Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for B&H Books The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook

B&H Books The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
7 out of 978%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
Review 1 for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
This review is fromThe Snowflake.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Not the typical Christmas book

Date:August 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Lisa Fletcher
Location:Arkansas
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this author and have read most of her books. I enjoy the big, bold adventure that she offers. I also appreciated the not so predictable story line. It was rather fun reading this short story at this beach recently - Christmas in July.
I was reminded that God can use us in unpredictable ways where ever we are in our lives if we allow Him to
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
This review is fromThe Snowflake.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed the story!

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kristi
Location:Marshfield, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a great short story with good depth of character and even addressed some seriously difficult issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
This review is fromThe Snowflake.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:November 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doris Wright
Location:Morganfield, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The cover and title attracted me to read the book. But, it was a disappointment. To be titled "The Snowflake" it had nothing to do with snowflakes. It seemed to be a different story than what the cover said. I wished I had gotten more for my money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
This review is fromThe Snowflake.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very readable.

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:SC
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had started reading another book by this author and disliked it. I bought The Snowflake, I guess, by title appeal, not realizing the author's name.
It was a pleasant surprise to read the story. Though painting a 'woman of the night' in almost glowing colors? I did enjoy the story and probably will use it as intended: As a Gift Book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
This review is fromThe Snowflake.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Deborah Muller
Age:55-65
Gender:female
It was a great read that transported me to Alaska during the gold rush. I almost caught cold while reading it, enjoyed it very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
This review is fromThe Snowflake.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Historical romances makes sweet holiday novella

Date:October 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oconto Falls, WI
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Snowflake by Jamie Carie is a short novella perfect for the Christmas season. Ellen Pierce has spent most of her life caring for her brother Jonah, trying to protect him from the world while keeping herself safe from him. His obsession with her has kept them moving often to keep her away from any man who may be attracted to her, but there's nowhere to run from Buck Lewis when they are all on a ship trapped in the ice on the way to Alaska. Buck leads a group through the icy winter snows to Dawson City where he can continue tracking his wife's killers. The journey through the snow will take the lives of more than one of the travelers, but it will bring Buck and Ellen together as the two lonely souls find solace in each other. But Buck's desire for revenge pulls him away from her, leaving Ellen to make her own way in a strange town. Will he return in time to fulfill his promise to come back to her for Christmas? Carie is a talented writer of historical romances and while this plot may seem at first glance a bit of fluff, there is great depth in Ellen's guilt over Jonah, the demons that haunt him, and Kate's history. I hope that Carie gives Kate and Lucky a book of their own. This quick read is perfect for the busy holiday season and with a message of God's love for everyone, even lonely exiles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
This review is fromThe Snowflake.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Teresa Conway-mansfield
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome read. I Highly recommend for men and women to read this story. It will touch your heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
This review is fromThe Snowflake.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivating To The End

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Tink
Location:Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Way to go Jamie. Your debut novella is a hit. As is all your books. You could almost feel the cold. It was like you are on that trail with these characters. And I love the connections that these people found with each other. Even in the peculiar situations they found themselves in. It was just a good read. Get it, you will not be disappointed. I did notice this one was different from the others she has written but it was just as good and very inspirational all way round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
This review is fromThe Snowflake.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:October 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
bookworm
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I just didn't like the plot. I read one of her other books and didn't like it but was hoping this was better. It wasn't.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
This review is fromThe Snowflake.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cafe Lily Book Reviews
"By noon the feeling of warmth was a hazy, rose-colored memory. It was easy to forget why we were doing this. Why had I let Jonah drag me across a continent in search of a pot of gold?"Ellen Pierce faces the most daunting journey of her lifetime when she is forced by her brother Jonah to join his chase of Alaskan gold. When the steamer they are traveling on becomes locked in ice, Jonahs wild behavior turns more erratic as he teeters on the brink of insanity. Jonah, lusting for gold, decides that he and Ellen will join up with Buck Lewis and his group who are willing to take their chances and travel by foot and dog sled to Dawson City. Though the odds are against them, the weather is brutal and the food is likely to run out, Jonah is willing to risk it all even his sisters life, for a chance at striking it rich.When the journey begins to take its toll, Ellen finds herself leaning more and more on Buck and falling for a man who keeps his heart under lock and key. The Snowflake is a heartwarming read that will draw you in and hold your interest until the very last page. Jamie Carie combines interesting bits of history with endearing characters and I found it very easy to get engrossed in this tale of adventure, risk and romance. Scheduled to release October 1, 2010.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
This review is fromThe Snowflake.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2010
Surrounded by unimaginable, mind numbing cold, nigh frozen to death, a glimmer of hope can lift your soul.Fear and love are the greatest motivational forces. Jamie has woven these into The Snowflake with vivid and clear detail. It is easy to visualize and feel the outward and inward struggles as the harshness of the Alaskan wilderness bears down.The story line is familiar, but Jamies twists and turns add depth, imagination and strength of will.Great Fireplace Reading.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
This review is fromThe Snowflake.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Alaska 1897, aboard a steamship Ellen Pierce was on her way to the gold field to satisfy her sick brother Johan who has mental problems and she is afraid of him, as her mother on her death bed made her promise to take care of her brother. She had meet a man on board that had talked to her named Buck Lewis. They were racing with time as the river would soon freeze over. There was a large shaking of the ship and they all went up to see what had happened, and the ship was stuck in ice with no way to get it out until the thaw. Buck Lewis said he was not staying and more men wanted to go with him, along with them, Johan said he was going so that meant that Ellen had to go also.This was a very hard and cold trip which took all the energy they could endure and only the strongest would survive the journey by foot to reach Dawson City. Johan didn't make it so that left Ellen alone with no where to go, upon arriving in Dawson City, she realized it was going to be very hard as she didn't have much money and everything was so expensive. With a very few options, she must learn to trust God for her survival.This is the first book I have read by Carie but I loved the beautiful book and the story. It was well presented and is a book I will keep and read over. I ma looking forward reading more of her books in the near future.I received this free copy of this book from B&H books in exchange for my honest review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Snowflake: A Novella - eBook
This review is fromThe Snowflake.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 13, 2010
The Snowflake is Jamie Carie's debut novella. Set in 1897, Ellen Pierce is forced by her brother to leave their home in California and set out to make their fortune panning gold in Alaska. Trouble strikes early on and they must continue their journey by foot to reach Dawson City. Only the strongest will survive. Upon arriving in Dawson City, Ellen realizes that survival will be more difficult - and more expensive - than she originally thought. With few options, she must learn to trust God for her every need.Carie does an excellent job of weaving in Christian themes and using the story to point readers to Christ. This is such a sweet story. I thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to reading more of Jamie Carie's books.I received a free copy of this book from B&H Books in exchange for my fair and honest review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.