Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for WaterBrook Press Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3

WaterBrook Press Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3
Review 1 for Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the Scottish Lowlands, it is the summer of 1790, and Jamie McKie is the prodigal returning home in the hopes they have forgiven him from his shameful past. His father Alec, whom he deceived, and his brother Evan, who's inheritance he stole. Wrestling his fears of a confrontation, and trying to stay a step ahead of his devious uncle Lachlan, Jamie is pressed on all sides to make the hardest decisions of his life.
Two women lay claim to him and his affections; Leana, the mother of his firstborn and heir, and Rose, who is carrying his second child. Uncertain of his future with the scandal that rivaled any marriage in all of Christendom, and even less certain of his fate when he arrives home - Jamie sets out on a journey that will either be his redemption, or will cost him everything he loves.
This imaginative re-telling of the story of Jacob, Leah and Rachel is as heartbreaking as it's Biblical counterpart. There are many joys and sorrows that simply are part of the story, but that doesn't make it any easier to bear. The thing I loved the most about this book and the series in general, is that it's not the romantic happily-ever-after feel-good kind of story. Yes, liberties were take with the story lines, but it is a parallel work of fiction set in 1700's Scotland. That said, Whence Came a Prince is a beautiful fictional account of a timeless Biblical story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the Scottish Lowlands, it is the summer of 1790, and Jamie McKie is the prodigal returning home in the hopes they have forgiven him from his shameful past. His father Alec, whom he deceived, and his brother Evan, who's inheritance he stole. Wrestling his fears of a confrontation, and trying to stay a step ahead of his devious uncle Lachlan, Jamie is pressed on all sides to make the hardest decisions of his life.
Two women lay claim to him and his affections; Leana, the mother of his firstborn and heir, and Rose, who is carrying his second child. Uncertain of his future with the scandal that rivaled any marriage in all of Christendom, and even less certain of his fate when he arrives home - Jamie sets out on a journey that will either be his redemption, or will cost him everything he loves.
This imaginative re-telling of the story of Jacob, Leah and Rachel is as heartbreaking as it's Biblical counterpart. There are many joys and sorrows that simply are part of the story, but that doesn't make it any easier to bear. The thing I loved the most about this book and the series in general, is that it's not the romantic happily-ever-after feel-good kind of story. Yes, liberties were take with the story lines, but it is a parallel work of fiction set in 1700's Scotland. That said, Whence Came a Prince is a beautiful fictional account of a timeless Biblical story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robin Rose
All of the books in this series are awesome!! It is hard to see the series come to an end, I will miss these wonderful characters that I have come to know. A must to read!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Valerie
I loved this series! I didn't want it to end. Though the books are heart wrenching, you feel as though you know Leanna, Rose and Jamie. I highly recommend this series if you love historical fiction, intrigue, and lots of twists!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 22, 2007
Deeply descriptive, at times almost to the point of excess, Liz Curtis Higgs, nevertheless, wrapped me in 18th century Scotland as if in a warm, scratchy plaid. At the conclusion, I felt more than a bit wiser to life as it was in the Lowlands of Scotland some two hundred years past. Slightly predictable for those familiar with the Biblical account of the patriarch Jacob, Whence Came a Prince is at the same time stunning in its colorful originality. It is a paradox that compels the pages to be turned.Each character has been expertly created and vividly depicts this story of honor and duty, nobility and humility, missteps and mercy. Their inner battles will forever be strikingly familiar to all peoples throughout the ages. This deeply convicting book will warm the heart and stir the conscience. How would I react to such extreme injustice and hardship? It is by far the best Liz Curtis Higgs read to date.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kathy
What a wonderful book! I thoroughly enjoyed the story of Jamie, Leana and Rose. Heart wrenching, inspirational and uplifting, Whence Came A Prince is a beautiful fictional account of a timeless biblical story. Higgs' writing is at its very best. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2006
Customer Avatar
Diana Urban
Liz Curtis Higgs reveals the breathtaking conclusion to her recent Scottish trilogy in Whence Came A Prince.At 537 pages, this book might seem like a daunting read, but Im not a fast reader, and I devoured it in less than a week. The compelling plot, characters, and setting drew me wholly into eighteenth century Scotland. In fact, I found it difficult to resurface and find myself in twenty-first century America. As Whence Came a Prince opens, we join Leana at her aunts home, Burnside Cottage, where she fled to escape the unexpected turmoil that changed her life from a dream to a nightmare. Rose discovers she is expecting, and Jaime plans for them to return to his home, Glentrool. However, Lachlan, Roses father, and circumstances both conspire to keep Jaime and Rose at Auchengray, Lachlans holding. Throughout the series, Higgs has shown Lachlan to be a conniving character solely interested in his own gain. He remains true to character in the third book, and Higgs treats us to some scenes from his point of view so we can fully appreciate his nastiness.Once again, Jaime and the two sisters face a situation impossible to cope with except for Gods grace. Jaime at last outwits Lachlan at his own game and leaves for Glentrool with his family, fearing the reception he will receive from Evan, the brother he deceived. He need not have worried, because Evan welcomes him and his family with open arms. As they continue their journey, tragedy strikes, devastating the small group of travelers. Then they arrive at Jaimes home to find another terrible event has occurred. Through all that happens, God is faithful to each of them. Only He can orchestrate our lives perfectly, as He did for Jacob, Leah, and Rachel. Higgs does a wonderful job of portraying events as they might have occurred in a more recent time. Whence Came a Prince reminds us weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning (Psalm 30:5.) The conclusion left me satisfied.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2005
Customer Avatar
julia wen
I thought this book was absolutley amazing! I finished the book in one day and was not dissapointed in it. Hurray for Leanna! She finally gets her reward for her faithfulness and her sacrifices. I'm sorry about Rose though, like Jamie said he can't please two people at once. I cannot wait until the next book comes out. God bless Liz Higgs for her amazing writing talents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2005
Customer Avatar
Bekah Germano
This series was incredible. The characters were amazingly HUMAN. No one, at any time, came across as perfect, nor did the situations always work out perfectly, like any most other Christian fiction books. The story is heart-wrenching and pulls the reader in so much so that the melancholy mood of the book stays with you once you've put it down. I can't say enough about these books. Whenever anyone asks me for suggestions of Christian romance books to read, these are the first ones a I recommend. Thank you, Mrs. Higgs for the incredible journey.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2005
Customer Avatar
Renee
Finally, justice for Leana! (Sorry Rose) I really felt bad for Jamie whom, in the end, really loved both sisters. Whew! what a burden it was for him? I can't wait to see what the next book is like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2005
Customer Avatar
Beverly Olojan
While on vacation this week I had a chance to read Whence Came a Prince by Liz Curtis Higgs. At the end of book 2, I wasn't sure I wanted to read book 3. My heart felt so battered after reading Fair is the Rose! Nevertheless, when I got my hands on book three, I decided to read it. So, now I've read the WHOLE thing--it's one THICK book!--and I was not disappointed. The book still took me on a roller coaster of emotion but in the end, I felt satisfied with the ending. If you've read the first two books, you know that the third just couldn't have a happily-ever after for everyone, but the ending did satisfy me, and I can truthfully say I'm glad I read the book. A few comments on the story itself--based on the Biblical story of Jacob, Rachel and Leah--Liz Curtis Higgs does a superb job of transporting this into anothing time and place. Honestly, this story would probably have not worked in an era other than the 1800's and most likely couldn't have worked without the customs of Scotland during that time period. The setting of this story is so rich and interwoven into the plot, it is like a fourth main character. This story the way Liz Curtis Higgs tells it, is made for this setting even as much as the setting is made for this story. Excellent!My only negative comment--which seems petty really--is that the character of Leanna seems too perfect at times. I saw much more growth in Rose and Jamie over the arc of the trilogy than I did of Leanna. Any flaws she does struggle with are very internal and kept from others so she appears very perfect in her reactions to difficult situations etc. I loved the growth of Rose and Jamie and felt it was very realistic. All in all, I would highly recommend this book but ONLY if you've read the first two! This is truly a story that does not stand alone. It needs the first two to place it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whence Came a Prince - eBook Lowlands of Scotland Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 23, 2005
Customer Avatar
Suzanne Rodolico
I love the whole series: Thorn In My Heart, Fair Is The Rose and Whence Came A Prince. Liz Curtis Higgs has an awesome way of following the Bible with these stories and making them so riveting...you can't put the book down! I can't wait to read more of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.