Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook

Zondervan Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook

When fifteen-year-old Lance Covington finds an abandoned baby in the backseat of a car, he knows she's the newborn daughter of a meth addict he's been trying to help. But when police arrest him for kidnapping, Lance is thrust into a criminal world of baby trafficking and drug abuse. His mother, Barbara, looks for help from Kent Harlan-the man whom she secretly, reluctantly loves and who once helped rescue her daughter from a mess of her own.

Kent flies to her aid and begins the impossible work of getting Lance out of trouble, protecting a baby who has no home, and finding help for a teenage mother hiding behind her lies. In this latest novel of suspense and family loyalty, bestselling author Terri Blackstock offers a harrowing look at drug addiction, human trafficking, and the devastating choices that can change lives forever.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 28100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow

Date:July 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
JesusIsLord
Location:Detroit, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This series has got to be her best to date! I thought Intervention, Book 1, was a page turner but this one right here definitely had me going. I absolutely loved it and couldn't put it down. The closer I got to the end, the more I thought I was having a heart attack, lol. Now on to the last book in this series, Downfall!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Natasha7
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very action packed from beginning to end. I can't wait to read the next book in the series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Highly Recommend!

Date:July 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
Susan O
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent book! Love Terri Blackstock's writing and this is a great sequel to Intervention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The boows great family character

Date:May 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Allie
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a page turner. Hard to put down with all the problems happening to this family. Always thinking what can happen now and how this familt is going to resolve their issues of drug addiction and have a normal life. It shows a strong faith with this family and hw we can also face our problems with the Lords help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Radiolady
Location:Toronto, Ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has such a sting of realism! Having lived as an addict before meeting the Lord, I could relate to the thoughts that plague you. The desperation, hopelessness and anger that fuels addictions was clearly painted in this page turner. Yet there was the reality of God's commitment to His people. Through the stark realism of life in the gutter comes the grip of grace that is your only hope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Extremely realistic

Date:July 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
pbob
Location:Southlake, Tx
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've spent many, many hours working with addicts. I have been amazed at how well Terri portrays the struggle in the "Intervention" series. Just finished "Vicious Cycle" and it maintains that sense of realism. And as with all her books, the characters ring true. While the books are certainly not pie in the sky they realistically and powerfully portray hope. Can't wait for the next one - hopefully there will be a next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must read!

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:Jackson, TN
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terri Blackstock is one of my favorite authors. Her novels are intense, I've not been disappointed yet.
This is the story of a girl who gets caught up in the world of drug addiction. Her family isn't supportive and she's basically left to care for herself. The choices she makes are not the best. Her addiction has led her into a world of danger. Terri gives us an insight into addiction. This book will keep you up late reading!
Terri always leads us to God and His mercy. This is a must read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Terri Blackstock strikes again!

Date:May 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Ah, yes. Suspense at its finest. Terri Blackstock has brought back Barbara and Lance from Intervention and Lance is front and center this time as he gets into a load of trouble when a meth baby shows up in his backseat and he is arrested for kidnapping. This pulls him and his mother into a dangerous world of drugs and human trafficking as they try to save the baby and clear Lance at the same time.
Terri knows how to keep me on the edge of my seat from the very beginning to the very end and she does not disappoint in Vicious Cycle. I loved it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Author

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
missingu
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love all of Blackstocks books. Couldn't put it down after the first page!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome and potentially life-changing story!

Date:May 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vicious Cycle was more than just a story about addiction. It was a story about faith, and learning to trust God. It was about overcoming temptation and believing that God can restore what the locusts have eaten. It showed how God can create beauty from the ashes of our lives. I've worked in a rehab before and on a variety of levels with drug addicted parents and teens. This story was an accurate reflection of some of the horrors I've seen working with people in similar situations.
What I loved about this story was that it also showed how hard it is to deal with drug addiction for everyone involved. Not just the addict, but the family, the friends, even innocent bystanders. Loving people who are addicted (especially to meth) can be such a catch 22. You want to help but the addicted person need to want to be helped for it to make a difference. There is a fine line that often blurs between tough love and enabling.
Addiction is a complex issue. There is hope and anger, and an overabundance of fear that families deal with as they try to support their recovering family member. Blackstock did a fantastic job of showing that. And talk about awesome pacing. This was a page turner from the beginning. The story kept building. The plot kept thickening. The danger kept increasing. And I kept reading. I had to know what would happen. This author pulled no punches, making this one riveting story with a lot of substance to it. Wonderful read! I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am always on the look-out for this author

Date:May 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
graves
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I am always on the look-out for this author. I really enjoyed the book, it is was a good read.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bonnie Harris
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fullf suspense yet lovingly presented with a CHristian outlook.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was good.

Date:April 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cricky
Location:Northeast Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read Intervention #1 and this followed and was even better. It was so real to life it didn't seem like I was reading a fiction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent book; a favorite author

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
daisydaisy
Location:Syracuse NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terri Blackstock never disappoints. The ins and outs of the story keep you involved with the characters and what is going on in their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great novel

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
writerlyn
Location:Blaine,Wa
Age:55-65
Terri Blackstock has done it again-this book was awesome and an easy read-I finished it in two days and have already shared it with two friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Suspense Ripped From Todays Headlines

Date:March 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nora Finding Hope
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terri Blackstock pens a compelling novel depicting the epidemic young people are faced with today. I was thankful to receive a review copy of this dramatic, suspenseful story that could be taken from headlines today.
Crystal meth devastates more than the addicts’ body it also destroys everything the addict touches. Edith appreciated her mom and her brother Lance’s support this year as she tried to get off a drug that controlled everything about her and learn how to make it in the world clean and sober. Her demons had laid low at New Hope regeneration center. She could be fooled to think they were gone for good; she knew better. Biggest thing she learned was that she needed God’s help more than ever. Graduation day was near and returning to familiar stomping grounds terrified her.
Edith prayed for a girl she met at New Hope named Jill. She was pregnant, 15 years old, and addicted to Crystal Meth. She left the center one day and never came back. Edith liked Jill and could see how she was distracted by her addict brother and mom who didn’t want her to get well.
Jill got high the day she got home. Her mom gave her some drugs to relieve the pain. She was in so much pain and there were blood on her sheets. What was happening to her? She focuses on the bed and sees a little baby. Her baby! She wraps it up on a town and calls for her mom who used to be a nurse. She begs to be brought to the hospital! Her mom refuses and tells her not to worry!
As soon as Jill looks into the eyes of this beautiful baby her heart wells up with love and she desires to do more for her than her own mother. She thought of New Hope and the help she would need to break the vicious cycle her family has been on. She hoped for a way to save her baby from the horrific life she’s lived.
Terri Blackstock reveals the realistic side of being an addict, and what it takes to break free of the addicted life. Shattering the cycle of addiction takes a supporting family, support group and most of all a personal relationship with Jesus. Terri Blackstock does a brilliant job of getting into the heart and mind of a user and how the drug controls them in every way. I like how this author doesn’t leave the reader there in despair but shows there is hope in the middle of what seems an impossible situation. The addict and their family can celebrate recovery one day at a time with God’s help. This is a powerful book. I highly recommend reading this series! I’m looking forward to reading Terri’s next book.
Nora St.Laurent The Book Club Network www.bookfun.org
Finding Hope Through Fiction www.psalm516.blogspot.com
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Blackstock's Best

Date:March 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
Whew! I've just finished reading this terrific book, and now I can breathe! (I found that as I flipped the pages, I was actually holding my breath.) The author had me at the first sentence and kept my attention all the way through until the satisfying end.
Written in third person by each of the characters helps make this an easy-to-read thriller. Each character has a voice, and the reader is able to understand his/her thinking process. I feel as if I got inside the minds of meth addicts--not a good place. I certainly learned a good deal about the addiction.
I enjoyed watching the solutions to the various crimes, as well as the romance blooming. Some of the characters realistically struggle with the questions: "Why does God allow this?" and "Does He even know I exist?" Sound biblical answers are given.
Thank you to Bonnie at Christian Fiction Blog Alliance and Zondervan for my copy.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Vicious Cycle by Terri Blackstock

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
CKendall
Location:Burlington, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unfortunately, these days it’s hard to find someone who has not been directly affected in some way by drug addictions. I have a lot of respect and admiration for a Christian author who is willing tackle this difficult topic that affects Christians and non-Christians alike. Books like this can open up conversations and they can even help people minister to those dealing with drug addictions. It also brings awareness of this issue of human trafficking, something I have never really given much thought to before reading this book. I think Terri Blackstock has done a superb job with Vicious Cycle. I didn’t read the first book in this series, Intervention, but I can imagine that it must have been excellent as well.
Vicious Cycle was very difficult to read at times. There was a lot of reality that was tough to take, but if Terri had sugar-coated it, the book would not have been as effective. There are characters that I just wanted to see with a better life and the powerful, emotional Christian message made this a book a remarkable read - one I highly recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Dealing with Tough Issues

Date:March 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vicious Cycle is another great Terri Blackstock story, a follow-up to a previous novel, Intervention. Both of these books deal with the very tough, but very real, issue of drug abuse and its impact on the users and their families. Terri wrote both these books not with just intellectual knowledge of the subject, but from the heart of a mother who has dealt with this very hurtful issue in the life of her own child. That "heart knowledge" comes through in the way Terri brings her characters to life and tells their story in a way that doesn't sugar coat the problems and pain that come with addiction.
Just as her daughter Emily is graduating from a year of rehab from her drug addiction, widowed mother Barbara Covington finds her family caught in the middle of things she never expected. Her teenage son Lance, in a misguided attempt to help a friend, ends up in jail on charges of kidnapping a baby. As Emily also gets involved in helping Jordan, she finds the old cravings tempting her and trying to pull her back into the traps of addiction. Meanwhile, Barbara has turned to Kent Harlan -- the Atlanta policeman who had earlier helped save Emily's life -- for help. Kent flies to Barbara in Missouri to offer his assistance, and they both realize their feelings for each other have grown. The plot becomes more complex and suspenseful as Kent leads an "every minute counts" rush to rescue Lance, Jordan, and Jordan's newborn daughter.
In her masterful writing style, Terri weaves into her story reminders of God's presence and strength and the blessings often taken for granted by families like the Covingtons -- and many others of us. I would definitely recommend this book to any Terri Blackstock fan -- or any soon-to-be Terri Blackstock fan!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vicious Cycle: An Intervention Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Story of Redemption filled with Twists

Date:March 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cara Putman
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Vicious Cycle, the Covington family is back. It's a year after Intervention and Emily is about to come home from drug rehab. But now her little brother Lance is the one in trouble. He finds an abandoned baby in the backseat of a car -- she's the newborn daughter of a meth addict he's befriended. Before he can take the infant somewhere for help, the police are on his doorstop arresting him for kidnapping. And the story is off.
I loved this story! I cared deeply about the Covingtons from the first book, but the author does a masterful job of writing in such a way that you don't need to read Intervention to get caught in Vicious Cycle's web. This plot went so many directions it was almost impossible to keep up. And I cared so deeply about the baby's mother that as she made wrong choice followed by good choice followed by wrong choice I kept wanting to see if she'd get it right in the end. Ultimately, this is a story of redemption. A story that shows we should never give up hope. In each other or in ourselves. I loved it!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>