Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Multnomah Books Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His - eBook

Multnomah Books Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His - eBook
Review 1 for Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hallelujah! Oh, this is beauty.full!

Date:August 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Glory be to God! This book was music to my ears. I'm SO glad I got the opportunity to read it. Why? Well, number 1, I love to read and number 2, God and marriage are very important to me as a young lady. Most especially God. I love how every book I read in the Christian genre (especially in Non-Fiction) deepens my relationship with Him. Yes, this book will mostly talk about romance, marriage and all, but right now after just finishing it, I can't help but praise God and think about how wonderful He is. I spent one whole day finishing this one. Reading, praying, repeating the words. I can't remember a book that has gotten so many 'Amen!' out of me.
Won't you try it? Even if you are already married maybe this will be a perfect gift for someone you know. This encouraged me so very much I don't have any words. One, mere 5 stars review does not do it justice. I feel changed. I feel renewed. And I definitely have a new song of hope singing in my heart as I'm writing this.
Thank You, Jesus! Thank You Ladies!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read with awesome advice.

Date:August 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Raylee
Location:Clinton, MO
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really liked this book. I think that praying for your (future) husband is thought of as taboo, but it should definately be a common practice. More marriages would stand a chance if the spouses asked for God's hand in them. This book provided many other reasons to seek God's help as you reach an age where meeting your future mate is likely and common. I would highrely recommend this book to anyone who is or plans on ever being in a relationship. i recieved this book for Free from Multnomah publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Skatersmom
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my 18 year old daughter. I read it also and found it to be an excellent book all the way around. I would highly recommend this book for any woman who is believing God for a husband.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Letter written with Love

Date:March 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
angelfuz
Location:Ohio
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Theme Verse of the Book: Hebrews 11:1 “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” (NIV)
Encouraging Verse: Ephesians 6:18 “And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.” (NIV)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
When Tricia Goyer and Robin Gunn first started writing “Praying for your Future Husband,” they found that instead of a manual filled with dos and don’ts, they wrote a book filled with heartfelt testimonies. As I read through the pages, it felt like a letter written from one sister in Christ to another. Each chapter left me hanging on for more, yet got me thinking about what was just said.
The chapters were easy to read, with helpful discussion questions at the end of each one. The book included just the right amount of their testimony, as well as short testimonies of others. One of my favorites was a story about a Jewish man and his Christian girlfriend. As things got more serious between them they got engaged. It was during this period that he told her about his beliefs. Since their faiths contradicted, they broke off the engagement. However, they remained good friends and her faith was a shining example to him. Once he accepted Jesus Christ as his Savior, they dated again. After much prayer and consideration he preposed. Now they are happily married, and sharing the gospel with the Jewish community.
The writers summarized the points in each chapter by putting a list of what to pray for at the end of each one. The book taught me what to look for in a godly man, especially in the example of Robin’s husband. Although this book is primarily for young women, there are principles young men can benefit from too. The layout is very appealing to young women because it includes quotes, scripture verses and places to write your own thoughts. Even when you are finished reading, you are encouraged to put the principles learned into practice, by having 365 Bible verses for use in prayer over the span of a year. I would recommend this for anyone who wants to discover the power of prayer. It is also good material to use in discussion groups.
I received this book for free from the publisher.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

You single? Go ahead, read it.

Date:January 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
kelisni
Age:25-34
Gender:female
This book was a very interesting read for me. I liked the concept, but was very skeptical about reading it. Being someone who is single and has no prospects right now for marriage, I was getting annoyed with the book in that it took quite a while to make the point that some women never find their husband.
Each chapter is something different to pray for your husband, such as his heart, for strength, for protection, etc... Within each chapter, there is a personal story to go along with the theme of the chapter. Obviously there is a recurring theme throughout the book - the girl got the guy. However, towards the end of the book you were finally reading stories about girls who haven't gotten married yet and how they are coping, for lack of a better term.
This book is a great concept, but I can see how a girl could get her heart broken by putting so much hope and effort into praying for her husband, whereas putting that first in her life instead of God. Each chapter ends with a prayer for your husband, along with a prayer for you and then some lines to jot your thoughts down of the chapter. This tool can be useful, in my opinion, if used between a mother and daughter or a teen and her mentor. Knowing my heart and how I was, I can see how a girl can focus solely on finding the right man, and when you realize he's not coming anytime soon, get really discouraged and depressed.
Our life isn't about finding a spouse, but about living our life for the glory and honor of God. If He wants you to be married, you will get married. However, in the meantime I would advise you to read this book and start praying for your husband, but realize that God's plan for you may not involve a man.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource. Loved it!

Date:January 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another winner from two great writers! I received this book to review, but just because it’s designed for teens and single gals doesn’t mean there’s not substance for the rest of us. The insights and prayer suggestions shared can be applied to other relationships and offer good advice for our own spiritual growth. The twelve topics covered include patience, understanding, trust, contentment, and commitment. I’ve been married 38 years, but discovered new ways to pray for my own husband. I love the list of 52 Scriptures to pray that is in the back of the book. That is an excellent resource to use in praying for anyone.
This is a book every teen girl should read and apply. The authors share vulnerably from their own experiences, showing what they did wrong and right. Stories and poems from others and questions to consider are included in each chapter. Praying for Your Future Husband is a practical book and a real treasure! Don’t miss out on reading and sharing this excellent resource.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Definitely a must-read for all teenage girls!

Date:December 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
MoriahN
Location:Maine
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a 15-year-old girl who's been praying for my future husband for a while, and I found the insights in this book really inspiring, helpful, and encouraging. I appreciated the way Robin and Tricia shared their stories as well as the stories of girls who prayed specific things for their future husbands and how God answered. That was really cool. I am so glad I read this book as it explored different areas girls can pray for their future husbands- some that I'd never thought of before! Every young woman should read this book. And if you are single, I encourage you to be praying for your future spouse. Your prayers can make a profound impact on their life! God bless!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Insightful for any woman at any age.

Date:November 13, 2011
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My mother prays for my future husband on a regular basis. Occasionally, when I'm not in an exhaustion coma, I'll whisper a prayer for the man God may elect to bring into my life. Though Robin Jones Gunn and Tricia Goyer's book Praying for Your Future Husband is marketed for middle and high school girls, I found the book to be an excellent introduction to the blessing of praying for others (especially one's future husband) in a society that is rushed, yet filled with moral and sexual denigration.
Filled with true stories of married and single women alike, Praying does an excellent job of not glorifying married life over the single life. In fact, Gunn and Goyer encourage their young female to live full lives during their single years. Additionally, while living full lives, Praying encourages young girls to pray fervently for their future husbands. Tackling areas such as patience, understanding, contentment, protection, and even intimacy, the book offers chapters tailored to certain aspects of a husband's character that should be examined. At the end of each chapter, the reader is given a prayer to pray for her future husband and for herself. For young girls, they are not only educated in what characteristics a Godly husband should possess, but they are also instructed to develop these traits in their own personal lives. Praying not only helps teen girls pray for their future husbands, but it also has the potential to help girls live full, Christ-like lives whether they marry or not.
PS- The excellent folks over at Multnomah's Blogging for Books gave me a free copy of Praying for Your Future Husband in exchange for an honest review. No lies here.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read for all single girls

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mary Englund Murphy
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must read for every single Christian girl no matter her age. I wish I had had this book during my single years. The direction and encouragement this book offers is invaluable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.