Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords On Hummingbird Wings: A Novel - eBook

FaithWords On Hummingbird Wings: A Novel - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for On Hummingbird Wings: A Novel - eBook
Review 1 for On Hummingbird Wings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOn Hummingbird Wings.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Loved this book!

Date:February 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
JoyAnne
Location:TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoyed this book so much! Lauraine Snelling is one of my favorite authors. This is about 31 yr old Gillian, a New York Exec working 70 hour weeks, rarely taking a day off. Her plan is to retire at age 52. Getting a call from her sister about their dying hyprchrondriac mother changes her life drastically. She arranges to take two days off and flites out to CA. Not having a key to the house and no answer to the doorbell she grabs a brick and breaks a window only to be caught by a good looking neighbor walking his dog.
Gillian is a take charge kind of woman, she takes no nonsense from her mother and insists she eat, shower, get out of bed, etc. Before you know it her mother leaves on a cruise with a good family friend and unexpected things happen. I found this to be such an enjoyable book, loved Gillian's character and the way her life turns out. 5 out of 5 stars!
I received a copy of this book free from Christian Review of Books in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for On Hummingbird Wings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOn Hummingbird Wings.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of people could find themselves in this situa

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Barb
Location:Virginia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't quite finished this book, but so far, it has been an enjoyable read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for On Hummingbird Wings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOn Hummingbird Wings.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Its always darkest before the dawn

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
schoolmarm
Location:Heber Springs, AR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gillian goes to California to take care of her ailing mother
only to have her life take a drastic turn. Without a job,
she begins to see that California is not so bad. Maybe God
has a new place and new life for her here near her mom
and sister.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for On Hummingbird Wings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOn Hummingbird Wings.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patty
Location:KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I reall recomend this book for any one with family wheather they have been in thise sutisitions or not. It took me a little , to get into the story. but when I did I didn't want to put the book down
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for On Hummingbird Wings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOn Hummingbird Wings.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WONDERFULL READING

Date:April 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
kenthehawk
Location:TAMPA FLA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS BOOK PUTS INTO PERSPECTIVE WHAT WE ALL GO THROUGH IN LIFE WITH AGING PARENTS
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for On Hummingbird Wings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOn Hummingbird Wings.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

On Hummingbird Wings

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Brenda
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has been quite a while since I have read anything by Jauraine Snelling, but the cover of her newest book captured my attention, watching hummingbirds is one of my favorite summertime passtimes. So I chose this book based on its cover, and wasn't dissapointed.
Allie and Gillian are sisters who are totally different or so it seems. While Allison always seemed to be the favored sister, she married had a family and stayed in California, close to home and has been helping her mother. Gillian on the other hand left home, moving to New York were she became a corperate executive. Its been five years since Gillian has been home, a fact that Allie quickly reminds her of, when she makes a call pleading for help with their mother, who has taken to her bed and refuses to eat. Gillian is annoyed at first with the intrusion into her day, but starts toying with the idea of going home, and in a move that even surprises herself, she tells her boss she is going out of town on a family emergency.What was supposed to be a weekend stay turns into something else, when she is told that her company has been bought out and she is out of a job. Will she return to New York, or will she realize that what she really wants is in California.
I enjoyed this one. It really looks at the relationship between the two sisters, while Allie seems to have the perfect life, perfect husband, home and children, she isn't really content. The relationship between the two sisters seems very realistic, with each one believing that the other one was the mothers favorite. When Gillian comes home and finds everything a mess, it was easy to see that Allie had been overwhelmed with the responsibility of being her mothers caregiver while trying to do everything for her family.
The sweet relationship that develops between Gillian and the next door neighbor Adam was nice, and Thor and Winnie the two canines in the story were a great addition.
This was a smooth easy read, but not something that kept me turning the pages, for me it was a relaxing read, something I could put down and pick up again. While I didn't love the story I really liked it.Fans of contemporary christian fiction that deal with family issues should definatly give this one a look.
I was provided a complimentary copy of this book (thanks Sarah) in exchange for an honest review.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for On Hummingbird Wings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOn Hummingbird Wings.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Mother Daughter Relationships

Date:April 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally
Location:Tampa, FL
How nice to read a contemporary work. The protagonist, Gillian, is a successful New York businesswoman. She's climbed her way to the top of the corporate heap, but then, the bottom drops out of her world. Her sister, back home in California, calls for Gillian to come home because their mother is dying. During Gillian's weekend visit, she discovers that her company has been bought out, and she is out of a job! Gillian is left to figure out what she wants to do with the remainder of her life. Stay in California? Return to New York? Change careers?
The author realistically paints the mother/daughter portrait and stress of the two sisters. Each sister thinks that the other is the one that "mother loved best." Each time the sisters communicate, the tension can be cut with a knife. This sure sounds familiar to me!
However, a handsome neighbor sparks romance, causing Gillian's life to become even more complex.
I connected to Gillian as she organizes and thinks through her options. She analyses much the same as me. This is a good read, and comes with a Reading Group Guide.
Thank you to Sarah Reck at FaithWords for my copy.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for On Hummingbird Wings: A Novel - eBook
This review is fromOn Hummingbird Wings.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Easy reading for an evening (recommend:yes maybe)

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:SC
A friend allowed me to read her pre-publishing copy.
This is a good general type romance story. It dragged a little in places, but was interesting enough about the frustration with the 'dying' woman, the neglected garden. I wish the nursery person had been more fleshed out. As the commercial (?) review states - Allison also needs more. As do the issues with her sister, and her husband and family. Neat dog sidelines.
The solution to the mother's 'dying' is quite funny, though a little unrealistic. But then it's fiction, right?
Knowing that this was an unedited or partially edited copy, I just hope that a good editor is hard at work to get it print-ready. Lie down vs. lay down, alcohol use vs. serious Christian beliefs; choice of good but not really fitting, somewhat out of the ordinary wording; difference of libel and slander; noun vs verb spelling (d vs. t), and a few sentence constructions.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.