Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook

Thomas Nelson Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook

On Pentecost, the Spirit came down and ignited the hearts and minds of believers to preach the gospel and live out justice for the forgotten. Max Lucado wonders, Might it happen again? Does God still free hearts, minds and bodies from the ravages of sin and poverty? The answer is yes! He does it through you, and in Outlive Your Life he challenges you to make a difference that will last beyond your time on earth. Take a stand for children, widows, and families who only need an opportunity to live.

One hundred percent of the author royalties from Outlive Your Life products will benefit children and families through World Vision and other ministries of faith-based compassion.

Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(232 Reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (232 reviews)
5 stars
165
4 stars
55
3 stars
10
2 stars
0
1 star
2
97 out of 10097%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Review 1 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Small Group Bible Study Book

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit that at the beginning of this book, I wasn't too excited. I have read my share of Max Lucado books. He often has great devotional insight, but I figured I had heard it all before.
As I read, I discovered that this book was different. I got into the meat of the book, and I realized that the premise of his book was to live the gospel we preach in tangible ways. You can tell a hungry child all you want that Jesus loves you, but what will that mean to him or her without giving a hearty meal to the child in need? We tend to get so caught up in our own lives that we just don't slow down enough to put into practice what we profess to believe.
One of the messages that really touched me was when the Apostle Paul was brought up. We know that he was the chief persecutor of Christians, and then Jesus met him and changed his life forever. Lucado pointed out that even those we think are far gone and seem like they will never turn to the Lord should not be the ones that we abandon and say they will never change. We have to keep praying. In fact, as Lucado points out in another chapter, we should pray first, not last.
This would be a fantastic book use in a small group Bible study or devotional time. There is a discussion guide in the back of the book. But if you are not willing to put action behind what you are learning, you and your group would be wasting your time. One person can make a difference. If everyone on earth believed that he or she could not make a difference, nothing would ever change. He challenges us to be like Mother Theresa who, though dead, still lives on through her tremendous work with the orphans of Calcutta.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Max's writing is to the point and speaks to us

Date:July 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
cjbol
Location:N. Manchester, IN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just beginning to study this book, but like it very much
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Petite Choux
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great everyday challenges on our thinking and actions. Would recommend to anyone at a crossroads in life or their faith. Think would make a great study/group/missions programme.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:December 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
smdriver
Location:Endicott, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am using this as a basis for an adult Sunday school class. We are now discussing various mission projects we can do as a group, or as individuals. This can be a life changing book, both for those who read it and for those it encourages us to serve. I would highly recommend it, and have already told several of my friends that this is a must read book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jamie
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Book -Outlive Your Life
I finally finished reading this Book and I am sad to say that I was quite disappointed with this book.
Normally I can't get enough of Mr. Lucado's books, but this time I had to start and re-start reading this book over and over. Not that the topic was not interesting, but I found it hard to read as it just seemed like a few of Max's books had been combined into one single book and had a new title slapped on it.
The only part of the book that got me thinking was the story at the beginning of the book called "Finding Father Benjamin". If I were to pass away like Father Benjamin, would my friends show people the things that I had done... Would they be able to speak about where I lived and what I had done with my life.
I also did not like how Mr. Lucado took liberties in the retelling of the bible stories used to illustrate his points. It would have been nice if only one version of the bible was used and not a mish-mash of different volumes.
All in all, I can not recommend this book as it does not teach anything new, but uses the ideas from some of Mr. Lucado's books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Practical, Biblical, inspiring

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Maggie Jackson
Age:25-34
Gender:female
I really liked this book, if by "like" you mean it shook me to the core about my perceived importance in the world. When you first read the title, you assume a prosperity theology-esque message where you get to establish a legacy for your own sake. You don't have to read past the prologue to find that this book promotes a life lived as anything but a self-indulgent endeavor. The idea that we are meant to serve others, with the ultimate goal of promoting God, is not unique to the author, but Mr. Lucado has a particularly accessible way of fleshing that idea out. It is a relatively easy read, but not in a watered-down kind of way. He combines scripture and practical application in an engaging way that drives you to turn the pages, and all the while tugs at you to put the book down and get busy serving already. It is not preachy or impractical either. Much time is spent sharing true stories of "ordinary people" doing extraordinary things for God. This book will inspire you to think outside your own self comforts and see how you might impact the very lives of others. I recommend it to anyone asking the "what next?" question with regard to a life lived for Jesus. If you are unsatisfied with a self-serving, armchair kind of faith, this book will resonate with you. I give it four out of five stars.
I received this book free of charge from booksneeze.com in exchange for my honest review
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great resource for the church.

Date:February 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
okprepguru
Location:Broken Arrow, OK
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In a world full of injustice, poverty, oppression, and malaise, it is easy to become hardened, cynical, and disengaged. The believer in Christ, however, is called to something greater – to reflect Jesus to all men, especially those who are in distress.
This is the theme of Max Lucado’s newest book, Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make a Difference.
Outlive Your Life uses the events of Acts 1-12 as a paradigm for discussing what God expects from believers today. Each chapter begins with a Scripture and ends with a Scripture and a suggested prayer. Chapters feature matters like the ordinary nature of God’s servants, the need to get out of our shells, to put the greater (spiritual) good ahead of lesser (physical) ones, to work with fellow Christians, to be hospitable, to assist others in need, to stand up in the face of persecution, to do good, to be a source of strength for the dispossessed, to remain humble before God, to remove prejudices in life, to resist arrogance, to pray continually, and, based on Matthew 25, remember that when you help people in distress you help Jesus. The book ends with a discussion and action guide designed to promote further discussion and action.
Lucado is a very vivid author. He seamlessly takes you from the first century to the twenty-first century with his illustrations and examples (although I wished that he would keep the first century as the first century and the twenty-first as the twenty-first and not blend the images as he does occasionally!). He writes in a familiar and understandable way.
On the whole, the book is theologically sound and has a message that must be proclaimed.
It is a necessary call in the midst of a time and place more devoted to materialism and consumerism than authentic New Testament Christianity and its emphasis on clearing prejudice, assisting the downtrodden and dispossessed, and reliance on God and not self. May many come to a better understanding of these truths!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Book

Date:January 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make a Difference By: Max Lucado
I really enjoy reading Max Lucado I have never been disappointed in his books. In Outlive Your Life again I was not disappointed. The book was inspirational and I learned a great deal. Whithout giving the book away what Max Lucado does is make you think. He challenges the reader to come out from their comfort zone and take notice of our surroundings. We do not need to be a famous author, great evangelist, or preacher. We just need to share with people what Jesus did for us. To live our lives as we are forgiven children of God. That we should not be consumed by being busy, because if we live our life like this we miss out on God's glory. God is good and He wants us to demonstrate His love for others through us. We just need to stop getting in the way of God and allow Him to work through us. Inspirational: there was on part in the book I did love and cannot contain myself from talking about it. It was about the famous Violinist. He went in street clothes and looked like your ordinary person. Well he went down to the subway and he played and played. Some people listened and others were to busy to even notice. In the end he made $32.00 for the day. A man who plays concerts for $100.00 a ticket and probably makes more than that in an hour only made $32.00. The interesting part was that people missed out. Just like some people missed out when Jesus came as a man and walked with men. This made me realize we should never be to busy to stop and take in the day that God made just for us and that is what was magnificent about the book. You think I sure did I hope you take something from this book I sure did. God Bless.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Makes you think

Date:December 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimberly Sandman
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was used as a small group discussion at church. It opens your eyes and really makes you think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Outlive your life!

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Daughter of YHVH
Location:KY
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Dear friend, May I share a story that is very dear to my heart? It's a story of hillbillies and simple folk, net casters and tax collectors. Astory of a movement that exploded like a just-opened fire hydrant out of Jerusalem and sipilled into the ends of the eart: into the streets of Paris, the districts of Roim, and the ports of Athens, Istanbul, Shanghai, and Buenos Aires. Astory so mighty, controversial, head spinning, and life changinn that two millenia later we wonder: Might it happen again? Heaven knows we hope so. These are devastating times: 1.75 billion people are desperately poor, natural disasters are gouging entire nations, and economic uncertainty still reigns across the globe. But you and I have been given an opportunity to make a big difference. What if we did? What if we rocked the world with hope? Infiltrated all corners with God's love and life? We are created by a great God to do great works. He invites us to outlive our lives, not just in heaven, but here on earth. Let's live our lives in such a way that the world will be glad we did."
In this book, Max Lucado uses the example of a clam shell, and how, when we are able to help someone, sometimes close ourselves to the idea, thus retreating into our clamshells.
He also used examples from Scripture. Like how believers in the book of Acts would always team up in order to help those in need. They would all sell their property, possesions, anything they could do without, to help those who were in need, so that the responsibilty would not always fall only the leaders of the church.
"We are common folk. We sit in the bleachers, eat at diners, change diapers, and wear our favorite team's ball cap. Fans don't wave when we pass. Servants don't scurry when we come home. Chauffeurs don't drive our cars; butlers don't open our doors or draw our baths. Doormen don't greet us, and security doesn't protects us. We are regular folk. And we wonder: Does God use people like us? He did. God stampeded the first-century society with swaybacks, not thoroughbreds. Before Jesus came along, the disciples were loading rucks, coaching soccer, and selling Slurpee drinks at the convenience stor. Their collars were blue, and their hands were calloused, and there is no evidence that Jesus chose them because they were smarter or nicer than the guy next dorr. The one thing they had going for them was a willingness to take a step when Jesus said, "Follow me." Are you more dinghy than cruise ship? More stand-in than movie star? More blue jeans than blue bood? congratulations. God changes the world with folks like you."
In this quote, he makes the point that we don't have to be some big important person in order to be able to be able to help someone who really needs what we have to offer them.
One of my favorite quotes in this book is when Mr. Lucado says, "God doesn't call the qualified. He qualifies the called."
In one chapter he tell us that his wife sent him to the grocery store to buy a bag of bread, and how he bought everything imaginable - except the bread.
"Might we make the same mistake in a more critical arena? In an effort to do good, we can get distracted. We feed people. We encourage, heal, help, and serve. We address racial issues and poverty. Yet there is one duty we must fulfill. We can't forget the bread."
The bread in this quote being the Gospel. He makes the point that we can do all these things, but if we leave the Gospel out of it, it all means nothing.
In the back of the book, there is a discussion and action guide. It asks you questions corresponding to each chapter, and gives you ideas on how to put the message of that chapter into use in your life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Simple. Very Profound

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kelly
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is written in typical Lucado style which is incredibly easy to read and seems to be incredibly simple, even though many of the ideas contained within it are quite profound. In the book, Lucado challenges readers to see that we were each created as individuals who have the ability to make a positive impact on the world around us. He asks his readers to consider what would happen if we each did the good that we have the opportunity to achieve every single day.
I enjoyed this book because Lucado does a great job of painting a picture of the despair and bleakness that surrounds us in this world today, and challenges his readers that we can actually make a difference. His suggestions are simple, yet powerful if put into practice. This book makes everyone know that they have the skills and abilities to make their corner of the world a better place by letting Christ's light shine through in big and also seemingly small ways.
I am a member of booksneeze.com by Thomas Nelson Publishers. In exchange for writing a review, I received this book for free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Haiku Book Review

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
tsharrison
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Read similar books
But Lucado's patent style
Makes it a must read
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

"Outlive Your Life" by Max Lucado Book Review

Date:May 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Paul Emery
Location:Magnolia, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Outlive Your Life” by Max Lucado
The purpose of “Outliving Your Life” is to address the church in America with what we can do in the world at large, starting with the small things. Although there is the very familiar attack with how extravagant the American people live, Max was not presenting a message he was not living. In fact, one of the things I found out about the book is that all profits that were made for the book were donated in total to World Vision.
As I read over “Outliving Your Life” I was indeed challenged to look at the small things in my life to make a difference. A few things that challenged me is do I take time to get to know my neighbors in my small subdivision? Am I involved in activities with my church, my work, my school and my community? These are all important topics that we each look at often in our lives.
Some of the positives that really jumped out at me quickly was that in Chapter 4, “Don’t forget the bread.” Mr. Lucado gave one of the clearest gospel presentation I had seen in many of the Christian books I read. Here in his book he not only addresses a need for those of us in the Church, but takes an entire chapter to share the message with his readers, with the hope of reaching them. So clear was this gospel presentation, that it made even my frustration with his lambasting of the extravagant nature of Americans pale in comparison to what he was trying to communicate.
Another really great section of Mr. Max Lucado’s book was chapter 15 which chapter name escapes me, as I’ve lent my copy of the book to my pastor, which focuses on prayer. In my own personal walk with Christ, prayer has always been a major hiccup for me. Mr. Lucado made several interesting comments through that chapter which really spoke to me directly, and I think would speak even to the people who are truly committed to prayer.
Max Lucado has since put out another book which I’m sure is well written in well. For “Outliving Your Life” I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great family read

Date:May 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
FSLP
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The story is one of “hillbillies and simple folk, net caster and tax collectors.” People, like you and me, but with one difference, these “simple folk” were on fire for God willing to, “deny themselves and take up their cross and follow Him (Mark 8:34)” Out Live Your Life, by Max Lucado, is a simple story, yet so provoking, you cannot read it without feeling the conviction of God to take up your cross and follow Him. We found this to be a perfect family read, one we will visit again and again. (I was provided with a complimentary copy of this book by the publisher through BookSneeze.)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a great educational tool.

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lamb
Location:Newton, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am leading a Bible Study using the book Outlive Your Life, partcipants guide, the leader's guide, the video and also the Bible. We held our opening session to get aquainted and to hand out the work books. We are all so excited to get started. It is going to be a great study. Thanks Max Lucado.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
sandivic
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I received a copy of Max Lucado's new book, Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference, I was ready to be disappointed. I had just attempted to read Fearless and was unable to finish it didn’t hold my attention past the first few pages. I was pleasantly surprised as I began this book…..
Fortunately, I began this book in the hospital while my father was having surgery. It is a very easy read as I was able to finish it in the six or so hours he was on the table.
Lucado begins with a challenge to us as Christians. Using the disciples and Acts, he shows what it means to be a true follower of Christ. We have to get out of our comfort zones, and do the works that God has called us to do to further His kingdom.
Lucado gives practical wisdom and Godly insight on how to live the Christian life. It was a refreshing, yet unchallenging read. I would recommend this book to those who feel that there is more to this life than the Sunday school answers we have been taught. Books such as these, are best read in a study group. The discussion questions, found in the back of the book, for each chapter will spark conversations in a small group setting. Lucado also includes “Ideas for actions” as a way to put feet to your faith.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 [...] : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A great read by a great author

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
noblecharactergirl
Location:Somewhere, USA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These are difficult days in our world's history. 1.75 billion people are desperately poor, natural disasters are gouging entire nations, and economic uncertainty still reigns across the globe. But you and I have been given an opportunity to make a big difference.
What if we did? What if we rocked the world with hope? Infiltrated all corners with God's love and life? We are created by a great God to do great works. He invites us to outlive our lives, not just in heaven, but here on earth.
It’s not enough to do well. We want to do good. We want our lives to matter. So, let's live our lives in such a way that the world will be glad we did. ~ Taken from Max Lucado's website
Max Lucado is well know for his wonderful books. And he's done it again - Outlive Your Life is about making a difference in this world in our time of grace. Filled with heartmoving stories, and biblical verses, this is a great addition to any library.
I personally liked reading this, and probably will read it again, and will definitely recommend to friends.
In accordance to new laws, I am required to say I got this book for free from Thomas Nelson via www.booksneeze.com in exchange for a review. I am not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Book Review "Outlive Your Life" by Max Lucado

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Torntores
Location:Fredericton N.B.
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just recently read a book by Max Lucado called "Out Live Your Life ~ You Were Made To Make A Difference." This is a book that makes you really put your life in perspective. I love the fact the in this book it encourages us that anyone can do something for God. I picked this book up at a time in my life when I needed something positive and by all means this was very encouraging to me. So many times in life we dwell on the negative but after reading this book it encouraged me that I can change and dwell on the positive things of God. You will be surprised what can happen when you step out of your shell that you live in and open yourself to be a willing vessel. The book covered numerous topics from hypocrisy to hospitality, loving others to standing out for Jesus. It is a process that changes us. "Gradually our big God changes us. And, gratefully, we lust less, love more, lash out less, look heavenward more." I can ask myself daily the question that he ended his last chapter with "Who would want to miss a chance to do that?" We may not be able to everything that comes our way but we can help someone by showing them Jesus. Who out of us, would want to miss an opportunity like this, we can outlive our life and step out and make a difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Book to Make You Think

Date:January 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eva Scott
Location:Greensboro, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Max Lucado helps you to think about how you can impact the world through your actions. He gives examples through fictional characters, true-life examples, and his own life.
Of course, the easiest way to impact the world is just by purchasing the book. The author is giving all proceeds from this book to help children who are in poverty around the world.
I think the book was worth purchasing, and I would recommend it to a friend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Outlive Your Life: You Were Made to Make A Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Max Lucado - Outlive Your Life

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
outdoorextremeyo
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Max Lucado did a fabulous job writing the book Outlive Your Life – as he does in all of his books. I really enjoyed the format of his book in that each chapter begins with a bible verse and a prayer relevant to the contents of the chapter. Lucado did a great job helping the author relate to the content of his material by depicting real life stories which were exciting and easy to follow. Also, the cover picture of the book as well as the picture located on the back display the book’s content in a very clever and creative way – displaying a young boy, carefree but confident on the beach (the cover) and that same boy still confident and living his life by running on the shoreline of the beach on the back side. This is a book I will highly recommend to others and feel honored I was able to read this myself.
I received this book to review from BookSneeze
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...12Next >>>