Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. The Gospel of the Kingdom: Scriptural Studies in the Kingdom of God

Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co. The Gospel of the Kingdom: Scriptural Studies in the Kingdom of God

Ladd gives a clear and practical explanation of the central message of Jesus' ministry for the general reader. Avoiding technical discusions and long arguments about issues of interpretation, Ladd has instead sought to explain the Kingdom of God and the urgency of its meaning and message for our own time. Ladd's study of Jesus' parables and the Sermon on the Mount is as devotional as it is instructive. In the words of Owsald Smith, Ladd's explanation of the concept of the Kingdom of God will "make the Bible a new book."
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Gospel of the Kingdom: Scriptural Studies in the Kingdom of God
Review 1 for The Gospel of the Kingdom: Scriptural Studies in the Kingdom of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent explanation of Kingdom of God.

Date:September 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Helga Mortensen
Location:Kalamazoo, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ladd looks at a number of aspects of the Kingdom. While this is written for laymen as a collection of sermons or lectures, it touches on very important issues that affect our outlook and ministry strategy. Though somewhat dated still powerful. Many theologians stuck in dispensationalism and cultural isolation followed his lead into a more biblical view of the Kingdom today and tomorrow, in our hearts and in the world. Our God reigns.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Gospel of the Kingdom: Scriptural Studies in the Kingdom of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

pure Gold !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date:January 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
david
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
here is a study that truly shows forth, explains, and reflects the good news of the gospel in its fullest biblical sense. (which is way way more than just being forgiven of sins and going to heaven when one dies)
the gospel of the kingdom is the good news (gospel means good news), of the kingdom of God that Jesus announced and accomplished, and is what Jesus and the apostels preached, proclaimed and held forth in though word and deed. Ladd's study is eminently rich in expounding the biblical depth and truth of what this is. clearly written and not just verbose theological jargon, this book aims to renew the mind and heart as well by explaining and setting forth the biblical view of reality as seen through the gospel of the kingdom. this book will shed an enormous amount of light on what the bible is about as a whole by pinpointing what Jesus was all about- the kingdom of God. must reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Gospel of the Kingdom: Scriptural Studies in the Kingdom of God
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

book by a great teacher

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
davem
Location:fort scott kansas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book on recommendation of a friend and I love it it is not a quick read but if you are a student of the word and want to understand fhe Kingdom of God in a deeper way I would highly recommand it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Gospel of the Kingdom: Scriptural Studies in the Kingdom of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bill Welch
One of the best books I have read on the subject. Very smart man that writes on the average readers level. Revelation on the kingdom unlike anyone else I have read in relation to the hear and now and the future. His Theology of the NT book expands on this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Gospel of the Kingdom: Scriptural Studies in the Kingdom of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2007
Customer Avatar
Neal Alexander
This book was my first venture into the writings of George Eldon Ladd and I was extremely impressed! Dr. Ladd stated in the introduction that this book was not meant to be a full treatment of the subject of the kingdom of God, but a devotional look at his particular view (already/not yet). Dr. Ladd fulfilled his purpose and has offered his readers an accessible, clear and powerful presentation of what it means to be about promoting God's kingdom.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Gospel of the Kingdom: Scriptural Studies in the Kingdom of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
Fitz-maurice Linton
It was the first time that I had ever received such a clear, simple and biblically sound understanding of the Kingdom of God. I wish, however, that Ladd had said more about the relationship between the Kingdom of God and the Person and Work of Jesus - approximating what he did in his "A Theology of the New Testament". I would have liked to see him linking it also to the descent and work of the Holy Spirit. At any rate it does form a needed bridge between sound evangelical theology and authentic Pentecostal/Charismatic experience. Every Bible believing Christian, student and minister should have a copy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Gospel of the Kingdom: Scriptural Studies in the Kingdom of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 2, 2006
Customer Avatar
David D. Flowers
I want to echo what Mike said 4 years ago. Ladd's book is essential in understanding the Kingdom of God. For an older book... the read is superb! I recommend this book to all those who want to understand the power of the Kingdom that is already, but not yet! I also want to suggest you read "The Upside-Down Kingdom" by Donald Kraybill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Gospel of the Kingdom: Scriptural Studies in the Kingdom of God
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 9, 2002
Customer Avatar
Mike Schwiebert
This is an excellent book by Ladd. Ladd establishes a scriptural foundation for the now/not yet view of the Kingdom.He contends that the central theme of our Gospel should be the same as the central theme of Christ's Gospel - The Kingdom of God. This book is thorough yet readable. If you have strugled with understanding what exactly is the Kingdom of God, this book is for you.I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.