Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Regal So What's the Difference - eBook

Regal So What's the Difference - eBook

In easy-to-understand chapters, the author explains the basic beliefs of Protestantism, Roman Catholicism, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, Jehovah's Witnesses, Mormonism, New Age and a dozen other belief systems of the world. It will help you recognize the real differences and make it easier to explain and share your faith with others. Completely revised and updated.
Average Customer Rating:
4.407 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for So What's the Difference - eBook
Review 1 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Update of previous book

Date:February 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
SusieQ
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Read this book many years ago. Couldn't put my hands on the old book and saw this updated version. Great book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very informative.

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
laura
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is very easy to read and understand yet very informative on different religions. It helped me understand co-workers of different religions. It helps to know what someone believes or is taught when witnessing to them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book for new belivers

Date:November 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bookie Galore
Location:BG, Ky
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While sowing seeds of faith, this book can clear up many misconceptions across the board of religion.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This was a great overview!

Date:October 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debra
Location:Seattle
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I enjoyed this very much. It's a great overview of many religions, but it's not too much for the average reader. It's a great resource when you're discussing your faith with others.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great book for information

Date:September 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
GodSpaceAZ
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think the book would be great for Bible studies and people that want to learn more about other world views. It lacks in giving indepth detail.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

user friendly

Date:April 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
roblesed
Location:Manati P.R.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good read for bible students and churdh study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

well written

Date:October 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
dcvandiver
Location:Cleveland, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The is a well written book for those who are wanting to compare different religions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Suzy
Location:Shakopee, Minnesota
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this book in a small group at our church.
It clearly defines each religion and how it compares to Biblical Christianity. It is a great reference book to have in your library.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
MarkJ.Peters
Easy to read. A very good intro into World Faiths. I use it as a back-round source for a Bible class.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nico Bougas
A great simple and understandable presentation of a very complex subject. Ridenour brings an understanding of the core beliefs of major religions and Christian cults. If you want a book on the topic that can be readily grasped by the ordinary joe without any great academic training then this is it. I have used and recommended it for the past 49 years.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Eck
This book is very conservative. It takes the stand that the bible is literal and if you don't agree with that then you are wrong. I was very dissapointed and will not use it in a study group.
-24points
0of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jane Lord
This is a very good book for some basic comparison of major religions throughout the world. We gave it to our son, who is struggling with what he believes and he was thrilled. I also got one for us, just because we were interested in what other people believe. I doesn't cover ALL the world religions and it would be nice if it did have some more in it; but it is easy to understand and fills in a lot of the gaps in what we already knew.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:May 16, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert McMichael
This is a dangerous book. If you read it as it is, it seems okay, but if you look up many of his references, you will discover that what Ridenour often quoted as true is not. Nearly every section of the book quoted references that are now online and it is easy to discover that the statements in the book are based on misquotes or misinterpretations of the original material. One of the crutches Ridenour used was to quote people quoting others - for example - quoting a book that quotes the Book of Mormon. He did not look up the material in the Book of Mormon to see what it really says. Unfortunately for Ridenour, the Book of Mormon is now online and it is easy for a reader to find out what it really says and this often contradicts what Ridenour wrote. Almost every section of the book has errors. The book's cover claims "Over one million sold" - that means a lot of people got a lot of bad information. This book needs to be thoroughly rewritten and every reference needs to be checked for accuracy. I would estimate that approximately 25 percent of what is in it is wrong.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Loreen Pawlak
I am thrilled with this book. It's clear and concise and very comprehensive in the number of religions it compares.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marguerite Coleman
Well written in an easy to understand format. Explains the major differences between the most well-known religions of the world. Well worth reading.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leslie Stockton
This book continues to help explain the differences of many religions. Invaluable when witnessing and questions concerning other religions are asked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Michael Williams
I just rated this and forgot to click which star grade to give it so it may have shown up as one or none.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Chris
Being raised in Christian Science I decided to take a look at what Mr. Ridenour wrote about the religion I knew best. Unfortunately there were an incredible amount of inaccuracies regarding his impression of the doctrines of Christian Science. This obviously leads me to wonder what misinterpretations of other peoples' faiths he included in other sections. This is obviously a book written with an incredible amount of bias for an audience that shares his same bias and disinterest in understanding the beliefs of others. An unfortunate product that will likely create more misunderstanding and mistrust amongst people of different beliefs.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kristin
Very easy and understandable read. At the end of each faith/worldview/religion chapter there is a great "So What's the Difference" synopsis explaining how the various beliefs compare with the biblical Christian faith.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for So What's the Difference - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Coulson
We used this text in a small group study and found it to be a great resource. It is up to date and led to good discussion and further study. It does not discuss Scientology which is in the news today. Would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>