Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Barbour Publishing Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook

Barbour Publishing Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.423 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 out of 2492%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Review 1 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Trashy. Has no place in a Christian marketplace.

Date:March 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Constance
Location:Narvon, PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The book begins with a murder scene that is very dark, beyond normal.
There is constast and intense disrespect for men that is not Godly or inspiring. Men are portrayed as weak and ignorant. The author does not encourage women in a difficult marriage to love their husbands, but to disrespect them. It glamorizes an attraction to a man that is not a woman's husband.
This book has no place in a Christian marketplace.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
ladybady
Location:Clarksville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One minute you'll be laughing, the next you'll be on the edge of your seat straining to read faster! Great story!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book holds humor and truths.

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denise
Location:Langley, BC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
A fantastic book with a dry humor that kept me laughing nonstop. At the same time, this author hides truths that makes this book wonderfully down to earth revealing a God who accepts us flawed humans and loves us with our shortcomings.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Strong women versus weak men

Date:April 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
julieb
Location:Vancouver,Wa
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Even though this book is an easy read, it has a very unbelievable plot. The women are super heros, while the men are frequently depicted as weaklings, both spiritually and physically.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Fun to read but filled with unbelievable feats!

Date:April 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
dn65
Location:Georgia, USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have nothing against young women who think like men and can hold their own in a gun fight, but this book really pushed the envelope for me. The story line was interesting and had many twists and turns before ending up with an "all's well". I think I enjoyed this book the least of the Sophie's Daughters trilogy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

agreat read

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
eagleent
Location:Roswell, NM
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent book, well written and answers questions about what happened to Sophie's daughters from a previous story.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jane
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't put the series down, I really loved this book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loads of Fun

Date:July 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sally McClellan is on her way to visit her sister Mandy, who's about to deliver her third child. It's a long way from Texas to Montana in the 1800s, and there are plenty of ways for travel to go amiss. Indeed, Sally's party is ambushed by dry gulchers, and Sally, dressed as a man, is shot from her horse and falls over a cliff.
She pretty much lands beside frontier artist Logan McKenzie, who had been painting down the slope, and who carts her back to his cabin and the Indian woman, Wise Sister, who lives next door since her trapper husband has died. Sally's leg is broken and Wise Sister tends it.
Sally is a young woman who believes her worth to her Pa is as a wrangler and that she shouldn't admit to having a soft, feminine side. Logan, on the other hand, does numerous sketches of Sally (at first without her knowledge) and revels in the complex person she is. However, he's so enamored of his artist life (including winters in New York to sell the paintings he's done all summer in and near Yellowstone) that he's sure he'd be a poor husband. Sally can't see what use a man who is an artist is in the frontier. To her, an elk is for meat, not for painting. Somehow the two manage to fall in love anyway.
Meanwhile the dry gulchers had searched the bodies and saddlebags, and realized one cowpoke was missing. They dare not leave a witness alive and begin to track Sally and Logan, but Wise Sister keeps them hidden. Soon two friends of sister Mandy are sent to search for the overdue Sally.
Wrangler in Petticoats is the second book in the Sophie's Daughter series by Mary Connealy, and a fun addition to the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FUN, FAMILY AND PETTICOATS GALORE!!

Date:April 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Julie Lessman
Location:St. Louis
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hear me on this: Nobody writes historical romance with humor like Mary Connealy!! How do I know? Because I read A LOT and few authors are able to set my fingers atingle at the mere touch of their books like Ms. Connealy. Why you may ask? Because this woman is supremely capable of making me laugh, swoon and palpitate—and that’s just on the first page! From there it’s a high-speed chase with horses and buggies through a plot as wild as a bucking bronc and a love story just as crazy and fun. Which means on a sigh-worthy scale of one to ten, a Connealy love story is usually a twenty.
Who knows, maybe a twenty-five for her latest series entitled “Sophie’s Daughters,” which captures the romantic pursuits of the grownup McClellen daughters from another Connealy classic, Petticoat Ranch. It’s hard to say which of the three books in this series is the best—Doctor in Petticoats, Wrangler in Petticoats or Sharpshooter in Petticoats— because this is clearly Connealy’s pinnacle work so far, in my humble opinion, and trust me on this—the woman just gets better and better! So if you like lots of laughs, thrills and … ahem … gentle passion in your romance, pick up some petticoats and “slip” into a great time!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beth McClellan's little sister all grown up

Date:April 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beth McClellan's little sister, Sally, has grown up a lot since the debut title in the Sophie's Daughters series and is about to have a romantic adventure of her own. After her party is attacked on their journey to visit Mandy, another McClellan sister, Sally finds herself the sole survivor of the brutal ambush. Sally is fortunate enough to be rescued by Logan McKenzie, an artist who lives in the wild mountains of Montana. She's nursed back to health by Logan and his Indian housekeeper, Wise Sister, and finds herself challenged by the idea of a man who makes his living through art, not hard labour. Wary of unconventional men after Mandy's marriage to gold-miner Sidney brought her nothing but trouble, Sally tries to ignore the feelings she has for kind, considerate Logan. But once they find themselves on the run from the men who killed the rest of Sally's travelling party, Sally can't help but see admirable traits in the man who sets out to protect her. Could she really spend the rest of her life with a sensitive man who prefers painting to hunting? Maybe he's the perfect match for a woman who carries a gun and refuses to ride side-saddle...
Mary Connealy is fast becoming one of my favourite historical novelists. Her romances are full of feisty heroines, excellent one-liners and lots of action. While I didn't warm up to Sally as much as I did Beth, this was still a very enjoyable read.
Sally is probably the most unconventional woman you'll find in a romance set in Montana in 1882: she wears trousers, doesn’t ride side-saddle and is a better shot that most of the men in her hometown in Texas. If you thought a female doctor was an unusual character in Doctor in Petticoats, I'm sure you'd admit that a female wrangler is not the norm either. I found Sally to be a bit more stubborn than Beth, but maybe this is because her story wasn’t quite as comic as Beth’s. With Doctor in Petticoats, I found myself drawn into the story by Beth’s sarcasm and wittiness, whereas Sally was quite arrogant and immature in her demands for Logan and Wise Sister to leave her alone and let her make her way to Mandy’s. Of course, this can probably be attributed to her youth, as she is a lot younger than Beth. She became a more endearing character as the plot progressed, and I came to realise that her dismissal of Logan stemmed from her fear of ending up in an unhappy marriage like Mandy. Despite her lack of conventionality, Sally worries and frets over the biggest decision any romantic heroine will make – who shall I marry?
I’ve always been more fond of Beta heroes than Alpha males, and Logan fit the bill quite well. While I wasn’t pleased by how easily nature and his art could detract his attention from Sally (although I’m sometimes tempted to unplug my fiancé’s computer when he’s not paying attention to me!) he was incredibly sensitive to Sally’s needs and didn’t mind her crying when she was in pain or worried about her sister. As Sally herself witnessed, it’s not often that a man can handle a woman becoming incredibly emotional, so that fact alone made me admire Logan. I also found the details about his art incredibly fascinating, particularly as the author suggested that he was dabbling in expressionism, an art movement that I've studied at university. I’ll admit that those who are less knowledgeable when it comes to the art world might not be interested in Logan’s work, but I’m sure most readers will be able to appreciate the descriptions of the scenery that he paints.
Other than Sally’s stubbornness, my only other complaint would have to be that the romance is slow to develop. I was more than halfway through the book before I really felt that Sally and Logan became interested in each other, and while I appreciated the time that the author gave the characters to develop independently, I felt that the romance suddenly escalated at this point and felt a bit rushed. Of course, I was very happy with the outcome, but the development of their relationship did feel like it was compressed into the latter half of the novel, which wasn’t ideal. For this reason, I’d have to say that I preferred the first novel in the series, although this wouldn’t in any way put me off reading the last book, which focuses on Mandy’s story.
During the second instalment in the Sophie’s Daughters series Sally McClellan comes to learn a lot about herself and her thoughts on love and marriage with the help of the sensitive artist who becomes her rescuer. Fans of Mary Connealy and wild west romances won’t be disappointed by this novel, and it’s sure to make your heart pound and put a smile on your face. 8/10
Many thanks to NetGalley and Barbour for providing a copy of this book in return for an honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great

Date:March 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
maxie
Location:DUNMOR KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WAS WONDERFUL FROM FIRST TO LAST. DID NOT WANT TO PUT IT DOWN.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAT STORY, FULLOF SUSPENSE

Date:February 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
MIMI D
Location:ALEXANDER, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I REALLY LIKED THIS BOOK! THE STORY MOVED RIGHT ALONG, WAS SUSPENSEFUL, AND KEPT MY INTEREST UNTIL THE END!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Review Copy Provided - www.netgalley.com

Date:February 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
The Phantom Paragrapher
Location:Tauranga, New Zealand
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review: Wrangler in Petticoats - Sophie's Daughters Book #2- Mary Connealy- Oct 2010
In Book #1 we saw Sally's sister Mandy get married to Sidney and move out far into the world of isolation now in Wrangler in Petticoats , Mandy is about to have her third child in three years - that's three children all under the age of three "wow". Sally, being the dutiful sister begs her Ma and Pa to let her ride to see Mandy and stay with her during the birth and help out afterwards. They are not keen for Sally to go alone , so when they hear that a group is heading towards Mandy's way, Sally joins their tour group. All goes well until tragedy strikes and the group is bombarded by outlaws , with a bang,bang, bang- all of the group is left for dead and Sally clinging on her last breath. In comes our hero of the novel , Artist and Cowboy Logan Mackenzie, he finds Sally and takes her back to the American Indian Camp where he is staying to "Wise Woman" who is a doctor of sorts . Here at the camp, Sally and Logan connect though of course Sally's mind is only on one thing to get back on track and hurry to Mandy before it's too late . Will Sally reach Mandy in time for the baby to be born or will she arrive just in time ? As like most Christian Westerns , we start to see romantic sparks fly even stronger between Sally and Logan and when he proposes will Sally accept or will the relationship between her sister Mandy and husband Sidney cloud her judgement and ruin the opportunity for her to be happy?
Find out what happens with Sally and Logan in Mary Connealy's Book #2 Wrangler in Petticoats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
reba
Location:Oroville, Ca
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 2nd in a series of 3. They are all great reading, action packed and Christian based. Hard to put down any of these books. Really enjoyed them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great read! One of the few I would read again!

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
She has done an excellent job! Really, this was a fun, action packed romance that captured me from the first page. I look forward to the next book!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Connealy does it again!

Date:December 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Myra Johnson
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
How does Mary Connealy do it? Each of her books is so good that I wonder how she can possible top it. But she always does! Wrangler in Petticoats is another enjoyable romantic adventure, this one set in the wilds of Montana. The opening scene is an edge-of-your-seat shoot-'em-up in classic Connealy style. In this novel she pairs a tough Texas tomboy with a passionate artist. Adding sweet touches of femininity to her heroine and perfectly layered masculine bravado to her hero, Connealy renders a charming and yet lively courtship between the two. This is a story that will linger long after you close the book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Second in a series, or rather fifth, or eighth

Date:November 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Creative Madness Mama
Location:Arlington, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not sure why I seem surprised. Reading a story from romantic comedian Christian Historical Fiction author Mary Connealy always sends me through a whirl of emotions. Wrangler in Petticoats is another one in a long line of entertaining reads with big messages. Through the pages a reader will be taken into a romance that is full of blushes and shy grins, but also giggles and plain out chuckles. Yet you also get deep conversations on topics of discussion like marriage, family, and true love. That’s what this book is about.
Marriage, good ones and bad ones. Marriage for love and marriage for convenience. Family that means nothing and family that means life as well as family that just happens to exist. Then love. Love on the offsets of a lie, love that thrives in truth and love that is hidden because of propriety or situation. It is always a journey with Mary and of course I look forward to more.
I love what she is currently doing. For those that are new… Wrangler in Petticoats is the second book in the Sophie’s Daughter’s Series, but Sophie is a character from the Lassoed in Texas Trilogy. Yet, there are also characters brought over from the Montana Marriages Trilogy. So… in essence, Sophie’s Daughters Series is a continuation of all of thee above!
*Thanks to Barbour Books for providing a copy for review.*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

action packed historical romance

Date:November 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sandra Lee Smith
Location:Tempe, AZ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mary Connealy does it again in this action packed western that starts with a bang. Literally. You are always entertained with Ms Connealy's books from start to finish. Her heroines are true women of the west. You definitely had to be feisty, strong, resourceful and brave to tackle the historical West and her characters reflect those qualities.
WRANGLER IN PETTICOATS is the second in a series featuring Sophie's Daughters from Petticoat Ranch. I love how their lives intertwine. In DOCTOR IN PETTICOATS, we had glimpses of Mandy's life and we definitely partook of her life in WRANGLER IN PETTICOATS even thought he story was mainly Sally's. So I can hardly wait for January when SHARPSHOOTER IN PETTICOATS debuts and we find a happy ending for Mandy. Oh I'm definitely looking forward to it.
Don't be distracted by the cover of WRANGLER IN PETTICOATS which is Monument Valley, Arizona. The story takes place in the awesome setting of Yellowstone in Montana. Ms. Connealy always brings her settings to life and makes them a distinct part of the story. So be prepared for Yellowstone.
I definitely recommend this book. It was sent to me from Barbour (the publisher) for review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jean Nadler
Location:Orangevale,CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The writer kept my interest through the story and I am looking forward to reading more of this family. I love a story line that is a series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wrangler in Petticoats - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great love story with book 2 of series

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jean Bright
Location:Brandon, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book continues in the series and it doesn't leave a gap between the 2 books. I couldn't put the book down until it finished it. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>