Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2

Tyndale House Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2

First-century Rome comes alive in the gripping second volume in Rivers's Mark of the Lion series! Despite his life of privilege, Marcus is plagued by memories of a beautiful Christian martyr's death in the arena. So he shuns the opulence of the empire---but will he ever find true peace? Includes a study guide.
Average Customer Rating:
4.81 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Review 1 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Rivers has a unique voice.

Date:August 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
JesuSaves
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've said it and I'll say it again. The truths communicated by this author through her work are very powerful. I'd even guess it's the reason behind many readers' attraction to her writing. One of Francine Rivers' strength as a writer is the ability to draw and knit the heart of her stories in ways that break and build a reader.
From the despair reigning in Ephesus to the destructions in Judea, An Echo in the Darkness is a story of light, of passion, of hope, where Rivers stresses the theme of forgiveness, most of all. What are we willing to go through as followers of Christ for His will to be done not ours? That's what most impacted me in this story. Francine, through her work, has intensified my hunger to please God and not the ways of this world. The values flowing through this book are electrifying and seriously enough to leave you in a haze several days after turning the last page. It's even enough to forever change a reader's perception of what Christian Fiction should be. Whether it's Haddasah's unwavering devotion to the service of the Lord and his people, or Marcus and Julia's journey to find Christ (Julia's is absolutely heart-breaking) in the end, it all comes down to the power of Love. The power of a God who moves in the most unexpected ways.
Despite the fact that the foundation of the book shook me emotionally, in my opinion, they are downsides to An Echo in the Darkness story-wise. A considerable part of the story is long and slow, and the writing style is repetitive which really left my interest waning. Some of the characters do not receive full closure on their situations, not to mention the fact that their persons were hard to decipher ( Alexander and Rashid, for example). The characters generally could have been more drawn and the book may come across as preachy several times. But rejoice hopeless romantics! The way Marcus and Hadassah are brought together in the end ties the bow of the story nicely. It is very, very romantic.
Beautiful values, interesting characters, that's what Francine Rivers delivers in An Echo in the Darkness.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Now THIS... Is Christian Fiction!

Date:July 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Quiet Eccentric
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, the Mark of the Lion is a series that should be read by everybody with the time to read them! This second book was so fantastic, and I was hooked right from the prologue. The ending was so perfect! I've been waiting for it since the first book!
The characters in these stories are so bold in their faith, that it makes me long to be the same. It's so beautiful to watch a man throughout his whole journey to the Lord. It makes a person want to witness for Christ, and when someone has done that in a piece of fiction... it's truly awesome and inspiring.
Bravo Francine Rivers! You truly are one of the best!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gripping story

Date:August 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sudie
Location:Abilene, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second book in Francine Rivers' "The Mark of the Lion" trilogy. It is the gripping tale of Marcus, a Roman aristocrat's search for the Christian God. His journey takes him to Judea, a perilous journey fraught with danger & intrigue & an unlikely friendship with a Jewish family who care for him after a mishap. He also has a heavenly visitor who teaches him "The Way" & brings him peace. I'll not speak of the dramatic conclusion lest I be a spoiler, but his story is both gripping & encouraging. Francine Rivers is one of the best Christian fiction writers today.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book was well written and very enjoyable!

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carol Schultz
Location:Chula Vista, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. I felt like I was right there with the characters. I liked the way Ms Rivers brought in actual history, some that I didn't know happened, into the plot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely wonderful

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
breezy
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend Mark of the Lion Series. They are page tuners.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book in this series is excellent , a musread

Date:December 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vicki
Location:Crestview, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This author has the ability to really tell a story. Gripping from the first book till the last book. I loved them and have recommended them to many.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Allycatv
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
F. Rivers is an excellent writer. The mark of the lion series is one of her best works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Naima Bullock
Excellent follow up. I am almost done and I'm looking forward to next part as well as my increased desire to dig into the word-the book of Acts in particular. Thanks Francine!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Vernice
I never cry from reading books; but, not only did I enjoy this book, and the series, I cried at the end. I never wanted this story to end. I found myself wanting to read the series over and over again. I never get tired of them. Francine Rivers has quickly become one of my favorite writers, and I tip my head in respect for her gift of sharing such a beautiful story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ariel
For whatever reason, though I enjoyed this book immensely, to me it wasn't nearly as good as the other two. Maybe it was because it lacked the romance between Hadassah and Marcus. That makes sense, considering the last 2 chapters were my favorite parts! But it was great finally seeing Marcus become saved and the continuation of the strong and unshakable faith of Hadassah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2009
Customer Avatar
Tammy A
After recieving book #1 "A Voice In The Wind" in the series as a birthday gift I had to read more. I was very surprised that I liked a novel of this historical period. I am now reading book three and I wish there were more in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lorraine
This book was even better than the first in the series. It has challenged my spiritually to rest in God's truth. What a blessing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
W. D. Drummond
A wonderful story of the blessings which can come to us if we totally commit ourselves to obeying our Lord Jesus. How heart-warming it is when we can see our Lord's enemies finally understanding and accepting His love.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 7, 2007
Customer Avatar
Patsy Thacker
Francine Rivers is an awesome writer. This book has really deepened my understanding of the Word and my faith. It brings the Bible to life even more if that is possible. This would be a great movie. The impact of this book is phenomenal. Well written in every sense.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
koreen
Wow!! If it were possible I'd say this book was better than the first. I love the whole series, and all Francine Rivers works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 26, 2005
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
This book and this series deserves a Five and beyond.I cried and cried and cried some more.Francine Rivers writes in a way that makes you want to be in the story watching what is going on.Thank God for a heart such as hers,willing to share her God-given talents and blessing us with so much drama that it comes to life in our hearts.God Bless Francine Rivers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 14, 2005
I wish it were possible to give this book 6 stars! I didnt think it was possible, but this book is even better than the first. Some of the major themes of the book are forgiveness, repentance, self-sacrifice, and of course, love. The book picks up immediately where the last one left off and takes the reader through Marcus spiritual journey and the obstacles and consequences Julia is forced to endure because of her bad choices. One of the messages in this book is Gods faithfulness and His never-ending love for us even though we arent worthy. The characters and plot are well written and well developed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2002
Customer Avatar
Marie
Thank goodness for the epilogue at the end of my copy of A Voice in the Wind! Otherwise, I might not have been able to bring myself to read An Echo in the Darkness.Francine Rivers sets the bar for historical Christian Fiction writers. Her deft, graphic touch places her books firmly in the adult fiction section (as opposed to youth fiction). With its realistic portrayals of lust and love, this series is not yet for our teenagers, but I would recommend it to any adult. As for An Echo in the Darkness specifically, if I had been told in advance that Hadassah and Marcus wouldn't speak for more than half of the book, I would have expected to find the book dry and slow. Au contraire! I was as eager to discover Marcus's and Alexander's decisions regarding Christ as though I were reading a mystery. The series is a Keeper. Make sure you have your name written in the front of each book--in ink!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 1, 2001
Customer Avatar
Wendy
The sequel to VOICE IN THE WIND and second in THE MARK OF THE LION trilogy, continues the story of the Valerian family. It flows with superb detail from where the story left off in the first book. The characters are so beleivable and you find yourself thinking about them even when you are not reading the book. Without giving anything away there are a few surprises. The unbending faith found in some of the characters leaves you feeling challenged as you read. Definitely not a book to be left on the shelf.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Echo In The Darkness, Mark Of The Lion Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2001
Customer Avatar
Heidi Zorn
I can't believe that a fictional book could challenge me spriritually. This book not only challenged me, but encouraged me as well. I thank the Lord for Francine Rivers - and pray that He will continue to bless her work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>