Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bethany House Publishers Still of Night, The - eBook

Bethany House Publishers Still of Night, The - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Still of Night, The - eBook
Review 1 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hard to put down. What happens next?

Date:October 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
mom69
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read other books by Kristen Heitzmann and really like her style of drawing out empathy from the reader. I enjoyed this book so much, I had a hard time putting it down. There was much deeper spiritual journey in this book, her characters really go through challenges. I love how this one was not an easy road but a real test of faith and trusting that God knows best. To my experiences and dealings with people this book was very real.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
flowers
Location:Laurel, Ms
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful book. could hardly put it down. Love the Spencer series
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A wonderful story of love and forgivness.

Date:February 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Caroline
Location:Winter Park, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is filled with characters that you want to have a happy ending. Jill, haunted by past decisions, pours herself into her special kids at school and shuns intimate relationships because of the hurt from the past. Morgan, outwardly successful, pours himself into fixing everyone's problems, but drowns his own hurts in his business and alcohol. But all of that changes when they reconnect and face a struggle together. This is a book to return to again and again, to see the Lord working in two lives to bring them closer to Him, and to heal the hurt in their lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT BOOK! Great Story!

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
DavidsMom
Location:Louisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great book and so hard to put down! I think if I had the time, I would consume it all in one day! I love the repackaging b/c the blue cover copy that I have ~ the description on the back did not do the story justice. I am so glad to see it repackaged with the new summary of their child!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One Of The Best Books I Have Read In A Long Time

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Michelle H.
Location:S. California
Gender:female
One of my teenage daughters read this first and told me that I had to read it. This author is so good and getting into the character's minds and emotions. The storyline was believable and very touching. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product has believable situations.

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
fishcake
Location:Pleasantville, NJ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There must be more books by this author. I attempted to read another book by a different author & could not get past "In the Still of the Night". I look forward to reading more books by this author. Truly an enjoyable read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
BK
I enjoyed this book very much. The story line was very realistic. It kept my attention through out the entire book. She knows how to write!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
A. M.
An incredibly wonderful book! Very well written. I could barely put it down. Please write a continuation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rebecca
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful book. What a talent this author has for capturing true emotion. Kelsey, Jill, & Morgan are three characters you won't soon forget! Don't miss this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2007
The child in this book will grip you like no other child. Adults don't have half the maturity she had in this story line. This is my first Heitzmann book is several years. The characters are real, the story heart breaking. For me I needed a stronger ending, but otherwise a great read. I do recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
April
If I could give higher than a 5.0 I would. I've read several Christian romance books and this is by far one of the best! As others have said, it was definitely a tear jerker! I, too, would love to see a sequel to this book. Kristen Heitzmann is the best at portraying every aspect of a relationship, including the sexual tension, but handles that with a Christian finess that we should all strive to achieve in our own lives. This book is a must read. I, unfortunately, did not realize this was a book in a series. So, I'm going back to read A Rush of Wings. I can't say enough good things about this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2006
Customer Avatar
Kathi
This book is a must read! It is a tear jerker too. Would love a sequel! Absolutely wonderful. If you read it and love it, also read "If I Gained the World" by Linda Nicols.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 8, 2005
Customer Avatar
Joanne
Once again, Kristen Heitzmann has wowed her readers with another awesome book! Some books just don't have that great of a plot and are hard to follow. Not so with this one! It was a very enjoyable book and I recommend it to anyone who loves contemporary and/or romantic fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 27, 2004
Customer Avatar
Kathy
This is the best of Christian fiction! The Spencer brothers are my all time favorite Christian fiction male characters. I know from contact with the author that this book moved Kristen Heitzmann spiritually and emotionally so much that she had to recover after writing it. This is a highly emotional book, with an incredible plot. And unlike so many Christian novels this is not solved in one bubble gum sweet moment, but faith is worked and formed through God's hands. I will warn you that it is best to read A Rush of Wings (The first book in the series) as it will lay the emotional foundation for how you perceive the main character - Morgan. He's a character that is very complex, and you just never know what he's going to do- but you won't be able to stop yourself cheering for him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2004
Customer Avatar
Courtney
I thought this book was exceptional! It was very realistic and down to earth. I love the way Kristen writes. I picked up the book and couldn't put it down! I finished it in two days! This is must-read and a must-have for your shelf!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 21, 2004
Customer Avatar
Jenn
This book was exceptionally done! Kristen Heitzmann really outdid herself on this one! The plot was well-paced and excellent and the characters were well-developed. Morgan and Jill are realistic characters that can represent so many of us who are going through what they were going through. You'll also be amazed how their daughter Kelsey suffered through her illness with her faith in Jesus and angels unwavering. Morgan Spencer was a ne'er-do-well business consultant turning floundering companies into big profiting corporations. His gift for indentifying problems and finding solutions extends to the rest of his family and to Noelle St.Claire in "A Rush of Wings". But the one thing he can't fix is his own life. A functional alcoholic, he tries to fill the void his highschool sweetheart Jill Runyan had left behind. Special-ed teacher, Jill Runyan also could not get over Morgan. She pours out her love to the kids she teaches but at the same time, longs for a family of her own and the child she had given up at birth, Kelsey. One day, a phone call from Kelsey's adoptive parents devastates Jill as she realizes that Kelsey is very sick and needs a bone marrow transplant. When Jill could not donate her marrow, she must find Morgan Spencer and plead with him to help save their daughter but she must admit to him that she had lied about aborting the child fifteen years before. Will two heartbroken souls come together and realize that the Lord has something good planned for them all in spite of their past mistakes? I just finished this book three days ago and I couldn't get over it. It's definitely worth the loss of sleep!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2004
Customer Avatar
Valerie Wheatley
Very few books have affected me as strongly as Kristen Heitzmann's "The Still of Night." Even if you don't relate to the personal and moral dilemmas Jill and Morgan face, their spiritual struggles and revelations are sure to hit home. This book is excellent. If you love Kristen Heitzmann's writings, you will not be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2003
Customer Avatar
Cindy
Had no idea this was a sequel to "Rush of Wings"...and I really liked that book...but THIS ONE was great! Not sappy or preachy....real people, real feelings, a great story well written. I loved the characters and how they interacted with each other. Couldn't put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 12, 2003
Customer Avatar
Melissa Walters
I could not put this book down. I even dreamed about the characters. Wonderful story. Can't wait for Halos.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Still of Night, The - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 6, 2003
Customer Avatar
A. E.
Excellent Book! Anyone who has read A Rush of Wings has to be wondering what happens to Morgan. This is his story, and Jill's. Very well written, not "religious" at all--very real.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>