring their own different but equally destructive sins? Why do we reject the loving, self-sacrificing, giving, encouraging, Jesus-pursuing drug addict but recruit the clean, self-interested, gossiping, loveless churchgoer? Which one do you suppose Jesus would rather share a burrito with under a bridge?" (pp. 96-97, "Under The Overpass", Waterbrook Multnomah, 2010) Gets under your skin, doesn't it? Such is the nature of the story shared by Mike Yankoski, a self-proclaimed "upper middle-class Christian college student" who, with a friend, felt God's call to leave what they felt was safe and journey into the unknown world of the homeless. With only one set of clothes, a couple of cheap thrift store backpacks and sleeping bags, and an old guitar, they set out to become "homeless" in six different cities. You'll smell their filthy clothes, sense the rats and the roaches, and shiver when it starts to rain. You'll cringe when the Christians pass them by, and you'll find yourself asking "was that me? Was I one of the ones who walked on by?". By the time you're finished reading, you won't be able to look at anyone you'd considered "untouchable" the same again, and maybe, just maybe, you'll go over and shake their hand.
Multnomah Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes. Check out the first chapter at http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/2010/09/14/sneak-peek-under-the-overpass-5th-anniversary-edition/ or read the Under The Overpass Action Plan at http://multnomahemails.com/wbmlt/pdf/ChristmasUnderTheOverpass_ActionPlan.pdf
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought-Provoking and Inspirational

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We often hear the phrase, "Put yourself in my shoes," when someone is encouraging us to see a situation from another perspective. If we are introspective, we may readily try to envision what it would be like to have the life experiences of someone that we meet. Besides reality-based television shows, like Undercover Boss, very few individuals have the ability or the courage to put that question into action. Especially in a society that emphasizes wealth, glamour, and gaining fifteen minutes of fame, who would want to put themselves in another's shoes by living homeless?
Mike Yankoski and his friend Sam are two individuals who make such a decision. In 2003, Mike is a twenty-year-old upper-middle class college student who feels the call to live on the streets after hearing a sermon one Sunday with the strong message to, "Be the Christian you say you are." Mike decides to test his faith by taking time off from college and immersing himself into the life of the homeless in America. He wants to observe how churches respond to the needs of the homeless and how he will personally be affected as he relies on God throughout his five-month journey.
Beginning in the Denver Rescue Mission, Mike has the comfort of a cot and a three meals a day, but he begins to learn the social rules of the homeless. Soon, Mike and Sam are immersed into life on the streets as they travel to Washington D.C. , Portland, San Francisco, Phoenix, and San Diego. With only a Bible, guitar, sleeping bag, journal, and backpack, they panhandle and rely on the kindess of strangers for their next meal. They experience the humiliation of digging through the garbage for food and being treated as the outcasts of society.
Under the Overpass is a thought-provoking read that encouraged me to continue turning the pages. I thought of my experiences when seeing homeless men and women in the city and the feelings of pity that arise and how I wonder what events may have brought them to such a point in their life. I am also guilty of looking the other way because of fear and discomfort. Under the Overpass challenges us to react differently because if you and I were stripped of all of our comforts we would be the same people. As Mike and Sam experienced, even churches can forget their ultimate mission. I highly recommend Under the Overpass as a compelling book that will invite reflection, the opportunity for discussion, and the desire to take action.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from WaterBrook Press through their book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions expressed above are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Every CHRISTIAN & CHURCH needs to read this!!!

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rebecca Jo
Location:Greenville, IN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to say - I think EVERY PERSON - EVERY CHRISTIAN - EVERY CHURCH GOER needs to read this book!!!!! This book has totally changed the way I look at the world, the homeless, the way the church handles people - so many things... this book has opened my eyes & my heart...
The journey of these two men is so powerful...to see the people that they meet along the way, from people who are struggling to survive, to people who are drug addicts & have mental disorders, to the experiences they have to go through - it will move you... it SHOULD move you... because its the real world. A world that we dont like to think about & a world we try to ignore....
The most earth shaking moments for me were when they would encounter churches that would turn them away because they were "dirty" or "smelly"... CHURCHES!!!!!!!!! A Pastor of a church told them they werent "that kind of church" to offer any food to them... wow... the reactions of Christians just made me look in a mirror at myself - how would I react?
And then, yes, there were some amazing Christians who live their faith! My favorite story was about a young man the homeless called "The Jesus Guy" - he said he never once preached Jesus - just came down & offered pizzas & conversations once a week... He said, "Isnt it amazing that when we live as we're called & do what we're commanded, the gospel still gets preached" ... Amen
I have a journal of 7 pages of nothing but quotes from this book that rocked me...
From stories of Christians preaching "Fire & Brimstone" to people who are already suffering: "... it seemed they were accusing these broken people of being broken...."
From people kicking out these men out of churches while drug dealers on the street could preach a mighty word of God: "Why do we kick drug users out of the church while quietly over looking those who are ignoring their own different but equally destructive sins? Why do we reject the loving, self-sacrificing, giving, encouraging Jesus-pursuing drug addict, but recruit the clean, self-interested, gossiping, loveless church goer?"
From youth groups coming & serving the homeless: "Something critical is missing in places that care for the broken & needy if the only people there are also broken & needy"
I could go on & on... I'm telling you... if you want a powerful read - that is easy to take in - READ THIS BOOK!!!!!
Last year, for Christmas, I got everyone "The Noticer" .... if I can find this book in time, I will be purchasing this for everyone I know... that's how good it is!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Zealfire
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two guys who are from an upper-middle class family decide to experience life on the streets in six different cities. This was not an ordinary street life, but a life on the streets as homeless men. The transition to street life began with checking into a rescue mission located in Denver, Colorado.
For the next five months Mike and Sam began to realize what it truly means to be homeless. They had to suffer from hunger pains, had to panhandle, and were treated differently by all except the homeless. The hard times occurred from being kicked out of restaurants to being kicked off of a church’s property.
Many answers from topics not covered in the book are answered at the end in a Q & A section.
I would suggest this book to my friends and am indeed going to suggest it to several of them to read. It is challenging and inspirational. The story will challenge one’s faith and even one’s view of the homeless people that are out there on the streets in need of help. It will make you laugh, smile, and even cry through the different events that occur over the five months. Overall, it is a great read which I did not want to put down until I was finished and suggest to everyone to read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Waterbrook Multnomah as part of their Blogging for Books program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really makes you think

Date:December 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Childoftheking84
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow!! This book caught my eye and so I got a copy and began reading. It really opened my eyes to the homeless in the world. Things I never thought about or heard were mentioned in this book. It made you walk away thanking God for your blessings and thinking about the millions on the street in the world without a home. This book follows as two young Christian boys leave their normal lives behind and they live on the streets as homeless to prove to themselves they would be a Christian no matter what. It really takes you on the inside of the homeless and what they go through. It just really left me thinking. It shared different stories about their time in shelters,places that served meals to the homeless and being kicked out of places. It's a great book if you really want to think on things that are important in life. It made me think a lot!
I recieved this book free for my honest review from WaterBrook Multnomah
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very inspiring book!

Date:December 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mom with books
Location:Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Under the Overpass, by Mike Yankoski is one of those books that makes me feel that I'm not doing enough with my life. The book describes the 5 months that the author and his friend chose to be homeless on the streets of America. At the beginning of the book, he explains how this plan came about. As a Christian, he wanted to put his proclaimed beliefs to a real life test. Would he be capable of stepping outside of his "comfortable upper-middle-class-life" and would his faith in Christ stand up to the test?
The author eases into homeless life by spending a month at a rescue mission in Denver. He and his friend then live as homeless people in five major U.S. cities. For those of us who have wondered what it was like to be homeless, this book describes the journey. From the daily challenge of finding any food to the need for a restroom and a place to simply sleep, we get a glimpse into what it is like to have nowhere to go. The descriptions of the other homeless people they encounter are fascinating to read. Mental illness and drugs are real and on the streets of America. The question I kept asking myself as I read was, "Do these people not have family?" Why is it that so many people are simply living meal to meal or hit to hit on our streets?
While the author admits that his homeless experience was different in some ways from the others he encountered, he and his partner in this experience still encountered the hardships of life on the streets. He provides valuable information and insights into dealing with a homeless person. Should we give them money? Should we simply look the other way? I have always wondered if I should simply hand out whatever little money I had or is there a better way to help. It was nice to have those questions answered.
This book should be read by every church leader. I was disheartened, but not surprised, to read how many churches responded to the authors. Homelessness is real in America. With the high unemployment and reduction in services available to the mentally ill and those who struggle with addictions, it seems this situation won't be improving any time soon. We should all be prepared for these encounters and this book would be a good starting place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Book

Date:November 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Watermom
Location:Clarksville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will really opens your eyes to the way the rest of the world lives. We sometimes get too comfortable in our own life, but after reading this book it makes you look at things in a different light. This book makes you look at your daily walk with the Lord.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Under the Overpass: A Journey of Faith on the Streets of America - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

open your eyes and change your heart

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
shannon
Location:midwest
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book will open and change your heart on your thoughts and preconceptions of the homeless. This book is one I wasn't sure about but knew I wanted and had to read it. I love reading books that challenge you as the reader to grow more in faith and open your eyes to horrible circumstances around you. We all have homeless in our towns it is so sad to hear about homeless on the news dying in the extreme heat or cold here and shelters are overflowing and turning them away. Mike and his travel buddy Sam were brave souls to not only think we need to do something but they researched and did something, they became homeless for 5 months. Sure they knew they had family at home and would be able to return when their time was over but they were homeless, hungry, cold, dirty and begging for change any change. They experienced the nasty looks, the rude comments and looks of disgust. They always say everyone is just 1 paycheck away from being homeless (maybe that isn't quite true but it can happen to people, especially in this economy).
I remember when I was in college a friend and I would pass this same homeless guy every day and night just him, his backpack and cute kitten/cat. We always took food for him and his kitty, every day Monday through Friday we gave them food. Sometimes it was just leftovers from our dinners at home, sometimes we would buy him some fast food that we also grabbed on our way to school. I remember our friends calling us brainless and crazy for doing it, but you know what we weren't we felt it was right. I can say eventually he did get into a rehab house (both him and his cat) I really hope and pray that he got back on his feet and all ended well.
This book is something I hope they make all high school, college and every single adult read. I think if we all read this and stood up we could help make a change in the homeless. Something has to be made better I hate seeing and hearing about homeless men, women (and sometimes even children) that are living prayers and wondering where their next meal and warm bed will be. I read this book in 2 days I read after the girls went to sleep, while cooking and woke up super early (meaning Sunday I had no real sleep) but my mind was just racing wanting to finish this book.
Thank you so much Mike Yankoski for writing a wonderful, eye opening and soul searching book.
Thank you Waterbrook for publishing and allowing me to review this awesome book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.