Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Beacon Hill Press Confessions of an Adulterous Christian Woman: Lies That Got Me There; Truths That Brought Me Back

Beacon Hill Press Confessions of an Adulterous Christian Woman: Lies That Got Me There; Truths That Brought Me Back

Most Christian women would never consider having an affair. Yet, marriages, families and friendships are destroyed as a result of poor choices made. These were the consequences Lyndell Hetrick Holtz faced when she chose a path that led to adultery. As a pastor's wife and lifetime Christian she thought she was immune from temptation. Her memoir reveals how she was deceived, and how God's truth brought her back to a place of trusting Him with her heart and unfulfilled desires. A must-read for any married woman, her story will caution you and remind you where and Who your heart should rest with. 192 pages, softcover from Beacon Hill Press.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 580%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Confessions of an Adulterous Christian Woman: Lies That Got Me There; Truths That Brought Me Back
Review 1 for Confessions of an Adulterous Christian Woman: Lies That Got Me There; Truths That Brought Me Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It gives me understanding & hope

Date:June 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Melikamama
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having been the injured half of a christian marriage that has fallen victim to adultery, I needed the insights that Lyndell offers to understand how this happened. While my ex-husband, now married to his mistress offers no signs of remorse but claims God's forgiveness, boggles my mind; this book gave me an understanding and led me through God's promises that I can pray with power for my ex and our adult children who continue to struggle with the choices their father has made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Confessions of an Adulterous Christian Woman: Lies That Got Me There; Truths That Brought Me Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An honest, biblically sound book on reconciliation

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Addie9214
Location:IL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is not about the author's affair. It is about the destruction adultery brings to a marriage and everyone around....kids, extended family etc. But it is also about reconciliation, redemption, forgiveness, healing, and ultimately finding joy again. The book gives a heartwrenching first hand account of the pain adultery inflicts and how incredibly difficult it is to repair a marriage. The author humbled herself before the Lord, and before her husband and committed herself to restoring the family. I passed this book on to a Christian sister-in-law that has been involved in a 3 year long affair and is now moving forward with divorce.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Confessions of an Adulterous Christian Woman: Lies That Got Me There; Truths That Brought Me Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wow

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joni
Location:NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book cuts to the heart of the issue and guides out of the pit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Confessions of an Adulterous Christian Woman: Lies That Got Me There; Truths That Brought Me Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Helped me understand

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Betrayed
Location:Usa
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book helped me understand my wife's betrayal.
It helped with my forgiving and my healing.e
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Confessions of an Adulterous Christian Woman: Lies That Got Me There; Truths That Brought Me Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

JUST WHAT I NEEDED TO READ

Date:May 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
DANI
Location:BOSTON, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SHE GAVE WITH EVERYTHING THAT HAPPENED A SCRIPTURE TO GET THROUGH.. ANYONE THAT IS HAVING A TRYING MARRIAGE, STEPPED OUT, OR THINKING ABOUT IT.. SHE HAS SPOKEN THE TRUTH.. SO THAT YOU MAY SEE YOU AND NOT CONFORM TO THE DEVIL... I WISH I WOULD OF READ THIS WHEN WE WERE LIVING UNDER THE SAME ROOF.. NOW IM ON MY KNEES DAY AND NIGHT... IF HE NEVER COMES BACK ILL BE OK.. I HAVE DONE WRONG AND I DESEREVE THAT.. AND NOW I KNOW THAT I CAN FORGIVE MYSELF SINCE GOD ALREADY DID...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Confessions of an Adulterous Christian Woman: Lies That Got Me There; Truths That Brought Me Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Lavonia Pearson
I would highly recommend this book to anyone that has gone through or contemplating adultery. It will truly set you free! I appreciate Mrs. Holtz being transparent without revealing all because its important that a person knows the warning signs & how to get out by the word of God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Confessions of an Adulterous Christian Woman: Lies That Got Me There; Truths That Brought Me Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2008
Customer Avatar
Magaly Rivera
This is an excellent book. I love that she makes so many references to the Bible and also includes questions so you can check your heart. I think every woman, single or married should read this book whether or not you've ever considered having an affair as a Christian woman. This book is an excellent testimony and teaching that will give you powerful biblical weapons on combatting the lies of the enemy. If you're single it will fuel your spirit with weapons before you say I do and if you're married it will give you the weapons so you never fall. God bless Ms. Holtz for being so transparent and sharing such a personal part of her life that we may all learn from it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Confessions of an Adulterous Christian Woman: Lies That Got Me There; Truths That Brought Me Back
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2007
Customer Avatar
john vaughan
Lyndell Holtz is very honest in this book. She writes of her descent into sin and the attitudes that got her there, and the horrific results of her adultery. But she doesn't stop there, she shows how God's grace works for us when we repent to restore us. This is an excellent book of hope for those exposed to the the sin of adultery.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.