Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for White Rose Publishing Masquerade Marriage - eBook

White Rose Publishing Masquerade Marriage - eBook

A SECRET LIST
To protect his loved ones and escape the dark fate of his brothers, a noted warrior abandons his identity. Hiding from relentless soldiers who want him dead, Brody MacCaulay vows to protect the woman he loves more than life, more than freedom, more than Scotland. But his presence throws her into danger.

A VOW HONORED
To escape an arranged marriage to an abusive noble, a Lowland Lady weds a stranger to save his life. But vows spoken do not make a marriage, especially when Megan MacMurry holds a different love inside her heart.

A SACRIFICE MADE
Outlawed, and with a price on his head, Brody condemns himself to a life of heartbreak without Megan. Wanting her desperately, knowing he can't have her, he heads alone to certain death...

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 21100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
Review 1 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Christian fiction novel

Date:January 27, 2014
Customer Avatar
Donna
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved this story and I am glad I had the chance to read it. This is the second book by ANNE GREENE that I have read. Both books are stories of two sisters in a Lowlander Scottish family. I recommend you add both to your reading lists. The other book is titled Marriage by Arrangement.
The story takes place in the 1740's between England and the Highlander's of Scotland near Culloden. Brody MacCauley has been gravely injured and is now a fugitive. He wakes up on the battlefield and finds out that his Father and Brothers have been killed. Thoughts turn to the safety of his Mother and Sister.
Lady Megan MacMurry wants to escape an arranged marriage to an abusive English Lord. She is given the chance to save the life of one of the Highlander's fugitives and recognizes Brody's name on the list of men she has been given.
The story includes adventure, danger, brutality of war, romance and love.
Read to see how Megan and Brody's Masquerade Marriage progresses. What will Brody have to give up in order to marry Megan? See how they plan to save as many Highlanders from the English as possible,
I received this book from bookfun.org for my honest opinion and review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Action packed Scottish Highland love story

Date:January 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
SusanP
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book takes place in the highlands and lowlands of Scotland – what better place could you be?! It grabs your attention on the first page where Brody barely escapes the horrible battle of Culloden with his life. He is saved from a life of hiding by a marriage proposal with a Lowland Lady. The emotions run high in this story and it tugs on your heartstrings. The author writes in a way that you feel the action, danger and tension with the characters. There is great depth with many side characters who have their own struggles. A beautiful love story that will make you want to visit Scotland to see its beauty. The author ties in trusting God very well in the story - our lives should always be surrendered to HIS will. Will they be caught by the redcoats? Will the marriage save him, only to have his life now threatened under the very roof he was supposed to be safe? I highly recommend.
Given book from bookfun.org for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a fabulous look at Scottish history

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ever since the year my friend went to Scotland with her Grandmother to visit the land of her ancestors, Scotland and her history has been intriguing to me. This may have been what led me to request the ebook from Fred, but in no wise was this what kept my eyes glued to my Ipad and on the edge of my seat. Drama, from the very first page where Brody woke up on the battlefield to the last page where he is running from the Red Coats, is the name of the game. Vivid imagery has the reader seeing the battlefield through Brody's eye, as well as smelling and tasting the stench, hearing the Red Coats dispense with the living wounded and feeling first the panic and then the determination to escape. Anne does a superb job of showing the story instead of telling, and making the reader feel like the main characters, Brody and Megan as being close friends.
As both learn to trust each other and God, I learned to see God in a clearer way. I do not feel I would have the courage to step out like they did, and yet, with God all things are possible.
Thank you to Fred at The Book Club Network, Author Anne Greene and the Pelican Book Group for giving me the opportunity to read and review this ebook. Which I was given for the purpose of writing an honest review. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Masquerade Marriage

Date:December 18, 2013
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoyed reading this story; it was a sweet suspenseful romance and that kept it very interesting. You wonder if the English would ever come after Brody and loved how Brody and Megan's marriage progressed through the story. I want more of this couple; I would love to see what happens as they start a new life in the New World and what becomes of Fiona.
I receive a free copy of this book courtesy of The Book Club Network for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Adventure, Action, Intrigue, Faith & Love

Date:January 14, 2014
Customer Avatar
Patsdream
Location:Huntsville, AL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This starts at the end of the battle at Culloden in 1746. Brody MacCaulay comes to under the bodies of his clansmen and relatives. He could hear the English soldiers as they walked through the sea of bodies and killed anyone with a breath left in their body. They showed no one any mercy. When its safe Brody slips into the trees to work his way to safety. Megan MacMurry plans to marry one of the Highland warriors to save their life. She contacts the local priest and explains what she wants to do. She will be saving the life of a warrior and thwarting her father's plans to marry an English nobleman. On her sister's wedding day she slips off to see the priest and meet the man she chose from a list. Brody's name was the only one she recognized from her days as a young girl. Brody's marriage is very real to him; however, Megan thinks its a marriage in "name only". Watch the sparks fly, the Duke's attempts to have Brody killed. He wants Megan's father's money and the prestige that is given by the other Lowland Scottish lords. Both Brody and Megan have a strong faith but neither one wants to communicate their true feelings. This only leads to more misunderstanding. Join Megan and Brody as they discover life isn't always like they want it to be. Join these two in fun and adventure, misunderstand and inner growth. Fast paced, well written, good characterizations, strong characters. Anne Greene will keep you reading and wanting the book to last longer. Anne Greene reminded me why I love historical books about Scotland. I read this in one day.
I received this book through www.bookfun.org to read and leave reviews with my honest opinion. I loved this book and hope the author will be doing a sequel to this. It just ended too soon. Will definitely be reading other books by Anne.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational Historical Romance

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
jacquiR
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A handsome, charming Highland warrior; a fiery-spirited Lowland Lady desperate to save herself from an abusive earl and a brave Scotsman from the English; a vengeful, scorned English earl and suitor; a deadly battle between the English and the Highland Scots with relentless pursuit and death to surviving Scotsmen ensures a tale that is intriguing and riveting. A masquerade marriage between the brave warrior and the beautiful Lowland Lady sweeps you into their complicated and unique situation, compelling you toward the satisfying conclusion. The author's vivid descriptions of the land and the authentic Scottish dialect immerses the reader in the world of the characters. A very enjoyable story that effectively intersperses Christian truths and scripture. I received this book through TBCN in exchange for an honest review of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fugitive trying to stay alive and the headstrong

Date:January 9, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mary
Location:Minnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Masquerade Marriage” is a book about love and war. It is about making sacrifices and saving the lives of others. The main character, Megan, has a chance to save one life, and she chooses to save Brody. Their marriage is a masquerade, a sham, to keep Brody from falling into English hands after he survived the battle of Culloden Moor. Megan does not think through her plan very well, and does not understand the potential danger she is putting her family in by bringing home her Highlander. You will have to read this book to discover if these two strong willed characters learn to work together and whether or not they discover love and can find safety.
Anne Greene has done a nice job creating “Masquerade Marriage.” She helped me have a better understanding of some of the differences between Highlanders and Lowlanders as well as how thorough the English were about hunting down and killing all that fought against them. Some of the themes in this book are pride, and letting go of it, about having respect for others, and about God’s faithfulness. Truthfully, I got a bit bogged down by all the Scottish brogue, but Greene does have a small glossary in the front of her book which I found helpful.
I received this book from The Book Club Network in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A thrilling read.

Date:January 5, 2014
Customer Avatar
Rachs Ramblings
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
To protect his mother and sister, a warrior is willing to abandon his identity and marry into a Masquerade Marriage.
To keep from marrying the abusive man that her father has picked out for her, and to save a man's life, a Lady marries into a Masquerade Marriage.
All this with the backdrop of Scottish history during the time of Bonnie Prince Charlie.
This was a fascinating and enjoyable read. I was "in the book " from the very beginning. This book moves very fast, and it doesn't drag at any point. The dialogue between Brody and Megan is enjoyable yet tense. I felt as if I was flying through this book and on the edge of my seat. Will they be able to make their marriage a real one? Can they learn to trust each other? Can love grow?
I found myself thinking of this book even after I put it down. Megan agrees to marry a man on a list to save his life. This list comes from a pastor that she obviously strongly trusts. This got my mind to thinking about so many things in the area of marriage, trust, faith in people and more. Also, they began to read the Bible together, and the readings become meditations that each tried to put into practice. I truly enjoyed the story, and I enjoyed the journey of the characters...and my own journey in thought as the story made me think long after the read was complete.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Such a great book!

Date:April 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Janna Ryan
Location:North Platte, NE
Age:35-44
Gender:female
This book was an amazing surprise to me - I loved it! It took me back in time to 1746 in Scotland and transported me to a place where Scotland and England were at war and sadly, Scotland was losing. After a brutal massacre there are few Scotsman left and they are injured and in hiding. If the English find them they will be killed and one priest has an idea to save one man. A woman with a broken heart has agreed to marry one man to save him from the English, those willing to get married in order to be spared write their names on a list. She then chooses her husband from that list and then the charade begins...
I was riveted by this book and it reminded me of another book that I enjoyed tremendously ("Brigid of Ireland" by Cindy Thompson) and everything that I liked about that book. Settings, characters and even the language and clothing of those times that made the story come alive. I was sad when this book ended but very satisfied in the ending. I look forward to seeing more from Anne Greene.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This book was great reading.

Date:March 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sally Laity
Location:Bakersfield, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I truly enjoyed MARRIAGE MASQUERADE, by Anne Greene. The characters were well developed, the pacing was fast, and the plot believable. It was neat to read Megan and Brody's story and watch their relationship develop. Anyone who enjoys breathing the scent of heather on the moors will enjoy this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A book of faith in a marriage of convenience

Date:April 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anita Draper
Location:Saskatchewan, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Totally satisfying, the end was not been what I expected. On reflection, I realized it was what I’d hoped would happen in a fleeting moment of despair. For I cried when the end was near and things had not gone as planned. I felt Brody and Megan’s loss when they realized precious time had slipped away and there was nothing they could do. And then, when I read the last paragraph of Masquerade Marriage, I smiled. The story is one of faith in the face of adversity. Faith in God. Faith in yourself. And faith in those people God surrounds you with. My only concern with this book was the thick Scottish brogue in the beginning chapters since the book starts in Brody’s point of view. But the farther I read, the more I began to appreciate the soft burr of his words. I knew when he was talking and began to follow his speech patterns in my mind. And after a while I didn’t want to separate the brogue from the man, because … well… that was part of Brody. Anne Greene, I commend you on your character choice of worthy adversaries. And more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Verra Riveting Read

Date:April 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
dianaFlow
Location:W Columbia,SC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In Masquerade Marriage, Anne Greene magnificently sweeps us away to 18th century Scotland, a majestic land of castles and kilts, Scottish burrs and bagpipes, lords and ladies. However it is also a war-torn land, divided into Highlanders and Lowlanders, and divided loyalties to the king of England.
Brody MacCauley, a Highlander, awakens on the battlefield to find he is the only survivor in a bloody battle with the English who vow to exterminate every Highlander. To save his sister and mother from a fate worse than death, Brody enters into a marriage "in name only" to Megan, a Lowlander, who he has loved all his life, unbeknownst to her.
Since Lowlanders were loyal to King George of England, Megan enters into marriage with Brody, knowing his family will be kept safe, but also to escape an arranged marriage to an abusive noble. She also prayerfully hopes that a marriage between a Highlander and a Lowlander, might someday unite her beloved Scotland.
Even though Megan's heart belongs to another she finds Brody breathtakingly handsome and virile. Sparks and deep chemistry fly high between these two Scots, but can they overcome their obstacles to have a true marriage? Danger lurks around every corner, and soon Brody, with a price on his head must leave his lady love behind, knowing he will never see her again. Will Megan ever truly love him or is it too late, as Brody embarks on a trip to the colonies, knowing he and his family will be safe there and able to begin anew? And what surprising twist takes place at the end of the book with Megan's father, who totally disdains all Highlanders?
What an exciting, romantic, riveting read! Verra nicely done, Anne! Loved that Scottish dialogue, as you can see!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Layers of Masquerade

Date:March 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Valerie
Location:BC, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It’s Scotland in 1746, the day of the Culloden Battle, in which the English redcoats overran the Scottish highlanders, striking the decisive blow against Bonnie Prince Charlie’s hope of freeing Scotland. On this day, Brody MacCauley is the last surviving man of his clan, in hiding with a few other deeply injured soldiers. A local pastor brings them food and finds a way to free one of the men–by accepting marriage to Megan MacMurray, second daughter of a nearby lowland laird.
Faced with an arranged marriage to an abusive English nobleman, Megan will do nearly anything to escape her doom, right down to marrying someone else quickly before her father’s arrangements can be finalized. She believes in the highlanders’ fight and has her own warrior heart to match her flaming red hair. When she sees Brody’s name on the list, she remembers the boy who teased her mercilessly when they were children. She also remembers that he seemed to be inclined toward her older sister, but that doesn’t matter. She doesn’t actually want their marriage consummated, she just wants to escape her fate and save the life of one highlander. She chooses Brody.
Brody is prepared to protect his new wife, whom he’s loved since he was a young teen, but she defies him at every turn. Megan is independent and impetuous, always one step ahead of him…or more accurately, stepping in a slightly different direction. He’s constantly scrambling to protect her while trying to care for his remaining injured warriors and keep himself out of the British eye.
Will Brody and Megan confess their love for each other before the redcoats figure out who Lady MacMurray’s new husband really is? Will they ever be safe, or relegated to living a life of masquerade?
Though I'm not a huge history buff, I totally enjoyed this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Vivid Scotish history and romance

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bobbie
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The conflicts between England and the Scots is vivid and gives insight into the culture and the land. Conflicts also abound between Highlanders and lowlanders which is evidenced when the lowland heroine marries a highlander to save him from the English. The scotish brogue Ms Greene uses for the hero, Brody, adds greatly to the flavor of the book, but can slow reading slightly to get the meaning of the terms (it is worth it). Descriptions of the terrain and lifestyles make the book not only enjoyable, but a lively learning experience.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romantic, fabulous read.

Date:February 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
fulluvjoy
Location:Brighton, CO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only problem with this book was… I had to put it down when I didn’t want to! *smiling* I wanted to keep reading and reading and reading but deadlines kept me from doing so.
What I really loved about this book was the romantic tension between the hero and heroine. The blood and gore of the war I struggled with but only because I have a weak stomach. However, it is pertinent to the story and war never is a pretty sight.
Brody MacCaulay is a hunky Scotland warrior who is masculinity personified. And Megan MacMurry wasn’t some wimpy heroine who needed rescuing. Not that I have anything against heroines who need rescuing. I just enjoyed that Megan was a strong, fearless woman, who was willing to die for a cause.
What was this cause Megan was willing to die for? And why would she risk not only her life but her families as well? What induced Megan to marry a man she did not love when she was in love with another? Just who was this other gentleman Megan loved? And where was he, and why didn’t she marry him?
Deception abounds. But by whom? And why?
Brody harbors a secret. What is it, and is it a good one or a bad one?
What would cause someone to hide out in cold, damp caves? To travel at night with dangers lurking everywhere?
If you want to know the answers to these questions, then you have to read, Masquerade Marriage, to find out. You won’t be sorry. It’s an excellent read.
Anne Greene is a truly gifted and talented writer. Her attention to detail is exquisite. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Riveting Read.

Date:February 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the moment Brody MacCaulay woke on the battle field weighed down by the bodies of three clansmen, Anne Greene takes us on a breath taking journey back in time.
Megan's heart was in the right place when she made plans to save the life of one Highland warrior while saving herself the fate of being married to the cruel Earl of Maybry. But in her panic to avoid a fate worse than death, she hadn't thought things through.
Anne does a wonderful job of reporting the riveting twists and turns of the story as Megan chooses her future husband.
As Brody struggles with accepting the charade.
And Megan thinks it will just be a marriage of convenience. But Brody has loved her since she was a child. And now he is all man.
Lord Avondale marries Megan's sister. Will he betray Brody?
The family dynamics are interesting as two families try to blend, including Megan's mother-in-law and sister-in-law who soon join the mix. I found this story a compelling read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I could almost hear the bagpipes...

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Delia Latham
Location:Okmulgee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Handsome Highland warriors. Plaides and kilts. Brawny men and bagpipes.
The images alone increase the heart rate of many a fair maiden—and some not-so-fair and long past maidenly. There’s a certain undeniable romance associated with Scotland and all things Scottish. That said, I’m afraid I’m not one of those women whose heart beats faster at the thought of a man in a skirt.
That said, Masquerade Marriage may well have changed my mind.
White Rose Publishing’s Anne Greene brings a well-written tale of an unexpected love born amidst the chaos of war and political instability. Megan MacMurry and Brody MacCaulay didn’t get along as children, and that hasn’t changed much now that they’re both grown. Despite that lifelong, mutual animosity, the two wind up getting married to save Brody’s life, and to prevent Megan’s father from marrying her off to an obnoxious, abusive man whom the girl detests.
What happens in the days and weeks following their wedding is a page-turning kaleidoscope of emotion, action, and well-placed plot twists. Megan remains fiercely loyal to her dead fiancé, a victim of the war. Brody’s massive pride won’t let him reveal a secret he’s kept since childhood. Sparks fly high between these two stubborn Scots, and in trying to control the flames, they step a little too close to the fire. The result is a wonderful romance wrapped up in a sub-plot of secrets and danger, and served with poignancy and passion.
I enjoyed the author’s use of the Highland accent – gotta love those Scottish burrs! I found it rather unique that she stayed true to that form of speech when in Brody’s point of view, even outside quoted dialogue.
Anne Greene knows how to make history come alive, even for the reader who isn’t a history buff (like me!). Kudos to the author for a tale well told.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Must have read for Historical fiction lovers.

Date:January 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wendy Blanton
Location:St Louis metro
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brody is a Highland piper who has survived the Battle of Culloden, but whose life is still in danger. His father and brothers are dead, but his mother and sister are alive and hiding from the English troops tearing through the Highlands, raping, pillaging, murdering. Reluctantly, he agrees to marry the daughter of a Lowland laird to protect the only family he has left. Going in, he knows only that he is marrying one of two sisters with whom he was acquainted as a boy, and he is overjoyed to discover that his bride is Megan, the younger daughter he fell in love with years before. Both Brody and Megan soon discover that they have more on their hands with the other than they anticipated.
Author Anne Green weaves the story from both their points of view, using Brody’s brogue and Megan’s cultured diction to differentiate between them. While the omniscient point of view isn’t for everyone, I found it fascinating to watch the clash of the Highland and Lowland cultures played out between these two stubborn characters.
I think my favorite thing about the book is the way she wove the minutiae of daily life into the story. I was able to form mental images of the layout of the castle, the colors of the clothing, even the china without being beaten over the head with it. That level of detail requires so much research it makes me shiver a little!
“Masquerade Marriage” is a book that will end up dog-eared on my keeper shelf, not just because I enjoy reading it but because I will learn something about my craft with every reading. Painters improve their painting by copying the masters. The process for writers is similar but more complicated because while it is easy to dissect a bad book and learn what not to do, it is so much harder to dissect a good book without getting sucked into the story. This book is a must have for readers and writers who love Historical Romance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Adam77
Location:Missouri
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you enjoy good writing and wonderful Christian fiction, you need to read Masquerade Marriage.
Anne expertly creates characters from the 1700s who leap to life in these pages. Megan Moria MacMurry, a rich Scottish Lowlander, has everything at her disposal but her father’s love. Papa has arranged her upcoming marriage to an “odious earl’ who hadn’t even been angry when he hit her.
On top of that, Megan is in love with another, Jamie, but he’s dead; killed in battle. Yet she has the betrothal diamond necklace and her wedding dress ready for the ceremony with the earl.
When she discovers from Pastor Fergus that the surest way to save a Highland warrior’s life is to marry him, she chooses one of the injured warriors hiding in a cave. She takes the carriage out on a cold rainy night, picks him up, takes him to the pastor and they recite their vows. She knew him in her childhood and marries him, although she still loves Jamie and she believes her warrior, Broden MacCauly, is in love with her sister.
She knows the wrath of Papa and the odious earl will be poured out on her and the man she married. But she’s a stubborn gal with a back bone similar to her Papa’s and the warrior’s.
She intends that the marriage be in name only, but the warrior has no intention of following her little plan. What follows is a husband and wife who fuss, fume, seldom agree, but at the same time, although they don’t realize it, are courting.
So much dangerous conflict from the state of affairs between the English lobster-backs and the Scottish occurs that readers are held over the edge of each page waiting to see what is going to happen among the hills, grassy glens, the Highland’s frowning crags, caves and darkly shadowed passes.
I’ve read quite of few books about “in-name-only” marriages and this is the most tastefully done of all, and reflects the Christian label on this book’s spine,
Note: I was provided a review copy by the author.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Masquerade Marriage - eBook
This review is fromMasquerade Marriage.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

wonderful, historical read....

Date:January 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kimzzzzzs
Location:The Land of Oz
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the interest of full disclosure, I have met Anne Greene at a writer's conference and was given this book. However, after a dear friend recommended it I planned on purchasing it, so was thrilled to be given the chance to read such a lovely story.
I was interested in the story since I have traveled to Scotland and love everything Scottish, but was a little concerned since historical romance is not my normal read. I opened the book on New Years Day and could not put it down. I had to know if Brody and Megan could overcome the obstacles between them. It was after 2 am when I found out and turned out the light!
The book begins as the Battle of Culloden ends in April, 1746. I well remember walking that historic battlefield, reading the Clan names posted where they fell as Scot fought against Scot. With Anne's words, you feel the chill of the night and the palpable fear and horror and brutality of that battle. She does a masterful job of portraying the times. The politics of the time are confusing at best, but Ms. Greene neatly sorts it out so that the prejudices and betrayals that influence the characters are understood without it reading like a history text.
I loved all of that, but most of all, I enjoyed the depth of characterization found from the most minor servant to the star crossed lovers, Brody and Megan. All of my senses were engaged in the story--sight, sound, smell, hearing, touch as Anne Greene packs her story full of depth and action. I put the book down several times to take a break, but then had to pick it up again to read just a little more.
I read Christian fiction for many reasons. I love a great story, but I also want a story that I can learn something from and there are many lessons to be learned here about what truly makes a marriage, God's call to self sacrifice, miscommunication, trust and distrust, and God's providence.
Masquerade Marriage is a fun read on many levels--learning about history, a wonderful adventure and a beautiful romance. I highly recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>