Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Living Ink The Candlestone - eBook

Living Ink The Candlestone - eBook

In The Candlestone, a mysterious book leads Billy into mortal combat with a powerful dragon slayer. Separated from his friends and finding his dragon traits useless against this enemy, he has to rely on new weapons, a sword and shield he cannot even see.
Average Customer Rating:
4.783 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Candlestone - eBook
Review 1 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thrilling

Date:May 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
anthrozil906
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read the candlestone quite a few times and I never get tired of it. If you thought that his first book, Raising Dragons, was a master piece, you had better hold on to your bookmark, cause your about to be swepped off your feet!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
danielle
Location:Idaho
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bryan Davis did it again!!!! I don't think words can describe how much I've liked this book!!!! Action, suspense, faith, and hope are all put into an amazing christian read. I especially like Bonnie and how much faith she displays in this book. However, I have to admit that all the characters are enjoyable and the plot is extremely captivating and creative. I finished this book in one day and am looking forward to reading the last two books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Tucci
This series was a gift to my 12 year old granddaughter who is enjoying reading them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sunny Lalone
Our 17 year old has a real passion for dragons and this series has really gotten him excited... Excellent reading
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:December 9, 2009
When I read this book it sorta was enjoyable, but not enough for me to read the next in the series. It wasn't intriguing enough. I finished it and was like okay no need to read anymore in the series.it was writen well tough so if you like humans who are part dragons,bad people,and adventure, you might very well like it!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 10, 2008
This was the first book that I read from the series, and it drew me in like nothing else I'd ever read before. The characters are captivating, especially Bonnie, who I instantly fell in love with. The Candlestone opened up a door for me to enjoy a series that quickly became my favorite, and not only that, it led me to Bryan Davis' fan forum where I made lifelong friends, and was able to meet the man himself. Through my friendship with Bryan Davis I have learned tons about life, and God, and am eternally grateful for his passion and his obedience to God.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
SHILOH
If you thought Raising Dragons was good then you HAVE to get The Candlestone!The thing about the Dragons in our Midst series: the books keep getting better as the series progresses and Mr. Davis comes up with a whole new idea for each book. This is the kind of book that you will want to read again, and again, and again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jessica Hill
While most sequels disappoint, this one certainly doesnt. It is a wonderful fantasy book, with just a tinge of science fiction, something that wasnt in the first book, and the supernatural, something that was touched on in the first book, but expanded in The Candlestone. This book is an amazing story of faith, redemption, and love. Bonnie is the shining example of faith throughout the book, as well as love and forgiveness. Those last ideas are being shown to her father, who did not act as a father should, such as putting his childs best interest before his own. This is an amazing book, and I recommend it to all fantasy-book lovers from age 13 and up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
stephen petrie
the candlestone was very interesting. It had a lot of action. I didn't want to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Daughter of Thigocia
As Bonnie is eagerly awaiting the arrival of the date that she is adopted by the Foleys, the unthinkable happens. Her father shows up and tells her that her mother is alive! Bonnie follows her father, hoping to see her mother again. Her father tells her that her mother was sent into a candlestone (dragon's bane) and that her mother is trapped inside. Little does she know that an evil dragon slayer lurks very near by. Will she find her mother? Will she be able to evade her foes? I love this book and recommend it to any fantasy lover! Bonnie's strength, courage, and faith is really inspiring. I love when Billy reads what she said about him in her journal. A reader will be crying or or the edge of their seats at the climaxes, on the floor laughing at the funny things said, and be inspired.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jordan
Let's face it, being able to top an already amazing book is hard to do, but Bryan Davis has done it here! More action, more suspense, more stuff for techno-geeks (like me!), and more truths that will challenge what you believe. Learn more about your favorite characters from Raising Dragons and walk away ready for more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
NoahR
A book of wonder and excitement. This is a book that will take you deep into faith and love. Enjoy a captivating storyline and characters that are thriling. Step into a world where dragons and knights come to life. See a battle against a blood thirsty knight and help turn the tide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Araken
This sequel is not letdown to its predecessor in any way. Instead, it builds on Raising Dragons as the cast of characters grows and the plot thickens. It's sometimes hard for me to believe something like this came from one man's imagination, but it is sitting on my shelf even now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Yes! Finally I've waited a while to read the sequel it was worth the wait. There are the same characters, and some new ones. I thought Mr. Davis couldn't write a better story after his first book, but I was wrong this one is better than the first book. This book taught the true meaning of family. And it made me more thankful than ever for the family I have right now. I'm glad you wrote a story that has Godly principles, and teaches the way we should treat other people with respect. I am thankful for your work Mr. Davis it is absoulutely brilliant. I hope you have a great time writting. Your books are great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
The Candlestone is an excellent sequel to Raising Dragons! You must read it... it's filled with adventure as the series continues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 7, 2008
The sequel to dragons in our midst is great. I've been waiting a while for this one to come out! I was impressed by the author's writting. Everyone should have a copy of the Candlestone, and Bryan Davis other books that will come after this one. These books are great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Julie Dick
Billy and Bonnie are resting after the action in Raising Dragons when the return of Bonnies father signals the beginning of a new adventure. Can Bonnie trust the man who betrayed her mother to the slayers? The amazing scientific process of translumination creates a vibrant world inside a light-absorbing gem known as the candlestone. Want to know more? Enter The Candlestone and explore a world of danger, mystery, and sacrifice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2007
Customer Avatar
Micah
The Candle Stone was much more eventful than the first book in the series, Raising Dragons. It refers to the Bible more often than the previous book. I enjoyed this book a bit more than the first book because of the things I mentioned above. The Candle Stone seemed as if it was just a extension of the first book, which was good considering that it is a book series. I look forward to reading the next title in the series. I noticed that, just as in the first book, the author described items in detail while not including detail about other items that I wanted to read more about. This is why I believe he has been compared to J.R.R. Tolkein. I didn't seem to notice any similarities between this book and the Narnia series it has been compared to . I anticipate that you will enjoy this book as much as I have if you decide to read it. I hope that this review has helped you with your choice whether or not to purchase and read this book. I have written a review about Raising Dragons, as well. If you wish, you could also read that review to better understand some of the observations in this review as it may seem a little sketchy. Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 26, 2007
Customer Avatar
steven
this book is amazing. much better than the last one. if you pick this book up you will be reading it for the next several hours. I would suggest this book to anyone 11 and up. This would make a good movie.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Candlestone - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 28, 2007
Customer Avatar
Billy Jepma
I'm home schooled so when I started reading this book, I got behind and totally forgot about school! This book was amazing! I couldn't put it down!!!!!! The Candlestone is an amazing book filled with Christian influence. Any young teens should read this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>