Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Your God is Too Safe - eBook

Multnomah Books Your God is Too Safe - eBook

Your God is Too Safe thoughtfully explores why Christians get stuck in the place of complacency, dryness, and tedium and how to move on to new levels of spiritual passion! Buchanan shows how most Christians begin their spiritual journey with excitement and enthusiasm only to get bogged down in a "borderland"---an in-between space beyond the "old life" but short of the abundant, adventurous existence promised by Jesus. Citing Jonah, Buchanan examines the problem of "borderland living" where doubt, disappointment, guilt, and wonderlessness keep people in a quagmire of mediocrity. He then offers effective solutions to get unstuck and move into a bold, unpredictable, exhilarating walk with Christ.

Winner of the 2002 Word Guild's God Uses Ink Award in the Nonfiction category.

Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Your God is Too Safe - eBook
Review 1 for Your God is Too Safe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Danger can be a good thing

Date:December 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
AlandWynda
Location:Minot, ND
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark Buchanan writes with clarity and purpose. He does not want readers to simply go through his books. Rather, the author wants to challenge you and make you think. He uses Scripture, often parts we may have skimmed over or not truly thought enough about, to frame his argument. Then, on that foundation he builds with images and word pictures to give you a visual you can see and understand. Through his own experiences, Buchanan shows us how to actually apply the teaching to our own lives.
This book is definitely worth the read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Your God is Too Safe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ron Rice
In a day of extreme business and shallow views (or practice) of our God, this is a challenging and much needed read. Its time for us to say goodbye to Borderland.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Your God is Too Safe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Jim Lane
One among a handful of books that I highly recommend. Bewildered Christians take heart- if you have a holy discontent with the average American church- and/or your own faith has become domesticated- read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Your God is Too Safe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 14, 2005
Customer Avatar
John Crump
Depending on where you are in your hunger and pursuit of God, this book could be a life changer. If you're complacent and happen to pick it up, you'll be very uncomfortable. If you're hungry and searching for fuel, you just found a feast!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Your God is Too Safe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2002
Customer Avatar
Matt Foster
This is powerful, rip-your-old-spiritually-dead-skin-off stuff, but with the practical (though unsurprising) tools for growing new cells and leaving what Buchanan aptly labels "borderland." I read this book on a personal retreat in succession with Eugene Peterson's "A Long Obedience In The Same Direction" and Jerry Bridges' "The Pursuit Of Holiness." Masochistic, yes, but in a good way; obviously, both God and my conscience were telling me to heed the similar message given, though differently, by all three books: that slow and steady -- and disciplined -- wins the race. If you're looking for challenging spiritual food, Buchanan may be your chef. (He's not safe, but he's good.)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Your God is Too Safe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2002
Customer Avatar
Dan Rozema
Very insightful, "hard-to-put down" book. Buchanan is an excellent writer with a great heart for the Lord. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Your God is Too Safe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2001
Customer Avatar
Dave Fitch
This book is very well written and is both thought provoking and challenging. It speaks to a heart that wants more, that is not satisfied with mediocrity and is seeking a deeper relationship with a God that is not defined by man. It is definitely on my top ten list.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Your God is Too Safe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 19, 2001
Customer Avatar
Janet Flynn
Excellent! Incredible gift of word usage. I think all readers would benefit as well as enjoy. Hard to put down but one must to digest and savor what has been read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Your God is Too Safe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2001
Customer Avatar
Robin Adams
This book has taken all the areas that God has been talking to me about and put them into words. I can study and pray about these areas in my life. I am excited to see how God is going to work in my life because of this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Your God is Too Safe - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 12, 2001
Customer Avatar
Karen
This book spoke to me in volumes. Mark Buchanan's use of examples made me feel like I wasn't the only one stuck in "borderland". Very uplifting and soul-searching.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.